DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-7, 9-11 and 14-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 December 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a syringe needle support part” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 6,440,145 to Assawah (Assawah hereinafter) in view of KR 10-2019-131989 to Park et al. (Park hereinafter, copy provided by applicant on 12 December 2022), and US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0015483 to Barbagli et al. (Barbagli).
Regarding claim 1, Assawah teaches a press unit configured to press the body comprising a press band (16) that contacts the body, a pair of moving units (18, 20, 22) that support the body, a driving device (32, 34), a guide bar (30), a first nut and a second nut (where 30 interfaces with tail sections 18) which are integrally connected to their respective moving units (18), the nuts having screw threads forms such that they move in opposite directions along the guide bar (col. 3, ln. 10-15). Assawah does not teach a syringe needle unit support part. Park teaches an automatic blood withdrawal machine and particularly teaches a syringe (310) and support unit (320) provided to allow blood to be drawn from a user. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a syringe support part as taught by Park to the press unit of Assawah in order to provide automatic blood withdrawal in that apparatus. Assawah also does not teach the limitations of an encoder. Barbagli teaches another medical device generally and particularly that an encoder is provided in order to adjust and measure tension and rotational positioning in the medical system (paragraph 43). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide an encoder as taught by Barbagli to the machine of Assawah in order to measure rotational position of the clamp generally. The examiner notes that the detection of rotational speed and direction, as well as the body invasion limitations are treated as functional limitations which the current combination is capable of performing.
Regarding claim 3, the press band may be separated from the body so as not to come into contact therewith in an initial position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 4,035,010 teaches a motor driven clamp generally having an applicable gearing system as illustrated in Fig. 5.
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 13 December 2025