DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Jakubowski (US 2019/0363590) would not disclose the limitation of “a housing, comprising wireless power processing circuitry, configured to detachably attach to the electronic device… wherein the first wireless power transmitter is electrically coupled to the wireless power receiver via the wireless power processing circuitry.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Jakubowski does disclose a housing comprising wireless power processing circuitry [see at least Figure 2, (230)]. What Jakubowski fails to disclose is that the housing is configured to detachably attach to the electronic device. This limitation is disclosed by Ferber (US 2014/0035511) in Figure 1. The detachably attachable housing of Ferber does contain circuitry within it. It is the combination of Jakubowski and Ferber that satisfies this limitation. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US 2019/0363590 by Jakubowski in view of US 2014/0035511 by Ferber et al. (Ferber hereinafter) and US 2020/0067350 by Moffatt.
Regarding claim 1, Jakubowski discloses a system comprising: an accessory [see at least Figures 2 and 3A, (200); paragraph 0058, “combined wireless charger-and-interrogator”] for an electronic device [see at least Figure 2, (222)], comprising: a housing, comprising wireless power processing circuitry [see at least Figure 2, (230)], a wireless power receiver positioned in the housing [see at least Figure 2, (202) and (204)] configured to receive power when the accessory is positioned in the large-area [as it is not clearly defined, a desktop/table is considered a large-area] wireless power transfer area [see at least Figure 3A, (200) on (304) being provided power (308); paragraphs 0071-0072]; wherein the first wireless power transmitter electrically coupled to the wireless power receiver via the wireless power processing circuitry [see at least Figure 2, (206) and (208)], the first wireless power transmitter is configured to power the electronic device through a second wireless power transfer area [see at least Figure 3A, (322) on (200); Figure 2, (209)], and the second wireless power transfer area is smaller than the large-area wireless power transfer area [see at least Figure 3A, (304) and (200)]; the combined wireless charger-and-interrogator is clearly depicted as being smaller than the area of the desktop; paragraphs 0074-0075].
Jakubowski fails to explicitly disclose a housing configured to detachably attach to the electronic device. However, Ferber discloses a phone case for which supplies power to an electronic device [see at least Figure 1; Abstract].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to have a housing that removably attached to the electronic device to allow the system to stay attached to the electronic device when wanted. Thus, allowing for the user to have access to the system when transporting the electronic device and preventing loss of the system.
Jakubowski describes that the system is placed on a desktop [see at least Figure 3A, (304); paragraph 0071; this is considered a large area wireless power transfer area], but fails to disclose a second wireless power transmitter electrically coupled to a conductive loop that defines a large-area wireless power transfer area. However, Moffatt discloses this known configuration [see at least Figure 2N, (2606) and (108); a desktop and table are considered equivalent].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a power transmitter loop to define the power transfer area of a desktop to allow for a larger area configured for wireless power transfer. Thus, allowing to transfer wireless power without exact electronic device placement and the ability to have multiple electronic devices within the area.
Regarding claim 2, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Moffatt discloses wherein: the second wireless power transmitter is configured to be powered by a radiofrequency (RF) power source to transmit power across the large-area wireless power transfer area [see at least Figure 2N, (108); paragraph 0020].
Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt fails to explicitly disclose when the accessory is multiple feet away from the second wireless power transmitter. However, Jakubowski [see paragraph 0004, desktop or countertop] and Moffatt [see paragraph 0089, table top or ceiling above table top surface] describe areas that can be multiple feet in length and width.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to power the accessory whin it is multiple feet away from the second wireless power transmitter to increase the area for which the accessory can be sent power. Thus, allowing for more flexibility in powering the accessory.
Regarding claim 3, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 2.
Jakubowski discloses wherein the first wireless power transmitter is a QI standard-compliant wireless power transmitter [see at least paragraph 0067, “Qi, a standard for wireless charging”].
Regarding claim 4, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Ferber discloses further comprising the electronic device, wherein the accessory is a protective case comprising the housing that is configured to detachably attach to the electronic device [see at least Figure 1; Abstract] and the electronic device is a portable and comprises at least one battery that powers the electronic device [see at Figure 1, (18)].
Regarding claim 5, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Jakubowski discloses wherein the electronic device does not comprise a battery, the wireless power transmitter providing power directly to processing circuitry of the electronic device [see at least paragraph 0003; paragraph 0060, “into usable electrical power as may be used to operate the device 222”].
Regarding claim 6, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Jakubowski discloses further comprising a battery independent of that of the electronic device [see at least Figure 2, (212)], and the wireless power transmitter is further configured to power the electronic device through the battery [see at least paragraph 0064].
Regarding claim 7, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Jakubowski discloses wherein the electronic device is one of: a mobile phone; a laptop computing device; a tablet computing device; a smart watch computing device, a lighting device, and a sensor [see at least paragraph 0003, “cellular phone”; paragraph 0137].
Regarding claim 8, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Jakubowski discloses wherein the wireless power receiver and the wireless power transmitter are disposed between a first surface of the housing and a second surface of the housing [see at least Figure 2, (202) to (206)]
Ferber discloses further comprising wherein the housing is configured to detachably attach to the electronic device through at least one of: an interference fit; a friction fit; a connection fit, and an adhesive connection [see at least Figures 7A-7B].
Regarding claim 9, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Jakubowski discloses wherein the wireless power processing circuitry configured to convert the power received wirelessly by the wireless power receiver from an alternating current (AC) signal to a direct current (DC) signal [see at least paragraph 0058, “204 can rectify an alternating current”] and provide the wireless power transmitter with the DC signal [see at least paragraph 0059, “from a voltage and/or current, including direct current”].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0363590 by Jakubowski in view of US 2014/0035511 by Ferber et al. (Ferber hereinafter) and US 2020/0067350 by Moffatt in further view of US 2016/0105047 by Cui.
Regarding claim 11, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt teaches the system of claim 1.
Ferber discloses wherein the accessory is a protective case [see at least paragraph 0035].
Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt fails to teach further comprising at least one magnet disposed in the case for coupling the case to the electronic device or to an external charging device. However, Cui discloses an accessory for a mobile device with a magnet mount for mounting to a power supplying device [see at least Figure 10, (1) to (41); paragraph 0034].
Regarding claim 12, Jakubowski in view of Ferber and Moffatt in further view of Cui teaches the system of claim 11.
Cui discloses wherein the at least one magnet is a paramagnetic magnet or a ferromagnetic magnet [see at least paragraph 0046].
Regarding claim 13, Jakubowski discloses a method, comprising: providing an accessory [see at least Figures 2 and 3A, (200); paragraph 0058, “combined wireless charger-and-interrogator”] for an electronic device [see at least Figure 2, (222)], the accessory comprising: a housing, comprising wireless power processing circuitry [see at least Figure 2, (230)] a first wireless power transmitter [see at least Figure 2, (206) and (208)], and a wireless power receiver [see at least Figure 2, (202) and (204)] configured to receive power when the accessory is positioned in a first wireless power transfer area [see at least Figure 3A, (200) on (304) being provided power (308); paragraphs 0071-0072]; and wherein the first wireless power transmitter is electrically coupled to the wireless power receiver via the wireless power processing circuitry [see at least Figure 2, (206) and (208)], the first wireless power transmitter is configured to power the electronic device through a second wireless power transfer area [see at least Figure 3A, (322) on (200); Figure 2, (209)]; positioning the accessory within the first wireless power transfer area such that the wireless power receiver receives power at the accessory [see at least Figure 3A, (200) on (304)]; and generating, by the wireless power transmitter, the second wireless power transfer area such that the second wireless power transfer area provides power to the electronic device [see at least Figure 2, (209)], the second wireless power transfer area being smaller than the first wireless power transfer area [see at least Figure 3A, (304) and (200); the combined wireless charger-and-interrogator is clearly depicted as being smaller than the area of the desktop; paragraphs 0074-0075].
Jakubowski fails to explicitly disclose a housing configured to detachably attach to the electronic device. However, Ferber discloses a phone case for which supplies power to an electronic device [see at least Figure 1; Abstract].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to have a housing that removably attached to the electronic device to allow the system to stay attached to the electronic device when wanted. Thus, allowing for the user to have access to the system when transporting the electronic device and preventing loss of the system.
Jakubowski describes that the system is placed on a desktop [see at least Figure 3A, (304); paragraph 0071; this is considered a large-area wireless power transfer area], but fails to disclose the large area wireless power transfer area defined by a conductive loop and a second wireless power transmitter electrically couple to the conductive loop that is external to the accessory. However, Moffatt discloses this known configuration [see at least Figure 2N, (2606); a desktop and table are considered equivalent].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a power transmitter loop to define the power transfer area of a desktop to allow for a larger area configured for wireless power transfer. Thus, allowing to transfer wireless power without exact electronic device placement and the ability to have multiple electronic devices within the area.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-22 are allowed.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836