Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-10, 12, 14, 16-21, 23, 26-27 & 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species A-C, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8-18-25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D of Claims 1-2, 11, 13, 15, 22, 24-25, 28 & 30 in the reply filed on 8-18-25 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant' s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application PCT/CN2020/107354 filed 8-6-20 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12-8-22, 7-22-24, 9-19-24 & 3-28-25. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 24 & 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Park (US 20180115357 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended)
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration, wherein the CSI report configuration {Park: “the CSI operation related configuration information”, ¶0496} identifies a plurality of CSI report types {Park (US 20180115357 A1): s1820-Fig.18 & ¶0495-¶0496; also s2440-Fig.24}; and
transmitting a CSI report, associated with a first CSI report type {Park: “partial activation CSI related operation index information representing a CSI related operation of performing the partial activation”, ¶0496} of the plurality of CSI report types, with information indicating a second CSI report type {Park: “full activation CSI related operation index information representing a CSI related operation of performing the full activation”, ¶0496} of the plurality of CSI report types {Park (US 20180115357 A1): s1830-s1840 in Fig.18 & ¶0496-¶0500; also s2470-Fig.24}, wherein the information indicating the second CSI report type comprises an indication of a recommended CSI report type {Park: ¶0004, ¶0005 wherein “transmitting/receiving UE capability information including the number of CSI-RS port numbers supported for each CSI-RS resource in a specific CSI reporting type or class”, ¶0007-¶0009, ¶0012 wherein “the UE capability information further includes CSI reporting type information representing a CSI reporting type supported by the UE”, ¶0013 wherein “the CSI reporting type information includes at least one of a first type indicating non-precoded CSI-RS based CSI reporting and a second type indicating beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting (the claimed recommended CSI report type)”, ¶0694 wherein “the value of the second control information may be included in the UE capability signaling when the beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting method, that is, the CSI reporting type (or class type) of the UE is ‘Class B (the claimed recommended CSI report type)”, ¶0702-¶0703, ¶0721, ¶0768-¶0770 & ¶0772}.
Regarding Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the CSI report comprises:
transmitting, in connection with the CSI report, information indicating that the CSI report is associated with the first CSI report type {Park (US 20180115357 A1): s1840-Fig.18 & ¶0500; s2470-Fig.24; and ¶0004, ¶0005 wherein “transmitting/receiving UE capability information including the number of CSI-RS port numbers supported for each CSI-RS resource in a specific CSI reporting type or class”, ¶0013 wherein “the CSI reporting type information includes at least one of a first type indicating non-precoded CSI-RS based CSI reporting and a second type indicating beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting”, ¶0690 wherein “the value of the first control information may be included in the UE capability information when the beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting method, that is, the CSI reporting type (or class type) of the UE is ‘Class B’”, ¶0691 wherein “In this case, the value of the first control information may be, for example, 8, 12, 16, 24, 32, 64, etc”, ¶0692 wherein “the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information”, ¶0693 wherein “the second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process”, and ¶0694 wherein “the value of the second control information may be included in the UE capability signaling when the beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting method, that is, the CSI reporting type (or class type) of the UE is ‘Class B’”, ¶0702-¶0703, ¶0721, ¶0768-¶0770 & ¶0772}; In other words, the CSI report from UE including “UE capability information including the number of CSI-RS port numbers supported for each CSI-RS resource in a specific CSI reporting type or class”{Park: ¶0005} and “the CSI reporting type information includes at least one of a first type indicating non-precoded CSI-RS based CSI reporting and a second type indicating beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting”{Park: ¶0013}.
Regarding Claim 11.(Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of CSI report types, identified by the CSI report configuration, includes:
a third CSI report type configured to track an instantaneous channel state at a given time and provide coarse beamforming,
a fourth CSI report type configured to track an instantaneous channel state at a given time and provide fine beamforming,
a fifth CSI report type configured to track variation of an instantaneous channel state in time,
a sixth CSI report type configured to track a statistical channel state in time {Park (US 20180115357 A1): tracking step before s1830-Fig.18, e.g. “Partial activation CSI-RS tracking”-Fig.18 & ¶0498-¶0499; see also ¶0441-¶0443, ¶0457, ¶0472-¶0473}, or
a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 24. (Currently Amended)
-With the same reasons as set forth in Claim 1 and further as following:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memory {Park: memory 3222-Fig.32}; and
one or more processors {Park: processor 3221-Fig.32} coupled to the one or more memory, the one or more memories storing instructions configuration to be executed by the one or more processors configured to {Park: ¶1180-¶1181, ¶1183-¶1184 & ¶1187 wherein “In the case of implementation by firmware or software, the embodiment of the present invention may be implemented in the form of a module, a procedure, a function, and the like to perform the functions or operations described above. A software code may be stored in the memory and executed by the processor. The memory may be positioned inside or outside the processor and may transmit and receive data to/from the processor by already various means”}:
receive a channel state information (CSI) report configuration, wherein the CSI report configuration identifies a plurality of CSI report types; and
transmit a CSI report, associated with a first CSI report type of the plurality of CSI report types, with information indicating a second CSI report type of the plurality of CSI report types, wherein the information indicating the second CSI report type comprises an indication of a recommended CSI report type.
Regarding Claim 25. (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 24, wherein the instructions configurable to be executed, when transmitting the CSI report, are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
transmit, in connection with the CSI report, information indicating that the CSI report is associated with the first CSI report type.
-With the same reasons as set forth in Claims 2 & 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15, 28 & 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20180115357 A1) in view of Xu (US 20190260429 A1).
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended)
A method of wireless communication performed by a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a channel state information (CSI) report configuration that identifies a plurality of CSI report types {Park (US 20180115357 A1): s2420-s2440 in Fig.24 & ¶0792-¶0794; also Fig.18};
receiving, from the UE, a first CSI report, associated with a first CSI report type of the plurality of CSI report types, with information indicating a second CSI report type of the plurality of CSI report types {Park (US 20180115357 A1): s2470-Fig.24 & ¶0795-¶0799; also Fig.18}, wherein the information indicating the second CSI report type comprises an indication of a recommended CSI report type {Park: ¶0004, ¶0005 wherein “transmitting/receiving UE capability information including the number of CSI-RS port numbers supported for each CSI-RS resource in a specific CSI reporting type or class”, ¶0007-¶0009, ¶0012 wherein “the UE capability information further includes CSI reporting type information representing a CSI reporting type supported by the UE”, ¶0013 wherein “the CSI reporting type information includes at least one of a first type indicating non-precoded CSI-RS based CSI reporting and a second type indicating beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting”, ¶0694 wherein “the value of the second control information may be included in the UE capability signaling when the beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting method, that is, the CSI reporting type (or class type) of the UE is ‘Class B’”, ¶0702-¶0703, ¶0721, ¶0768-¶0770 & ¶0772 wherein “when the base station receives information related with Class (type) of the UE from the UE, the base station may know whether all association operations (e.g., CSI measurement, CSI reporting, and the like) depending on Class A type and/or Class B type may be performed (alternatively, implemented) or whether only an association operation (e.g., CSI measurement, CSI reporting, etc.) depending on one specific class type among two class types may be performed, or whether all of the operations of Class A and Class B are not supported, through the capability signaling of the UE”}; and
Park does not explicitly disclose “transmitting, to the UE and after receiving the first CSI report, an indication of a particular CSI report type that the UE is to use for a second CSI report”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xu (US 20190260429 A1)disclose “transmitting, to the UE and after receiving the first CSI report, an indication of a particular CSI report type that the UE is to use for a second CSI report”{Xu: ¶0117-¶0118}. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to Xu’s teaching to Park’s system with the motivation being to “to adapt the communication system to the current channel state, thereby guaranteeing high-reliability and high-rate communications, especially for multi-antenna communication system”{Xu: ¶0002}, and “to provide channel state information with a higher spatial resolution (with a smaller granularity) and/or with a higher richness, and thus, it is possible to obtain accurate channel information even in case of acute channel scattering or angle scattering”{Xu: ¶0003}.
Regarding Claim 15. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 13, wherein receiving the first CSI report comprises:
receiving, in connection with the first CSI report, information indicating that the first CSI report is associated with the first CSI report type {Xu: ¶0061 & ¶0117}.
Regarding Claim 22. (Currently Amended) With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 13, wherein the plurality of CSI report types, identified by the CSI report configuration, includes:
a third CSI report type configured to track an instantaneous channel state at a given time and provide coarse beamforming,
a fourth CSI report type configured to track an instantaneous channel state at a given time and provide fine beamforming,
a fifth CSI report type configured to track variation of an instantaneous channel state in time,
a sixth CSI report type configured to track a statistical channel state in time {Park (US 20180115357 A1): tracking step before s1830-Fig.18, e.g. “Partial activation CSI-RS tracking”-Fig.18 & ¶0498-¶0499; see also ¶0441-¶0443, ¶0457, ¶0472-¶0473}, or
a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 28. (Currently Amended)
-With the same reasons as set forth in Claim 13 and further as following:
A base station for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memory {Park: memory 3212-Fig.32}; and
one or more processors {Park: processor 3211-Fig.32} coupled to the one or more memory storing instructions configurable to be executed by the one or more processors to cause the base station to {Park: ¶1180-¶1182, ¶1184 & ¶1187 wherein “In the case of implementation by firmware or software, the embodiment of the present invention may be implemented in the form of a module, a procedure, a function, and the like to perform the functions or operations described above. A software code may be stored in the memory and executed by the processor. The memory may be positioned inside or outside the processor and may transmit and receive data to/from the processor by already various means”}:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a channel state information (CSI) report configuration that identifies a plurality of CSI report types;
receive, from the UE, a first CSI report, associated with a first CSI report type of the plurality of CSI report types, with information indicating a second CSI report type of the plurality of CSI report types, wherein the information indicating the second CSI report type comprises an indication of a recommended CSI report type; and
transmit, to the UE and after receiving the first CSI report, an indication of a particular CSI report type that the UE is to use for a second CSI report.
Regarding Claim 30. (Currently Amended)The base station of claim 28, wherein the instructions configurable to be executed, when receiving the CSI report, are further executable by one or more processors to cause the base station to:
receive, in connection with the first CSI report, information indicating that the first CSI report is associated with the first CSI report type.
-With the same reasons as set forth in Claims 13 & 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-4-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A/. With respect to the previous Obviousness Double Patenting Rejection.
-In reply, the amended claims 1, 13, 24 & 28 have overcome previous Obviousness Double Patenting Rejection. Therefore, previous Obviousness Double Patenting Rejection is hereby withdrawn.
B/. With respect to 102 rejection based on Park and 103 rejection based on Park and Xu, the applicant argued that Park does not disclose “wherein the information indicating the second CSI report type comprises an indication of a recommended CSI report type” as amended in claims 1 and 13.
-In reply, applicant is directed to 102 rejection as set forth in ¶13 as above, Park discloses wherein the information indicating the second CSI report type comprises an indication of a recommended CSI report type {Park: ¶0004, ¶0005 wherein “transmitting/receiving UE capability information including the number of CSI-RS port numbers supported for each CSI-RS resource in a specific CSI reporting type or class”, ¶0007-¶0009, ¶0012 wherein “the UE capability information further includes CSI reporting type information representing a CSI reporting type supported by the UE”, ¶0013 wherein “the CSI reporting type information includes at least one of a first type indicating non-precoded CSI-RS based CSI reporting and a second type indicating beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting (the claimed recommended CSI report type)”, ¶0694 wherein “the value of the second control information may be included in the UE capability signaling when the beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting method, that is, the CSI reporting type (or class type) of the UE is ‘Class B (the claimed recommended CSI report type)”, ¶0702-¶0703, ¶0721, ¶0768-¶0770 & ¶0772}.
C/. With respect to 102 rejection based on Park, the applicant argued that Park does not disclose “transmitting, in connection with the CSI report, information indicating that the CSI report is associated with the first CSI report type”{claims 2 & 22}.
In reply, applicant is directed to 102 rejection as set forth in ¶13 as above, Park “transmitting, in connection with the CSI report, information indicating that the CSI report is associated with the first CSI report type” {Park (US 20180115357 A1): s1840-Fig.18 & ¶0500; s2470-Fig.24; and ¶0004, ¶0005 wherein “transmitting/receiving UE capability information including the number of CSI-RS port numbers supported for each CSI-RS resource in a specific CSI reporting type or class”, ¶0013 wherein “the CSI reporting type information includes at least one of a first type indicating non-precoded CSI-RS based CSI reporting and a second type indicating beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting”, ¶0690 wherein “the value of the first control information may be included in the UE capability information when the beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting method, that is, the CSI reporting type (or class type) of the UE is ‘Class B’”, ¶0691 wherein “In this case, the value of the first control information may be, for example, 8, 12, 16, 24, 32, 64, etc”, ¶0692 wherein “the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information”, ¶0693 wherein “the second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process”, and ¶0694 wherein “the value of the second control information may be included in the UE capability signaling when the beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting method, that is, the CSI reporting type (or class type) of the UE is ‘Class B’”, ¶0702-¶0703, ¶0721, ¶0768-¶0770 & ¶0772}; In other words, the CSI report from UE including “UE capability information including the number of CSI-RS port numbers supported for each CSI-RS resource in a specific CSI reporting type or class”{Park: ¶0005} and “the CSI reporting type information includes at least one of a first type indicating non-precoded CSI-RS based CSI reporting and a second type indicating beamformed CSI-RS based CSI reporting”{Park: ¶0013}.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guo (US 20220345191) discloses a method for performing beam measurement, the method comprising: measuring at least one beam transmitted by at least one of a first network device and a second network device, and received by a first receiving unit of a terminal device, measuring at least one beam transmitted by at least one of the first network device and the second network device, and received by a second receiving unit of the terminal device, and determining, for the first and second receiving units (111, 112), the at least one best beam received by each receiving unit (111, 112){Figs. 9 & 13}.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHUONGCHAU BA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464