DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 10-18, and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro et al. (US 2020/0091991) in view of Tenny et al. (US 2018/0220356).
With regard to claims 1, 21 and 23, Fujishiro teaches: A method/An apparatus for wireless communication by a remote user equipment (UE), comprising:
Memory (see figure 2: paragraphs 27-30: controller); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively (see figure 2: paragraphs 27-30: controller:
[0030] The controller 130 performs various controls in the UE 100. The controller 130 includes at least one processor and a memory. The memory stores programs executed by the processor and information used in processing performed by the processor. The processor may include a baseband processor and a Central Processing Unit (CPU). The baseband processor performs modulation/demodulation, coding/decoding and the like of the baseband signal. The CPU performs various processing by executing programs stored in the memory. The processor performs processing described later.
), to cause the apparatus to:
connect, via a sidelink, to a relay node connected to a network entity, wherein the relay node performs layer 2 (L2) relaying between the network entity and the remote UE (see figure 6: paragraphs 46-50, 61, and 64: ProSe UE-to-Network relay which is layer called a L2 relay UE. The examiner views L2 relay as Layer 2 relay:
ProSe UE-to-Network Relay
[0046] A relay function (ProSe UE-to-Network Relay) according to an embodiment will be described. FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a relay function according to the embodiment.
[0047] As illustrated in FIG. 6, a relay UE 100A (relay radio terminal) provides connectivity with an eNB 200 (E-UTRAN 10) to a remote UE 100B (remote radio terminal) by using direct communication with the remote UE 100B. That is, the relay UE 100A relays communication between the eNB 200 and the remote UE 100B.
[0061] As illustrated in FIG. 7, in the first paging scenario, the relay UE 100A in the idle mode monitors a paging message in both a paging reception opportunity (paging occasion for L2 relay UE) of itself and a paging reception opportunity (paging occasion for remote UE) of the remote UE 100B. In the first paging scenario, the MME 300 does not need to grasp a correspondence relation between the relay UE 100A and the remote UE 100B.
); and
receive a paging message that includes system information block (SIB) information from the network entity forwarded by the relay node (see step 105 in figure 9: and step 123 in figure 12: paragraphs 76-79, 89-90, 107-112:
[0089] In a case where it is determined that only the remote UE 100B is called (Step S103: No), the relay UE 100A performs processing of Step S105 without performing the processing of responding to the paging message (processing relating to Step S104). In Step S105, the relay UE 100A transmits paging information (Paging for Remote UE) to the remote UE 100B. The remote UE 100B determines that it has been called in response to the reception of the paging information from the relay UE 100A. Paging information transmitted from the remote UE 100B to the relay UE 100A includes an identifier of the relay UE 100A. As an identifier, for example, IMSI, S-TMSI (SAE Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity), “Destination ID” of a side link, a MAC address of WLAN (WiFi), an identifier for Bluetooth (registered trademark), an IP address, and the like can be used. A similar configuration of paging information can be used in operation described later.
[0109] Note that a general connected mode UE monitors a paging message at a timing unrelated to a UE identifier. Specifically, a general connected mode UE receives a paging message at least once in a case where a modification boundary of system information is exceeded, in order to determine whether or not the system information has been updated. In other words, a general connected mode UE receives a paging message at least once within a modification period of system information. These receiving timings are timings unrelated to a UE identifier. Further, in a case where ETWS/CMAS is configured, the connected mode UE receives a paging message at least once during a default DRX value (default paging cycle) in order to determine whether or not ETWS/CMAS is transmitted.
[0110] In Step S122, the relay UE 100A receives a paging message addressed to the remote UE 100B from the eNB 200 by monitoring the paging message in the paging reception opportunity determined in Step S121.
[0111] In Step S123, the relay UE 100A transmits paging information (Paging for Remote UE) to the remote UE 100B in response to the reception of the paging message addressed to the remote UE 100B. The remote UE 100B determines that it has been called in response to the reception of the paging information from the relay UE 100A.
Also se paragraphs 48 and 80-83 which disclose information in paging message. )
, wherein:
the SIB information is received while the remote UE is in an idle mode or inactive mode (Paragraphs 75-80 and 107-112:
[0075] The first paging relay operation in the idle mode according to the embodiment is operation assuming a case in which not only the remote UE 100B but also the relay UE 100A is simultaneously called in the second paging scenario described above.
[0076] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating the first paging relay operation in the idle mode according to the embodiment. The relay UE 100A and the remote UE 100B are in the idle mode. Further, the relay UE 100A and the remote UE 100B are in the linked state.
[0107] FIG. 12 is a diagram illustrating paging relay operation in the connected mode according to the embodiment. The relay UE 100A is in the connected mode and the remote UE 100B is in the idle mode. Further, the relay UE 100A and the remote UE 100B are in the linked state.
[0108] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in Step S121, the relay UE 100A in the connected mode determines a paging reception opportunity (paging occasion) for the idle mode. In the first paging scenario, the relay UE 100A uses an identifier (for example, IMSI) of the remote UE 100B to determine a paging reception opportunity for the idle mod
; and
the SIB information comprises timer or constant parameters used by the UE (paragraphs 53-56, 78-83, 99, and 109: DRX:
[0055] “T” is a DRX cycle of the UE 100 for monitoring paging, and is represented by the number of radio frames. Further, “T” is the smaller of a default DRX value broadcast by the eNB 200 using a system information block (SIB) and an UE-specific DRX value configured for the UE 100 using a NAS message. Note that, in a case where the UE-specific DRX value is not configured, the UE 100 applies the default DRX value to “T”. Further, “N” is a minimum value of “T” and “nB”. A value of nB is selected from 4T, 2T, T, T/2, T/4, T/8, T/16, and T/32. “UE_ID” is a value obtained by “IMSI mod 1024”.
[0109] Note that a general connected mode UE monitors a paging message at a timing unrelated to a UE identifier. Specifically, a general connected mode UE receives a paging message at least once in a case where a modification boundary of system information is exceeded, in order to determine whether or not the system information has been updated. In other words, a general connected mode UE receives a paging message at least once within a modification period of system information. These receiving timings are timings unrelated to a UE identifier. Further, in a case where ETWS/CMAS is configured, the connected mode UE receives a paging message at least once during a default DRX value (default paging cycle) in order to determine whether or not ETWS/CMAS is transmitted.
Fujishiro fails to teach the paging /system information includes the unified access control (UAC) parameters.
Similar to the system of Fujishiro, Tenny discloses the relay UE forwarding SIB information to remote UE from a network node (see figure 6). Tenny discloses the SIB message relay to remote includes barring parameters (paragraphs 80-83).
Since both reference discloses forwarding system information via relay UE, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have paging /system information includes the unified access control (UAC) parameters as taught by Tenny in the relay system of Fujishiro in order to improve connection establishment procedures (Tenny: paragraph 54).
With regard to claims 10, 22 and 24, Fujishiro teaches: A method/ An apparatus for wireless communication by a relay node, comprising:
Memory (see figure 2: paragraphs 27-30: controller); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively (see figure 2: paragraphs 27-30: controller), to cause the apparatus to:
connect, via a sidelink, to a remote user equipment (UE) while the relay node is also connected to a network entity, wherein the relay node performs layer 2 (L2) relaying between the network entity and the remote UE (see figure 6: paragraphs 46-50, 61, and 64: ProSe UE-to-Network relay);
receive, from the network entity, system information block (SIB) information (see figure 9/figure 12/figure 13: paragraphs 76-89, 107-112 and 128-131) ; and
send, in response to at least one of obtaining the SIB information from the network entity or receiving a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message from the network entity, a paging message that includes the SIB information to at least the remote UE (see figure 9/figure 12/figure 13: paragraphs 76-89, 107-112 and 128-131), wherein: the relay node sends the paging message while the remote UE is in an idle mode or inactive mode (Paragraphs 75-80 and 107-112); and
the SIB information comprises timer or constant parameters used by the UE (paragraphs 53-56, 78-83, 99, and 109).
Fujishiro fails to teach the paging /system information includes the unified access control (UAC) parameters.
Similar to the system of Fujishiro, Tenny discloses the relay UE forwarding SIB information to remote UE from a network node (see figure 6). Tenny discloses the SIB message relay to remote includes barring parameters (paragraphs 80-83).
Since both reference discloses forwarding system information via relay UE, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have paging /system information includes the unified access control (UAC) parameters as taught by Tenny in the relay system of Fujishiro in order to improve connection establishment procedures (Tenny: paragraph 54).
With regard to claims 2 and 11, Fujishiro teaches: wherein the SIB information further comprises at least one of: cell access related parameters;radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment failure control parameters; cell specific parameters of a serving cell (Fujishiro : paragraphs 121 138-139. Also see paragraphs 47-55 in Tenny reference)
With regard to claims 3 and 12, Fujishiro teaches: wherein, the paging message indicates public warning system (PWS) or a common SIB update (paragraphs 121 and 129: if the system information can SIB type 1 to SIB type 21, then the system information can common SIB update. See figure 14).
With regard to claims 4 and 13, Fujishiro teaches: wherein the remote UE receives the SIB information via at least one of groupcast or broadcast signaling to one or more UEs associated with the relay node, including the remote UE (paragraphs 137-138: see figure 15).
With regard to claims 5 and 14, Fujishiro teaches: wherein the SIB information indicates a dedicated SIB update (paragaphs129-131: see figure 14).
With regard to claims 6 and 15, Fujishiro teaches: wherein the remote UE receives the SIB information via a dedicated sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraphs 121 and 128: side link direct communication ).
With regard to claim 7, Fujishiro teaches: further comprising: sending, to the relay node, a request for the SIB information; and obtaining the SIB information from the relay node in response to the request (see paragraphs 133-137: see figure 14 and figure 15).
With regard to claim 16, Fujishiro teaches: further comprising: receiving, from the remote UE, a request for the SIB information (see paragraphs 133-137: see figure 14 and figure 15).
With regard to claim 17, Tenny also teaches: wherein the SIB information is obtained from the network entity via an on-demand SIB acquisition procedure (see figure 6: paragraphs 47, 71, 82-84).
With regard to claim 18, Tenny also teaches: wherein the on-demand SIB acquisition procedure involves one or more random access channel (RACH) messages (see figure 6: paragraphs 47, 71, 82-84).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (US 2022/0141756, see figure 11)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468