DEVICE AND METHOD FOR DISTRIBUTING THE POWER OF FUEL CELL SYSTEMS IN A VEHICLE
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/001,240 Art Unit: 1727 April 13, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on January 20, 2026 has been received. Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-18 are currently pending. Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-18 have been amended. Claims 2-3 and 12-13 have been canceled.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites an intended use for a device for distributing power of fuel cell systems. The courts have held that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pearson on claims 1-13 and 15-18 are withdrawn because Applicant has amended the claims.
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9, 11, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O-Neill (US 2015/0099204 A1; as found in IDS dated 02/11/26).
As to Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16-17, O-Neill discloses a device and a method for controlling a fuel cell system, comprising: a control device that modulates the power of a first and second fuel cell system by way of first and second electrical signals, wherein one fuel cell stack can operate at a high power mode (reads on increasing a first electrical power) and wherein the second fuel cell stack can operate in a low power mode (reads on decreasing a first electrical power) (paragraphs [0013-0016 and 0020]).
As to Claims 4-5, 14 and 18, O-Neill discloses temporarily varying the voltages of the first and second fuel cell systems, which reads on applying a temporally offset oscillation (paragraphs [0013-0016 and 0020]).
As to Claims 9 and 15, O-Neill discloses a hydrogen storage tank 20 that is configured to provide the fuel cell systems with hydrogen (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pearson on claim 14 is withdrawn because Applicant has amended the claims.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O-Neill (US 2015/0099204 A1; as found in IDS dated 02/11/26) in view of Pearson (US 2004/0009380 A1).
As to Claims 7-8, O-Neill discloses the same control unit and device of claim 1. However, O-Neill does not specifically disclose the claimed catalyst.
However, Pearson discloses a device and method for distributing power of at least a first fuel cell system and a second fuel cell system (a fuel cell having a membrane electrode assembly and a platinum catalyst) in a vehicle (Abstract and paragraph [0004]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fuel cells of O-Neill to comprise the claimed catalyst because Pearson teaches that the desired electrochemical reaction is provided (paragraph [0004]). In addition, it is the position of the Office that the control unit of modified O-Neill, when it is in operation, intrinsically causes the claimed catalyst conversion process given that the structure of the claimed and the prior art are the same, see MPEP 2112 and 2114.
As to Claim 10, O-Neill does not specifically disclose the claimed battery.
However, Pearson discloses at least one battery system 24 configured to store electrical energy generated by the fuel cell systems (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0045]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of O-Neill to comprise the claimed battery because Pearson teaches that electrical power can be stored and used as needed (paragraphs [0058]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727