DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 8-10, and 13 are amended. Claims 2-7, 11-12, and 14-15 are as previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on December 08, 2025 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment overcomes the previously set-forth rejection of claims 8, 10, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-13, filed on 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of applicant’s amendment regarding the temperature sensor positioning within the chamber and newly found prior art.
Applicant’s argument pertaining to secondary reference Cheng (CN 102680124 A) in being unable to be combined with primary reference Li (CN 102551179 A) due to wires preventing rotation.
It is the Examiner’s position that this argument is not persuasive as the roasting/baking oven appears to be stationary in Cheng. The rotating cylinder 6 is a part of the baking oven 5 and from Figure 1, the cylinder 6 appears to be located in an upper part of the baking oven 5. The roasted coffee beans would then gather at the bottom of the baking oven 5 and exit through the chute 13, meaning that the roasted coffee beans contact the baking oven sidewall.
However, in the interest of compact prosecution, additional prior art that more clearly shows this feature is presented in light of applicant’s amendment.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20179335.3, filed on 06/10/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit” in Claim 8
The generic placeholder is “control unit” and the functional language attributed the “control unit” includes: “configured to control the device for roasting”.
“display unit” in Claim 10
The generic placeholder is “display unit” and the functional language attributed the “display unit” includes: “configured to display the sensed temperature”.
Reference is made to the Specification filed on 12/08/2022.
Regarding the control unit, Page 13, “a control unit, in order to accordingly control the roasting of the coffee beans, e.g. according to a preprogrammed program, e.g. including a predefined roasting and/or temperature profile”, where the control unit is assumed to include a program for defining a temperature profile and the electrical systems needed in order to receive temperature sensor signals
Regarding the display unit, Page 4, “a user interface or display unit.”, where the display unit is assumed to be equivalent to a user interface and would include any device that allows a user to view the temperature
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102551179 A) in view of Min et al. (KR 20160048046 A, hereinafter Min).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an apparatus for roasting coffee beans (Para. 0001, “a coffee bean roasting machine.”), the apparatus comprising:
a chamber in which coffee beans can be received for roasting (Para. 0009, “the coffee bean baking machine, wherein the baking box is composed of inner layer of metal shell, the outer metal shell and the sealing between the inner layer metal shell and the outer layer metal shell heat insulating temperature layer.”, where the baking box roasts the coffee beans and the beans are supplied through the hopper, Para. 0014, “the feed pipe 10 is provided with a hopper 11”), and
a device for roasting the coffee beans received in the chamber (Para. 0014, “machine frame 1, frame 1 is provided with a gas furnace 2, 2 outlet end of the gas furnace is equipped with evenly fire plate 3, evenly fire plate 3 is uniformly distributed with through hole 4, fire evenly plate 3 upper end equipped with a baking oven 5”),
wherein the chamber is defined by at least a bottom and a sidewall extending from the bottom (Modified Fig. 1, where the chamber is shown with the bottom and sidewall), wherein the sidewall comprises an outer side oriented to face away from the chamber, and wherein a temperature sensor is provided in contact with the outer side of the sidewall for sensing a temperature inside of the chamber (Para. 0008, “the coffee bean baking machine, wherein the outer wall of said baking oven is provided with a temperature detecting device.”, where the outer wall would be facing away from the chamber and is shown in modified Fig. 1 to be on the sidewall as the temperature detecting device 20 is located at the sidewall height, where the temperature sensor detects the chamber temperature due to the proximity of the sensor being connected to the chamber).
Modified Figure 1, Li
Li does not disclose:
the sidewall comprises an inner side configured to be in direct contact with the coffee beans received in the chamber.
However, Min discloses, in the similar field of coffee roasting apparatuses (Abstract, “a coffee roaster”), where the sidewall of the roasting chamber has an inner side in direct contact with the coffee beans received in the chamber (Page 9, Para. 4 from end, “The temperature sensor 134 is provided to be exposed on the front surface of the support plate to directly measure the surface temperature of the fresh beans stirred in the rotating drum chamber 120.”, where the support plate of the roasting chamber is construed as the sidewall as shown in Fig. 3b, the support plate 130 is located on the side of the chamber that includes the rotating drum; where the temperature sensor on the support sidewall directly contacts the coffee beans, meaning that the sidewall must also directly contact the coffee beans, Page 10, Para. 2, “sensor 134b for surface temperature measurement is necessarily provided at a position directly in contact with the green bean to be distributed.”) and where there is a rotating drum within the chamber (Page 4, Para. 8, “coffee distributor 100 according to the present invention includes a drum chamber 120 located inside the housing 110 for distributing green beans.”), and where a temperature sensor is in direct contact with the coffee beans within the chamber through being within the chamber (Page 10, Para. 2, “sensor 134b for surface temperature measurement is necessarily provided at a position directly in contact with the green bean to be distributed.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the sidewall in Li to be clearly stated that the inner side of the sidewall is in direct contact with the coffee beans being roasted and where a temperature sensor would then be able to directly in contact with coffee beans as taught by Min.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to have a sidewall in direct contact with the coffee beans so that temperature can be more accurately measured and accurate roasting can be achieved, as stated by Min, Page 12, Para. 2, “In addition, by directly sensing the surface temperature of the coffee beans being dispensed, temperature control is easy and accurate roasting operation can be achieved.”.
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102551179 A) in view of Min et al. (KR 20160048046 A, hereinafter Min) in further view of Cheng (CN 102680124 A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the chamber has a height up to which the chamber can receive the coffee beans in the chamber, wherein the temperature sensor is arranged at or below this height.
However, Cheng discloses, in the similar field of temperature sensors within heating chambers (Abstract, “non-insertion temperature device for detecting temperature of boiler body
and heating device”), where the chamber has a height that can receive material (Para. 0025, “a boiler body I”, where Fig. 1 shows that the chamber or boiler body 1 has a height up to the rim that can be filled with material), where the temperature sensor is arranged below the height (Para. 0026, “invention the temperature exploring device is heating the pot body I, temperature sensed by probe 41 pot body I of the probe 41 is provided with a thermistor as the temperature sensitive element.”, where Fig. 2 shows that the temperature sensor probe 41 is located in connection with the concave hole 11, where Fig. 1 shows that the temperature sensor probe is located at the bottom of the sidewall of the chamber). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature sensor in modified Li to be located lower within the outer wall of the chamber as taught by Cheng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of the lower position ensuring that the temperature probe is able to acquire temperature values of the material being heated within the chamber, where knowing the temperature can allow for better quality control, as stated by Cheng, Para. 0026, “using a heating device of the temperature device can acquire the reference data, and through the controller command and instructs the heating device is in different working state so as to realize the pot body I processes heating, cooling or temperature control, so as to ensure the quality of the finished product.”.
Regarding claim 3, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the outer side of the sidewall comprises a recess, and wherein the temperature sensor is at least in part arranged in the recess.
However, Cheng discloses where the temperature sensor is at least in part located within a recess on the outer side of the sidewall (Para. 0024, “a concave hole 11 on the outer surface, the probe 41 is a columnar structure, whose at least one portion is inserted into the concave hole 11 and the concave hole 11 in wall contact, the concave hole 11 is arranged on the outer surface of boiler body I, does not penetrate the boiler body I”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer side of the sidewall in modified Li to include a recess for the temperature sensor as taught by Cheng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to prevent the temperature sensor from contacting the inside material, which can lead to contamination, and where the recess allows for the temperature sensor to be as close as possible to the material within, as stated by Cheng, Para. 0024, “the probe 41 is a columnar structure, whose at least one portion is inserted into the concave hole 11 and the concave hole 11 in wall contact, the concave hole 11 is arranged on the outer surface of boiler body I, does not penetrate the boiler body I”, and Fig. 4, where the temperature sensor is shown to be given a closer position to the inside of the chamber due to the recess feature.
Claims 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102551179 A) in view of Min et al. (KR 20160048046 A, hereinafter Min) and Cheng (CN 102680124 A) in further view of Cloutier (FR 3026180 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the recess is arranged to form a protrusion on an inner side of the sidewall, wherein the inner side is orientated to face to the inside of the chamber.
However, Cloutier discloses, in the similar field of temperature sensors within chambers (Abstract, “first temperature sensor (9) for measuring the temperature T1 of the fuel”), where a recess in the outer side wall includes a protrusion to the inner side of the side wall that faces the inside of the chamber (Page 2, Para. 2, “Said first housing is located on the gauge body so as to enable the temperature of the fuel to be measured by a first temperature sensor inserted in said first housing when the gauge is filled.”, where the first housing 7 is the protrusion going into the inside of the chamber). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the recess in modified Li to include the protrusion as taught by Cloutier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to keep the temperature sensor from contacting the material within the chamber, as stated by Cloutier, Page 4, Para. 1, “The protrusion 12 has a first end 13 closed and a second end 14 having an opening 15 for the insertion of the first temperature sensor 9. The protrusion 12 is hermetic, so that the first temperature sensor 9 is not in direct contact with the fuel 11.”.
Regarding the protrusion and recess being part of the side wall, it has been held that mere making integral is an obvious modification to make. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). It is the Examiner’s position that the hermetically sealed probe housing would still be able to function if it were integral with the side wall. As a result, the probe housing be integral so that the recess has a continued protrusion would be a mere matter of user design choice.
Regarding claim 5, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 4, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the protrusion is arranged to come into direct contact with the coffee beans received in the chamber.
However, Cloutier discloses where the protrusion comes into direct contact with the material inside the chamber (Page 3, last Para., “Preferably, the first housing 7 is placed at the belly of the gauge, at the bottom of the gauge so that the first temperature sensor 9 or in contact with the fuel 11 after filling of the gauge 1.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the protrusion and coffee beans in modified Li to be in direct contact with each other as taught by Cloutier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to gain the closest temperature measurement with the sensor, where being in contact allows for high thermal transmission, as stated by Cloutier, Page 4, Para. 1, “A liquid or gel having a high thermal conduction is introduced into the first housing 7 to optimize the thermal contact between the first temperature probe 9 and the fuel 11.”, where Cloutier also discloses where temperature measurement throughout the chamber with probes in contact and not in contact with the material can lead to increased temperature measurement accuracy, Page 3, Para. 3, “An average temperature T2.20y is calculated from these measured temperature values T2 .. T2.20y is used to calculate the error percentage E. This makes it possible to take into account the temperature variations during the measurement, improving the accuracy.”.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102551179 A) in view of Min et al. (KR 20160048046 A, hereinafter Min) and Cheng (CN 102680124 A) in further view of Inter Control (DE 202017101273 U1, hereinafter Inter).
Regarding claim 6, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the recess is formed by an embossing in the sidewall.
However, Inter discloses, in the similar field of temperature sensors within recesses (Abstract, “thermally sensitive component is provided and the sensor element (6) - on the top of the base plate (4), - in a recess (8) of the base plate (4)”), where the recess is made through embossing (Page 3, Para. 4 from end, “Preferably, the recess may be embossed in the base plate, for. B. by an extrusion process.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the recess in modified Li to be embossed as taught by Inter.
Regarding embossing to create a recess, it is the Examiner's position that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try as there are a limited amount of manufacturing methods that are all able to create a recess and where each method has it’s own advantages and disadvantages. As a result, a user choosing to use an extrusion process that involves embossing would be a mere matter of design choice in selecting the advantages that come with extrusion processes.
Claims 7-10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102551179 A) in view of Min et al. (KR 20160048046 A, hereinafter Min) in further view of Voges et al. (WO 2018053436 A1, hereinafter Voges).
Regarding claim 7, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the temperature sensor is arranged to transmit a first signal related to the sensed temperature for displaying the sensed temperature, such as for displaying the sensed temperature on a user interface or display unit and/or for displaying the sensed temperature on user device, which is wirelessly connected to the apparatus or temperature sensor, and/or wherein the temperature sensor is arranged to transmit a first signal related the sensed temperature for determining the presence of the chamber based on the sensed temperature and/or electrical resistance.
However, Voges discloses, in the similar field of roasting coffee beans (Para. 1010, “roasting a sample of a green coffee and generating a plurality of roasting instructions”), where a temperature sensor is also located on the chamber wall to measure the material within (Para. 1058, “In some embodiments, the temperature sensor can be in direct contact with the substance to measure the temperature of the substance. In some embodiments, the temperature sensor can be coupled to the wall of the processing chamber l 12 to measure the wall temperature as an indicator of the substance temperature.”), where the temperature sensor transmits a signal related to the sensed temperature for displaying the temperature onto a user interface (Para. 1127, “TI1e interface 500 also includes a field 520 displaying the bean temperature, which can be acquired by, for example, sensors operably coupled to the roaster (e.g., sensors 116 shown in FIG. 1).”, where in order to display the temperature, there must be a signal from the sensor transmitted to the user interface), and where the temperature signal can tell the user interface what time on the roasting curve is occurring within the chamber (Para. 1127, “T11e field 510 also displays the current timing point 516 on the roasting curve 515 such that a user can conveniently find out the current state of roasting and the amount of time remaining.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature sensor and controller in modified Li to include the features as taught by Voges.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing a user to determine where in the roasting process the apparatus is currently in, which can be helpful letting a user know when the process will be completed or if it needs to be changed, as stated by Voges, Para. 1127, “TI1e interface 500 includes a field 510 displaying the roasting profile 515 that is currently used. In some embodiments, the roasting profile 515 is manifested as temperature as a function of time (e.g. temperature curve). T11e field 510 also displays the current timing point 516 on the roasting curve 515 such that a user can conveniently find out the current state of roasting and the amount of time remaining.”.
Regarding claim 8, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
further comprising a control unit configured to control the device for roasting of the coffee beans, based on the transmitted first signal of the temperature sensor and/or based on a second signal related to a roasting temperature sensed by a further temperature sensor of the apparatus, wherein the control unit is configured to determine the presence of the chamber based on the received first signal, and to avoid roasting of the coffee beans by the device upon receipt of no first signal or the first signal exceeding or falling below a defined threshold value or range.
However, Voges discloses where a control unit controls the device for roasting coffee beans (Para. 1135, “tag includes processing instructions that can be directly executed by the controller, which in turn controls the processing chamber to process the substance.”), where temperature signal is used in that control process (Para. 1127, “In some embodiments, the roasting profile 515 is manifested as temperature as a function of time (e.g. temperature curve). T11e field 510 also displays the current timing point 516 on the roasting curve 515 such that a user can conveniently find out the current state of roasting and the amount of time remaining.”) and if the signal is not compliant with a threshold, then the roasting process is not continued unless the temperature is adjusted (Para. 1141, “ln some embodiments, the method 600 further includes generating a signal indicative of the temperature of the substance in the roasting chamber and adjusting at least one operation parameter of the roasting chamber based on the signal. In some embodiments, the operation parameter is adjusted to be compliant with the processing instructions. In some embodiments, the operation parameter includes the temperature of the substance.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus in modified Li to include the features as taught by Voges.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to ensure that the current roasting profile process is done, as stated by Voges, Para. 1141, “ln some embodiments, the method 600 further includes generating a signal indicative of the temperature of the substance in the roasting chamber and adjusting at least one operation parameter of the roasting chamber based on the signal. In some embodiments, the operation parameter is adjusted to be compliant with the processing instructions. In some embodiments, the operation parameter includes the temperature of the substance.”.
Regarding claim 9, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the apparatus is configured to apply a correction factor to the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor.
However, Voges discloses where the apparatus can correct the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (Para. 1141, “ln some embodiments, the method 600 further includes generating a signal indicative of the temperature of the substance in the roasting chamber and adjusting at least one operation parameter of the roasting chamber based on the signal. In some embodiments, the operation parameter is adjusted to be compliant with the processing instructions. In some embodiments, the operation parameter includes the temperature of the substance.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus in modified Li to include the temperature correction as taught by Voges.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to ensure that the current roasting profile process is done, as stated by Voges, Para. 1141, “ln some embodiments, the method 600 further includes generating a signal indicative of the temperature of the substance in the roasting chamber and adjusting at least one operation parameter of the roasting chamber based on the signal. In some embodiments, the operation parameter is adjusted to be compliant with the processing instructions. In some embodiments, the operation parameter includes the temperature of the substance.”.
Regarding claim 10, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the apparatus further comprises a user interface or a display unit configured to display the sensed temperature based on the transmitted or received first and/or second signal, and/or wherein the apparatus further comprises a communication interface for wireless communication with a user device such as a smartphone.
However, Voges discloses where a user interface displays the sensed temperature based on the transmitted signal from the temperature sensor (Para. 1127, “TI1e interface 500 also includes a field 520 displaying the bean temperature, which can be acquired by, for example, sensors operably coupled to the roaster (e.g., sensors 116 shown in FIG. 1).”), where the apparatus has a communication interface for wireless communication with a user device such as a smartphone (Claim 55, “user interface includes a smartphone wirelessly connected to the controller.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus in modified Li to include the features as taught by Voges.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing a user to determine where in the roasting process the apparatus is currently in, which can be helpful letting a user know when the process will be completed or if it needs to be changed, as stated by Voges, Para. 1127, “TI1e interface 500 includes a field 510 displaying the roasting profile 515 that is currently used. In some embodiments, the roasting profile 515 is manifested as temperature as a function of time (e.g. temperature curve). T11e field 510 also displays the current timing point 516 on the roasting curve 515 such that a user can conveniently find out the current state of roasting and the amount of time remaining.”.
Regarding claim 14, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the device is arranged to generate a current of air in order to agitate the coffee beans received in the chamber, and/or wherein the device is arranged to generate a heated current of air to roast the coffee beans received in the chamber.
However, Voges discloses where the device can generate a current of air to agitate the coffee beans within the roasting chamber (Para. 1079, “In some embodiments, the processing apparatus 110 can include convective heating and a fluidized bed technique for lofting the coffee beans during the roast process. In some embodiments, the processing apparatus 110 can include air blades or air nozzles for accelerating hot air velocity for roasting.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus in modified Li to include the current air circulation as taught by Voges.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to achieve more uniform roasting through air circulation, as stated by Voges, Para. 1079, “To achieve the temperature over time curve T(t) included in the roasting instructions, the processing apparatus 110 can include heating and cooling elements to modulate the roasting temperature and circulate the coffee beans for unifom1 roasting. In some embodiments, the processing apparatus 110 can include convective heating and a fluidized bed technique for lofting the coffee beans during the roast process.”.
Claims 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102551179 A) in view of Min et al. (KR 20160048046 A, hereinafter Min) in further view of Song (KR 100264356 B1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
further comprising a receptacle, wherein the receptacle comprises the chamber.
However, Song discloses, in the similar field of roasting coffee beans (Abstract, “An apparatus for roasting a coffee bean”), where a receptacle comprises the chamber (Abstract, “A cover(40) joints with the roasting barrel(30) provided with an inducing-duct(43).”, where the cover is construed as the receptacle, where the receptacle is within the chamber or the roasting barrel shown in Fig. 3 as the cover inserts into the roasting barrel). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus in modified Li to include the receptacle as taught by Song.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the receptacle as a way to circulate waste heat so that it comes back to roast the coffee beans, where this can lead to a more efficient system, as stated by Song, Page 2, last Para., “A guide duct 43 coupled to communicate with the lid 40; The upper end is in communication with the guide duct 43 to circulate the waste heat to roast the coffee beans”.
Regarding claim 12, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the receptacle comprises a handle, wherein the handle is arranged such that at least in a plan view of the receptacle the handle covers the temperature sensor.
However, Song discloses where the receptacle includes a handle located on the side surface and extending outwards (Page 3, Para. 2, “the roasting barrel 30 and the lid 40, the guide duct 43 and the handle duct (50).”, where the guide duct 43 is construed as a handle connected to the lid 40 as Fig. 2 shows that screw connections are made between the two, where a similar screw connection is made between the handle duct and roasting barrel). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the receptacle in modified Li to include a handle as taught by Song, where the position of the handle is located on the outer surface of the side wall of the roasting barrel, where this position would allow for the handle to cover the temperature sensor in modified Li when viewed from a plan view.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the receptacle as a way to circulate waste heat so that it comes back to roast the coffee beans, where this can lead to a more efficient system, as stated by Song, Page 2, last Para., “A guide duct 43 coupled to communicate with the lid 40; The upper end is in communication with the guide duct 43 to circulate the waste heat to roast the coffee beans”.
Regarding claim 13, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, as set forth above, discloses wherein the temperature sensor is fixedly arranged with respect to the chamber so that the temperature sensor moves together with the chamber when the chamber is moved (Li, where the temperature sensor 20 is located on the outer surface of the sidewall shown in modified Fig. 1, where the sensor is stationary and fixed).
Modified Li does not disclose:
such as when the receptacle is detached, or wherein the temperature sensor is arranged to remain stationary when the chamber is moved, such as when the receptacle is detached.
However, Song discloses where the receptacle is capable of being detached and it separates from the roasting barrel or chamber (Page 4, Para. 4, “First, open the lid 40 and put the raw beans in the stir-fry barrel (30).”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the receptacle in modified Li to be detachable as taught by Song, where the roasting barrel or chamber with the temperature sensor would remain stationary as the lid or receptacle is opened.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to remove the receptacle to load the chamber with coffee beans, as stated by Song, Page 4, Para. 4, “First, open the lid 40 and put the raw beans in the stir-fry barrel (30).”.
Claims 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 102551179 A) in view of Min et al. (KR 20160048046 A, hereinafter Min) in further view of Jacobsen et al. (US 20160295906 A1, hereinafter Jacobsen).
Regarding claim 15, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Li does not disclose:
wherein the apparatus is a home appliance apparatus.
However, Jacobsen discloses, in the similar field of roasting coffee beans (Abstract, “An apparatus for roasting coffee beans”), where there is also a temperature sensor (Para. 0137, “temperature sensor for detecting bean temperature during a roast, coupled to a controller that
regulates one or more process parameter”), and where the apparatus is a home appliance (Para. 0004, “The vast majority of coffee is roasted commercially on a large scale, but small-scale commercial roasting has grown significantly with the trend toward "single-origin" coffees served at specialty shops. Some coffee drinkers even roast coffee at home as a hobby in order to both experiment with the flavor profile of the beans and ensure the freshest possible roast.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus in modified Li to be scaled down to a home appliance as taught by Jacobsen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to market the apparatus to a home hobby audience, where users might desire to experiment with coffee flavor profiles and want the freshest roast possible, as stated by Jacobsen, Para. 0004, “Some coffee drinkers even roast coffee at home as a hobby in order to both experiment with the flavor profile of the beans and ensure the freshest possible roast.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
02/09/2026
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761