DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The prior art rejections are maintained or modified as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindbo et al. (“Lindbo”)(US 2018/0170650) in view of Thorp et al. (“Thorp”)(US 2023/0115325) and legal precedent.
Lindbo (fig. 4, 5, 12) teaches an automated storage and retrieval system for storing product items comprising
(re: claims 1, 14) a framework structure with upright members and horizontal members and a storage volume comprising storage columns between the members, wherein the framework structure comprises a rail system arranged above the members for movement of container handling vehicles therein (fig. 4 showing framework structure with storage columns 12 of stacked containers 10 and upper rail/track system near 22 configured for vehicles near 30; para. 9, 45-49);
storage containers in which the product items are stored, wherein the storage containers are stackable in stacks within the storage columns (Id.);
container handling vehicles moving along the rail system for transporting the storage containers (Id.),
wherein the rail system comprises rails, each rail comprising tracks (Id. with para. 48 teaching that load handling vehicle 30 consists of wheel sets that engage tracks);
wherein adjacent tracks of at least one rail of the rail system are separated by a ventilation slot extending in a vertical plane between two adjacent storage columns (fig. 12 near 24 and para. 79 teaching alternate embodiment wherein one or more vertical rows can be omitted to allow better air flow through the container stacks and that “width of empty rows can vary from 0.5 to 2 m wide”); and
a ventilated storage container in one of the storage columns, in which one or more ventilation openings of the ventilated storage container face towards the ventilation slot (fig. 5a, 5b; para. 54-55 teaching that container can vary in shape and size and that ventilation openings may be provided in 2, 3, 4, 5 or all 6 sides thus one of said sides with said opening can be regarded as facing towards the ventilation slot);
(re: claim 3) wherein the ventilated storage container comprises the one or more ventilation openings in at least a side wall facing towards the ventilation slot when located in a storage column adjacent to the ventilation slot (Id.);
(re: claim 4) wherein the ventilated storage containers comprise the one or more ventilation openings in one side wall only, the one side wall having ventilation openings being faced towards the ventilation slot when located in a storage column adjacent to the ventilation slot (Id. teaching placement of ventilation openings in any container side);
(re: claim 11) wherein at least one of the container handling vehicles comprises a lifting device with a gripping unit, the lifting device with gripping unit being rotatably connected with respect to
(re: claim 12) wherein a first track of the adjacent tracks are used by a vehicle moving above one of the adjacent columns and wherein a second track of the adjacent tracks are used by a vehicle moving above the second one of the adjacent columns (Id.);
(re: claim 13) wherein the rails in the first horizontal direction is forming a bridge over the ventilation slot at intervals in a second direction allowing the vehicles to pass the ventilation gap (fig. 12 showing that vehicle tracks form bridge over ventilation gaps/spaces).
Lindbo as set forth above teaches all that is claimed except for expressly teaching
(re: claim 5) wherein the ventilation slot has a width in a first horizontal direction of 1-30% of the width in the first horizontal direction of the adjacent storage column;
(re: claim 6) wherein the framework structure comprises one ventilation slot for every second storage column;
(re: claim 7) wherein: a first area of the framework structure comprises one ventilation slot for every second storage column; a second area of the framework structure is provided without ventilation slots between adjacent tracks; and
the container handing vehicles are movable along the rail system between first and second areas.
Further, under an alternative interpretation, the ventilation slot being narrower than the adjacent storage columns (re: claim 1) may be regarded as not taught above.
Here, it is noted that Lindbo already teaches that it is well-known in the automated storage arts to vary the width of the ventilation slot and to place openings in any side of a storage container (supra teaching that width of ventilation slot may be varied) and, moreover, that various ventilation elements can be placed throughout an automated storage system to allow one to accurately maintain and vary temperature within a stacked storage system (cf. fig. 14-17 and para. 23).
Thorp further teaches that it is well-known in the automated storage arts to specifically configure the ventilation slots in relation to ventilation openings in storage containers to ensure the proper conditions for items stored therein, wherein the type of items and the type/identity/location of containers are managed by the control system to ensure proper storage and handling of items in the correct type of storage unit/container (Cf. fig. 13a-13c showing ventilation openings in adjacent storage element specifically configured to face vertical slot near 27; para. 113-116, 119-128 teaching that the amount and location of perforations in the storage units/containers and air distribution slots can be configured to ensure items are kept at optimal storage temperatures.
Indeed, the claimed features relating to the specific configuration of known elements, such as the ventilation slot (width or location) or the storage containers (location of openings therein) as common design parameters/operating variables. This is especially applicable in the automated storage arts as the type of items to be handled controls variations in the specific device dimensions, features and/or automated material handling steps as taught above. Moreover, legal precedent teaches that variations in these type of common design parameters/operating variables are obvious and are the mere optimization of result-effective variables that would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 I.II (teaching ample motivation to optimize or modify result-effective variables based on “design need(s)” or “market demand”); see also MPEP 2144.04.IV (teaching that changes in size, proportion or shape of known elements are obvious); 2144.04.V.D. and VI (teaching that the mere rearrangement or duplication of known elements, or making known elements adjustable, is not a patentable advance).
It would thus be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the base reference with these prior art teachings—with a reasonable expectation of success—to arrive at the claimed invention. The rationale for this obviousness determination can be found in the prior art itself as cited above, in legal precedent as described above and from an analysis of the prior art teachings that demonstrates that the modification to arrive at the claimed invention would merely involve the substitution/addition of well-known elements (i.e., ventilation slots) with no change in their respective functions. Moreover, the use of prior art elements according to their known functions is a predictable variation that would yield predictable results (e.g., benefit produced by known function), and thus cannot be regarded as a non-obvious modification when the modification is already commonly implemented in the relevant prior art. See also MPEP 2143.I (teaching that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is known to one with ordinary skill in the art); 2144.06, 2144.07 (teaching as obvious the use of art recognized equivalences). Further, the prior art discussed and cited demonstrates the level of sophistication of one with ordinary skill in the art and that these modifications are predictable variations that would be within this skill level. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lindbo for the reasons set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach the claim features are unpersuasive in view of the reformulated prior art rejection set forth above. In particular, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the feature of “a ventilated storage container in one of the storage columns, in which one or more ventilation openings of the ventilated storage container face towards the ventilation slot” as the cited ventilation openings are not specifically oriented towards the ventilation slot. Examiner finds this argument unconvincing and notes that there is no structural difference between the cited art and claimed invention which teaches that a storage container with ventilation elements in all sides can be placed throughout an automated storage. Consequently, as a reasonable interpretation of the prior art undermines Applicant’s arguments, the claims stand rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-22 are allowed.
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any references not explicitly discussed but made of record during the prosecution of the instant application are considered helpful in understanding and establishing the state of the prior art and are thus relevant to the prosecution of the instant application.
Alternatively, to contact the examiner, send an E-mail communication to Joseph.Rodriguez@uspto.gov. Such E-mail communication should be in accordance with provisions of the MPEP (see e.g., 502.03 & 713.04; see also Patent Internet Usage Policy Article 5). E-mail communication must begin with a statement authorizing the E-mail communication and acknowledging that such communication is not secure and may be made of record. Please note that any communications with regards to the merits of an application will be made of record. A suggested format for such authorization is as follows: "Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file”.
/JOSEPH C RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
Jcr
---
April 7, 2026