DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joseph, Polymer 54 (2013) 4894-4901.
Joseph teaches an example where a block copolymer of poly[(2-dimethylamino)ethylmethacrylate]-block-poly[di(ethyleneglycol) methyl ether methacrylate] (“PDD”) is formed (pg. 4895) followed by dissolving the PDD in water and deposited on a substrate to form a film (pg. 4895-4896). Joseph teaches that poly(oligo-(ethylene glycol) methyl ether methacrylate) (“POEGMA”) has excellent biocompatibility (pg. 4894) and poly[di(ethyleneglycol) methyl ether methacrylate] is an example of a POEGMA. Water is a solvent. (2-dimethylamino)ethylmethacrylate meets claimed formula (1) when R1 is methyl, X1 is ethylene, and U1 and U2 are methyl groups. Di(ethyleneglycol) methyl ether methacrylate meets claimed formula (2) when R2 is methyl, X2 is ethylene, R3 is methyl and n1 is 2.
Joseph does not explicitly recite the biocompatibility is an ability to suppress adhesion of a protein. However, Joseph teaches a block copolymer using the same monomers as the examples in the instant specification, dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate and diethylene glycol methyl ether methacrylate. The instant specification shows that block copolymers of these two monomers give reduced protein adhesion (Table 3). Therefore, the block copolymers of Joseph have the same properties, including reduced adhesion of proteins. Case law holds that a material and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Joseph does not explicitly recite the film is for a cell culture (claim 4) to obtain a cell aggregate (claim 5). However, these are intended uses of the composition and the composition of Joseph are capable of performing the claimed intended uses If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02, In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rubinsztajn (US 2010/0330674).
Rubinsztajn teaches cell culture support (abstract) which includes a copolymer coating on a substrate which may be a block copolymer such as poly(di(ethylene glycol)methylether methacrylate)-co-poly(diethylaminoethyl acrylate) (¶ 36). Rubinsztajn teaches an example where TRABC and water are combined which then forms a film of the TRABC (¶ 59, 61). Rubinsztajn teaches examples of TRABC include poly(di(ethylene glycol)methylether methacrylate)-co-poly(diethylaminoethyl acrylate) which meet the formulas of claim 1. As Rubinsztajn only teaches three species of TRABC (¶ 36), one of ordinary skill in the art would have instantly envisaged using poly(di(ethylene glycol)methylether methacrylate)-co-poly(diethylaminoethyl acrylate). A genus may be so small that, when considered in light of the totality of the circumstances, it would anticipate the claimed species or subgenus. See MPEP 2105, In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962).
Rubinsztajn does not explicitly recite the biocompatibility is an ability to suppress adhesion of a biological substance. However, Rubinsztajn teaches a block copolymer using the similar monomers as the examples in the instant specification, dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate and diethylene glycol methyl ether methacrylate. The instant specification shows that block copolymers of these two monomers give reduced protein adhesion (Table 3). Therefore, the block copolymers of Rubinsztajn have the same properties, including reduced adhesion of proteins. Case law holds that a material and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Rubinsztajn does not explicitly recite the film is for a base film (claim 4) to obtain a cell aggregate (claim 5). However, these are intended uses of the composition and the composition of Rubinsztajn are capable of performing the claimed intended uses If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02, In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinsztajn (US 2010/0330674) in view of Otani (US 2016/0115435).
The discussion with respect to Rubinsztajn above is incorporated by reference.
Rubinsztajn does not explicitly recite the substrate includes a copolymer having the recurring units of claim 8.
However, Otani teaches a cell culture vessel (substrate) comprising a copolymer having a recurring unit containing
and a recurring unit containing
(¶ 12-13) which meet the formulas of claim 8. Otani teaches the copolymer is used to form a film (¶ 82, 99) with a solvent that includes water (¶ 98).
It would have been obvious to use the copolymers having the recurring units of Otani because it provides suppressed elution of the coating into the culture and radiation resistance (¶ 10, 32, 109, 167).
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764