DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-16 are pending, of which Claims 5-14 and 16 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-4 and 15 are under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter of instant claim 1, filed on 04/13/2026 is not properly described in the application as filed. In particular, there was no indication in original specification as filed that “t-PA is adsorbed on outer surface” and therefore raise doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 15 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letourneur (US 2013/0171126 A1) and Etman (International Journal of Biological Macromolecules, vol 147, pages 799-808, 11/2019; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 12/08/2022) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Letourneur discloses a cross-linked polysaccharide particle comprising fucoidan and dextran (elected species) (made by same steps of NaOH and STMP as in the abstract of the instant specification) followed by loading with t-PA:
and a composition comprising cross-linked polysaccharide particle comprising fucoidan, dextran, t-PA and PBS (entire application, especially page 3, paragraphs 0132-0141 and claims). The cited prior art teaches size of such particle as 5nm, 1micrometer (1000nm, close to 900nm of the instant claims) (range encompass range of the instant claims) (entire application, especially paragraphs 0076, 0084, 0132).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%); In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205-206 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°); In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937) ("Where the component elements of alloys are the same, and where they approach so closely the same range of quantities as is here the case, it seems that there ought to be some noticeable difference in the qualities of the respective alloys."); In re Dreyfus, 73 F.2d 931, 934, 24 USPQ 52, 55 (CCPA 1934)(the prior art, which taught about 0.7:1 of alkali to water, renders unpatentable a claim that increased the proportion to at least 1:1 because there was no showing that the claimed proportions were critical); In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924, 20 USPQ 53, 57 (CCPA 1933)(the prior art teaching an alkali cellulose containing minimal amounts of water, found by the Examiner to be in the 5-8% range, the claims sought to be patented were to an alkali cellulose with varying higher ranges of water (e.g., "not substantially less than 13%," "not substantially below 17%," and "between about 13[%] and 20%"); K-Swiss Inc. v. Glide N Lock GmbH, 567 Fed. App'x 906 (Fed. Cir. 2014)(reversing the Board's decision, in an appeal of an inter partes reexamination proceeding, that certain claims were not prima facie obvious due to non-overlapping ranges); In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(the court found a prima facie case of obviousness had been made in a predictable art wherein the claimed range of "less than 6 pounds per cubic feet" and the prior art range of "between 6 lbs./ft3 and 25 lbs./ft3" were so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed ranges was virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.).
"[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention). However, if the reference’s disclosed range is so broad as to encompass a very large number of possible distinct compositions, this might present a situation analogous to the obviousness of a species when the prior art broadly discloses a genus. Id. See also In re Baird, 16 F.3d 380, 383, 29 USPQ2d 1550, 1552 (Fed. Cir. 1994) ("[a] disclosure of millions of compounds does not render obvious a claim to three compounds, particularly when that disclosure indicates a preference leading away from the claimed compounds."); MPEP § 2144.08; and subsection III.D below for an additional discussion on consideration of prior art disclosures of a broad range.
A range can be disclosed in multiple prior art references instead of in a single prior art reference depending on the specific facts of the case. Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The patent claim at issue was directed to a weight plate having 3 elongated openings that served as handles for transporting the weight plate. Multiple prior art patents each disclosed weight plates having 1, 2 or 4 elongated openings. 392 F.3d at 1319, 73 USPQ2d at 1226. The court stated that the claimed weight plate having 3 elongated openings fell within the "range" of the prior art and was thus presumed obvious. 392 F.3d at 1322, 73 USPQ2d at 1228. The court further stated that the "range" disclosed in multiple prior art patents is "a distinction without a difference" from previous range cases which involved a range disclosed in a single patent since the "prior art suggested that a larger number of elongated grips in the weight plates was beneficial… thus plainly suggesting that one skilled in the art look to the range appearing in the prior art."
Although the cited prior art is silent about word “adsorption”, the cited prior art teaches same particle composition comprising same components as in the instant claims. Further, the cited prior art teaches loading t-PA. Since there is no chemical linkage between t-PA and particle components, t-PA is adsorbed on the particle surface.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Letourneur discloses a cross-linked polysaccharide particle comprising fucoidan and dextran (elected species) and t-PA, but is silent about molecular weight of fucoidan.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference- Letourneur discloses a cross-linked polysaccharide particle comprising fucoidan and dextran (elected species) and t-PA, and a method of preparing and using such composition. This deficiency is cured by Etman.
In the same field of endeavor of cross-linked nanoparticles comprising Fucoidan and polysaccharide, Etman teaches cross-linked nanoparticles comprising Fucoidan and polysaccharide and loading with t-PA (entire article). Most importantly, Etman motivates to use fucoidan of low molecular weight, especially between 6kDa-80kDa, as such LMW fucoidan has higher ability to cross biological barrier (entire article, especially section 3.2). Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to use LMW fucoidan, such as 6kDa-80kDa to increase the ability of these nanoparticles to cross biological barrier. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use LMW fucoidan, such as 6kDa-80kDa to increase the ability of these nanoparticles to cross biological barrier.
Therefore, combination reads applicants claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the combination of teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ composition.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present indicating obviousness or non-obviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Letourneur discloses a cross-linked polysaccharide particle comprising fucoidan and dextran (elected species) and t-PA and Etman teaches cross-linked nanoparticles comprising Fucoidan and polysaccharide and loading with t-PA (entire article). Most importantly, Etman motivates to use fucoidan of low molecular weight, especially between 6kDa-80kDa, as such LMW fucoidan has higher ability to cross biological barrier.
So, the combination of prior art read applicants claims.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that the LMW fucoidan, such as 6kDa-80kDa may be used in the composition to increase the ability of these nanoparticles to cross biological barrier and can be made by combination of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 9381250B2 (Letourneur, US 2013/0171126 A1, as discussed above) in view of Etman (International Journal of Biological Macromolecules, vol 147, pages 799-808, 11/2019; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 12/08/2022), discussed in greater detail above).
Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 9381250B2 discloses a method of making cross-linked polysaccharide beads comprising fucoidan and dextran etc., and loading with a drug t-PA (and thus composition of the instant claims). Although the claims of the patent are broad, the claims encompass the instant claims. Importantly, the specific examples of the specification of the patent provides cross-liked polymer comprising fucoidan and dextran and loading with t-PA. Etman teaches cross-linked nanoparticles comprising Fucoidan and polysaccharide and loading with t-PA (entire article). Most importantly, Etman motivates to use fucoidan of low molecular weight, especially between 6kDa-80kDa, as such LMW fucoidan has higher ability to cross biological barrier. Thus, based on the guidance provided by Etman and patent, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to use LMW fucoidan, such as 6kDa-80kDa to increase the ability of these nanoparticles to cross biological barrier.
For the reasons set forth above, the instant claims are obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendment, filed on 04/13/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623