Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the amended independent claims 11 and 19, the applicant traverses the rejection of at least the independent claims because Taheri does not disclose the newly added claim limitation of “at least one first light-switching element in a secondary direction oriented perpendicular to the main direction.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 75 of Taheri discloses the claimed feature. Paragraph 75 discloses “… a polymeric liquid crystal cell may provide waveguiding for the emitted light ….” The examiner interprets this as the luminescent dyes absorb solar radiation and emit luminescent light, the emitted light is guided—not in the original incident (main) direction, but laterally through the film or cell. Thus, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Taheri US 20150323825.
Regarding claim 11, Taheri (T hereinafter) discloses an apparatus for converting light of a light source into electrical energy, in at least figures 8B, 11A and 11B, the apparatus comprising:
a layered body 280 formed by a plurality of flat elements (see figure 8B of T reproduced below),
wherein the plurality of flat elements are stacked on top of one another (see figure below),
wherein the layered body 280 is delimited by an entry surface (examiner interprets the top portion of 280 as an entry surface as shown in the figure below), an exit surface (examiner interprets the bottom portion of 280 as exit surface) and at least one outer surface as boundary surfaces (examiner interprets side portion of 280 as boundary surfaces),
wherein a main direction (top to bottom in the figure below) is defined as being oriented from the entry surface towards the exit surface, and
wherein the layered body further includes:
at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284, and
at least one light-conducting element 281 that is located in front of the at least one first light- switching element 282A/282B/284 in the main direction; and
at least one photovoltaic cell 288 arranged on at least one boundary surface (on the right-hand side of the figure shown below) of the layered body 280,
wherein the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 can be set to either transmit or block light (paragraph 79),
wherein in a case in which the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 is set to transmit the light, the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 is set to transmit the light (figure 11A; paragraph 83) in the main direction (top to bottom in the figure below), and
wherein in a case in which the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 is set to block the light, the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 is configured to couple the light into the at least one light- conducting element 281 (figure 11B; paragraph 83),
wherein the at least one light-conducting element 281 in this case is configured to transmit the light which has been coupled-in by the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 in a secondary direction oriented perpendicular to the main direction (paragraph 751) to the at least one photovoltaic cell 288 on the at least one boundary surface, and
wherein the at least one photovoltaic cell 288 (also, 140 in figure 11 B) is configured to convert received light into electric energy (paragraph 83).
Regarding claim 12, T further discloses the at least one light-conducting element 281 and the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 are arranged directly next to one another in the main direction (see figure above), wherein the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 contacts the at least one light-conducting element 281.
Regarding claim 13, T further discloses having as at least one further element at least one second light-switching element 282A/282B/284 arranged in front of the at least one light-conducting element 281 in the main direction,
wherein the at least one light-conducting element 281 is arranged in the main direction between the at least one second light-switching element 282B and the at least one first light-switching element 282A,
wherein the at least one second light-switching element 282B is light-transmissive in the main direction and light-blocking counter to the main direction (paragraphs 79 and 83),
wherein the at least one second light- switching element 282B is configured to transmit the light in the main direction and to couple it into the at least one light-conducting element counter to the main direction (figures 11A and 11B; paragraph 83).
Regarding claim 14, T discloses at least one coupling element 282A/282B/284 for light is assigned to the at least one light-conducting element 281,
wherein at least the first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 is designed as at least one first coupling element 282A/282B/284 for the at least one light-conducting element 281 and is configured to couple the light into the at least one light-conducting element 281.
Regarding claim 18, T discloses the at least one photovoltaic cell 288 is arranged on at least one boundary surface of the layered body formed as an outer surface (see figure above).
Regarding claim 19, T discloses a method for converting light of a light source into electrical energy, in figures 8B, 11A and 11B and paragraphs 79 and 83, the method comprising:
setting at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 to either transmit or block the light (paragraphs 79 and 83),
the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 forming a part of a layered body 280,
the layered body being further formed by a plurality of flat elements (see figure above),
wherein the plurality of flat elements are stacked on top of one another (see figure above),
wherein the layered body is delimited by an entry surface (top of the apparatus in the figure above), an exit surface (bottom of the apparatus in the figure above) and at least one outer surface as boundary surfaces (side of the apparatus in the figure above),
wherein a main direction is defined as being oriented from the entry surface towards the exit surface (top to bottom in the figure above; left to right on figures 11A and 11B), and
wherein the layered body further includes the at least one light-conducting element 281 that is located in front of the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 in the main direction;
when the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 is set to transmit the light, transmitting the light (paragraphs 79 and 83) in the main direction;
when the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 is set to block the light, coupling the light by the at least one first light-switching element into the at least one light-conducting element (paragraphs 79 and 83);
transmitting, by the at least one light-conducting element 281, the light which has been coupled-in by the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 in a secondary direction oriented perpendicular to the main direction (paragraph 752) to an at least one photovoltaic cell 288 on the at least one boundary surface of the layered body; and
converting, by the at least one photovoltaic cell, the light into electric energy (paragraphs 79 and 83).
Regarding claim 20, T discloses setting the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 to transmit the light when the light of the light source is desired to radiate through the exit surface; and setting the at least one first light-switching element 282A/282B/284 to be light-blocking when the light of the light source is to be darkened (paragraphs 79 and 83).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taheri.
Regarding claim 15, T does not specifically disclose at least one out-coupling element for light is assigned to the at least one light-conducting element, said out-coupling element being arranged at least on the at least one boundary surface between the at least one light-conducting element and the at least one photovoltaic cell and being configured for coupling the light out of the at least one light- conducting element and into the at least one photovoltaic cell.
However, it is well known in the art to at least one out-coupling element for light being assigned to the at least one light-conducting element, said out-coupling element being arranged at least on the at least one boundary surface between the at least one light-conducting element and the at least one photovoltaic cell and being configured for coupling the light out of the at least one light- conducting element and into the at least one photovoltaic cell3, for the purpose of improving concentration of the light to photovoltaic cell.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have at least one out-coupling element for light being assigned to the at least one light-conducting element, said out-coupling element being arranged at least on the at least one boundary surface between the at least one light-conducting element and the at least one photovoltaic cell and being configured for coupling the light out of the at least one light- conducting element and into the at least one photovoltaic cell for the purpose of improving concentration of the light to photovoltaic cell in the device disclosed by T, for the purpose of improving concentration of the light to photovoltaic cell.
Regarding claim 17, T does not specifically disclose the apparatus is configured for a vehicle.
However, it is well known in the art to disclose the apparatus being configured for a vehicle4, for the purpose of efficiently providing electric power to a vehicle.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to configure the apparatus disclosed by T for a vehicle, for the purpose of efficiently providing electric power to a vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2800
1 Paragraph 75 discloses “… a polymeric liquid crystal cell may provide waveguiding for the emitted light ….” Examiner interprets this as the luminescent dyes absorb solar radiation and emit luminescent light, the emitted light is guided—not in the original incident (main) direction, but laterally through the film or cell.
2 Paragraph 75 discloses “… a polymeric liquid crystal cell may provide waveguiding for the emitted light ….” Examiner interprets this as the luminescent dyes absorb solar radiation and emit luminescent light, the emitted light is guided—not in the original incident (main) direction, but laterally through the film or cell.
3 At least Martinez Anton US 20100116319 discloses an out-coupling element between light-conducting element and photovoltaic cell (figure 3; 310 between 350 and 380).
4 At least Gruhlke US 20090126792 discloses a photovoltaic apparatus configure to be used in a vehicle (figure 15).