DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4, 9-23 and 50-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Newly added claims 50 and 51 include a controller arranged to set the first heating unit to a target temperature and also set the second heating unit to a target temperature higher than the target temperature of the first heating unit whereas elected species 2 recites a controller arranged to set the second heating unit to a target temperature and set the temperature of the first heating unit to an initial temperature higher than the target temperature of the second heating unit; therefore, new claims 50 and 51 do not belong to the elected species 2. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 18, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "T5" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "T6" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI (CN 108783602).
Li teaches an aerosol generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol generating material comprising a first heating unit (12 in figure 1) arranged to heat, but not bum, the aerosol generating material in use; a second heating unit (13) arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol generating material in use; and a controller (11) arranged to control the first heating unit and the second heating unit. Figures 4 and 5 show during a session the controller is arranged to set the second heating unit (line t2A in figures 5 and 5) to: (i) a target operating temperature T1 during a time period t0-t3; (ii) a target operating temperature T2 during a time period t3-t4;(iii) a target operating temperature T3 during a time period t4-t5; and(iv) a target operating temperature T4 during a time period t5-t7; wherein temperature T4 > T3 > T2 > T1 and time t0< t1< t2 <t3< t4 < t5 < t6 <t7 (translation pages 5-9, “First Embodiment” paragraphs 2-11 and “Second Embodiment” paragraphs 4-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (CN 108783602).
Li teaches an aerosol generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol generating material comprising a first heating unit (12 in figure 1) arranged to heat, but not bum, the aerosol generating material in use; a second heating unit (13) arranged to heat, but not burn, the aerosol generating material in use; and a controller (11) arranged to control the first heating unit and the second heating unit. Figures 4 and 5 show during a session the controller is arranged to set the second heating unit (line t2A in figures 5 and 5) to: (i) a target operating temperature T1 during a time period t0-t3; (ii) a target operating temperature T2 during a time period t3-t4;(iii) a target operating temperature T3 during a time period t4-t5; and(iv) a target operating temperature T4 during a time period t5-t7; wherein temperature T4 > T3 > T2 > T1 and time t0< t1< t2 <t3< t4 < t5 < t6 <t7 (translation pages 5-9, “First Embodiment” and “Second Embodiment”).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the controller is further arranged to set the first heating unit: (i) a target operating temperature T5 during a time period tl-t6; and (ii) a target operating temperature T6 during a time period t6-t7 (line t1B in figures 4 and 5). Figures 4 and 5 show that temperature T5 of the first heating unit is set higher than temperatures T1 and T2 of the second heating unit, followed by a temperature T6 lower than T5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try a T4 higher than T5 and a T3 equivalent to T5 because Li teaches that the temperatures of the heating elements vary (translation “Second Embodiment” paragraph 4) therefore temperatures of T4 > T5 = T3 > T6 > T2 > T1 would have been achieved through routine experimentation while optimizing the vaporization of the aerosol.
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches that the timing of a first stage can be 8-20 seconds (“Second Embodiment” paragraph 4) and a second stage can be 70-100 seconds (“Second Embodiment paragraph 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the timing of the two stages of Li could be broken down into (i) t0 = 0 s and comprises the start of the session; (ii) t1 = 2 ±2s; (iii) t2 = 15 ± 10 s and comprises time of first puff; (iv) t3 = 60 ± 10 s; (v) t4 = 100 ± 10 s; (vi) t5 = 130 ± 10 s; (vii) t6 = 140 ± 10 s; and (viii) t7 = 225 ± 10 s through routine experimentation while optimizing the vaporization of the aerosol.
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches that the highest temperature reaches can be 240-280 °C (“Second Embodiment” para. 5), which overlaps with (iii) T3 = 260°C±10°C; (iv) T4 = 270°C±10C;(v) T5 = 260°C±10C; and (vi) T6 = 230°C±100C. Figures 4 and 5 show T1= ambient or < 100°C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a temperature profile of (i) T1= ambient or < 100°C; (ii) T2 = 140°C±10C; (iii) T3 = 260°C±10°C; (iv) T4 = 270°C±10C;(v) T5 = 260°C±10C; and (vi) T6 = 230°C±100C would have been achieved through routine experimentation while optimizing the vaporization of the aerosol.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741