DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed December 10, 2025 in reply to the First Office Action on the Merits mailed September 10, 2025. Claims 1, 25, 27, and 97 have been amended; claims 2-4, 6-21, 23, 24, 26, 28-36, 38, 39, 42, 46-49, 52-55, 57-70, 72-96, 98-110, 112-183, 185, and 186 have been canceled; and claims 187 and 188 have been newly added. Claims 50, 51, 71, 111, and 184 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 5, 22, 25, 27, 37, 40, 41, 43-45, 56, 97, 187, and 188 are currently under examination in the application.
Withdrawal of Prior Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 97 has been satisfactorily amended. Therefore, the 35 USC 112(d) rejection presented in the First Office Action on the Merits mailed September 10, 2025 is hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawal of Prior Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Fina et al. do not explicitly disclose a laser sintering process “with a hatch spacing from about 5 mm to about 100 mm”, as now stipulated in newly amended claim 1. Therefore, the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection presented in the First Office Action on the Merits mailed September 10, 2025 is hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawal of Prior Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Neither Fina et al. nor Barakh Ali et al. explicitly disclose a laser sintering process “with a hatch spacing from about 5 mm to about 100 mm”, as now stipulated in newly amended claim 1. Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejection presented in the First Office Action on the Merits mailed September 10, 2025 is hereby withdrawn. However, upon further search and examination, new prior art has been procured, and a new grounds of rejection has been formulated that addresses all currently pending claim limitations, and is presented herein below.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure remains objected to because of the following:
1. The abstract should be a concise summary of the key technical aspects of the invention which are new to the art to which the invention pertains. If the invention is a composition, the abstract should recite the key requisite ingredients. If the invention is a method, the abstract should recite the key requisite active steps.
2. The abstract continues to inform the reader in rather generic terms about the invention. For example, the abstract merely discloses making a pharmaceutical composition using a sintering process to render the active into an amorphous form. This is generally not new to the art, and was known at least since the Fina et al. reference in 2016, likely earlier. Further, the abstract informs the reader that the composition contains a pharmaceutical ingredient, a polymer, and an EM-absorbing excipient, which is generally also not new to the art.
3. Applicant is advised to include the particulars of their specific method and their specific composition to overcome the issue. For example, 3d laser sintering process using a hatch spacing of 10-40 mm, or about 25 mm. And perhaps a specific EM-absorbing material in a specific amount.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
1. Figures 1 and 6 are not in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1), which states, in part, that “partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter” and that “view numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.””. Further, Fig. 6 remains of poor print quality, the lines are not clear and crisp, parts remain illegible, as if printed from an older dot matrix printer, the numbering along the y-axis is partially or completely cut off at the top, and the label for the x-axis on at least one graph is partially cut off and thus illegible.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because there should be a comma between “5 mm to about 100 mm” and “and wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 22, 25, 27, 37, 40, 41, 43-45, 56, and 97 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 19, 23, 24, 29, 30, 35, 41, 45, 46, 56, 57, 76, 81, 92, 99, and 102 of copending Application No. 18/708,717, in view of Achten et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0184632).
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of producing a pharmaceutical composition, via an additive technique, comprising laser sintering a composition comprising 5-50 wt% of a pharmaceutical active ingredient, 50-90 wt% of a polymer, and 1-15 wt% of an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material; wherein the active ingredient is present as an amorphous solid dispersion, and the ratio of the active ingredient to the electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material is from about 1:1 to 1:3.
Claims 1, 4, 19, 23, 24, 29, 30, 35, 41, 45, 46, 56, 57, 76, 81, 92, 99, and 102 of copending Application No. 18/708,717 disclose a method of producing a pharmaceutical composition, via an additive technique, comprising subjecting to an energy source a composition comprising 5-50 wt% of a pharmaceutical active ingredient, 5-95 wt% of a polymer, and 0.01-60 wt% of an electromagnetic energy-absorbing material; wherein the active ingredient is present as an amorphous solid dispersion.
Achten et al. disclose that for selective laser sintering of a selected powder layer for additive manufacturing of an article, a hatch spacing of about 0.01-5 mm is suitable (see e.g. paragraphs 0042-0044).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the disclosure of copending Application No. 18/708,717 defines an additive manufacturing technique employing a laser as an energy source as being laser sintering; and defines an electromagnetic energy-absorbing material as e.g. an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material, and Achten et al. disclose that for selective laser sintering of a selected powder layer for additive manufacturing of an article, a hatch spacing of about 0.01-5 mm is suitable.
Moreover, the claims of copending Application No. 18/708,717 provide for e.g. 5-50 wt% of the active and 0.01-60 wt% of the electromagnetic energy-absorbing material. At e.g, 25 wt% active and 25 wt% electromagnetic energy-absorbing material, the ratio of the active ingredient to the electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material is thus about 1:1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 5, 22, 25, 27, 37, 40, 41, 43-45, 56, 97, 187, and 188 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
1. Claim 1 is directed to a method of preparing a pharmaceutical composition and comprises the active steps of A. “obtaining a composition” and then B. “laser sintering the composition to obtain a pharmaceutical composition. However, the composition “obtained” in A contains a pharmaceutical active and a pharmaceutically acceptable polymer. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain how and why the “composition” of A is not already a “pharmaceutical” composition? In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain how the composition in A is not a “pharmaceutical composition” but the composition in B, because of laser sintering, is a “pharmaceutical composition”. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot make heads or tails out of this, and thus cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
***To remedy this issue, Applicant can delete the phrase “to obtain a pharmaceutical composition” from part B.
2. Claim 1 is directed to a method of preparing a composition, not to a method of treating any specific disease or disorder. Claim 1 never discloses any disease, disorder, or any condition whatsoever that is necessarily being treated or modified. Since the disease, disorder, or condition being treated or modified is not known, the requisite “active ingredient” cannot be definitively ascertained. Moreover, the “active ingredient” is limited by necessarily being in an amorphous form before and/or after laser sintering. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain what “active” ingredients for treating an unspecified and unknown disease, disorder, or condition, which also must be in an amorphous state before and/or after laser sintering, are necessarily present in the composition, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claims 25 and 27 provide that the ratio can be anywhere from 5:1 to 1:10. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain whether the specified ratios are limited to the active:EM-absorbing excipient ratio, the EM-absorbing excipient:active ratio, or either one. For example, is a ratio of 1:10 limited to being the active:EM-absorbing excipient ratio, the EM-absorbing excipient:active ratio, or either one? It is noted, for example, that claim 22 provides for an active amount of 5-50%, while claim 56 provides for an EM-absorbing excipient amount of 1-15%. Even with the lowest amount of active, and the highest amount of EM-absorbing excipient, the active:EM absorbing excipient weight ratio is 5:15 or 1:3. Hence, an active:EM absorbing excipient weight ratio of e.g. 1:10 is not consistent with the values provided in other claims.
Claim 187, which is newly added, depends from claim 64, which is canceled.
Claim 188 depends from claim 187, which depends from claim 64, which is canceled.
Claims 5, 22, 25, 27, 37, 40, 41, 43-45, 56, 97, and 188 are (also) indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (I and II)
I. Claims 1, 5, 22, 25, 27, 37, 40, 41, 43-45, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fina et al. (Int J Pharm. 2017; 529: 285-293), in view of Achten et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0184632).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of producing a pharmaceutical composition comprising laser sintering a composition comprising 5-50 wt% of a pharmaceutical active ingredient, 50-90 wt% of a polymer, and 1-15 wt% of an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material; wherein the active ingredient is present as an amorphous solid dispersion, and the ratio of the active ingredient to the electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material is from about 1:1 to 1:3.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Fina et al. disclose a method of producing printlet E20 (i.e. a pharmaceutical composition) comprising selective laser sintering formulation E20, comprising 5-35 wt% paracetamol (i.e. the active ingredient), 62-92 wt% Eudragit L100-55 (i.e. polymer), and 3 wt% Candurin (i.e. an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material), wherein the paracetamol is present as an amorphous solid dispersion, and wherein the laser sintering hatch spacing is from about 5 mm to about 100 mm (see e.g. Table 1, Figure 5; page 289).
Achten et al. disclose that for selective laser sintering of a selected powder layer for additive manufacturing of an article, a hatch spacing of about 0.01-5 mm is suitable (see e.g. paragraphs 0042-0044).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Fina et al. do not explicitly disclose that the hatch spacing is from about 5 mm to about 100 mm. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Achten et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Fina et al. and Achten et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed method.
Fina et al. disclose a method of producing printlets (i.e. a pharmaceutical composition, a 3d article) comprising selective laser sintering a formulation comprising 5-35 wt% paracetamol (i.e. the active ingredient), 62-92 wt% Eudragit L100-55 (i.e. polymer), and 3 wt% Candurin (i.e. an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material), wherein the paracetamol is present as an amorphous solid dispersion (see e.g. Table 1, Figure 5; page 289). Since Achten et al. disclose that for selective laser sintering of a selected powder layer for additive manufacturing of an article, a hatch spacing of about 0.01-5 mm is suitable; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ a hatch spacing of 0.01-5 mm in the Fina et al. manufacturing process, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting process will produce the desired dosage form.
With a paracetamol amount of e.g. 5 wt%, and a Candurin amount of 3 wt%, the weight ratio of paracetamol to Candurin is about 1:1.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
II. Claim 97 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fina et al. (Int J Pharm. 2017; 529: 285-293), in view of Achten et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0184632), and Barakh Ali et al. (Int J Pharm. 2019; 570: 118651).
II. Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of producing a pharmaceutical composition comprising laser sintering a composition comprising a pharmaceutical active ingredient, a polymer, an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material, and one or more additional excipients; wherein the active ingredient is present as an amorphous solid dispersion.
II. Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Fina et al. disclose a method of producing printlets (i.e. a pharmaceutical composition) comprising selective laser sintering a formulation comprising 5-35 wt% paracetamol (i.e. the active ingredient), 62-92 wt% Eudragit L100-55 (i.e. polymer), and 3 wt% Candurin (i.e. an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material), wherein the paracetamol is present as an amorphous solid dispersion (see e.g. Table 1, Figure 5; page 289).
Achten et al. disclose that for selective laser sintering of a selected powder layer for additive manufacturing of an article, a hatch spacing of about 0.01-5 mm is suitable (see e.g. paragraphs 0042-0044).
Barakh Ali et al. disclose a method of producing a pharmaceutical composition comprising laser sintering a composition comprising a pharmaceutical active ingredient, a polymer, 3 wt% Candurin (i.e. an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material), and lactose monohydrate (i.e. one or more additional excipients); wherein the lactose monohydrate was found to facilitate printing mechanically improved printlets, shorten the disintegration time, and increase drug loading (see e.g. abstract; page 2, left column; page 3, right column).
II. Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Fina et al. do not explicitly disclose that the hatch spacing is from about 5 mm to about 100 mm, and that the composition further comprises one or more additional excipients. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Achen et al. and Barakh Ali et al.
II. Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Fina et al., Achen et al., and Barakh Ali et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed method.
Fina et al. disclose a method of producing printlets (i.e. a pharmaceutical composition) comprising selective laser sintering a formulation comprising 5-35 wt% paracetamol (i.e. the active ingredient), 62-92 wt% Eudragit L100-55 (i.e. polymer), and 3 wt% Candurin (i.e. an electromagnetic energy-absorbing aluminum material), wherein the paracetamol is present as an amorphous solid dispersion (see e.g. Table 1, Figure 5; page 289). Since Achten et al. disclose that for selective laser sintering of a selected powder layer for additive manufacturing of an article, a hatch spacing of about 0.01-5 mm is suitable; and since Barakh Ali et al. disclose that lactose monohydrate; when included in a selective laser scanning-produced printlet with a pharmaceutical active ingredient, a polymer, and 3 wt% Candurin; was found to facilitate e.g. printing mechanically improved printlets; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ a hatch spacing of 0.01-5 mm in the Fina et al. manufacturing process, and to further include lactose monohydrate in the Fina et al. printlet, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting printlet will successfully exhibit improved mechanical properties.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 10, 2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the present amendment.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 187 and 188 are currently rejected under 35 USC 112. However, it is noted that no prior art rejection and no double patenting rejection are being applied to newly added claims 187 and 188.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize hatch spacing as a results effective variable for controlling print density and porosity, with smaller hatch distances improving strength but potentially causing thermal deformation. However, the hatch spacing for selective laser sintering processes are generally known to be “less than 1 mm”, typically in the range of 100 to 125 µm (i.e. 0.1-0.125 mm). As noted, supra, the cited Achten reference discloses that for selective laser sintering of a selected powder layer for additive manufacturing of an article, a hatch spacing of about 0.01-5 mm is suitable. This is taken as the broadest range that would generally be known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the present application, and within which one of ordinary skill in the art would generally seek to optimize a hatch spacing for their particular application. Therefore, the claimed hatch spacing of claims 187 and 188 are considered outside the range of what one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as suitable at the time of filing the present application. Applicant is thus advised to amend claim 1 to include the limitation of claim 187 or 188.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617