DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
In an attempt to place the case in condition for allowance on 04/07/2026, Examiner contacted Dalei Dong (Reg. No. 60,363) and Allison Howard (Reg. No. 81,171). However, no response was received.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s corrections filed 12/17/2025 with respect to claim rejection under 112(a) for claim(s) 22 and 60 made on 10/02/2025 have been considered and the claim rejection under 112(b) to the claims are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 with respect to claim(s) 22 and 60 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection under 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. (US 2020/0015097 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2017/0367080 A1) and Lim et al. (US 2013/0177091 A1).
In view of an updated search and reconsideration of previously allowed claims, Examiner updates the objected-to claims to 3, 5-6, 22-25, 27, 41, 43-44, 62-63, 65, 79, and 81-82.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 22 and 60 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites “placing, by the first wireless communications device” but it should be “placing, by the second wireless communications device” because the claim is written in view of the second wireless communications device and because claims 24-25 recite the placing is performed by the second wireless communications device.
Claim 60 recites “A first wireless communications device” but it should be “A second wireless communications device” because claims 62-66 have been amended to a second wireless communications device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 22, 39-40, 77-78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. (US 2020/0015097 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2017/0367080 A1) and Lim et al. (US 2013/0177091 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kazmi discloses A method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless communications device from a second wireless communications device, uplink scheduling information including carrier aggregation information associated with a first frequency band and a second frequency band ([0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA);
identifying, by the first wireless communications device from the uplink scheduling information, a first subset of information associated with a plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band, ([0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA)
Kazmi does not disclose, but Yang discloses wherein the first subset of information comprises cross-carrier scheduling information received on a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band ([0090]: a wider UL/DL bandwidth can be supported by aggregating a plurality of UL/DL component carriers (CCs). Each of the component carriers may be adjacent to each other or non-adjacent to each other. The bandwidth of each component carrier may be determined independently ... control information may be configured to be communicated on a specific CC only. The specific CC may be referred to as a primary CC and the other CCs may be referred to as a secondary CC … in case that a cross-carrier scheduling (or cross-CC scheduling) is applied, PDCCH for DL assignment may be transmitted on a DL CC #0 and corresponding PDSCH may be transmitted on a DL CC #2. [0091]: For cross-CC scheduling, CIF (carrier indicator field) is used. A configuration of whether or not CIF exists within PDCCH may be enabled semi-statically and user-specifically (or user group-specifically) via upper layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration for two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA, as taught by Kazmi, to include downlink control information communicated through a PCC when cross-carrier scheduling is used and where PDCCH may include a CIF for cross-CC scheduling, as taught by Yang.
Doing so supports a wider UL/DL bandwidth by aggregation a plurality of UL/DL CC (Yang: [0090]).
Kazmi does not disclose, but Lim discloses determining, by the first wireless communications device based at least in part on the first subset of information and the second subset of information, whether to switch an allocation of a first radio frequency chain and a second radio frequency chain to at least one of the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0098]: using one baseband including two information and two RF chains for CA of two CCs at a first and second frequency bands for each antenna port, switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain, as taught by Lim.
Doing so provides a frequency coexistence method and a CA method using multiple antenna regardless of intra-band or inter-band (Lim: abstract).
Regarding claim 39, Kazmi discloses A first wireless communications device, comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive, from a second wireless communications device, uplink scheduling information including carrier aggregation information associated with a first frequency band and a second frequency band ([0368]: UE is configured with one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands); and
a processor configured to:
identify, from the uplink scheduling information, a first subset of information associated with a plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band, ([0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous (=plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band) and one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands)
Kazmi does not disclose, but Yang discloses wherein the first subset of information comprises cross-carrier scheduling information received on a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band ([0090]: a wider UL/DL bandwidth can be supported by aggregating a plurality of UL/DL component carriers (CCs). Each of the component carriers may be adjacent to each other or non-adjacent to each other. The bandwidth of each component carrier may be determined independently ... control information may be configured to be communicated on a specific CC only. The specific CC may be referred to as a primary CC and the other CCs may be referred to as a secondary CC … in case that a cross-carrier scheduling (or cross-CC scheduling) is applied, PDCCH for DL assignment may be transmitted on a DL CC #0 and corresponding PDSCH may be transmitted on a DL CC #2. [0091]: For cross-CC scheduling, CIF (carrier indicator field) is used. A configuration of whether or not CIF exists within PDCCH may be enabled semi-statically and user-specifically (or user group-specifically) via upper layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration for two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA, as taught by Kazmi, to include downlink control information communicated through a PCC when cross-carrier scheduling is used and where PDCCH may include a CIF for cross-CC scheduling, as taught by Yang.
Doing so supports a wider UL/DL bandwidth by aggregation a plurality of UL/DL CC (Yang: [0090]).
Kazmi does not disclose, but Lim discloses determine, based at least in part on the first subset of information and the second subset of information, whether to switch an allocation of a first radio frequency chain and a second radio frequency chain to at least one of the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0098]: using one baseband including two information and two RF chains for CA of two CCs at a first and second frequency bands for each antenna port, switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain, as taught by Lim.
Doing so provides a frequency coexistence method and a CA method using multiple antenna regardless of intra-band or inter-band (Lim: abstract).
Regarding claim 77, Kazmi discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code comprising:
code for causing a first wireless communications device to receive, from a second wireless communications device, uplink scheduling information including carrier aggregation information associated with a first frequency band and a second frequency band ([0368]: UE is configured with one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands); and
code for causing the first wireless communications device to identify, from the uplink scheduling information, a first subset of information associated with a plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band, ([0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous (=plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band) and one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands)
Kazmi does not disclose, but Yang discloses wherein the first subset of information comprises cross-carrier scheduling information received on a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band ([0090]: a wider UL/DL bandwidth can be supported by aggregating a plurality of UL/DL component carriers (CCs). Each of the component carriers may be adjacent to each other or non-adjacent to each other. The bandwidth of each component carrier may be determined independently ... control information may be configured to be communicated on a specific CC only. The specific CC may be referred to as a primary CC and the other CCs may be referred to as a secondary CC … in case that a cross-carrier scheduling (or cross-CC scheduling) is applied, PDCCH for DL assignment may be transmitted on a DL CC #0 and corresponding PDSCH may be transmitted on a DL CC #2. [0091]: For cross-CC scheduling, CIF (carrier indicator field) is used. A configuration of whether or not CIF exists within PDCCH may be enabled semi-statically and user-specifically (or user group-specifically) via upper layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration for two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA, as taught by Kazmi, to include downlink control information communicated through a PCC when cross-carrier scheduling is used and where PDCCH may include a CIF for cross-CC scheduling, as taught by Yang.
Doing so supports a wider UL/DL bandwidth by aggregation a plurality of UL/DL CC (Yang: [0090]).
Kazmi does not disclose, but Lim discloses code for causing the first wireless communications device to determine, based at least in part on the first subset of information and the second subset of information, whether to switch an allocation of a first radio frequency chain and a second radio frequency chain to at least one of the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0098]: using one baseband including two information and two RF chains for CA of two CCs at a first and second frequency bands for each antenna port, switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain, as taught by Lim.
Doing so provides a frequency coexistence method and a CA method using multiple antenna regardless of intra-band or inter-band (Lim: abstract).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 40, 78, Kazmi in view of Yang and Lim discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 39, 77 as outlined above.
Kazmi does not disclose, but Lim discloses switching, by the first wireless communications device in response to the determining, one of the first radio frequency chain and the second radio frequency chain between the first and second frequency bands ([0098]: using one baseband including two information and two RF chains for CA of two CCs at a first and second frequency bands for each antenna port, switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain, as taught by Lim.
Doing so provides a frequency coexistence method and a CA method using multiple antenna regardless of intra-band or inter-band (Lim: abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Kazmi discloses A method of wireless communication, comprising:
determining, by a second wireless communications device for a first wireless communications device, carrier aggregation information associated with a first frequency band and a second frequency band ([0351]-[0353]: network node configures the UE. [0368]: UE is configured with one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands);
generating, by the second wireless communications device, uplink scheduling information including the carrier aggregation information ([0351]-[0353]: network node configures the UE. [0368]: UE is configured with one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands), the uplink scheduling information comprising a first subset of information associated with a plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band, ([0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous (=plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band) and one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands); and
transmitting, by the second wireless communications device, the uplink scheduling information to the first wireless communications device ([0351]-[0353]: network node configures the UE. [0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA).
Kazmi does not disclose, but Yang discloses wherein the first subset of information comprises cross-carrier scheduling information to be transmitted on a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band and placing, by the first wireless communication device, the cross-carrier scheduling information for transmission by a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band ([0090]: a wider UL/DL bandwidth can be supported by aggregating a plurality of UL/DL component carriers (CCs). Each of the component carriers may be adjacent to each other or non-adjacent to each other. The bandwidth of each component carrier may be determined independently ... control information may be configured to be communicated on a specific CC only. The specific CC may be referred to as a primary CC and the other CCs may be referred to as a secondary CC … in case that a cross-carrier scheduling (or cross-CC scheduling) is applied, PDCCH for DL assignment may be transmitted on a DL CC #0 and corresponding PDSCH may be transmitted on a DL CC #2. [0091]: For cross-CC scheduling, CIF (carrier indicator field) is used. A configuration of whether or not CIF exists within PDCCH may be enabled semi-statically and user-specifically (or user group-specifically) via upper layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE to modify and transmit the configuration for two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA, as taught by Kazmi, to include downlink control information communicated through a PCC when cross-carrier scheduling is used and where PDCCH may include a CIF for cross-CC scheduling, as taught by Yang.
Doing so supports a wider UL/DL bandwidth by aggregation a plurality of UL/DL CC (Yang: [0090]).
Kazmi does not disclose, but Lim discloses for use in determining whether to switch an allocation of a first radio frequency chain and a second radio frequency chain of the second wireless communications device to at least one of the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0098]: using one baseband including two information and two RF chains for CA of two CCs at a first and second frequency bands for each antenna port, switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain, as taught by Lim.
Doing so provides a frequency coexistence method and a CA method using multiple antenna regardless of intra-band or inter-band (Lim: abstract).
Regarding claim 60, Kazmi discloses A first wireless communications device, comprising:
one or more memories;
a processor, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
determine, for a first wireless communications device, carrier aggregation information associated with a first frequency band and a second frequency band ([0351]-[0353]: network node configures the UE. [0368]: UE is configured with one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands);
generate uplink scheduling information including the carrier aggregation information ([0351]-[0353]: network node configures the UE. [0368]: UE is configured with one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands), the uplink scheduling information comprising a first subset of information associated with a plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band, ([0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous (=plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band) and one UL inter-band CA. Note: inter-band CA refers to CA of at least two bands);
place the cross-carrier scheduling information for transmission by a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band; and
a transceiver configured to transmit the uplink scheduling information to the first wireless communications device ([0351]-[0353]: network node configures the UE. [0368]: UE is configured with two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA).
Kazmi does not disclose, but Yang discloses wherein the first subset of information comprises cross-carrier scheduling information to be transmitted on a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band and place the cross-carrier scheduling information for transmission by a primary component carrier for the plurality of contiguous component carriers of the first frequency band ([0090]: a wider UL/DL bandwidth can be supported by aggregating a plurality of UL/DL component carriers (CCs). Each of the component carriers may be adjacent to each other or non-adjacent to each other. The bandwidth of each component carrier may be determined independently ... control information may be configured to be communicated on a specific CC only. The specific CC may be referred to as a primary CC and the other CCs may be referred to as a secondary CC … in case that a cross-carrier scheduling (or cross-CC scheduling) is applied, PDCCH for DL assignment may be transmitted on a DL CC #0 and corresponding PDSCH may be transmitted on a DL CC #2. [0091]: For cross-CC scheduling, CIF (carrier indicator field) is used. A configuration of whether or not CIF exists within PDCCH may be enabled semi-statically and user-specifically (or user group-specifically) via upper layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE to modify and transmit the configuration for two UL CC intra-band contiguous and one UL inter-band CA, as taught by Kazmi, to include downlink control information communicated through a PCC when cross-carrier scheduling is used and where PDCCH may include a CIF for cross-CC scheduling, as taught by Yang.
Doing so supports a wider UL/DL bandwidth by aggregation a plurality of UL/DL CC (Yang: [0090]).
Kazmi does not disclose, but Lim discloses for use in determining whether to switch an allocation of a first radio frequency chain and a second radio frequency chain of the second wireless communications device to at least one of the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0098]: using one baseband including two information and two RF chains for CA of two CCs at a first and second frequency bands for each antenna port, switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to switch the baseband to at least one RF chain corresponding to the CC characteristic of the two RF chains upon use of the first frequency band and transmit signal through the switched at least one RF chain, as taught by Lim.
Doing so provides a frequency coexistence method and a CA method using multiple antenna regardless of intra-band or inter-band (Lim: abstract).
Claim(s) 9, 26, 47, 64, 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. (US 2020/0015097 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2017/0367080 A1), Lim et al. (US 2013/0177091 A1) and Mukherjee et al. (US 2017/0245302 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 9, 47, 85, Kazmi in view of Yang and Lim discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 39, 77 as outlined above.
Kazmi does not disclose, but Mukherjee discloses extending, by the first wireless communications device, an uplink transmission preparation time based on a value associated with at least one of the plurality of contiguous component carriers ([0105]: UE transmits on one or more UL carriers based on an indication from an eNB for deferral of transmission on the one or more UL carriers until UL transmissions on adjacent carriers may have been completed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to transmit on one or more UL carriers based on a deferral of transmission on the one or more UL carriers until UL transmissions on adjacent carriers may have been completed, as taught by Mukherjee.
Doing so avoids RF leakage on adjacent UL carriers (Mukherjee: [0105]]).
Regarding claim(s) 26, 64, Kazmi in view of Yang and Lim discloses all features of claim(s) 22, 60 as outlined above.
Kazmi does not disclose, but Mukherjee discloses wherein an uplink transmission preparation time is extended based on a value associated with at least one of the plurality of contiguous component carriers ([0105]: UE transmits on one or more UL carriers based on an indication from an eNB for deferral of transmission on the one or more UL carriers until UL transmissions on adjacent carriers may have been completed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to transmit on one or more UL carriers based on a deferral of transmission on the one or more UL carriers until UL transmissions on adjacent carriers may have been completed, as taught by Mukherjee.
Doing so avoids RF leakage on adjacent UL carriers (Mukherjee: [0105]]).
Claim(s) 11, 28, 49, 66, 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. (US 2020/0015097 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2017/0367080 A1), Lim et al. (US 2013/0177091 A1) and Nory et al. (US 2023/0188306 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11, 49, 87, Kazmi in view of Yang and Lim discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 39, 77 as outlined above.
Kazmi does not disclose, but Nory discloses extending, by the first wireless communications device, an uplink transmission preparation time based on a default minimum value set for the first wireless communications device ([0071]: a UE is configured with multiple serving cells. The UE is configured with a higher layer parameter that configures the UE to operate in a fast-switched UL mode. The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability for the serving cell (e.g. one of capability 1 or 2 as shown in the table of FIG. 8 ) and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7 ). The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a second serving cell or a second set of serving cells is based on its PUSCH processing capability for the serving cell (e.g., one of capability 1 or 2 as shown in the table of FIG. 8 ) and is additionally based on a second time duration (T2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to operate in a fast-switched UL mode where the UE PUSCH preparation time for UL transmission is based on its PUSCH processing capability for a serving cell and based on a time duration, as taught by .
Doing so provides the UE enough time to decode a DCI and determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain from one carrier to another and prepare PUSCH accordingly (Nory: [0069]).
Regarding claim(s) 28, 66, Kazmi in view of Yang and Lim discloses all features of claim(s) 22, 60 as outlined above.
Kazmi does not disclose, but Nory discloses wherein an uplink transmission preparation time is extended based on a default minimum value set for the second wireless communications device ([0071]: a UE is configured with multiple serving cells. The UE is configured with a higher layer parameter that configures the UE to operate in a fast-switched UL mode. The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a first serving cell is based on its PUSCH processing capability for the serving cell (e.g. one of capability 1 or 2 as shown in the table of FIG. 8 ) and additionally based on a first time duration (T1, shown in FIG. 7 ). The UE PUSCH preparation time for uplink transmission on a second serving cell or a second set of serving cells is based on its PUSCH processing capability for the serving cell (e.g., one of capability 1 or 2 as shown in the table of FIG. 8 ) and is additionally based on a second time duration (T2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Kazmi, to operate in a fast-switched UL mode where the UE PUSCH preparation time for UL transmission is based on its PUSCH processing capability for a serving cell and based on a time duration, as taught by .
Doing so provides the UE enough time to decode a DCI and determine whether to switch the hardware or tx chain from one carrier to another and prepare PUSCH accordingly (Nory: [0069]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 22-25, 27, 41, 43-44, 62-63, 65, 79, and 81-82 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov