DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated September 16, 2025 was in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS was considered and a signed copy of the 1449 form is attached.
STATUS OF CLAIMS
Claims 1, 8-10, 14-15 and 18-22 are currently pending in the instant application according to the Claim Amendment submitted on September 17, 2025.
RESPONSE TO REMARKS AND AMENDMENTS
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed September 17, 2025 have been entered and are considered herein.
Applicant’s amendment to import the limitations of claims 2, 12, 13 and 16 into claim 1 was sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 USC 102. Claims 2 and 12 were not included in the novelty rejection, so their incorporation into claim 1 is sufficient to overcome the finding of anticipation.
With respect to the rejection under 35 USC 103, Applicants traverse the rejection on several grounds as it pertains to the claims as amended. The traversals were considered but were not found persuasive to overcome the rejection. Applicants first argue that in order to arrive at the claimed invention, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have to make five selections from within the disclosure of the prior art reference. However, the examiner maintains that the references contain the requisite level of disclosure to select each required option as recited by the claimed method. As cited in MPEP 2141.02(VI), In re Fulton (73 USPQ2d 1141) states the following passage at 1146: “The prior art's mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed in the ′198 application. Indeed, in the case cited by appellants, In re Gurley, we held that the invention claimed in the patent application was unpatentable based primarily on a prior art reference that disclosed two alternatives, one of which was the claimed alternative. Accordingly, mere disclosure of alternative designs does not teach away”.
The compounds disclosed for use in the ‘368 publication represent a finite number of predictable solutions, where the compound of Formula 27 (identical to the compound of the instant claims) is explicitly taught as being useful for the purpose described therein. The disclosure of alternative embodiments would not dissuade or take away from the motivation to select the compound for therapeutic use as described in the ‘368 publication.
Similarly, the dosage is described in its most preferable range as being from 0.1 to 50 mg/kg/day and the dosing regiment is described as ranging from 1-4 times per day, for example (‘368 paragraph [0050]). As described in the rejection, selecting and optimizing from within an art-disclosed range, especially one indicated as being preferred, is not considered inventive. MPEP 2144.05(I) provides that "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention).
With respect to the claimed oral formulation, oral formulations of the prior art compounds are singularly disclosed at paragraph [00101].
With respect to the selection of chronic kidney disease for treatment, the rationale for the selection was provided in the original rejection based on the combined teachings with the ‘539 publication, where chronic kidney disease is explicitly taught as a condition associated with hyperuricemia or gout.
Finally, with respect to the data described in Example 4, Table 3, and reference in Applicant’s remarks, it is noted that the data provides evidence that the compound in the claimed dosage is expected to be useful for the claimed purpose, but no data providing that the compound or dosage amount would be considered unexpectedly useful when compared to another disclosed compound or a dosage falling outside the claimed range, for example. The data seems to suggest that the compound would perform the therapeutic function expected, namely treating a condition associated with hyperuricemia and gout (CKD) with a known compound in a dosage selected from the art-disclosed range.
Accordingly, the claims are maintained to be obvious over the teachings of the ‘368 and ‘539 publications, as set forth herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 14-15 and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/017368 (“the ‘368 publication”) in view of WO 2020/070539 (“the ‘539 publication”).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
The ‘368 publication discloses a method for treating a condition associated with hyperuricemia comprising administering a compound of the formula
, and in particular as it pertains to the instantly claimed method, the administration of the compound 27 (paragraph [0035]), which is identical to the compound recited in the instant claims. As it pertains to the instantly claimed method, the prior art teaches the embodiment of treating hypertension as the condition associated with hyperuricemia to be treated (paragraph [0046]). As disclosed by the prior art, the recitation of administration of a compound therein refers to the act of providing the compound to a subject in need of treatment (paragraph [0090]). The prior art teaches oral dosage forms as recited in instant claim 13 (paragraph [0048]). Claims 14-15 pertain to whether or not food is consumed with the administration. As the prior art is silent in this respect, it is taken as a teaching of the method under either circumstance. the prior art teaches that the dose is normally administered, for examples 1-4 times a day of 2-4 times a day (either recitation anticipated instant claims 16 and 17, respectively). With respect to claims 18-20, the ‘368 publication teaches administration with one or more xanthine oxidase inhibitors such as allopurinol, oxypurinol, febuxostat, topiroxostat, inositols and a compound of Formula 1 (paragraph [0058]).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
The difference between the instant invention and the prior art is that the prior art does not teach a specific example where chronic kidney disease is treated by administering an oral formulation with the particular dosage details listed in the claim.
With regard to claims 21-22, the ‘368 publication does not exemplify administration with a further active ingredient having SGLT2 activity.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
To this end, it is noted that MPEP 2141 states, "The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusatory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) " Obvious to try " - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention."
The ‘539 publication discloses that both chronic kidney disease and heart failure are diseases known to be associated with hyperuricemia. Accordingly, it would not have been considered inventive for the skilled artisan to follow the explicit suggestion of the prior art to treat diseases known in the art to be associated with hyperuricemia when the primary reference discloses such diseases to be treatable by the compounds described therein. Doing so would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that both conditions are known to each be treatable by Compound 27.
With respect to the dosages in claims 8-12, the art describes that typically 20-75 mg/day, 50-250 mg/day or 100-200 mg/day should be administered, each of which overlaps with the ranges recited by the instantly claimed methods. MPEP 2144.05(I) provides that "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention). Thus, the prior art ranges render the dosages of the instant claims obvious.
Accordingly, based on the teachings of the MPEP and KSR above, by employing the rationale in (B), (D), (E) or (G) above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat chronic kidney disease or heart failure in view of the combined teachings of the ‘368 publication and the ‘539 publication. The ‘368 publication discloses the use of the instant compound for treating diseases associated with hyperuricemia, and the ‘549 publication teaches that such diseases associated with hyperuricemia are inclusive of chronic kidney disease and heart failure. Therefore, when selecting a patient population to treat other conditions known to be associated with hyperuricemia, as disclosed by the primary reference, it would have been obvious to conduct the treatment method on a patient having chronic kidney disease or heart failure to be treated. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in treating these diseases since the same Compound was already known in the art for the treatment of diseases associated with hyperuricemia, and the art also recognized the comorbidity of the diseases to be treated. The instantly claimed invention would have therefore been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the filing of the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA L OTTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699