DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1,3 and 4-12) in the reply filed on 7/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-20 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/16/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 has the limitation “corona poling the metal electrode” which renders the claim indefinite. Corona poling or also known as corona discharging is usually applied to an electrode to treat an electret. It is unclear if the corona poling is done to the electret or an electrode alternate to the electrode that is part of the membrane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuzo et al (WO2019208580).
With regards to claim 1, Yuzo et al discloses an electret membrane (laminate 50, Fig. 1), comprising an electret material matrix (electret film A, Fig. 1); a metal electrode (electrode layer C which includes aluminum foil or copper foil, page 7, lines 54-55), provided on one side of the matrix and attached to the electret material matrix (Fig. 1); and a hydrophobic layer, provided on an outer surface of the electret material matrix (adhesive layer B is on the outer surface of electret film A and made of polyamide, Fig. 1, page 7, lines 25-28).
With regards to claim 3, Yuzo et al discloses wherein a material of the electret material matrix comprises at least one of poly tetra fluoroethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene, tetrafluorethylene- hexafluoropropylene (the thermoplastic resin constituting the electret film A can include polyethylene resins, polypropylene resins or ethylene tetrafluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer, page 3, lines 29-38).
With regards to claim 4, Yuzo et al discloses wherein the metal electrode comprises at least one of: an aluminum electrode, a copper electrode and a silver electrode (the electrode layer C include aluminum foil, copper foil and silver foil, page 7, lines 54-59).
Claim(s) 5,6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US20110186437).
With regards to claim 5, Huang et al discloses a method of preparing an electret membrane (method of manufacturing a polymeric electret film, Title), comprising: mixing a dielectric material and a masterbatch to obtain a mixture (polytetrafluoroethylene film 1 is manufactured by mixing a suspension of polytetrafluoroethylene resin or a dispersion of polytetrafluoroethylene resin with at least one additive, paragraph 0034,lines 6-8 ); melting the mixture and pressing the mixture at a first temperature to obtain an original matrix (the heat-setting step and cooling step, thereby the polytetrafluoroethylene film 1 composed of expanded porous polytetrafluoroethylene is obtained, paragraph 0036, lines 3-4) ; stretching the original matrix to obtain an electret material matrix (treating the above-mentioned resin by means of a stretching shaping method, thus obtaining the polytetrafluoroethylene film 1 composed of expanded porous polytetrafluoroethylene, paragraph 0034, lines 7-9); and coating a metal electrode to a first side of the electret material matrix (an electrode layer 2 formed on the lower surface 11B of the polytetrafluoroethylene film 1, paragraph 0037, lines 1-2) through vacuum evaporation (the process for forming the electrode layer on the lower surface 11B of the polytetrafluoroethylene film can be physical vapor deposition, sputtering, sputtering deposition, spin coating, immersion plating, or other semiconductor deposition process which could include vacuum evaporation, paragraph 0037, lines 3-5) and corona poling the metal electrode to obtain the electret membrane (corona charging method, paragraph 0040, lines 1-4).
With regards to claim 6, Huang et al discloses wherein the dielectric material comprises poly tetrafluoroethylene (a polytetrafluoroethylene film 1, paragraph 0034, lines 2).
With regards to claim 12, Huang et al discloses wherein a thickness of the metal electrode ranges from 80 nm to 120 nm (the thickness of the electrode layer 2 ranges between 50 nm and 150 nm, paragraph 0037, line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yuzo et al.
With regards to claim 11, Huang et al does not disclose spraying a hydrophobic coating on an outer surface of the electret material matrix to form a hydrophobic layer, wherein the hydrophobic coating comprises polyamide.
Yuzo et al teaches spraying a hydrophobic coating (adhesive layer B is coating with spray type adhesive, page 9, line 27-29) on an outer surface of the electret material matrix to form a hydrophobic layer, wherein the hydrophobic coating comprises polyamide (adhesive layer B is on the outer surface of electret film A and made of polyamide, Fig. 1, page 7, lines 25-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Huang et al and Yuzo et al before him or her, to modify the space between the electret film and metal layer of Huang et al to include the polyamide because the combination allows for strengthen the connection between the electrode layer and electret layer
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not disclose or teach wherein the masterbatch comprises a polypropylene, calcium carbonate, titanium oxide, and a coupling agent in the percentages as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not disclose or teach wherein the first temperature ranges from 230°C to 250°C.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or teach wherein the stretching the original matrix comprises: stretching the original matrix in a first direction at a second temperature, and stretching the original matrix in a second direction at a third temperature. Claim 10 is dependent on claim 9.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761