001Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 21-44 in the reply filed on 1/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kozlowski et al. (US 7,659,361 B2)
Kozlowski discloses maleimide-functional conjugates that, upon reaction with nucleophiles including thiols, form succinimide (thiosuccinimide) intermediates, and further disclose intentional ring opening of the succinimide/thiosuccinimide ring to form ring-opened succinamic (maleamic) acid structures (col. 3, ll. 15–45; col. 4, ll. 10–45; col. 5, ll. 1–25; col. 12, ll. 5–35; Figs. I, II, IV, V, VI, VII, IX, XI).
Kozlowski expressly teaches that ring opening produces positional isomers resulting from nucleophilic attachment at different ring carbon positions (C-2 vs. C-3), as depicted in Figures IV and V (col. 5, ll. 5–25; col. 6, ll. 1–20). Such ring opening therefore inherently results in a mixture of multiple ring-opened thiosuccinimide compounds.
Kozlowski further teaches chromatographic separation of the resulting conjugates and positional isomers (col. 8, ll. 10–40; col. 14, ll. 1–25).
Accordingly, Kozlowski discloses each and every element of the process recited in claim 21, including providing a mixture of ring-opened thiosuccinimide compounds and subjecting the mixture to chromatography to obtain individual products.
Claims 22–24 and 25–33 merely recite routine implementation details of chromatographic separation, which are inherent in the disclosed separation process.
Claims 34–39 recite polymer, linker, and conjugated moiety definitions that fall within the polymeric and PEG-based conjugates expressly taught by Kozlowski (col. 2, ll. 40–65; col. 7, ll. 1–35; col. 9, ll. 5–30).
Claims 40 and 44 expressly recite the ring-opening reaction of a thiosuccinimide group, which is explicitly taught by Kozlowski. Claims 41–43 recite isomeric compounds formed by the ring-opening reaction, which are expressly disclosed and inherently present in Kozlowski.
In the alternative, and only if Kozlowski is found not to expressly or inherently disclose every limitation, the claims would nevertheless have been obvious. Kozlowski teaches ring-opened thiosuccinimide conjugates, formation of isomeric mixtures, and chromatographic separation thereof. Any differences relating to the number of separation steps, order of fraction collection, or specific chromatographic conditions constitute routine optimization of known chromatographic techniques and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771