Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simoneau et al. (CAPLUS abstract of WO2000029399).
Simoneau teaches the following compound
which corresponds to claim 1’s Formula (I):
where R1 is pyridyl (6-membered heteroaryl);
R2 is thiazolyl (6-membered heteroaryl);
R3 is -CH3-cyclohexane (-CHR5R6, R5 is cyclohexyl, R6 is H).
Regarding claim 1’s “provided that … then …” clauses, R3 is none of the recited groups and while X, Y, Z, and V are C, Ra is not required by the above definition of Formula (I), thus the provisos are satisfied.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-19, 25-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (US20230286943, EFD 2020-05-27).
Martin teaches Example 18: N-((S)-2-((5-(3,5-Dimethyl-1H-pyrazol-4-yl)pyridin-2-yl)amino)-1-((1r,4S)-4-methylcyclohexyl)-2-oxoethyl)-1-methyl-1H-pyrazole-5-carboxamide
([0719]) which corresponds to claim 1’s Formula (I):
where R1 is pyrazolyl (5-membered heteroaryl, Ra is CH3);
R2 is pyrazolyl (5-membered heteroaryl, Rb is CH3);
R3 is cyclohexane (C3-C10-cycloalkyl, substituted by -CH3 (C1-C4-alkyl))
X/Z is N, Z/X is CH, Y and V are CH.
Martin also teaches racemic mixtures such as Example 32:
([0747])
Martin also teaches Example 5: N-((S)-2-((4-(Imidazo[1,2-a]pyridin-5-yl)phenyl)amino)-1-((1r,4S)-4-methylcyclohexyl)-2-oxoethyl)-1-methyl-1H-pyrazole-5-carboxamide
([0693])
.
and Example 44: N-((S)-2-((5-(1,4-Dimethyl-1H-1,2,3-triazol-5-yl)pyridin-2-yl)amino)-1-((1r,4S)-4-methylcyclohexyl)-2-oxoethyl)-1-methyl-1H-pyrazole-5-carboxamide
([0771])
.
and Example 52: (S)-N-(1-Cycloheptyl-2-((5-(1,4-dimethyl-1H-pyrazol-5-yl)pyridin-2-yl)amino)-2-oxoethyl)-1-methyl-1H-1,2,3-triazole-5-carboxamide
([0787])
and Example 108: N-((S)-2-((6-(1,4-dimethyl-1H-pyrazol-5-yl)-5-fluoropyridin-3-yl)amino)-1-((1 r,4S)-4-methylcyclohexyl)-2-oxoethyl)-1-ethyl-1H-pyrazole-5-carboxamide
([0899])
.
Martin teaches the compounds together with pharmaceutical acceptable excipients (claim 30). Martin teaches the compounds are useful for treating psoriasis (claim 32, [0028], [00973]).
Thus, Martin anticipates the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-19, 25-26, and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12065429. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are to compounds and methods of use which anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-19, 25-26, and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-73 of U.S. Patent No. 11377425. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are to compounds and methods of use which anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-19, 25-26, and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18, 22-23, 25 of copending Application No. 18002080 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims are to compounds and methods of use which anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626