DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US201/036624 filed on June 9, 2021, which claims benefit of 63/037,546 filed on 6/10/2020. The effective filing date of the current application is June 10, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on October 7, 2024 complies with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. All references were considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: claims 1-8 in the reply filed on October 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 24, 2025. Claims 1-8 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because line numbers appear in the left margin.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “an irradiation unit configured to expose the cell to irradiation” in claim 1; and “a bioreactor including the irradiation unit configured to irradiate contents of the bioreactor” in claim 8.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitation “an irradiation unit configured to expose the cell to radiation” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Regarding claim 8, the claim limitation “wherein the system includes a bioreactor including the irradiation unit configured to irradiate the contents of the bioreactor” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material or acts to the function. The specification discloses that the irradiation unit can include an ultraviolet (UV) light source on page 7, line 3. However, the specification does not describe a structure that performs the function of exposing the cell to irradiation or irradiating the contents of the bioreactor as required by the claims. Therefore, the claims are indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-6 and 8 are rejected for depending from rejected claim 1 but failing to remedy the indefiniteness therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Guo et al. (“Light-driven fine chemical production in yeast biohybrids”, Science, 2018, Vol. 362, Issue 6416, pp.813-816).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “an irradiation unit configured to expose the cell to irradiation” is being interpreted under 112(f) as supporting the description in the specification of an irradiation unit can include an ultraviolet light source (specification p.7, line 3).
Guo teaches a modular bioinorganic hybrid platform that consists of highly efficient light-harvesting indium phosphide nanoparticles and genetically engineered Saccharomyces cerevisiae (abstract; Fig.1A). Guo teaches the S. cerevisiae Δzwf1-InP hybrids under illumination (5.6 mW cm-2) achieved the highest DHS-to-SA conversion rate (p.813, 3rd column, middle paragraph). The presence of light is being interpreted as satisfying the limitation of “configured to expose the cell to irradiation”, because Guo mentions light-harvesting using solar-to-chemical production, and solar light comprises irradiating UV rays.
Regarding claim 2, Guo teaches Saccharomyces cerevisiae, which is a yeast cell (abstract).
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Jiménez Villar et al. (WO 2010/066938 A1, published on June 17, 2010). As the original WO 2010/066938 A1 document is in Spanish, an English translation is relied upon for support.
Regarding claim 1, Jiménez Villar teaches a method comprising contacting a sample with nanoparticles and irradiating the nanoparticles attached to the cell surface with light of a wavelength between 350nm and 500nm (English translation p.1, claim 15). It is apparent to the Jiménez Villar method that a system comprising a cell, a nanoparticle on a cell surface, and an irradiation unit configured to expose the cell to irradiation, is required in order to practice the step of irradiating the nanoparticles attached to the cell surface.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Jiménez Villar teaches irradiating the cells with a light of a wavelength between 350 nm and 500 nm (English translation p.1, last line), and further teaches the light has a wavelength between 400 and 410 nm (English translation p.2, claim 21), which encompasses UV light wavelengths, and therefore teaches an irradiation unit includes an ultraviolet light source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiménez Villar et al. (WO 2010/066938 A1, published on June 17, 2010) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (“Hydrogen sulfide synthesis in native Saccharomyces cerevisiae strains during alcoholic fermentations”, Food Microbiology, 2018, Vol.70, pp.206-213). As the original WO 2010/066938 A1 document is in Spanish, an English translation is relied upon for support
The teachings of Jiménez Villar et al. are discussed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Jiménez Villar teaches bacteria, including E. coli cells, but does not teach wherein a thiol synthesis pathway is deleted from the cell (claim 3) or wherein the thiol synthesis pathway includes Met17 (claim 4).
However, Wang teaches diminishing the undesirable impact of hydrogen sulfide (H2S) on wine, and H2S synthesis in Saccharomyces cerevisiae (abstract). Wang teaches a negative relationship between the activity of Met17 and H2S formation (abstract). Wang further teaches analyzing H2S formation traits and gene expression characteristics of each isolate during alcoholic fermentations (p.207, 2nd column last paragraph). Wang teaches that strain variation highlights the significance of studies that target native S. cerevisiae strains with industrial interest, and strains with low H2S production will facilitate H2S control in the fermentation process in wine-making (p.213, 1st column last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Wang’s yeast cell (where a thiol synthesis pathway containing Met17 is deleted) for Jimenez Villar’s E. coli bacterial cell, because Wang teaches that controlling H2S formation in the fermentation process is desirable in wine-making (i.e. a chemical product). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to delete the thiol pathway to reduce the amount of H2S, and found it beneficial for diminishing the undesirable impact of H2S on wine.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiménez Villar et al. (WO 2010/066938 A1, published on June 17, 2010) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (“Augmented Biosynthesis of Cadmium Sulfide Nanoparticles by Genetically Engineered Escherichia coli”, Biotechnology Progress, Sept/Oct 2009, Vol. 25, Issue 5, pp.1260-1266).
The teachings of Jiménez Villar et al. are discussed above.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Jiménez Villar teaches silver-silica nanoparticles but does not teach wherein the nanoparticle includes cadmium (claim 5) or cadmium sulfide (claim 6).
However, Chen teaches augmented biosynthesis of cadmium sulfide nanoparticles by genetically engineered Escherichia coli (title). Chen teaches cadmium sulfide nanoparticles have captured enormous attention as a semiconductor material in diverse applications such as fluorescent labels and optoelectronic transistor components (p.1260, 2nd column). Chen teaches that E. coli-based biosynthesis offers a more energy-efficient and eco-friendly method as opposed to chemical processes requiring high temperature and toxic solvents (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Chen’s cadmium sulfide nanoparticles bound to the surface of E. coli for Jiménez Villar’s silver-silica nanoparticles bound to E. coli to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use cadmium sulfide nanoparticles because Chen teaches that cadmium sulfide nanoparticles are important as a semiconductor material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it beneficial to produce increased amounts of cadmium sulfide nanoparticles in an eco-friendly and more energy efficient manner using E. coli.
Conclusion
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/DEEPA MISHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1657