DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on December 9, 2025 was received. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 8-9 were added.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
driving mechanism in claim 1;
position correction mechanism in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumioka and Fukakusa on claims 1-2 are withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumioka, Fukakusa and Onishi on claim 3 is withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumioka, Fukakusa and Kobayashi on claims 4-6 are withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumioka, Fukakusa and Sato on claim 7 is withdrawn because independent claim 1 has been amended.
Please consider the following.
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiba (US 2009/0199729) in view of Sato (US 2014/0069285).
In regards to claim 1, Aiba teaches a screen printer comprising a screen mask (25) and squeegee (33) to apply a paste (fig. 1-4; para. 2, 42-43), the machine comprising:
a base (1, bed) comprising a plurality of columns (support columns) (shown, not labeled, fig. 3-4; para. 26)
a mask frame comprising mask holding stands (26) bridge-shaped frames (30), where the mask holding stands holds the mask, the mask holding stands (26) bridge-shaped frames (30) are directly fixed to upper surface of the plurality of columns, and the mask holding stands (26) bridge-shaped frames (30) span between the top portion of the support columns (fig. 1-4; para. 41);
a squeegee unit (7) comprising the squeegees (33), a beam (32) and rails (31) that are fixed onto the bridge-shaped frames (30) which are fixed to upper surface of the plurality of columns, where the beam and rails allow for movement separate from the mask frame (fig. 1-3; para. 43)
Aiba does not explicitly teach a drive mechanism that drives the squeegee.
Sato teaches a printing mechanical part (60) which is provided on leg parts (41) of a frame structure (40). Sato teaches printing mechanical part (60) comprises a servo motor (65 drive mechanism) which drives a ball screw to produce movement to squeegees (70) (fig. 4-9, 12; para. 31-32, 34, 45, 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the printing mechanical part on the frame structure providing controlled movement to the squeegee of Sato onto the screen printer of Aiba because Sato because it will allow for maintaining favorably print quality (para. 62).
In regards to claim 2, Aiba and Sato as discussed, where Aiba teaches the squeegees and the beam for the squeegees (squeegee frame) are smaller than the base (1, bed) (fig. 1-4). This arrangement of elements and size differences of the different elements allows for the capability of the claimed rigidity in the movement direction of the squeegee of the mask frame and the squeegee frame are smaller than a rigidity of the bed.
In regards to claim 7, Aiba and Sato as discussed above, but do not explicitly teach a cover frame fixedly provided on the bed, formed separately from the mask frame and the squeegee frame, and configured to hold a cover for protecting an inside of the solder printing machine in an opening and closing manner.
However Sato teaches a printing unit comprising covers-101 which is provided on a base-10 of a printing unit-90. Sato teaches the covers-101 is separate from printing mechanical part-60 and mask holding table-51 and the covers-101 protects an inside of the printing unit in an opening and closing manner (fig. 1, 4, 10; para. 24, 28, 31-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the covers-101 of Sato onto the screen printer of Aiba and Sato because Sato teaches it will project the user and the printing unit form each other (para. 46).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiba and Sato as applied to claims 1-2 and 7 above, and further in view of Onishi (US 6,935,232).
In regards to claim 3, Aiba and Sato as discussed, where Aiba teaches beam (32) and rails (31) are held side by side with the mask frame (fig. 1-4). Sato teaches the frame structure which connects ends of the servo motor and the ball screw (fig. 4-9, 12).
Aiba and Sato do not explicitly teach the squeegee frame comprises a portal shape.
However Onishi teaches the frame structure for a printing head section (370) comprising a portal shape (fig. 44-45; col. 44, lines 25-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the portal shape of Onishi onto the frame of Aiba and Sato because the particular shape of the squeegee frame a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed squeegee frame is significant (MPEP 2144.04-IV-B).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiba and Sato as applied to claims 1-2 and 7 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 2014/0307236).
In regards to claim 4, Aiba and Sato as discussed above, but do not explicitly teach the mask frame supports a position correction mechanism configured to hold the mask in a position correctable manner.
However, Kobayashi teaches a mask table (5) with comprising a main portion-51 of Y-axis plate portions-511 and an X-axis plate portion-512 which holds a mask-120. Kobayashi teaches the position of the main portion-51 is adjusted by slider-513, connector members-514/515/516 and Y-axis driving portion-54 (position correction mechanism) (fig. 3-5; para. 25-28). Kobayashi teaches the Y-axis driving portion-54, slider-513 and connector members-514/515/516 provides pivotable movement or adjustment to the main portion-51 and the mask-120 (fig. 4-5; para. 19, 29-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the Y-axis driving portion-54, slider-513 and connector members-514/515/516 of Kobayashi onto the Y-axis frames-11e and the mask frame of Aiba and Sato because Kobayashi teaches it will provide improvement in the quality of printing of solder (para. 72).
In regards to claim 5, Aiba, Sato and Kobayashi as discussed above, where Kobayashi teaches the Y-axis driving portion-54, slider-513 and connector members-514/515/516 changes the position of the mask-120 in a horizontal direction and a rotation angle of the screen/mask in a horizontal plane (fig. 4-5; para. 19, 29-30),
Aiba teaches the squeegee always moves in a certain angular direction with respect to a conveying direction of the board (fig. 2, 11).
In regards to claim 6, Aiba, Sato and Kobayashi as discussed above, where Aiba teaches the squeegee always moves in direction orthogonal to the conveying direction of the board (fig. 2, 4-9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response filed July 29, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sumioka and Fukakusa.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717