Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 09/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/2025
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 3, line 23, “molded support” should be –printed support--.
Page 4, line 7, “flaps 14” should be –fins 14--.
On page 4, line 27, recites, “wedge-shaped opening 15”. Did the Applicant mean -- wedge shaped guide 15--?
On page 5, line 23, “molded support portion 11” should be – printed support portion 11--.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 4 recites, “a wedge-shaped guide (15)”. However, the specification details a “wedge-shaped opening 15”. It is not clear if 15 is a guide or an opening.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wedge-shaped guide on the cutting unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because it is not clear how the cutting unit 5 is engaging the substrate 1. Figures 3B, 4B, 5B, and 6B show a profile view of the cutting apparatus in which planes 1 and 2 are parallel to each other and the cutting unit, although not numbered appears to be in between 1 and 2. Figures 1, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, and 6A all show the cutting units 5 parallel to the planes 1 and 2. If the printed substate is riding on top of the planes 1 and 2 then how is the cutting unit, which is also positioned parallel to the planes 1 and 2 engaging the printed substrate? Are Figures 1, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, and 6A misdrawn as to the orientation of the cutters 5? If 1, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, and 6A are drawn correctly, then how is the cutter 5 engaging the printed substrate?
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5, the use of the pronoun “it” should be replaced with the proper name.
Claim 1, line 16 and line 21, the use of the pronoun “they” should be replaced with the proper name.
Claim 1, line 18, “said array” should be -- said array of fins--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a transversal cutting area having a main dimension along a transverse axis”. It is not clear what the metes and bounds of the limitation “main” are to impart. Does “main” impart a largest dimension or is the limitation “main” just an identifier for the dimension?
Claim 2 recites, “wherein the fins have a main dimension”. It is not clear what the metes and bounds of the limitation “main” are to impart. Does “main” impart a largest dimension or is the limitation “main” just an identifier for the dimension?
Claim 3 recites, “said at least two cutting units comprises a wedge-shaped guide”. Claim 1 recites, that the “at least two cutting units configured to be able to move along the transverse axis.” It is noted that the specification does not disclose a wedge-shaped guide, but rather a wedge-shaped opening. However, in either regard, it is not clear if the guide/opening 15 is part of the cutting unit 5, then it should also be movable along the transverse axis, but this relationship is not established by the drawings or specification. It is not clear how the cutting unit 5 and guide operate together, as in none of the drawings show the relationship between the cutting unit 5 and the guide 15 shown such that it is not understood how the “wedge shaped guide facilitates an elastic deformation of the fins” and also “directs a scrap below the second sliding plane” per Figure 4. Rather it appears that the cutting units 5 have a beveled or wedge shape that facilitates an elastic deformation of the fins and that there is a separate structure that might direct the scrap below the second sliding plane?
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the cutting assembly" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites, “wherein the cutting assembly is configured to cut the printed support according to two directions parallel to said feeding direction.” It is not clear what other two directions are parallel to the feeding direction? Did the Applicant mean that each of two cutting units makes a cut line parallel to the feeding direction?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinomiya et al. (U.S. Patent 4,506,577), herein referred to as Shinomiya in view of Ima et al. (U.S. Patent 5,761,980) herein referred to as Ima.
In regards to claim 1, Shinomiya discloses an automatic cutting device for printed supports (sheet member 1) comprising: - a feeding direction (right-left per Fig. 2) of a printed support ;- a first sliding plane surface (annotated below) in the feeding direction of the printed support to be cut; a second sliding plane surface (annotated below) in said feeding direction of said printed support after it has been cut, wherein said second sliding plane surface is placed at a distance from said first sliding plane surface along said feeding direction and defines together with the first sliding plane surface;
a transversal cutting area (inside 12) having a main dimension (along the left/right of the multiple pairs of slitters in Figure 1) along a transverse axis (as shown in Figure 1 across the multiple pairs of slitters), perpendicular to the feeding direction (direction of S); - at least two cutting units (3/3) configured to be able to move along the transverse axis (Figure 1) within the transversal cutting area so as to intercept and cut the printed support (1); and - an electronic control unit (driving mean(s) 17/18) configured to control the movement of the at least two cutting units (23/23); wherein the automatic cutting device further comprises an array of fins (4) arranged in a comb cantilever supported at said second sliding plane surface, and elastically constrained in said array so that they can be elastically flexed along the transverse axis in which said array (4): - is configured to move, controlled by the electronic control unit, from a closed configuration (when cutter 4 engages cutter 3), in which all the fins protrude from said second sliding plane surface towards the first sliding plane surface and occupy the transversal cutting area to an open configuration in which they leave free said transversal cutting area so as to allow undisturbed movement along the transverse axis of the at least two cutting units (“In the foregoing example, an apparatus has been explained wherein only the upper rotary cutter 3 is swingable through the supporting arm 13. However, the apparatus may be modified into a type wherein the lower rotary cutter 4 is also swingable.” Col. 4, lines 15-20)
Shinomiya discloses the claimed invention except for the highlighted recitations in which the lower cutter comprises a ray of fins in a comb, cantilever supported the second sliding plane surface. Attention is further directed to the Ima slitter. Ima discloses a sheet slitting device with a disk like blade 23 and a guiding member 52 that engages the disk blade. The guiding member comprises a plurality of blade guides 50/150 that can displace axially therefore avoiding blade fracture when the repositioning of the upper blade during order changing. As both Shinomiya and Ima relate to the slitting of sheets utilizing overlapping cutters, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been similarly motivated to have replaced the lower cutter of Shinomiya for the Ima guiding member to improve the life of the upper cutters such that they were less prone to breaking during repositioning. Thereby the modified device of Shinomiya discloses 18) configured to control the movement of the at least two cutting units (23/23); wherein the automatic cutting device further comprises an array of fins an array of fins (e.g.Ima disks 50 or rings 150; Figs. 11 or 12a) arranged in a comb (circular comb), cantilever (projecting radially from roller 48 Ima) supported at said second sliding plane surface, and elastically constrained in said array so that they can be elastically flexed along the transverse axis (“As shown in FIG. 12(a), plural rings 150 which are arranged contacting each other and each of which can elastically deforms with the intrusion of the blade 23 may be used instead of flexible disks 50” col. 8. lines 30-38 Ima).
In regards to claim 2, the modified device of Shinomiya discloses wherein the fins (50/150 Ima) have a main dimension (the fins extend radially from the shaft 48 Ima) according to a direction parallel to said feeding direction (left/right per Figure 2) and are configured to resist deformation according to a vertical axis (Z) perpendicular to the second sliding plane surface (annotated above).
In regards to claim 3, the modified device of Shinomiya discloses wherein said at least two cutting units (3/3) comprise a wedge-shaped guide (edge of 3 is beveled; see Fig. 3) facing the second sliding plane surface configured to facilitate an elastic deformation of the fins (50/150 Ima as modified) directing them towards the outside of the transversal cutting area (see Ima Figure 4)
In regards to claim 4, as best understood, the modified device of Shinomiya discloses wherein the cutting assembly (3) is configured to cut the printed support (1) according to two directions (a cutting line per cutting knife) parallel to said feeding direction (left/right Fig. 2), and the wedge-shaped guide (bevel of 3) is configured to direct a scrap below the second sliding plane surface (2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724