Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 21-44 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) anticipated by Kozlowski et al. is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 5/29/2026.
Since a new non-Final Office Action is follows, Applicant’s arguments will not be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozlowski et al. (US 7,659,361 B2) in view of Tumey et al. "Mild Method for Succinimide Hydrolysis on ADCs: Impact on ADC Potency, Stability, Exposure, and Efficacy" American Chemical Society 2014, pages 1871-1880.
Claim 21
Kozlowski teaches maleimide-thiol conjugates that form thiosuccinimide intermediates (col. 3, ll. 15-45; col. 10, ll. 5-40), ring opening of such intermediates to ring-opened succinamic acid products (col. 4, ll. 10-45; col. 5, ll. 1-25), and chromatographic separation of conjugates and isomeric products (col. 16, l. 52-col. 17, l. 23).
Kozlowski does not expressly disclose the specific mixture of ring-opened thiosuccinimide constitutional isomers recited in claim 21.
Tumey teaches hydrolysis of maleimide-thiol conjugates to produce ring-opened succinimide hydrolysis products and characterization of such products (p. 1872, Fig. 1; p. 1873, "Preparation and Characterization of Hydrolyzed Succinimide Linked ADCs"; pp. 1874-1875).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kozlowski process by employing the ring-opening/hydrolysis products taught by Tumey because Tumey teaches that hydrolysis of thiosuccinimide linkages produces stable ring-opened products. One of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized the chromatographic separation methods expressly taught by Kozlowski to isolate and characterize the resulting ring-opened species.
Claim 22
Kozlowski teaches collection and recovery of chromatographic fractions (col. 16, l. 29-col. 17, l. 23), while Tumey teaches isolation of hydrolyzed succinimide products (pp. 1873-1875). Therefore, recovering a first eluate comprising one or more target compounds would have been obvious.
Claims 23-24
Further chromatographic purification of recovered fractions represents a routine purification technique well known in the art. Kozlowski teaches chromatography as a purification method for conjugate products and isomeric species (col. 16, l. 52-col. 17, l. 23).
Claims 25-33
Reverse-phase chromatography, alkyl-bonded stationary phases, aqueous/organic mobile phases, and acidic modifiers were conventional RP-HPLC conditions for purification of peptide and conjugate products at the time of the invention. Selection of such chromatographic conditions would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization.
Claims 34-39
Kozlowski teaches PEG polymers, polymer linkers, biologically active agents, and conjugated succinamic acid products (col. 2, ll. 40-65; col. 7, ll. 1-35; col. 9, ll. 5-30). Tumey further teaches application of the same maleimide-thiol chemistry in antibody-drug conjugates (pp. 1871-1873). Therefore, the additional polymer and conjugate limitations would have been obvious.
Claim 40
Both Kozlowski and Tumey expressly teach formation of ring-opened products by ring opening of a thiosuccinimide intermediate. Kozlowski (col. 4, ll. 10-45; col. 5, ll. 1-25); Tumey (p. 1872, Fig. 1).
Claims 41-43
Tumey teaches that hydrolysis of maleimide-thiol conjugates generates multiple ring-opened hydrolysis products (pp. 1872-1875), while Kozlowski teaches chromatographic separation of isomeric conjugates (col. 16, l. 52-col. 17, l. 23). Therefore, isolation of the recited ring-opened isomeric products would have been obvious.
Claim 44
Kozlowski and Tumey expressly teach ring opening of a thiosuccinimide group to form ring-opened products as discussed above with respect to claim 40.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771