DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. device for charging and discharging the heat storage reservoir in at least claim 20.
b. a gas retention device in at least claim 28.
c. volume changing device in at least claim 31.
d. device for mechanical volume change in at least claim 34.
a. device for charging and discharging the heat storage reservoir is interpreted to cover a charging pump and a discharge pump as per para [0069] of applicant specification.
b. a gas retention device is interpreted to cover a plate as per para [0076] of applicant specification.
c-d. volume changing device is interpreted as being the same structure as the device for mechanical volume change; wherein said structure is at least one of a blower, compressor, turbine, and compactor as per para [0040] of applicant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 20-21, 28-31, and 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 20 calls for the limitation “a device for charging and discharging the heat storage reservoir, which is connected to the cold region and the hot region” in lines 7-8; which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear which previously recited limitation the term “which is” is referring to. Is it the (i) the device for charging and discharging that is connected to the cold region and the hot region? Or (ii) the heat storage reservoir that is connected to the cold region and the hot region? It uncertain.
To overcome this issue, applicant is encouraged to recite “a device for charging and discharging the heat storage reservoir, said device connected to the cold region and the hot region”.
A similar issue is found in claim 28 with the recitation “which retains” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 21, 28-31, and 33-36 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20, 30-31, and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wortmann (US 20110271953 A1).
Regarding claim 20:
Wortmann (Figure 4) discloses a heat storage device for sensible heat storage in molten salts, comprising:
a heat storage reservoir (1) for receiving molten salt (3) (Paragraph 40), where a separating layer (53) is arranged in the heat storage reservoir for separating a cold region in which cold molten salt is arranged (Figure 6 and Paragraph 115: Defined by a lower region 51) and a hot region in which hot molten salt is arranged (Figure 6 and Paragraph 115: Defined by an upper 49), where the cold region is arranged below the hot region (Figure 6 and Paragraph 115),
a device for charging and discharging the heat storage reservoir (Figure 4: Including at least 29 and associated valves), which is connected to the cold region and the hot region (Figure 4), and
a volume compensation device (Figure 4: Including at least 21, 23, 25) for compensating for a temperature-related volume change of the molten salt (Figures 4 and 8, see also Paragraph 64), where the volume compensation device comprises:
a compensation reservoir (21) comprising a gas conduit (one of #23 and #27) coupled to the heat storage reservoir (Figure 4 & [0106]: #23 carries gases and therefore qualifies as a gas conduit. #23 is structurally, fluidically, and thermally coupled to the heat storage reservoir#1. Also, #27 qualifies as a gas conduit because due its hollow profile, it can conduct gas. #27 is structurally, fluidically, and thermally coupled to the heat storage reservoir#1), an inlet valve (Figure 4: See valve associated with 23), and an outlet valve (Figure 4: See valve associated with 25),
a compensation fluid ([0106]: A gas, such as nitrogen) disposed in the compensation reservoir (Figure 4 and Paragraph 106), where the compensation device is configured to cooperate with the cold region and/or the separating region (Figures 4 and 8, see also Paragraph 64), during charging and discharging of the heat storage reservoir, the compensation fluid is a gas (Paragraph 106: A gas, such as nitrogen), which can be introduced into the cold region and/or the separating layer for volume compensation (Figures 4 and 8, see also Paragraph 64: Connected to the cold region via 27).
To enhance clarity, when charging and discharging of the heat storage reservoir #1, the compensation fluid is capable of being introduced into the cold region. With appropriate tools provided, an ordinary skill artisan can couple gas conduit #23 to the inlet of reservoir #1 that receives #27.
Regarding claim 30:
Wortmann further discloses wherein the outlet valve of the compensation reservoir is a pressure relief valve having a connection to the atmosphere (Figure 4: Via 25), where the gas can be transferred to the atmosphere in the event of temperature-related expansion of the molten salt (Paragraph 107).
Regarding claim 31:
Wortmann further discloses wherein a volume changing device (23) is arranged on the compensation reservoir for changing the volume of the gas (Paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 33:
Wortmann further discloses wherein the volume changing device has a thermal energy storage on the compensation reservoir by means of which the gas can be heated or cooled (Figures 4 and 8, see also Paragraph 118: The compensation reservoir has a gas side above 69 and a thermal energy storage side below 69, the sides being in thermal contact with each other).
Regarding claim 34:
Wortmann further discloses wherein the volume changing device has a device for mechanical
volume change of the gas (Paragraphs 106-107: Defined by 23, 25).
Regarding claim 35:
Wortmann further discloses wherein the compensation reservoir has a variable volume (Paragraphs
106-107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wortmann (US 20110271953 A1).
Regarding claim 21:
Wortmann further discloses wherein the compensation reservoir is connected to the cold region to a riser (Figures 4 and 6, see also Paragraph 115: pipe from #21 to #27 is a riser connecting #21 and #1).
Wortmann does not disclose wherein a valve is used for said connection.
Nonetheless, the usage of flow control valve is well known in the art (official notice).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Wortmann with a valve used for the connection.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have selectively regulate flow over the riser; thereby, optimizing flow control of the thermal storage material.
Regarding claim 28:
Although Wortmann discloses wherein the compensation reservoir defines a gas retention device,
Wortmann does not disclose wherein the gas retention device as arranged in the heat storage reservoir.
Wortmann (Figure 9 embodiment) teaches a heat storage device, comprising at least a heat storage reservoir (Figure 9 and Paragraph 119), wherein a gas retention device (i.e. a compensation reservoir) (Figure 9: Defined by container including at least 69) is arranged in the heat storage reservoir (Figure 9 and Paragraph 119: The heat storage device and the gas retention device are integrated into a single
structure), which retains the gas in a predetermined section (Figure 9: See section bounded by 69 and 73 in communication with 23) in the heat storage reservoir after it has been introduced into a cold region (Figure 9 and Paragraph 119: See section bounded to the left of 73 that includes at least 69, 71, 83) or into the separating layer (Figure 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Wortmann with the gas retention device as arranged in the heat storage reservoir in a similar manner as further taught by Wortmann.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have reduce heat storage
device complexity at least by reducing an overall number of components necessary to
manufacture the heat storage device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wortmann to provide a gas retention device formed as a plate having a side edge projecting downwardly, wherein a diffuser is arranged at the edge region of the gas retention device to stabilize the stratification in the molten salt.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/09/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant submitted that claim 20 recites a compensation reservoir comprising a gas conduit coupled to the heat storage reservoir; which does not appear to be disclosed by Wortmann.
It was pointed out to the applicant that Wortmann discloses a compensation reservoir (21) comprising a gas conduit (one of #23 and #27) coupled to the heat storage reservoir (Figure 4 & [0106]: #23 carries gases and therefore qualifies as a gas conduit. #23 is structurally, fluidically, and thermally coupled to the heat storage reservoir#1. Also, #27 qualifies as a gas conduit because due its hollow profile, it can conduct gas. #27 is structurally, fluidically, and thermally coupled to the heat storage reservoir#1), an inlet valve (Figure 4: See valve associated with 23), and an outlet valve (Figure 4: See valve associated with 25), a compensation fluid ([0106]: A gas, such as nitrogen) disposed in the compensation reservoir (Figure 4 and Paragraph 106), where the compensation device is configured to cooperate with the cold region and/or the separating region (Figures 4 and 8, see also Paragraph 64), during charging and discharging of the heat storage reservoir, the compensation fluid is a gas (Paragraph 106: A gas, such as nitrogen), which can be introduced into the cold region and/or the separating layer for volume compensation (Figures 4 and 8, see also Paragraph 64: Connected to the cold region via 27).
For further clarification, when charging and discharging of the heat storage reservoir #1, the compensation fluid is capable of being introduced into the cold region. With appropriate tools provided, an ordinary skill artisan can couple gas conduit #23 to the inlet of reservoir #1 that receives #27.
Accordingly, Wortmann discloses all the features of claim 20.
With respect to claim 21, It was pointed out to the applicant that the usage of flow control valves is well known in the art (official notice). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Wortmann with a valve used on the riser; with the benefit of selectively regulating flow over the riser; thereby, optimizing flow control of the thermal storage material.
Refer to the 102 and 103 sections above for the complete rejections of all pending claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Whitney (US 20190170449 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763