DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 11, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation of the biomass of the thermophilic fungus is provided as a source of iron, and the claim also recites preferably, the biomass of the thermophilic fungus is provided to replace soya as source of iron, more preferably, the biomass of the thermophilic fungus is provided to replace soya as source of iron in a meat replacer, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 11, 13 , 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2018/029353 (DE LAAT).
As to claims 1-4 and 18-19, DELAAT provides a thermophilic strain of Rhizomucor pusillus (pg. 15, lines 1-16) that can be added to food or feed (pg. 5, lines 1-10). DE LAAT teaches that the product can be in powder form or cake form (pg. 18, lines 5-11 and pg. 4, lines 15-22). How the cake and powder are formed are process recitations that do not result in a structural difference relative to the product of DE LAAT and that claimed. De LAAT teaches that essential amino acids such as lysine are present (pg. 9, lines 30-38). The addition of the strain would naturally provide a mineral. It is also noted that (iii) of claim 1 only requires providing the composition. The claim does not require that the composition be mixed or formed with any of a) – g).
As to claims 9, 11, and 13, again, the term provided is interpreted as meaning as being directed to an intended use for purposes of examination. Indeed, the base word provide only means make available.
The applicant is also respectfully reminded that while food items are patentable, the culinary creativity of chefs is not the type of creativity which meets the standards for patentability. See General Mills v. Pillsbury Co.,378 F.2d 666 (8th Cir.1967) (first commercially successful one step mix for angel food cakes is not patentable because of nonobviousness standard since alleged invention is only the exact proportion of an already known leavening agent). In this regard, courts have taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In re Levin, 178 F.2d 945, 948 (C.C.P.A.1949) (butter substitute not patentable).
As to claim 21, it is noted that whether the composition is a dog or cat food, does not result in a structural difference. Rather, the recitation is an intended use that does not confer patentability to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/029353 (DE LAAT).
De Laat does not specifically indicate the water content of dry matter content. Rather, De Laat teaches that the dry matter product can vary and be optionally dried (pg. 14, lines 20-25). Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the dry matter and/or water content as desired .
DELAAT provides a thermophilic strain of Rhizomucor pusillus 143028 (pg. 15, lines 1-16) that can be added to food or feed (pg. 5, lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to use other strains such as Rhizomucor pusillus 143028 as De Laat teaches that
DELAAT provides a thermophilic strain of Rhizomucor pusillus (pg. 15, lines 1-16) that can be added to food or feed (pg. 5, lines 1-10). The limitation that the food or feed is for cats or dogs is an intended use that does not confer patentability to the product as no structural difference results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that DE LAAT does not teach incorporating thermophilic fungal biomass into the products, as claimed. However, the claims only require an ingredient be provided. No mixing is required.
Moreover, it is argued that the De Laat does not teach adding the thermophilic fungus specifically to supplement for choline and minerals. However, the choline and minerals are inherent to the thermophilic fungus and De Laat teach the same strains (pg. 15, lines 1-16), as claimed (see claims 18-20).
BIJL is no longer cited.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791