DETAILED ACTION
Claims 11-22 are currently pending.
Claims 1-10 have been cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
I. 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Examiner agrees the current amendment to claim 16 overcomes the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the rejection is withdrawn.
II. 35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant Ogale fails to teach alignment by forming pairs of positions between a real position of an object, at a precise moment, and the position of the same object, at the same moment, in an image acquired by the camera. Examiner disagrees. It is clear throughout the Ogale reference that the images and the sensor poses are determined at the same time.
For example:
Column 18 lines 10-15 “For example, the sensor-based pose may be based on the position of the vehicle, relative to an object, which may also be shown within the images captured by the camera system.”
Column 19 lines 27-31, “ In other examples, the autonomous vehicle may determine a sensor-based post based on a cue provided by the computing device in response to determining an image-based pose using camera images.”
This was further clearly expressed in the below rejection by establishing the sensor based pose and the camera based pose were determined based upon the same object (See also col 16 lines 13-33, the autonomous vehicle may determine a pose of some object or objects).
Further, Ogale teaches forming a pair of poses and “transform functions to transcribe a pose to another coordinate system” in column 20. This is a pair of poses acquired a the same time, used to calibrate the camera system. Therefore, at this time all rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The device
The memory unit
The image processing nit
The computing unit
in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 16 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogale (US 9,201,424).
Regarding claim 11, Ogale teaches:
A method for calibrating a camera on board a motor vehicle using a reference sensor on board said vehicle, (Ogale Fig 1, vehicle with LIDAR/Radar and a camera) wherein provision is made for determining calibration parameters of the camera, the method comprising:
a) acquiring, by the reference sensor, a plurality of actual positions of at least one object in an environment of the vehicle, (Ogale col 17 line 65, At block 306 the method 300 includes determining via at least one sensor coupled to the vehicle, a sensor based pose indicative of an orientation and position of the vehicle)
b) acquiring, using the camera, a shot at each instant when one of the actual positions is acquired by the reference sensor, (Ogale, col 14 line 18-31, at block 302 the method includes receiving via a camera coupled to the vehicle one or more images…..During operation the camera system may be configured to focus upon and capture images of particular objects within the environment)
c) determining a position of an image of each object in the shots acquired by the camera, (Ogale, col 15 lines 50-67, At block 304, the method includes based on the one or more images determining an image based pose indicative of an orientation and position of the camera. See also col 16 lines 13-33, the autonomous vehicle may determine a pose of some object or objects)
d) forming position pairs by matching each of the actual positions of each object with the position of the image of said object in the shot acquired by the camera at the instant of acquiring said actual position of the object, (Ogale col 20 lines 5-29, After determining the different poses, a computing device or system associated with the autonomous vehicle may be configured to align the image-based pose with the sensor based pose…. The computing device may use transform function to transcribe a pose to other coordinate system to produce the alignment) and
e) determining, using a computing unit, calibration parameters of the camera, from a set of the position pairs formed. (Ogale col 20 lines 40-67, At block 310 the method 300 includes determining an adjustment of the orientation or position of the camera based on the alignment of the image-based pose with the sensor based pose…..adjustments may include refining the camera’s focus or scaling…. determine any variation related to yaw, pitch and poll the camera)
Regarding claim 12, Ogale teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 11, wherein, in step e), said calibration parameters of the camera are extrinsic parameters formed by a coefficients of a rotation and/or translation matrix describing a switch from a reference frame associated with the vehicle to a reference frame associated with the camera. (Ogale col 20 lines 49-54, The computer device or system associated with an autonomous vehicle may find a transformation that includes a scale factor, rotation, and translation)
Regarding claim 16, Ogale teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the acquisition steps a) and b) are executed while the vehicle is running along a straight line and on a substantially horizontal and flat roadway. (Ogale Fig 5, car is traveling along a roadway)
Regarding claim 20, Ogale teaches:
A device for calibrating a camera on board a motor vehicle, configured to communicate with said camera and with a reference sensor on board the vehicle, (Ogale Fig 1, vehicle with LIDAR/Radar and a camera)
said reference sensor being provided to acquire a plurality of actual positions of at least one object in an environment of the vehicle, said device comprising: (Ogale col 17 line 65, At block 306 the method 300 includes determining via at least one sensor coupled to the vehicle, a sensor based pose indicative of an orientation and position of the vehicle)
a memory unit (Ogale Fig 1, processor) configured to record the actual position of each object in a reference frame associated with the vehicle at a given instant and a shot acquired by the camera at the given instant, (Ogale, col 14 line 18-31, at block 302 the method includes receiving via a camera coupled to the vehicle one or more images…..During operation the camera system may be configured to focus upon and capture images of particular objects within the environment)
an image processing unit(Ogale Fig 1, processor) configured to determine a position of an image of each object in the shots acquired by the camera, (Ogale, col 15 lines 50-67, At block 304, the method includes based on the one or more images determining an image based pose indicative of an orientation and position of the camera. See also col 16 lines 13-33, the autonomous vehicle may determine a pose of some object or objects)and to form position pairs by matching said position of the image of the object in the shot with the actual position of said object at the instant of acquisition of the shot, (Ogale col 20 lines 5-29, After determining the different poses, a computing device or system associated with the autonomous vehicle may be configured to align the image-based pose with the sensor based pose…. The computing device may use transform function to transcribe a pose to other coordinate system to produce the alignment) and
a computing unit (Ogale Fig 1, processor) configured to calculate calibration parameters of the camera based on a set of the position pairs formed by the image processing unit. (Ogale col 20 lines 40-67, At block 310 the method 300 includes determining an adjustment of the orientation or position of the camera based on the alignment of the image-based pose with the sensor based pose…..adjustments may include refining the camera’s focus or scaling…. determine any variation related to yaw, pitch and poll the camera)
Regarding claim 21, Ogale teaches:
The device as claimed in claim 20, wherein the reference sensor is chosen from the following list of sensors: a camera, a stereoscopic camera, a detection system using electromagnetic waves, and a detection system using ultrasonic waves. (Ogale Fig 1, vehicle with LIDAR/Radar and a camera)
Regarding claim 22, Ogale teaches:
The device as claimed in claim 21, wherein the detection system using electromagnetic waves is a radar or lidar system. (Ogale Fig 1, vehicle with LIDAR/Radar and a camera)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogale as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Elangovan (US 2019/0019335).
Regarding claim 19, Ogale fails to teach:
The method as claimed in claim 11, wherein step c) of determining the position of the image of each object in each shot acquired by the camera is executed by an image processing unit comprising a neural network.
Elangovan teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 11, wherein step c) of determining the position of the image of each object in each shot acquired by the camera is executed by an image processing unit comprising a neural network. (Elangovan [0079] estimating a camera pose position for the captured image using a neural network)
Before the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the neural network of Elangovan to determine the position of the image as taught in Ogale. The rationale for the combination is the combination of known methods to yield the predictable result of a vehicle camera pose calculated through a neural network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, neither the closest known prior art, nor any reasonable combination thereof, teaches:
e1) for each of the position pairs formed, a theoretical position of the image of the object is calculated, based on the actual position of said object determined in step a) and on the coefficients of the matrix, and then a difference between the theoretical position calculated and the position determined in step c) of the image of said object in the shot is evaluated;
e2) the mean of all the differences evaluated in step e 1) is calculated;
e3) the coefficients of the matrix are modified; and
e4) substeps el) to e3) are iterated until the mean of the differences calculated in substep e2) is minimized.
Claims 14 and 15 depend from claim 13 and would therefore also be allowable.
Regarding claim 17, neither the closest known prior art, nor any reasonable combination thereof, teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 11, wherein, in step a), the reference sensor acquires at least 5 different actual positions of objects, dispersed in a whole of a field of view of said reference sensor covering a field of view of the camera.
Regarding claim 18, neither the closest known prior art, nor any reasonable combination thereof, teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 11, wherein step c) of determining the position of the image of each object in each shot acquired by the camera is executed manually by an operator.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Molly Wilburn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666