DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
"access engine" and "heat-aware toolpath engine" in claims 8 and 11-13.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Co-pending Application No. 18001358. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 1 is anticipated by Co-pending Application claim.
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 1 of Co-pending Application No. 18001358 teach the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18001358
1. A method comprising: by a computing system:
1. A method comprising: by a computing system:
accessing a slice of a 3-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part and wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part;
accessing an original layer toolpath for slice of a 3D CAD object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part, wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part,
generating a layer toolpath to control the 3D printing of the physical layer, including by:
and wherein the original layer toolpath controls the 3D printing of the physical layer and comprises a 3D print order for multiple toolpath segments for the original layer toolpath;
partitioning the slice into zones; and determining a zone order, based on a heat-aware criterion, for the layer toolpath to traverse for the 3D printing of the physical layer; and
reordering the multiple toolpath segments into a modified layer toolpath, wherein the modified layer toolpath has a different 3D print order from the original layer toolpath and has a heat criticality measure with a lesser heat impact on the physical part than the heat criticality measure for the original layer toolpath;and
providing the layer toolpath to support the 3D printing of the physical part.
providing the modified layer toolpath to support the 3D printing of the physical part.
Claim 1 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 1 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of Co-pending Application No. 18001358. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 8 is anticipated by Co-pending Application claim.
Regarding instant claim 8, claim 8 of Co-pending Application No. 18001358 teach the claim limitations.
Claim 8 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 8 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of Co-pending Application No. 18001358. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 15 is anticipated by Co-pending Application claim.
Regarding instant claim 15, claim 15 of Co-pending Application No. 18001358 teach the claim limitations.
Claim 15 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 15 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim 8 recites:
A system comprising:
an access engine configured to access a slice of a 3-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part and wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part;
a heat-aware toolpath engine configured to:
generate a layer toolpath to control the 3D printing of the physical layer, including by:
partitioning the slice into zones; and
determining a zone order, based on a heat-aware criterion, for the layer toolpath to traverse for the 3D printing of the physical layer; and
provide the layer toolpath to support the 3D printing of the physical part.
Step 1:
The claim recites a system. Thus, the claim is directed to a product, which belongs to statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong one:
Claim 8 recites the limitations of “generate a layer toolpath to control the 3D printing of the physical layer, including by: partitioning the slice into zones; and determining a zone order, based on a heat-aware criterion, for the layer toolpath to traverse for the 3D printing of the physical layer”. The recited “generate …, partitioning …, and determining …” steps, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, generate the layer tool path by partitioning the slice into zones and determining a zone order can be done in the mind or with pen and paper. The slice can be divided into grids in the mind or using pen and paper, and the zone order can be determined in the mind or using pen and paper to mark next grid separated by a grid from the current grid. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong two:
Besides the abstract ideas, the claim recites additional elements of 1) “access a slice of a 3-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part and wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part”, these additional limitations represent mere receiving, transmitting and storing data that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception, and are recited at a high level of generality (For example, see MPEP 2106.05(g), which notes that mere data gathering, outputting and storing can be seen as insignificant extra-solution activity). These limitations are thus insignificant extra-solution activities and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The recited 2) “system”, “access engine" and "heat-aware toolpath engine” (“access engine" and "heat-aware toolpath engine” invoking 35 USC 112(f) therefore are interpreted by corresponding structure disclosed in the specification, which is merely a module implemented using one or more processors) are additional elements which are to implement the system. But the “system”, “access engine" and "heat-aware toolpath engine” are recited at high level of generality (no details whatsoever are provided other than it is “processor") that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The recited 3) “provide the layer toolpath to support the 3D printing of the physical part” is additional limitation that is recited at high level of generality (no details what so ever are provided other than causing to act), it is a general field of use and mere instruction to apply an exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)) or mere field of use and technological environment (MPEP 2016.05(h)) and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Even when viewed in combination, these additional limitation and additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claim as a whole does not amounts to significantly more than the recited exception. The claim has the following additional limitations and elements:
1) “access a slice of a 3-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part and wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part”;
2) “system”, “access engine" and "heat-aware toolpath engine”;
3) “provide the layer toolpath to support the 3D printing of the physical part”.
Regarding 1), as explained previously, are extra-solution activities, which for purposes of Step 2A Prong Two was considered insignificant. As indicated in MPEP 2016.05(d) II, receiving, transmitting and storing data are considered well-known, routine and conventional activities in the field, and do not add inventive concept into the claim.
Regarding 2) “system”, “access engine" and "heat-aware toolpath engine” are at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding 3) “provide the layer toolpath to support the 3D printing of the physical part” is additional limitation that is a general field of use and mere instruction to apply an exception or mere field of use and technological environment and does not add an inventive concept.
Therefore, the claim directs to an abstract idea without significantly more, and is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 1,
Step 1: The claim recites a method. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which belongs to statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A and Step 2B: Similarly, as recited in the rejection of claim 8, claim 1 is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The additional elements "computer-system'' are recited at high level of generality that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions, and they do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical applicant and do not add an inventive concept. Therefore, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 15,
Step 1: The claim recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Thus, the claim is directed to a product, which belongs to statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A and Step 2B: Similarly, as recited in the rejection of claim 8, claim 1 is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The additional elements " non-transitory machine-readable medium'' are recited at high level of generality that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions, and they do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical applicant and do not add an inventive concept. Therefore, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claims 2 and 9 depend on claims 1 and 8, respectively, and recite additional limitation of “the heat-aware criterion specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is a maximum distance from a current zone” that merely specifies some details of the “determining” (“mental process” group of abstract idea) and does not change the fact that the claims 2 and 9 are directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Therefore claims 2 and 9 are not patent eligible.
Claims 3, 10 and 16 depend on claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively, and recite additional limitation of “the heat-aware criterion specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is a predetermined distance from a current zone” that merely specifies some details of the “determining” (“mental process” group of abstract idea) and does not change the fact that the claims 3, 10 and 16 are directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Therefore claims 3, 10 and 16 are not patent eligible.
Claims 4, 11 and 17 depend on claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively, and recite additional limitation of “the heat-aware criterion specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is adjacent to a current zone and wherein generating the layer toolpath further comprises reversing a starting point and ending point of the toolpath for the 3D printing of the subsequent zone” that merely specifies some details of the “determining” (“mental process” group of abstract idea) and does not change the fact that the claims 4, 11 and 17 are directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Therefore claims 4, 11 and 17 are not patent eligible.
Claims 5, 12 and 18 depend on claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively, and recite additional limitation of “applying a different heat-aware criterion for generating a layer toolpath of a different slice of the 3D CAD object” that merely specifies some details of the “determining” (“mental process” group of abstract idea) and does not change the fact that the claims 5, 12 and 18 are directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Therefore claims 5, 12 and 18 are not patent eligible.
Claims 6, 13 and 19 depend on claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively, and recite additional limitation of “partitioning the slice into zones that are greater in area than zones of a different slice that represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part” that merely specifies some details of the “partitioning” (“mental process” group of abstract idea) and does not change the fact that the claims 6, 13 and 19 are directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Therefore claims 6, 13 and 19 are not patent eligible.
Claims 7, 13 and 19 depend on claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively, and recite additional limitation of “the heat-aware criterion specifies determination of a starting zone in the zone order that is at least a threshold distance from an ending zone of a zone order determined for a different slice, wherein the different slice represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part” that merely specifies some details of the “determining” (“mental process” group of abstract idea) and does not change the fact that the claims 7, 13 and 19 are directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Therefore claims 7, 13 and 19 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ploshikhin US 20210129226 A1 in view of Pieper US 20220075346 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Ploshikhin teaches a system comprising:
a heat-aware toolpath engine ([0073] computer) configured to:
generate a layer toolpath to control the 3D printing of the physical layer, including by: partitioning the slice into zones; and determining a zone order, based on a heat-aware criterion, for the layer toolpath to traverse for the 3D printing of the physical layer ([0012] division of a component layer into segments i.e. “partitioning the layer into zones” and determining the time sequence of the creation of individual segments with scanning vectors based on local heat dissipating capability i.e. “determining a zone order, based on a heat-aware criterion, for the layer toolpath to traverse for the 3D printing of the physical layer”); and
provide the layer toolpath to support the 3D printing of the physical part ([0074] the component layers are additively manufactured according to the scanning strategy).
Ploshikhin does not explicitly teach the layer is sliced by an access engine configured to access a slice of a 3-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part and wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part.
Pieper explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the layer is sliced by an access engine configured to access a slice of a 3-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part and wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part (Figs. 1, 2A&2B [0102] [0104] [0109] [0110] [0142] the slice based on CAD is selected);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ploshikhin to incorporate the teachings of Pieper, because they all directed to 3D printing control, to make the system wherein the layer is sliced by an access engine configured to access a slice of a 3-dimensional (3D) computer-aided design (CAD) object, wherein the 3D CAD object represents a physical part and wherein the slice represents a physical layer for 3D printing of the physical part. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to set the printing order of the segments, as Pieper teaches in [0109].
Regarding claim 1, it is directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 8. Since Ploshikhin and Pieper teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
Regarding claim 15, it is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable medium with program of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 8. Since Ploshikhin and Pieper teach the claimed system, they teach the program for implementing the system.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Ploshikhin further teaches the heat-aware criterion specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is a maximum distance from a current zone ([0040] the segment at a maximum distance to be the next segment).
Claims 3, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ploshikhin in view of Pieper as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15 above, further in view of LOWER US 20240033820 A1.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 16, neither Ploshikhin nor Pieper explicitly teaches the heat-aware criterion specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is a predetermined distance from a current zone.
LOWER explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the heat-aware criterion specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is a predetermined distance from a current zone ([0054] minimum distance between two successively irradiated points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ploshikhin and Pieper to incorporate the teachings of LOWER, because they all directed to 3D printing control, to make the method/system/ non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is a predetermined distance from a current zone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to avoid two heated zones interfering each other, as LOWER teaches in [0054].
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ploshikhin in view of Pieper as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15 above, further in view of Mark US 20200114422 A1.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 17, neither Ploshikhin nor Pieper explicitly teaches specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is adjacent to a current zone and wherein the heat- aware toolpath engine is configured to generate the layer toolpath further by reversing a starting point and ending point of the toolpath for the 3D printing of the subsequent zone.
Mark explicitly teaches in an analogous art that specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is adjacent to a current zone and wherein the heat- aware toolpath engine is configured to generate the layer toolpath further by reversing a starting point and ending point of the toolpath for the 3D printing of the subsequent zone (Fig. 36A [0208] the next zone of 371 is adjacent zone 372, the starting point and end of the toolpath is reversed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ploshikhin and Pieper to incorporate the teachings of Mark, because they all directed to 3D printing control, to make the method/system/ non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein specifies selection of a subsequent zone in the zone order that is adjacent to a current zone and wherein the heat- aware toolpath engine is configured to generate the layer toolpath further by reversing a starting point and ending point of the toolpath for the 3D printing of the subsequent zone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the direction of residual stress are opposite in the adjacent paths, as Mark teaches in [0211].
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, neither Ploshikhin nor Pieper explicitly teaches apply a different heat-aware criterion for generating the layer toolpath of a different slice of the 3D CAD object.
Mark explicitly teaches in an analogous art that apply a different heat-aware criterion for generating the layer toolpath of a different slice of the 3D CAD object (Fig. 36B [0209] the toolpath followed a different heat-aware criterion for adjacent layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ploshikhin and Pieper to incorporate the teachings of Mark, because they all directed to 3D printing control, to make the method/system/ non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein apply a different heat-aware criterion for generating the layer toolpath of a different slice of the 3D CAD object. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that the directions of residual stress are opposite in the adjacent layers, as Mark teaches in [0211].
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ploshikhin in view of Pieper as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15 above, further in view of HERZOG EP 1441897 B1.
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, neither Ploshikhin nor Pieper explicitly teaches partition the slice into zones that are greater in area than zones of a different slice that represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part.
HERZOG explicitly teaches in an analogous art that partition the slice into zones that are greater in area than zones of a different slice that represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part (Fig. 5 page 3 paragraph 6, the zones of layers 8 and 8’ have different sizes, one will be greater than the other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ploshikhin and Pieper to incorporate the teachings of HERZOG, because they all directed to 3D printing control, to make the method/system/ non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein partition the slice into zones that are greater in area than zones of a different slice that represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to fit different region of the workpiece, as HERZOG teaches in page 2 paragraph 6.
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, neither Ploshikhin nor Pieper explicitly teaches specifies determination of a starting zone in the zone order that is at least a threshold distance from an ending zone of a zone order determined for a different slice, wherein the different slice represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part.
HERZOG explicitly teaches in an analogous art that specifies determination of a starting zone in the zone order that is at least a threshold distance from an ending zone of a zone order determined for a different slice, wherein the different slice represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part (Fig. 5 page 3 paragraph 6, the zones of layers 8 and 8’, that the starting zone of layer 8 is at least offset distance i.e. “a threshold distance away” from the ending zone of layer 8’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ploshikhin and Pieper to incorporate the teachings of HERZOG, because they all directed to 3D printing control, to make the method/system/ non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein specifies determination of a starting zone in the zone order that is at least a threshold distance from an ending zone of a zone order determined for a different slice, wherein the different slice represents another physical layer that is to be manufactured prior to the physical layer in the 3D printing of the physical part. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to compensate the residual stresses, as HERZOG teaches in page 3 paragraph 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HERZOG WO 2015062564 A1 teaches determining starting point based on previous layer thermal profile.
/M.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/THOMAS C LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115