DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 12-13, 16-20, 23-24, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri) and Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang).
RE Claim 1, Ren discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (See Ren FIG 1a), comprising:
A processing system including one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors (See Ren FIGs 7, 10), the processing system configured to:
transmit, by a user equipment (UE) to a base station, a message indicating support of multiple phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configurations (See Ren FIG 3; [0082]-[0083] – UE transmitting message indicating support of multiple PTRS configurations); and
perform, by the UE with the base station, a multi- PTRS communication after transmission of the message (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080]-[0082] – UE and base station communicating using different PTRS configurations).
Ren does not specifically disclose
Transmitting, by the UE to the base station, a request to associate a first PTRS configuration of multiple PTRS configurations with a first PTRS of a multi-PTRS communication, to associate the first PTRS with a first component, to associate a second PTRS configuration of the multiple PTRS configurations with a second PTRS of the multi-PTRS communication, and to associate the second PTRS with a second component different than the first component,
Wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE.
However, Oteri teaches of
Transmitting, by the UE to the base station, a request to associate a first PTRS configuration of multiple PTRS configurations with a first PTRS of a multi-PTRS communication (See Oteri [0098], [0106]-[0107], [0111], [0113] – UE indicating one or more (desired) PTRS configurations to BS), to associate the first PTRS with a first component (See Oteri [0098], [0107] – signaling association for PTRS w/DMRS ports (i.e. components)),to associate a second PTRS configuration of the multiple PTRS configurations with a second PTRS of the multi-PTRS communication (See Oteri [0098], [0106]-[0107], [0111], [0113] – UE indicating one or more (desired) PTRS configurations to BS; can be for multiple port multiple PTRS configurations (i.e. multiple L1 reports used to configure multiple PTRSs in single CSI)), and to associate the second PTRS with a second component different than the first component (See Oteri [0098], [0107] – signaling association for different PTRSs w/ different DMRS ports (i.e. components)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ren, comprising transmitting, by the UE to the base station, a request to associate a first PTRS configuration of multiple PTRS configurations with a first PTRS of a multi-PTRS communication, to associate the first PTRS with a first component, to associate a second PTRS configuration of the multiple PTRS configurations with a second PTRS of the multi-PTRS communication, and to associate the second PTRS with a second component different than the first component, as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
Ren, modified by Oteri, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE.
However, Zhang teaches of wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE (See Zhang [0097], [0138], [0246], [0277] – associating PTRS configurations (i.e. RE configurations) with first and second TRP/antenna panel of the UE (i.e. antenna ports)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri, wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to help mitigate noise or the impact of noise/interference in a wireless system (See Zhang Background).
RE Claim 2, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first and second PTRS with different configurations (See Ren FIGs 2-3; [0076], [0080]-[0083]).
Ren does not specifically disclose wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first time domain density associated with the first and further include a second time domain density associated with the second PTRS, the second time domain density different than the first time domain density.
However, Oteri teaches of wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first time domain density associated with the first and further include a second time domain density associated with the second PTRS, the second time domain density different than the first time domain density (See Oteri [0010], [0084], [0101]-[0102], [0107], [0111], [0113] – different PTRS configurations including PTRS configurations with different time domain density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first time domain density associated with the first and further include a second time domain density associated with the second PTRS, the second time domain density different than the first time domain density, as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
RE Claim 3, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first and second PTRS with different configurations (See Ren FIGs 2-3; [0076], [0080]-[0083]).
Ren does not specifically disclose wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first frequency domain density associated with the first PTRS and further include a second frequency domain density associated with the second PTRS, the second frequency domain density different than the first frequency domain density.
However, Oteri teaches of wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first frequency domain density associated with the first PTRS and further include a second frequency domain density associated with the second PTRS, the second frequency domain density different than the first frequency domain density (See Oteri [0010], [0084], [0101]-[0102], [0107], [0111], [0113] – different PTRS configurations including PTRS configurations with different frequency domain density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, wherein the multiple PTRS configurations include a first frequency domain density associated with the first PTRS and further include a second frequency domain density associated with the second PTRS, the second frequency domain density different than the first frequency domain density, as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
RE Claim 4, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, from a plurality of TRPs of the base station, the multi-PTRS communication (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – receiving multiple PTRSs at different antenna groups from multiple antennas), wherein the plurality of TRPs include the first TRP and the second TRP, and wherein the processing system is further configured to receive the first PTRS via the first antenna panel based on the first PTRS configuration configurations and to receive the second PTRS via the second antenna panel based on the second PTRS configuration (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – first and second PTRS (i.e. PTRS #6 and #7) of different PTRS configuration received at first and second antenna panels (i.e. antenna port group #1 and #2)).
RE Claim 5, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, w wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit, using a plurality of antenna panels of the UE (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – transmitting multiple PTRSs using different antenna groups), the multi-PTRS communication to the base station via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (See Ren FIG 2; [0077], [0095] – PUSCH), wherein the plurality of antenna panels include the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel, and wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit the first PTRS via the first antenna panel based on the first PTRS configuration and to transmit the second PTRS via the second antenna panel based on the second PTRS configuration (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – first and second PTRS (i.e. PTRS #6 and #7) of different PTRS configuration transmitted at first and second antenna panels (i.e. antenna port group #1 and #2)).
RE Claim 6, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit, a message indicating support of the multiple PTRS configurations (See Ren FIG 3; [0082]-[0083] – UE transmitting message indicating support of multiple PTRS configurations).
Ren does not specifically disclose transmitting the message for each frequency band of a plurality of frequency bands or for each serving cell of a plurality of serving cells.
However, Oteri teaches of transmitting the message for each frequency band of a plurality of frequency bands or for each serving cell of a plurality of serving cells (See Oteri [0106] – wireless device may indicate PTRS configuration information for each transmission or for a set of PTRS transmissions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, comprising transmitting the message for each frequency band of a plurality of frequency bands or for each serving cell of a plurality of serving cells, as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
RE Claim 7, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above.
Ren does not specifically disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, from the base station, one or more configuration messages indicating a selection of one or more PTRS configurations of the multi-PTRS communication, wherein the one or more configuration messages are associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Oteri teaches of receiving, from the base station, one or more configuration messages indicating a selection of one or more PTRS configurations of the multi-PTRS communication, wherein the one or more configuration messages are associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (See Oteri [0010], [0096], [0106] – UE receiving configuration message indicating selection of PTRS configurations; PTRS configurations associated with PUSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, comprising receiving, from the base station, one or more configuration messages indicating a selection of one or more PTRS configurations of the multi-PTRS communication, wherein the one or more configuration messages are associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
RE Claim 9, Ren discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a user equipment (UE) to a base station, a message to indicate a first phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration of multiple PTRS configurations with a first PTRS of a multi-PTRS communication, and to indicate a second PTRS configuration of the multiple PTRS configurations with a second PTRS of the multi-PTRS communication (See Ren FIG 3; [0082]-[0083] – UE transmitting message indicating support of multiple PTRS configurations); and
after transmitting the message, performing, by the UE, the multi-PTRS communication with the base station (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080]-[0082] – UE and base station communicating using different PTRS configurations).
Ren does not specifically disclose a request to associate the first and second PTRS configurations with the first and second PTRS, and with a first component and second component different than the first component, respectively,
Wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE.
However, Oteri teaches of a request to associate the first and second PTRS configurations with the first and second PTRS (See Oteri [0106] – UE indicating one or more PTRS configurations to BS) and with a first component and second component different than the first component, respectively (See Oteri [0098], [0107] – signaling association for different PTRSs w/ different DMRS ports (i.e. components)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, comprising a request to associate the first and second PTRS configurations with the first and second PTRS, and with a first component and second component different than the first component, respectively, as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
Ren, modified by Oteri, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE.
However, Zhang teaches of wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE (See Zhang [0097], [0138], [0246], [0277] – associating PTRS configurations (i.e. RE configurations) with first and second TRP/antenna panel of the UE (i.e. antenna ports)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri, wherein the first component is a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station or a first antenna panel of the UE, and wherein the second component is a second TRP of the base station or a second antenna panel of the UE, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to help mitigate noise or the impact of noise/interference in a wireless system (See Zhang Background).
RE Claim 12, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein performing the multi-PTRS communication includes:
receiving, by the UE, the first PTRS from the first TRP using the first antenna panel (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – receiving multiple PTRSs at different antenna groups from multiple antennas): and
receiving, by the UE, the second PTRS from the second TRP using the second antenna panel (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – receiving multiple PTRSs at different antenna groups from multiple antennas).
RE Claim 13, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 9 above, transmitting, by the UE, the first PTRS to the first TRP using the first antenna panel (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – transmitting multiple PTRSs at different antenna groups to multiple antennas): and
transmitting, by the UE, the second PTRS to the second TRP using the second antenna panel (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – transmitting multiple PTRSs at different antenna groups to multiple antennas).
RE Claim 16, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method set forth in claim 9 above, further comprising:
receiving one or more configuration messages indicating the multiple PTRS configurations (See Ren FIG 3; [0081] – UE receiving message indicating support of multiple PTRS configurations).
RE Claim 17, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 16 above, wherein each PTRS configuration of the multiple PTRS configurations is associated with a respective TRP or panel identifier (ID) (See Ren FIG 3; [0081] – DMRS antenna port group).
RE Claim 18, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the one or more configuration messages include a PTRS configuration message explicitly identifying each TRP or panel ID (See Ren FIG 3; [0081], [0083] – DMRS antenna port group can be explicitly identified in message).
RE Claim 19, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 17 above, further comprising determining the TRP or panel ID using an implicit technique, wherein the TRP or panel ID is determined based on one or more of a control resource set (CORESET) pool ID, a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource ID, an SRS resource set ID, an uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) ID, a code division multiplexing (CDM) group ID, or another indicator associated with the TRP or panel ID (See Ren FIG 3; [0081], [0083] – DMRS antenna port group; can also be implicitly determined).
RE Claim 20, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 16 above.
Ren does not specifically disclose receiving, by the UE, scheduling information from the base station indicating a multi- panel physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission of the multi-PTRS communication:
determining panel identifiers (IDs) based on the scheduling information: and
performing the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the panel IDs.
However, Oteri teaches of receiving, by the UE, scheduling information from the base station indicating a multi- panel physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission of the multi-PTRS communication (See Oteri [0010] – receiving scheduling for PUSCH):
determining panel identifiers (IDs) based on the scheduling information (See Oteri [0010], [0107] – determine antenna/panel based on scheduling information (association with DMRS port)); and
performing the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the panel IDs (See Oteri [0010], [0107] – performing multi-port communication using determined antenna/panels based on scheduling information (association with DMRS port)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, comprising receiving, by the UE, scheduling information from the base station indicating a multi- panel physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission of the multi-PTRS communication:
determining panel identifiers (IDs) based on the scheduling information: and
performing the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the panel IDs, as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
RE Claim 23, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method as set forth in claim 9 above, further comprising:
receiving configuration information from the base station (See Ren FIG 3; [0081] – UE receiving message indicating support of multiple PTRS configurations; UE configured with multiple PTRS configurations); and
based on the configuration information, performing a second multi-PTRS communication by the UE (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080]-[0082] – UE and base station communicating using different PTRS configurations), wherein the second multi-PTRS communication includes the first PTRS communicated based on a particular PTRS configuration of the multiple PTRS configurations and further includes the second PTRS communicated based on the particular PTRS configuration of the multiple PTRS configurations (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – first and second PTRS (i.e. PTRS #6 and #7) of different PTRS configuration received at first and second antenna panels (i.e. antenna port group #1 and #2)).
Ren does not specifically disclose receiving, by the UE, scheduling information from the base station.
However, Oteri teaches of receiving, by the UE, scheduling information from the base station (See Oteri [0010] – receiving scheduling for PUSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, comprising receiving, by the UE, scheduling information from the base station, as taught in Oteri. One is motivated as such in order to improve coverage and compatibility with different devices (See Oteri Background; Summary).
RE Claim 24, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 23 above, wherein performing the second multi-PTRS communication includes transmitting the first PTRS via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (See Ren FIG 2; [0077], [0095] – PUSCH) based on the particular PTRS configuration using the first antenna panel (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – first and second PTRS (i.e. PTRS #6 and #7) of different PTRS configuration received at first and second antenna panels (i.e. antenna port group #1 and #2)) and further includes transmitting the second PTRS via the PUSCH (See Ren FIG 2; [0077], [0095] – PUSCH) based on the particular PTRS configuration using the second antenna panel (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – first and second PTRS (i.e. PTRS #6 and #7) of different PTRS configuration received at first and second antenna panels (i.e. antenna port group #1 and #2)).
RE Claim 29, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 23 above, wherein performing the second multi-PTRS communication includes receiving the first PTRS from the first TRP based on the particular PTRS configuration and further includes receiving the second PTRS from the second based on the particular PTRS configuration (See Ren FIG 2; [0076], [0080] – first and second PTRS (i.e. PTRS #6 and #7) of different PTRS configuration received at first and second antenna panels (i.e. antenna port group #1 and #2) from multiple TRPs).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri), Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Li et al. (US# 2019/0326964 referred to as Li).
RE Claim 8, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above.
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the first PTRS is multiplexed with the second PTRS based on a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme, based on a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme, or based on a time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme.
However, Li teaches of wherein the first PTRS is multiplexed with the second PTRS based on a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme, based on a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme, or based on a time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme (See Li FIG 3; [0166]-[0167] – multiple PTRSs transmitted, each on different subcarrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, wherein the first PTRS is multiplexed with the second PTRS based on a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme, based on a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme, or based on a time division multiplexing (TDM) scheme, as taught in Li. One is motivated as such in order to better and more accurately estimate and compensate for different phase noises (See Li Background; Summary).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri), Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Sun et al. (US# 2020/0022172 referred to as Sun).
RE Claim 10, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the request is included in an uplink medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (See Oteri [0106]).
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose the indicating one or more of the first TRP, the second TRP, a first panel identifier (ID) associated with the first PTRS, or a second panel ID associated with the second PTRS.
However, Sun teaches of indicating one or more of the first TRP, the second TRP, a first panel identifier (ID) associated with the first PTRS, or a second panel ID associated with the second PTRS (See Sun [0221] – devices need to notify each other of PT-RS mapping including DMRS port group/antenna port of device/PT-RS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, comprising indicating one or more of the first TRP, the second TRP, a first panel identifier (ID) associated with the first PTRS, or a second panel ID associated with the second PTRS, as taught in Sun. One is motivated as such in order to improve phase noise estimation performance (See Sun Background; Summary).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri), Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang), Sun et al. (US# 2020/0022172 referred to as Sun), and Zhong et al. (US# 2019/0356437 referred to as Zhong).
RE Claim 11, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein the request is included in Layer 1 signaling (See Oteri [0106]).
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose the request is included in UCI; or
indicating one or more of the first TRP, the second TRP, a first panel identifier (ID) associated with the first PTRS, or a second panel ID associated with the second PTRS.
However, Sun teaches of indicating one or more of the first TRP, the second TRP, a first panel identifier (ID) associated with the first PTRS, or a second panel ID associated with the second PTRS (See Sun [0221] – devices need to notify each other of PT-RS mapping including DMRS port group/antenna port of device/PT-RS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, comprising indicating one or more of the first TRP, the second TRP, a first panel identifier (ID) associated with the first PTRS, or a second panel ID associated with the second PTRS, as taught in Sun. One is motivated as such in order to improve phase noise estimation performance (See Sun Background; Summary).
Ren, modified by Oteri, Zhang and Sun, does not specifically disclose the request is included in UCI.
However, Zhong teaches of the request is included in UCI (See Zhong [0042] – PTRS configuration indication included in UCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system which can transmit the request in Layer 1, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri, Zhang and Sun, wherein the request is included in UCI, as taught in Zhong. One is motivated as such in order to improve network resource efficiency (See Zhong Background; Summary).
Claims 21-22, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri), Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Gao et al. (US# 2023/0006783 referred to as Gao).
RE Claim 21, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 20 above.
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the scheduling information includes a downlink control information (DCI) message that indicates multiple transmission configuration indicator (TCl) IDs, and wherein the UE applies the multiple PTRS configurations to the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the DCI message indicating the multiple TCl IDs.
However, Gao teaches of wherein the scheduling information includes a downlink control information (DCI) message that indicates multiple transmission configuration indicator (TCl) IDs (See Gao [0054], [0063], [0066], [0070] – DCI indicating multiple TCI states (i.e. A & B)), and wherein the UE applies the multiple PTRS configurations to the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the DCI message indicating the multiple TCl IDs (See Gao [0054], [0063], [0066], [0070] – applying PTRS configuration for multi-TRP based on TCI information/states received in DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, wherein the scheduling information includes a downlink control information (DCI) message that indicates multiple transmission configuration indicator (TCl) IDs, and wherein the UE applies the multiple PTRS configurations to the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the DCI message indicating the multiple TCl IDs, as taught in Gao. One is motivated as such in order to improve PTRS configuration and mapping (See Gao Background; Summary).
RE Claim 22, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 20 above.
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the scheduling information includes a first downlink control information (DCI) message and a second DCI message, and wherein the UE applies the multiple PTRS configurations to the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the first DCI message indicating a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index value and further based on the second DCI message indicating a second CORESET pool index value.
However, Gao teaches of wherein the scheduling information includes a first downlink control information (DCI) message and a second DCI message (See Gao [0032] – two DCIs), and wherein the UE applies the multiple PTRS configurations to the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the first DCI message (See Gao [0032], [0066] – configuring PT-RS based on DCI messages) indicating a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index value and further based on the second DCI message indicating a second CORESET pool index value (See Gao [0032], [0066] – two DCIs from two CORESETs; using higher layer index associated with CORESETs for configuration; configuring PT-RS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, wherein the scheduling information includes a first downlink control information (DCI) message and a second DCI message, and wherein the UE applies the multiple PTRS configurations to the multi-panel PUSCH transmission based on the first DCI message indicating a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index value and further based on the second DCI message indicating a second CORESET pool index value, as taught in Gao. One is motivated as such in order to improve PTRS configuration and mapping (See Gao Background; Summary).
RE Claim 30, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 29 above.
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose further comprising selecting the particular PTRS configuration from among the multiple PTRS configurations based on an identification that the particular PTRS configuration is associated with a greatest time domain density among multiple TRPs of the base station, a greatest frequency domain density among the multiple TRPs, a least time domain density among the multiple TRPs, a least frequency domain density among the multiple TRPs, or based on determining that the scheduling information indicates a panel or TRP that is not associated with any PTRS configuration.
However, Gao teaches of selecting the particular PTRS configuration from among the multiple PTRS configurations based on an identification that the particular PTRS configuration is associated with a greatest time domain density among multiple TRPs of the base station, a greatest frequency domain density among the multiple TRPs, a least time domain density among the multiple TRPs, a least frequency domain density among the multiple TRPs, or based on determining that the scheduling information indicates a panel or TRP that is not associated with any PTRS configuration (See Gao [0066], [0123], [0125] [0127] – mapping to maximum or minimum frequency density for PTRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, comprising selecting the particular PTRS configuration from among the multiple PTRS configurations based on an identification that the particular PTRS configuration is associated with a greatest time domain density among multiple TRPs of the base station, a greatest frequency domain density among the multiple TRPs, a least time domain density among the multiple TRPs, a least frequency domain density among the multiple TRPs, or based on determining that the scheduling information indicates a panel or TRP that is not associated with any PTRS configuration, as taught in Gao. One is motivated as such in order to improve PTRS configuration and mapping (See Gao Background; Summary).
Claims 14, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri), Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Sun et al. (US# 2020/0076537 referred to as Sun ‘537).
RE Claim 14, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 9 above.
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the request includes one or more of a minimum time domain density indicator associated with the UE or a minimum frequency domain density indicator associated with the UE.
However, Sun ‘537 teaches of wherein the request includes one or more of a minimum time domain density indicator associated with the UE or a minimum frequency domain density indicator associated with the UE (See Sun ‘537 [0028] – sending smallest time (or frequency) domain density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, wherein the request includes one or more of a minimum time domain density indicator associated with the UE or a minimum frequency domain density indicator associated with the UE, as taught in Sun ‘537. One is motivated as such in order to improve PTRS transmission reliability and phase noise estimation (See Sun ‘537 Background; [0004]-[0006]).
RE Claim 25, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 24 above.
Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose further comprising selecting the particular PTRS configuration from among the multiple PTRS configurations based on an identification that the particular PTRS configuration is associated with a greatest time domain density among multiple antenna panels of the UE.
However, Sun ‘537 teaches of selecting the particular PTRS configuration from among the multiple PTRS configurations based on an identification that the particular PTRS configuration is associated with a greatest time domain density among multiple antenna panels of the UE (See Sun ‘537 [0028], [0030] – PTRS is selected corresponding to indication information which can indicate the largest time domain density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, comprising selecting the particular PTRS configuration from among the multiple PTRS configurations based on an identification that the particular PTRS configuration is associated with a greatest time domain density among multiple antenna panels of the UE, as taught in Sun ‘537. One is motivated as such in order to improve PTRS transmission reliability and phase noise estimation (See Sun ‘537 Background; [0004]-[0006]).
Claims 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri), Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Stauffer et al. (US# 2019/0379509 referred to as Stauffer).
RE Claim 34, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the request includes one or more of:
a first byte indicating one or more of an identifier (ID) of a panel or a TRP, a time domain density indicator, a frequency domain density indicator, or a serving cell ID;
a second byte indicating a minimum frequency domain density indicated by the UE; or
a third byte indicating a minimum time domain density indicated by the UE. However, Stauffer teaches of wherein the request includes one or more of:
a first byte indicating one or more of an identifier (ID) of a panel or a TRP, a time domain density indicator, a frequency domain density indicator, or a serving cell ID (See Stauffer [0023], [0038] – UE transmits a PTRS configuration request which can include time domain or frequency domain density indicator; time/frequency domain density indicator would comprise at least one (first) byte);
a second byte indicating a minimum frequency domain density indicated by the UE; or
a third byte indicating a minimum time domain density indicated by the UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, wherein the request includes one or more of:
a first byte indicating one or more of an identifier (ID) of a panel or a TRP, a time domain density indicator, a frequency domain density indicator, or a serving cell ID;
a second byte indicating a minimum frequency domain density indicated by the UE; or
a third byte indicating a minimum time domain density indicated by the UE, as taught in Stauffer. One is motivated as such in order to improve network resource usage efficiency (See Stauffer Background; Summary).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US# 2019/0356374 referred to as Ren) in view of Oteri et al. (US# 2023/0076789 referred to as Oteri), Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0052740 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0022135 hereinafter referred to as Zhang ‘135).
RE Claim 36, Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the processing system is configured to receive, after transmission of the request and prior to performance of the multi-PTRS communication, one or more configuration messages from the base station indicating acceptance of one of the first PTRS configuration or the second PTRS configuration and further indicating rejection of the other of the first PTRS configuration or the second PTRS configuration.
However, Zhang ‘135 teaches of wherein the processing system is configured to receive, after transmission of the request and prior to performance of the multi-PTRS communication, one or more configuration messages from the base station indicating acceptance of one of the first PTRS configuration or the second PTRS configuration and further indicating rejection of the other of the first PTRS configuration or the second PTRS configuration (See Zhang ‘135 [0200]-[0202] – network device receives request for configuration of PTRS and indicates acceptance/rejection of configuration to terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the multiple PTRS configuration system, as disclosed in Ren, modified by Oteri and Zhang, wherein the processing system is configured to receive, after transmission of the request and prior to performance of the multi-PTRS communication, one or more configuration messages from the base station indicating acceptance of one of the first PTRS configuration or the second PTRS configuration and further indicating rejection of the other of the first PTRS configuration or the second PTRS configuration, as taught in Zhang ‘135. One is motivated as such in order to reduce overhead and improve spectral efficiency (See Zhang ‘135 Background; Summary).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment (See Claims above, Zhang reference).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tervo et al. (US# 2023/0006794 – which teaches of determining PTRS configuration and antenna ports).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477