DETAILED ACTION
The objection to the Specification is withdrawn since Applicant has amended the Specification to capitalize and include the proper symbol for tradenames, and where applicable, include generic terminology.
The rejection under section 101 is withdrawn since claim 1 has been amended to require administering a Bicycle toxin conjugate specific for EphA2, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition thereof, to a patient identified as having an elevated EphA2 level, now quantitatively defined as "about 5% or more of cells in the tumor tissue having a detectable amount of EphA2," consistent with paragraph [0025]. This amendment integrates the judicial exception into a practical application: the claim recites a specific method of treating a patient with a defined therapeutic agent, selected on the basis of a defined biomarker threshold. This is materially indistinguishable from other diagnosis-and-treatment claims held eligible at Step 2A, Prong Two and Step 2B. See Vanda Pharms. Inc. V. West-Ward Pharms. Int'l Ltd., 887 F.3d 1117, 1136 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (claims reciting a specific treatment based on a patient's genotype are patent eligible).
The rejection under section 112(a) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s remarks establishing support for the instant antibodies. Specifically, claim 5 recites a binary structural choice (ECD domain- or cytoplasmic-domain binding). The specification discloses actual possession of a representative, commercially-sourced species for each sub-genus (e.g., AF3035 (ECD) and CST6997 (cytoplasmic domain)), including a complete working IHC protocol (Example 2), demonstrating that antibodies of each specificity were obtained using conventional, routine techniques for a fully characterized target. See Application, [0026]-[0027]; Example 2.
The following is a new ground of rejection under this section, which was necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover administering a Bicycle toxin conjugate specific for EphA2, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition thereof.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of Bicycle toxin conjugates, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify particular Bicycle toxin conjugates encompassed by the claims. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other Bicycle toxin conjugates, besides those identified in specification and claims. The specification indicates that “[0015] As used herein, the term "a Bicycle toxin conjugate specific for EphA2" refers to a Bicycle toxin conjugate that binds specifically to EphA2. Various Bicycle toxin conjugates specific for EphA2 have been described previously, for example, in US 2019/0184025, WO 2019/122861, and WO 2019/122863, the content of each of which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety.” In relation to the above, these disclosed species do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of Bicycle toxin conjugates.
With regard to the functional definition of a toxin conjugate specifically binding EphA2, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of conjugates to see if they can perform the required function. In this connection, the specification contains no generic structural characteristics of those conjugates which perform the intended functions, besides those conjugates instantly disclosed, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited Bicycle toxin conjugates.
The rejection under section 112(b) are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments and remarks, which are incorporated herein by reference. The following is a new ground of rejection under this section, which was necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what structures Applicant intends to cover by the term Bicycle toxin conjugate specific for EphA2, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. The specification does not provide a generic structural definition but only defines the conjugate as binding EphA2. The specification only provides examples (“Various Bicycle toxin conjugates specific for EphA2 have been described previously, for example, in US 2019/0184025, WO 2019/122861, and WO 2019/122863”). However, importing limitations of the specification is impermissible, and arbitrary, see MPEP 2111.01 (““Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004”).
The prior art rejections under sections 102 and 103 are withdrawn since the applied references do not teach or suggest administration of the recited Bicyclic toxin conjugate. The following rejections are now entered, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190184025 based on an application by Chen et al. (Chen) or WO 2019/122861 (WO 861)
Chen describes short bicyclic peptides that bind EphA2, a receptor often found at high levels in certain cancers. The peptide is built by tying a cysteine-rich sequence onto a non-aromatic scaffold so that it forms two peptide loops. The disclosed lead sequence is a specific EphA2 binder, and the application also covers a closely related sequence variant with an N-terminal tail. The inventors then attach these peptides to drugs or other functional groups to make “drug conjugates.” In the examples, the main payloads are cytotoxic agents such as MMAE and DM1. The conjugates are designed to deliver the payload to EphA2-expressing diseased tissue, especially tumors. The specification reports binding data showing selectivity for EphA2 over related Eph receptors and some rodent orthologs. It also reports multiple mouse xenograft studies where the lead conjugate BCY6136 reduced or eliminated tumors in several cancer models. Safety studies in rats and cynomolgus monkeys report no major coagulation effects or bleeding events. The application further suggests using EphA2 copy-number information to help select patients most likely to respond. Overall, the invention is a targeted cancer therapeutic platform centered on EphA2-binding bicyclic peptides.
Specifically, Chen describes the following bicyclic conjugates:
See pages 8+.
WO 861 teaches engineered peptides that are tied to a small aromatic chemical scaffold so they form a compact bicyclic shape. The peptides are designed to bind tightly and selectively to the EphA2 receptor, a protein often found at elevated levels on cancer cells. The scaffold links cysteine residues in the peptide to create two peptide loops, which helps lock the molecule into a binding-friendly shape. The invention also covers versions of these peptide ligands that are attached to drugs, imaging agents, or other functional groups. These conjugates can deliver a payload to EphA2-expressing diseased tissue, especially tumors. The application highlights that the peptides may be modified to improve stability, solubility, and half-life. It also describes pharmaceutical compositions containing the peptides or conjugates. The peptides are intended for prevention, suppression, or treatment of diseases associated with EphA2 overexpression. In particular, cancer is emphasized, including non-small cell lung cancer and other solid tumors. The examples show synthesis of the bicyclic peptides and their drug conjugates, along with binding assays to EphA2, see page 18:
The references may not explicitly teach measuring EphA2 levels. However, the references teach conjugates that target EphA2, a receptor often found at high levels in certain cancers. Therefore, testing for this particular target for treatment would have been part of treatment with these conjugates. In this manner, the difference between the methods disclosed in the applied references and the instant methods is that the references may not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, the references teach the elements of the instant methods invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The following are new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of copending Application No. 17/594031. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the methods covered in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered in the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered in the conflicting claims and those covered in the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Also, the rejected claims include method claims in place of conjugates as recited by the conflicting claims. However, the specification of the conflicting patent or application discloses the utility of the recited conjugates as covered by the instant methods of using the conjugates, see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd., v. Eli Lilly and Co. where the district court ruled that the claims of the ‘826 patent were invalid in light of the ‘614 patent which disclosed gemcitabine’s use in cancer treatment, but did not claim it. In making this ruling, the district court relied on the Federal Circuit’s earlier rulings on double patenting of compound claims, mainly Geneva Pharmaceuticals, Inc, v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F. 3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008). In both of these cases, the Federal Circuit found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent. The cases also established that in determining the scope of compound claims for a double patenting rejection one must look to the specification to interpret the utility of the compound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13, 25, 38 of copending Application No. 16/018432.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the methods covered in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered in the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered in the conflicting claims and those covered in the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Also, the rejected claims include method claims in place of conjugates as recited by the conflicting claims. However, the specification of the conflicting patent or application discloses the utility of the recited conjugates as covered by the instant methods of using the conjugates, see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd., v. Eli Lilly and Co. where the district court ruled that the claims of the ‘826 patent were invalid in light of the ‘614 patent which disclosed gemcitabine’s use in cancer treatment, but did not claim it. In making this ruling, the district court relied on the Federal Circuit’s earlier rulings on double patenting of compound claims, mainly Geneva Pharmaceuticals, Inc, v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F. 3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008). In both of these cases, the Federal Circuit found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent. The cases also established that in determining the scope of compound claims for a double patenting rejection one must look to the specification to interpret the utility of the compound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,746,126.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The rejected claims include method claims in place of conjugates as recited by the conflicting claims. However, the specification of the conflicting patent or application discloses the utility of the recited conjugates as covered by the instant methods of using the conjugates, see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd., v. Eli Lilly and Co. where the district court ruled that the claims of the ‘826 patent were invalid in light of the ‘614 patent which disclosed gemcitabine’s use in cancer treatment, but did not claim it. In making this ruling, the district court relied on the Federal Circuit’s earlier rulings on double patenting of compound claims, mainly Geneva Pharmaceuticals, Inc, v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F. 3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008). In both of these cases, the Federal Circuit found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent. The cases also established that in determining the scope of compound claims for a double patenting rejection one must look to the specification to interpret the utility of the compound.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 39-54 of copending Application No. 18/345506.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the methods covered in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered in the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered in the conflicting claims and those covered in the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Also, the rejected claims include method claims in place of conjugates as recited by the conflicting claims. However, the specification of the conflicting patent or application discloses the utility of the recited conjugates as covered by the instant methods of using the conjugates, see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd., v. Eli Lilly and Co. where the district court ruled that the claims of the ‘826 patent were invalid in light of the ‘614 patent which disclosed gemcitabine’s use in cancer treatment, but did not claim it. In making this ruling, the district court relied on the Federal Circuit’s earlier rulings on double patenting of compound claims, mainly Geneva Pharmaceuticals, Inc, v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F. 3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008). In both of these cases, the Federal Circuit found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent. The cases also established that in determining the scope of compound claims for a double patenting rejection one must look to the specification to interpret the utility of the compound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646