DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 12/13/2022.
Response to Amendment
Claims 20-39 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 6/20/2025.
Claims 20, 22-23, 29, 31-32, 34, and 36-37 have been amended with Claims 20, 29, and 34 being independent.
Claims 20-39 remain pending for examination.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendments to the specification received on 8/21/2025 in order to overcome objections in prior Office Action. These amendments are acceptable and objections listed in previous Office Action to the specification have been withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendments to claims 22, 31-32, and 36 received on 8/21/2025 in order to overcome rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in prior Office action. These amendments are acceptable and 35. U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 11-17, filed 8/21/2025, with respect to Claim(s) 20, 29, and 34 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose “receiving, from a terminal device on the first uplink resource, a first signal or first information, wherein the first signal or the first information indicates the first downlink carrier or a second downlink carrier, and wherein the second downlink carrier corresponds to the second uplink carrier,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Here, Jeon et al. (US 2019/0254074 A1; hereinafter Jeon) was relied upon to disclose previously presented claim 20. As provided in the previous office action Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12).
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the prior art of record does not disclose “determining, based on the first signal or the first information, whether the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier or the second downlink carrier,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As provided in the previous office Jeon discloses downlink carrier in ¶59-60. ¶60 also discloses that a cell ID and cell index and further clarifying information can be seen in ¶61, ¶179, and ¶209:
[0060] A cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned a physical cell ID and/or a cell index. A carrier (downlink and/or uplink) may belong to one cell. The cell ID and/or cell index may identify the downlink carrier and/or uplink carrier of the cell (e.g., depending on the context it is used). A cell ID may be equally referred to as a carrier ID, and a cell index may be referred to as a carrier index. A physical cell ID and/or a cell index may be assigned to a cell. A cell ID may be determined using a synchronization signal transmitted via a downlink carrier. A cell index may be determined using RRC messages. A first physical cell ID for a first downlink carrier may indicate that the first physical cell ID is for a cell comprising the first downlink carrier. The same concept may be used, for example, with carrier activation and/or deactivation (e.g., secondary cell activation and/or deactivation). A first carrier that is activated may indicate that a cell comprising the first carrier is activated.
[0061] A base station may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells. One or more cells may comprise at least one primary cell and at least one secondary cell. An RRC message may be broadcasted and/or unicasted to the wireless device. Configuration parameters may comprise common parameters and dedicated parameters.
[0179] A wireless device may determine that a random access procedure has been unsuccessfully completed, for example, if the wireless device receives no random access response (RAR) corresponding to one or more preambles transmitted by the wireless device during the random access procedure. There may be a number (e.g., quantity, amount, etc.) of allowed preamble transmissions (e.g., ra-PreambleTx-Max) during a random access procedure. The number of allowed preamble transmissions may be semi-statically configured by RRC signaling…
[0209] A wireless device may receive, from a base station, one or more messages initiating a handover procedure to a cell of a second base station. The one or more messages comprising parameters indicating: first random-access channel (RACH) parameters and second RACH parameters. The wireless device may initiate a first RA procedure via a first uplink carrier of the first cell based on the first RACH parameters. The wireless device may complete the first RA procedure, for example, if the wireless device receives at least one corresponding RAR during the first RA procedure. The wireless device may initiate a second RA procedure via a second uplink carrier of the first cell based on the second RACH parameters, for example, if the wireless device receives no corresponding RAR (e.g., an RAR corresponding to one or more random access preamble transmitted by the wireless device) during the first RA procedure. The first RACH parameters may indicate one or more of: the first uplink carrier; a first BWP of the first carrier; at least one first RACH resource associated with the first BWP; and/or at least one first preamble. The second RACH parameters may indicate one or more of: the second uplink carrier; a second BWP of the second carrier; at least one second RACH resource associated with the second BWP; and/or at least one second preamble. The first RA procedure may comprise transmitting, by the wireless device, the at least one first preamble; and repeating, until at least one RAR is detected or a number of transmissions of the at least one first preamble exceeds a first value; monitoring a control channel for the at least one RAR during an RAR monitoring window; and transmitting the at least one first preamble based on determining that the at least one RAR has not been detected during the RAR monitoring window. The first value may be semi-statically configured by RRC signaling. The RAR monitoring window may start, for example, after or in response to transmitting at least one first preamble. The size of the RAR monitoring window may be semi-statically configured by RRC signaling.
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below and altered as required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-24, 28-32, 34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2019/0254074 A1; hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding Claim 20, Jeon discloses:
A method applied to a network device, wherein the method comprises:
sending first configuration information on a first downlink carrier, wherein the first configuration information indicates a first uplink resource on a second uplink carrier, wherein the second uplink carrier is a supplementary uplink SUL, and wherein frequency bands of the second uplink carrier and a first uplink carrier that correspond to the first downlink carrier are different; [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP) (¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16)]
receiving, from a terminal device on the first uplink resource, a first signal or first information, wherein the first signal or the first information indicates the first downlink carrier or a second downlink carrier, and wherein the second downlink carrier corresponds to the second uplink carrier; [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon also discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12).]
determining, based on the first signal or the first information, whether the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier or the second downlink carrier; and [Jeon discloses that cell ID/index assigned to a downlink/uplink carrier may be used to identify the carrier of the cell, that a cell index may be determined using RRC messages, that a base station may send one or more RRC messages comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells, and that a RAR can correspond to one or more preambles transmitted by the wireless device during the random access procedure (¶61, ¶179, and ¶208-210). Jeon also discloses the base station sending Msg 2, a random access response (RAR) (¶ 141-146; Fig. 12), and that if the random access procedure is unsuccessful the base station may not send an RAR (¶211-215; Fig. 18)]
sending a downlink signal on the first downlink carrier when determining that the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier. [Jeon discloses that a wireless device may receive an RAR from a base station and that the wireless device may determine that a reception of random access response is successful if at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier corresponding to a random access preamble previously sent (Msg1) (¶ 144-146; ¶211-215; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)]
Regarding Claim 21 and 35, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 20, wherein the first signal is a sequence carried by the first uplink resource, and [Jeon discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12).] wherein the method further comprises sending second configuration information on the first downlink carrier, wherein the second configuration information indicates a second uplink resource on the second uplink carrier, wherein the second uplink resource is for carrying a preamble sequence, and wherein one or more preamble sequences carried on the second uplink resource correspond to one sequence carried on the first uplink resource. [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP) (¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16). Furthermore, Jeon discloses that the wireless device may send the random access preamble multiple times until it receives a random access response on both the NUL and SUL carriers (¶143; ¶146; ¶212; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)]
Regarding Claims 22, 31, and 36, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 20, wherein the first uplink resource is for carrying service data of the terminal device and for carrying the first information, [Jeon discloses that regarding Msg1 uplink transmissions, the wireless device may send to a base station a selected random access preamble at least based on an initial preamble power and power-ramping factor and may also determine a random access-radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with a selected PRACH occasion in which a selected random access preamble is sent and may do so at least based on an index of a first OFDM simple, an index of a first slot of a selected PRACH occasion, and/or an uplink carrier index for a transmission of Msg1 (¶108; ¶139; ¶143; Fig. 12)] and wherein the method further comprises either:
sending third configuration information on the first downlink carrier, wherein the third configuration information indicates a third uplink resource on the second uplink carrier, wherein the third uplink resource is for carrying a preamble sequence, and wherein the first configuration information and the third configuration information are comprised in a whole piece of configuration information; [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP)(¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16). Jeon further discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12).]
Regarding Claims 23 and 37, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 20, further comprising sending fourth configuration information on the second downlink carrier, wherein the fourth configuration information indicates a fourth uplink resource on the second uplink carrier, and wherein the fourth uplink resource is for carrying a preamble sequence. [Jeon discloses that a base station may send to a wireless device one or more messages for random access procedures and may be associated with different uplink carriers such as NUL and SUL carriers and that a plurality of RACH configurations may be configured for the SUL and non-SUL (¶ 139; ¶170-171; ¶211-212; Fig. 12 Item 1210; Fig. 18 Item 1801). Jeon further discloses Msg1 which carries a random access preamble on the uplink (¶143; ¶224; ¶ 211-212; Fig. 12 Item 1220; Fig. 18; Fig. 21)]
Regarding Claims 24 and 38, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 23, wherein a second uplink resource and the fourth uplink resource occupy at least one of a same time-domain/frequency-domain/code-domain resource on the second uplink carrier, or wherein a third uplink resource and the fourth uplink resource occupy at least one of a same time-domain/frequency-domain/code-domain resource on the second uplink carrier. [Jeon discloses that one or more UL carriers configured with a DL carrier may comprise a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a non-SUL carrier and that a DL carrier of a cell and an NUL carrier of the cell may be the same carrier and use the same frequency resources and, for example, such as in a TDD configurations where one or more time of a carrier may be assigned for a DL resource of the cell, and one or more second time durations of the carrier may be assigned for an NUL resource of the cell (¶ 167; ¶ 217; ¶ 222; Fig. 19-20). Jeon also discloses that wireless device may select a first carrier (SUL or NUL) for a first random access if a base station transmits to the wireless device at least two RACH configurations and that the wireless device may start a second random access via a second carrier where the second carrier may be different from or same to the first carrier (¶183-184)]
Regarding Claim 28, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 20, further comprising sending fifth configuration information on a third downlink carrier, wherein the fifth configuration information indicates a fifth uplink resource, wherein the fifth uplink resource is on the second uplink carrier, wherein the fifth uplink resource is for carrying the first signal or the first information, wherein a frequency band of the third downlink carrier is different from that of the first downlink carrier, and wherein the first signal or the first information indicates that the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier or the third downlink carrier. [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send to a wireless device a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP) (¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16). Furthermore, Jeon discloses that the wireless device may send the random access preamble multiple times until it receives a RAR on both the NUL and SUL carriers (¶143; ¶146; ¶212; Fig. 12; Fig. 18) and that a wireless device may receive an RAR from a base station and that the wireless device may determine that a reception of random access response is successful if at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier corresponding to a random access preamble previously sent (Msg1) (¶ 144-146; ¶211-215; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)].
Regarding Claim 29, Jeon discloses:
A method applied to a terminal device, wherein the method comprises:
receiving first configuration information on a first downlink carrier, wherein the first configuration information indicates a first uplink resource on a second uplink carrier, wherein the second uplink carrier is a supplementary uplink SUL, and wherein frequency bands of the second uplink carrier and a first uplink carrier that correspond to the first downlink carrier are different; [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a wireless device a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP)(¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16)]
setting a first signal or first information to indicate whether the terminal device accesses a network device on the first downlink carrier or a second downlink carrier, wherein the second downlink carrier corresponds to the second uplink carrier; and [Jeon discloses that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56-60) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon also discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12).]
sending the first signal or the first information on the first uplink resource, [Jeon discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12).]
wherein the first signal or the first information indicates that the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier. [Jeon discloses that a wireless device may receive an RAR from a base station and that the wireless device may determine that a reception of random access response is successful if at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier corresponding to a random access preamble previously sent (Msg1) (¶ 144-146; ¶211-215; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)]
Regarding Claim 30, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 29, wherein the first signal is a sequence carried by the first uplink resource, [Jeon discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12).] wherein the method further comprises receiving second configuration information on the first downlink carrier, wherein the second configuration information indicates a second uplink resource on the second uplink carrier, wherein the second uplink resource is for carrying a preamble sequence, and wherein one or more preamble sequences carried on the second uplink resource correspond to one sequence carried on the first uplink resource, and [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send to a wireless device a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP)(¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16). Furthermore, Jeon discloses that the wireless device may send the random access preamble multiple times until it receives a random access response on both the NUL and SUL carriers (¶143; ¶146; ¶212; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)]
wherein sending the first signal or the first information on the first uplink resource comprises:
sending the preamble sequence on the second uplink resource; and
sending the sequence corresponding to the preamble sequence on the first uplink resource. [Jeon discloses that the wireless device may send the random access preamble multiple times until it receives a random access response on both the NUL and SUL carriers (¶143; ¶146; ¶212; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)]
Regarding Claim 32, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 29, wherein the first uplink resource is for carrying service data of the terminal device, and for carrying the first information, and wherein the service data is message 3 (Msg3). [Jeon discloses that regarding Msg1 uplink transmissions, the wireless device may send to a base station a selected random access preamble at least based on an initial preamble power and power-ramping factor and may also determine a random access-radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with a selected PRACH occasion in which a selected random access preamble is sent and may do so at least based on an index of a first OFDM simple, an index of a first slot of a selected PRACH occasion, and/or an uplink carrier index for a transmission of Msg1 (¶108; ¶139; ¶143; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that in response to a successful reception of random access response the wireless device may, for a contention based random access procedure, adjust an uplink transmission timing based on a timing advanced command indicated by a random access response where subcarrier spacing for PUSCH transmission for Msg3 may be provided by at least one higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter and the wireless device may send a random access preamble via a PRACH, and Msg3 via PUSCH, on the same cell and a base station may indicate an UL BWP for a PUSCH transmission of Msg3 (¶147; Fig. 12)]
Regarding Claim 34, Jeon discloses:
A network device, comprising:
a memory configured to store program instructions; and [Jeon discloses memory configured to store instructions (¶ 58; Fig. 3)]
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to invoke the program instructions to enable the network device to: [Jeon discloses a processor coupled with the memory configured to execute instructions stored in memory (¶ 58; Fig. 3)]
send first configuration information on a first downlink carrier, wherein the first configuration information indicates a first uplink resource on a second uplink carrier, wherein the second uplink carrier is a supplementary uplink SUL, and wherein frequency bands of the second uplink carrier and a first uplink carrier that correspond to the first downlink carrier are different; [Jeon discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP)(¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16)]
receive a first signal or first information from a terminal device on the first uplink resource, wherein the first signal or the first information indicates the first downlink carrier or a second downlink carrier, and wherein the second downlink carrier corresponds to the second uplink carrier; [Jeon discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12). Jeon also discloses downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12).]
determine, based on the first signal or the first information, whether the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier or the second downlink carrier; and [Jeon discloses that cell ID/index assigned to a downlink/uplink carrier may be used to identify the carrier of the cell, that a cell index may be determined using RRC messages, that a base station may send one or more RRC messages comprising a plurality of configuration parameters for one or more cells, and that a RAR can correspond to one or more preambles transmitted by the wireless device during the random access procedure (¶61, ¶179, and ¶208-210). Jeon also discloses the base station sending Msg 2, a random access response (RAR) (¶ 141-146; Fig. 12), and that if the random access procedure is unsuccessful the base station may not send an RAR (¶211-215; Fig. 18)]
send a downlink signal on the first downlink carrier when determining that the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier. [Jeon discloses that a wireless device may receive an RAR from a base station and that the wireless device may determine that a reception of random access response is successful if at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier corresponding to a random access preamble previously sent (Msg1) (¶ 144-146; ¶211-215; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-27, 33, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2021/0385854 A1; hereinafter Xue).
Regarding Claims 25, 33, and 39, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 23, wherein the first configuration information indicates the first uplink resource by indicating a [Jeon discloses that example transmissions include code division multiple access (CDMA) (¶48) and downlink (DL) carrier (¶59-60) and that a downlink control information may be used to indicate uplink (UL) resources (¶56) and that a base station may send a random access channel (RACH) configuration via one or more beams indicating an available set of physical RACH (PRACH) resources for a transmission (¶139; ¶170; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a base station may configure a wireless device with one or more UL carriers associated with a DL carrier of a cell which may comprise of a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a normal uplink (NUL or non-SUL) carrier where the SUL and NUL carriers may be configured with different bandwidth parts and having different coverages (BWP)(¶119; ¶167-170; Fig. 10; Fig. 16) and that an SUL and/or non-SUL carriers may be sent to support a random access procedure for an initial access (¶ 170; Fig. 12), which includes Msg 1 comprising transmissions of a random access preamble from a wireless device to a base station (mapped to first signal/information) (¶139-143; Fig. 12). Jeon further discloses that a wireless device may receive an RAR from a base station and that the wireless device may determine that a reception of random access response is successful if at least one random access response comprises a random access preamble identifier corresponding to a random access preamble previously sent (Msg1) (¶ 144-146; ¶211-215; Fig. 12; Fig. 18)].
Jeon fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the first configuration information indicates the first uplink resource by indicating a code domain resource set corresponding to the first uplink resource, wherein the first uplink resource is for carrying the first signal, wherein the first signal is a preamble sequence, and wherein the preamble sequence in the code domain resource set indicates that the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier.
However Wu, analogous art also disclosing random access procedures and SUL carriers, does disclose:
wherein the first configuration information indicates the first uplink resource by indicating a code domain resource set corresponding to the first uplink resource, wherein the first uplink resource is for carrying the first signal, wherein the first signal is a preamble sequence, and wherein the preamble sequence in the code domain resource set indicates that the terminal device accesses the network device on the first downlink carrier. [Wu discloses that PRACH resources may include code domain resources (¶60)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the random access procedure of Jeon with that of Wu to include code domain resources as it is a resource domain option, as per Wu (¶60), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 26, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 25, wherein the first uplink resource and the fourth uplink resource occupy at least one of a same time-domain/frequency-domain resource on the second uplink carrier. [Jeon discloses that one or more UL carriers configured with a DL carrier may comprise a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a non-SUL carrier and that a DL carrier of a cell and an NUL carrier of the cell may be the same carrier and use the same frequency resources and, for example, such as in a TDD configurations where one or more time of a carrier may be assigned for a DL resource of the cell, and one or more second time durations of the carrier may be assigned for an NUL resource of the cell (¶ 167; ¶ 217; ¶ 222; Fig. 19-20). Jeon also discloses that wireless device may select a first carrier (SUL or NUL) for a first random access if a base station transmits to the wireless device at least two RACH configurations and that the wireless device may start a second random access via a second carrier where the second carrier may be different from or same to the first carrier (¶183-184)]
Regarding Claim 27, Jeon discloses:
The method according to claim 25, wherein the first uplink resource and the fourth uplink resource occupy at least one of different time-domain/frequency-domain resources on the second uplink carrier. [Jeon discloses that one or more UL carriers configured with a DL carrier may comprise a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and/or a non-SUL carrier and that a DL carrier of a cell and an NUL carrier of the cell may be the same carrier and use the same frequency resources and, for example, such as in a TDD configurations where one or more time of a carrier may be assigned for a DL resource of the cell, and one or more second time durations of the carrier may be assigned for an NUL resource of the cell (¶ 167; ¶ 217; ¶ 222; Fig. 19-20). Jeon also discloses that wireless device may select a first carrier (SUL or NUL) for a first random access if a base station transmits to the wireless device at least two RACH configurations and that the wireless device may start a second random access via a second carrier where the second carrier may be different from or same to the first carrier (¶183-184)]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468