DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed 1/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 8, 13, 19, and 26 have been amended. Previous rejections of claims 13-18 under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the present amendments.
Claims 1-30 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Based on the present amendments to claim 19, from which claim 21 depends, the limitations of claim 21 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 19.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US20230363035A1), hereafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 1,
Zhang discloses a method (Fig. 5, 6, 9A) of wireless communication performed by a network entity component (Fig. 5, eRelay MME; Fig. 6, AMF of RL UE) comprising performing a network connection setup procedure for a UE (Fig. 5, S5.1-5.6; Fig. 6, S6.1-S6.5; Fig. 9A, S901-909; paragraphs 24, 133, 227), wherein the network connection setup procedure comprises a NAS network connection setup procedure (Fig. 5, S5.6-5.8; Fig. 6, S6.4-S6.6; Fig. 9A, S909; paragraphs 132-134, 226-228; NAS registration request to AMF of RL UE), wherein the NAS network connection setup procedure comprises an authentication and security procedure (Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 26; NAS authentication/security procedure); and transmitting, during the network connection setup procedure, an indication that the UE has a capability to operate as a layer 2 relay UE (Fig. 5, S5.8; Fig. 6, S6.6; Fig. 9A, S911; paragraphs 134, 228; NAS accept indicating L2 relay is authorized).
Regarding claim 2,
Zhang discloses performing the network connection setup procedure comprises performing a registration procedure for the UE (Fig. 6, S6.5; Fig. 9, S909; paragraph 51, 132-133, 226-227, 265-266, 295-296, 424. 548; NAS registration request).
Regarding claim 3,
Zhang discloses performing the network connection setup procedure comprises performing a service request procedure for the UE (Fig. 5, S5.6-5.8; Fig. 6, S6.5-6.6; paragraphs 16, 40, 43, 134; relay service request/accept).
Regarding claim 5,
Zhang discloses transmitting, during the network connection setup procedure, an indication of a UE context associated with the UE (Fig. 5, S5.8; Fig. 6, S6.5-6.6; paragraph 27, 51, 133-134; initial UE context setup request).
Regarding claims 6 and 7,
Zhang discloses transmitting an indication of a layer 2 relay authorization for the UE that the UE has a capability to operate as a layer 2 relay UE (Fig. 5, S5.8; Fig. 6, S6.6; Fig. 9, S911; paragraphs 35, 43, 134, 156, 196, 228; NAS accept indicating L2 relay is authorized based on capability information of the corresponding UE).
Regarding claim 19,
Zhang discloses method (Fig. 5, 6, 9A) of wireless communication performed by a network entity (paragraph 100; Fig. 9A illustrating methods at a network node) comprising receiving, from an AMF (Fig. 6, AMF of RL UE) during a network connection setup procedure, an indication that a UE has a capability to operate as a layer 2 relay UE (Fig. 5, S5.6-5.8; Fig. 6, S6.4-S6.6; Fig. 9A, S909; paragraphs 35, 43, 132-134, 156, 196, 226-228; AMF sends service accept indicating L2 relay is authorized based on capability information of the corresponding UE), wherein the network connection setup procedure comprises a NAS network connection setup procedure comprising an authentication and security procedure (Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 26; NAS authentication/security procedure); and transmitting a layer 2 relay initial configuration to the UE based at least in part on receiving the indication (Fig. 6, S6.7; paragraph 135; network node provides configuration to the UE via RRC).
Regarding claim 20,
Zhang discloses receiving the indication from another network entity (Fig. 5, S5.8 from eRemote MME) based on successful UE authentication and security setup (Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 26; NAS authentication/security procedure prior to S5.8).
Regarding claim 21,
Zhang discloses receiving the indication comprises receiving the indication in a message during a non-access stratum (NAS) registration and service request procedure (see above; Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 26; NAS authentication/security procedure).
Regarding claim 22,
Zhang discloses transmitting the layer 2 relay initial configuration in a RRC reconfiguration message (paragraph 38-40; RRC reconfiguration).
Regarding claims 23 and 24,
Zhang discloses the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes at least one of: an access link RLC channel configuration for second UE access link signaling radio bearer (SRB) traffic relaying (paragraph 13-14, 135; remote UE relayed via RLC, MAC, and PHY layer configuration), an adaptation configuration for an SRB for access link RLC channel and local connection channel mapping (paragraph 14-15, 128-135, 142, 219; adaptation layer between PDCP and RLC layer), or a local connection channel configuration for second UE sidelink SRB traffic relaying.
Claims 8, 10-18, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freda et al. (US20230180313A1), hereafter Freda.
Regarding claim 8,
Freda discloses a method (Fig. 8, 9) of wireless communication performed by a first UE (Fig. 8, 9; remote WTRU) comprising initiating a connection with a network entity (Fig. 8, step 801; Fig. 9, step 911; paragraph 200, 277; remote WTRU in-coverage and RRC connected, receives list of relay WTRUs), transmitting a request to establish a layer 2 relay service to a second UE (Fig. 8, step 802-803, 806b; Fig. 9, step 915; paragraphs 160, 201, 213; remote WTRU sends connection request to relay WTRU); and receiving, from the network entity, a layer 2 relay initial configuration based at least in part on initiating the connection and transmitting the request (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 160, 208-210, 214, 255; remote WTRU receives configuration regarding relay WTRU directly from the network).
Regarding claim 10,
Freda discloses receiving the layer 2 relay initial configuration in a RRC reconfiguration message from the network entity (Fig. 8, steps 807; paragraphs 92, 192, 214; RRC reconfiguration).
Regarding claim 11,
Freda discloses the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes at least one of: an access link RLC channel configuration for remote UE access link SRB traffic relaying (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 91, 132-139, 214; SL RLC bearers for SRB traffic), an adaptation layer configuration for an SRB for access link RLC channel and local connection channel mapping (paragraph 105, 128, 251, 259-263; configuration of adaptation layer) or a local connection channel configuration for remote UE sidelink SRB traffic relaying (paragraph 28, 68).
Regarding claim 12,
Freda discloses the access link RLC channel and local connection channel configuration includes at least one of: an RLC entity configuration, a medium access control (MAC) logical channel configuration, or a physical (PHY) layer configuration (paragraph 105; configuration of RLC, MAC and PHY signaling radio bearer).
Regarding claim 13,
Freda discloses receiving a request to establish a layer 2 relay service from a second UE over a local connection, wherein the local connection includes at least one of a sidelink, a WiFi link, WiFi direct (WiFi-D) link, a Bluetooth (BT) link, or a Bluetooth low energy (BTLE) link (paragraph 73, 196, 217, 226; sidelink relay) and transmitting the layer 2 relay initial configuration to a second UE based at least in part on receiving the request (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 160, 208-210, 214, 255; remote WTRU receives configuration from the network over the relayed path via relay WTRU).
Regarding claims 14 and 15,
Freda discloses transmitting the layer 2 relay initial configuration to the second UE in a sidelink PC5-radio resource control (PC5-RRC) message indicating that set up of a sidelink unicast link between the second UE and the first UE was successful (paragraph 209; successful configuration between remote and relay WTRUs via PC5RRC message).
Regarding claim 16,
Freda discloses the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes a local connection (RLC) channel configuration for relaying signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic between the second UE and a network entity (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
Regarding claims 17 and 18,
Freda discloses receiving a SRB0 RRC setup request from the second UE and relaying the SRB0 RRC setup request to a network entity based at least in part on the layer 2 relay initial configuration as well as receiving an RRC setup message from the network entity and relaying the RRC setup message to the second UE based at least in part on the layer 2 relay initial configuration (paragraph 251-256; SRB0 RRC signaling/mapping to SL RLC bearers between relay and remote UE; relay UE triggers RRC connection upon establishment of link request from the first UE, relay initates RRC connect/resume with the network node/entity).
Regarding claim 26,
Freda discloses a method (Fig. 8, 9) of wireless communication performed by a first UE (Fig. 8, 9; remote WTRU), transmitting a request to establish a layer 2 relay service to a second UE (Fig. 8, step 802-803, 806b; Fig. 9, step 915; paragraphs 160, 201, 213; remote WTRU sends connection request to relay WTRU); and receiving, from the second UE, a layer 2 relay initial configuration from the second UE based at least in part on transmitting the request, wherein the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes a sidelink radio link control (RLC) channel configuration for a relaying signal radio bearer (SRB) traffic between the first UE and a network entity (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 160, 208-210, 214, 255; remote WTRU receives configuration from the network over the relayed path via relay WTRU including SL RLC configuration).
Regarding claims 27 and 28,
Freda discloses receiving the layer 2 relay initial configuration from the second UE in a sidelink message indicating that set up of a local connection unicast link between the first UE and the second UE was successful (paragraph 209; successful configuration between remote and relay WTRUs via PC5RRC message).
Regarding claim 29,
Freda discloses the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes a sidelink RLC channel configuration for relaying SRB traffic between the first UE and a network entity (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
Regarding claim 30,
Freda discloses initiating a RRC connection with a network entity via the second UE based at least in part on the layer 2 relay initial configuration (paragraph 251-256; SRB0 RRC signaling/mapping to SL RLC bearers between relay and remote UE; relay UE triggers RRC connection upon establishment of link request from the first UE, relay initates RRC connect/resume with the network node/entity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Freda.
Regarding claims 4 and 25,
Zhang does not expressly disclose the layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic.
Freda discloses analogous art (Title: Device to Device Relay Connection Establishment and Configuration) including layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by providing layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic, as shown by Freda, thereby ensuring consistent configuration of the SLRBs in an end-to-end fashion.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 9,
Freda discloses non-access stratum (paragraph 65) and access stratum (paragraph 80, 89-93, 165-166, 189) signaling related to relay service, but fails to expressly show initiating the connection with the network entity comprises at least one of: performing a successful authentication and security set up with the network entity during a NAS registration and service request procedure, or performing a successful AS security setup with the network entity during RRC connection setup procedure.
Zhang discloses analogous art (Title: Methods for Relay Connection Establishment) including performing a successful authentication and security set up with the network entity during a NAS registration and service request procedure, or performing a successful AS security setup with the network entity during RRC connection setup procedure (Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 6, 24-26, 33, 34; NAS or AS authentication/security procedure associated with relay configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Freda by performing a successful authentication and security set up with the network entity during a NAS registration and service request procedure, or performing a successful AS security setup with the network entity during RRC connection setup procedure, as shown by Zhang, thereby ensuring the relay UE is authorized to support the requested relay service.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 12 of the Amendment, Applicant contends the previously cited portions of Zhang do not disclose or suggest a NAS setup procedure that comprises an authentication and security procedure, as now claimed via the present amendment.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang clearly discloses a NAS setup procedure that comprises an authentication and security procedure. See Fig. 5, S5.7 and paragraph 26, as now cited in the rejection. Therefore, rejections under 35 USC 102 based on Zhang are properly maintained.
In the Remarks on pg. 13-14 of the Amendment, Applicant contends the previously cited portions of Freda do not disclose transmitting a request to establish a layer 2 relay service to a second UE and receiving, from the network entity, a layer 2 relay initial configuration based on initiating the connection and transmitting the request, as now claimed via the present amendment.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Freda clearly shows transmitting a request to establish a layer 2 relay service to a second UE and receiving, from the network entity, a layer 2 relay initial configuration based on initiating the connection and transmitting the request. See Fig. 8, steps 802-803, 806b, Fig. 9, step 915, and paragraphs 160, 201, 213, in which the remote WTRU send a connection request to a selected/best relay WTRU and then Fig. 8, step 807 and paragraphs 160, 208-210, 214, and 255 in which the remote WTRU receives configuration directly from the network, as now cited in the rejection. Therefore, rejections under 35 USC 102 based on Freda are properly maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477