DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 8/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 8, 13, 18, 19, and 26 have been amended.
Claims 4, 17, 21, and 30 have been cancelled. Previous rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 112(d) is withdrawn as moot.
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 18-20, and 22-29 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freda et al. (US20230180313A1; “Freda”).
Regarding claim 26,
Freda discloses a method (Fig. 8, 9) of wireless communication performed by a first UE (Fig. 8, 9; remote WTRU), transmitting a request to establish a layer 2 relay service to a second UE (Fig. 8, step 802-803, 806b; Fig. 9, step 915; paragraphs 160, 201, 213; remote WTRU sends connection request to relay WTRU); and receiving, from the second UE, a layer 2 relay initial configuration from the second UE based at least in part on transmitting the request, wherein the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes a sidelink radio link control (RLC) channel configuration for a relaying signal radio bearer (SRB) traffic between the first UE and a network entity (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 160, 208-210, 214, 255; remote WTRU receives configuration from the network over the relayed path via relay WTRU including SL RLC configuration).
Freda discloses initiating a RRC connection with a network entity via the second UE based at least in part on the layer 2 relay initial configuration (paragraph 251-256; SRB0 RRC signaling/mapping to SL RLC bearers between relay and remote UE; relay UE triggers RRC connection upon establishment of link request from the first UE, relay initiates RRC connect/resume with the network node/entity) and communicating SRB traffic with the network entity (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
Regarding claims 27-29,
Freda further discloses receiving the layer 2 relay initial configuration from the second UE in a sidelink message indicating that set up of a local connection unicast link between the first UE and the second UE was successful (paragraph 209; successful configuration between remote and relay WTRUs via PC5RRC message) and includes a sidelink RLC channel configuration for relaying SRB traffic between the first UE and a network entity (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 19, 20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20230363035A1; “Zhang”) in view of Yu et al. (US20170295602A1; “Yu”) and Freda.
Regarding claim 1,
Zhang discloses a method (Fig. 5, 6, 9A) of wireless communication performed by a network entity component (Fig. 5, eRelay MME; Fig. 6, AMF of RL UE) comprising performing a network connection setup procedure for a UE (Fig. 5, S5.1-5.6; Fig. 6, S6.1-S6.5; Fig. 9A, S901-909; paragraphs 24, 133, 227), wherein the network connection setup procedure comprises a NAS network connection setup procedure (Fig. 5, S5.6-5.8; Fig. 6, S6.4-S6.6; Fig. 9A, S909; paragraphs 132-134, 226-228; NAS registration request to AMF of RL UE), wherein the NAS network connection setup procedure comprises an authentication and security procedure (Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 26; NAS authentication/security procedure); and transmitting, during the network connection setup procedure, an indication that the UE has a capability to operate as a layer 2 relay UE (Fig. 5, S5.8; Fig. 6, S6.6; Fig. 9A, S911; paragraphs 134, 228; NAS accept indicating L2 relay is authorized).
Zhang does not expressly show performing a NAS setup procedure prior to discovery between UE and remote UE.
Yu discloses analogous art (Title: Device Discovery using Two Types of Discovery) including performing a NAS setup procedure prior to discovery between UE and remote UE (Fig. 5; paragraphs 52-65; NAS layer signaling used to authenticate the right of a device for discovery before performing the discovery process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by performing a NAS setup procedure prior to discovery between UE and remote UE, as shown by Yu, thereby ensuring an appropriate type of discovery and corresponding resources are supported before performing the corresponding discovery process.
Zhang does not expressly disclose the layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic.
Freda discloses analogous art (Title: Device to Device Relay Connection Establishment and Configuration) including layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by providing layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic, as shown by Freda, thereby ensuring consistent configuration of the SLRBs in an end-to-end fashion.
Regarding claim 2,
The combination of Zhang, Yu, and Freda discloses performing the network connection setup procedure comprises performing a registration procedure for the UE (Fig. 6, S6.5; Fig. 9, S909; paragraph 51, 132-133, 226-227, 265-266, 295-296, 424. 548; NAS registration request).
Regarding claim 3,
The combination of Zhang, Yu, and Freda discloses performing the network connection setup procedure comprises performing a service request procedure for the UE (Fig. 5, S5.6-5.8; Fig. 6, S6.5-6.6; paragraphs 16, 40, 43, 134; relay service request/accept).
Regarding claim 5,
The combination of Zhang, Yu, and Freda discloses transmitting, during the network connection setup procedure, an indication of a UE context associated with the UE (Fig. 5, S5.8; Fig. 6, S6.5-6.6; paragraph 27, 51, 133-134; initial UE context setup request).
Regarding claims 6 and 7,
The combination of Zhang, Yu, and Freda discloses transmitting an indication of a layer 2 relay authorization for the UE that the UE has a capability to operate as a layer 2 relay UE (Fig. 5, S5.8; Fig. 6, S6.6; Fig. 9, S911; paragraphs 35, 43, 134, 156, 196, 228; NAS accept indicating L2 relay is authorized).
Regarding claims 19 and 25,
Zhang discloses method (Fig. 5, 6, 9A) of wireless communication performed by a network entity (paragraph 100; Fig. 9A illustrating methods at a network node) comprising receiving, from an AMF (Fig. 6, AMF of RL UE) during a network connection setup procedure, an indication that a UE has a capability to operate as a layer 2 relay UE (Fig. 5, S5.6-5.8; Fig. 6, S6.4-S6.6; Fig. 9A, S909; paragraphs 35, 43, 132-134, 156, 196, 226-228; AMF sends service accept indicating L2 relay is authorized based on capability information of the corresponding UE), wherein the network connection setup procedure comprises a NAS network connection setup procedure comprising an authentication and security procedure (Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 26; NAS authentication/security procedure); and transmitting a layer 2 relay initial configuration to the UE based at least in part on receiving the indication (Fig. 6, S6.7; paragraph 135; network node provides configuration to the UE via RRC).
Zhang does not expressly show performing a NAS setup procedure prior to discovery between UE and remote UE.
Yu discloses analogous art (Title: Device Discovery using Two Types of Discovery) including performing a NAS setup procedure prior to discovery between UE and remote UE (Fig. 5; paragraphs 52-65; NAS layer signaling used to authenticate the right of a device for discovery before performing the discovery process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by performing a NAS setup procedure prior to discovery between UE and remote UE, as shown by Yu, thereby ensuring an appropriate type of discovery and corresponding resources are supported before performing discovery.
Zhang does not expressly disclose the layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic.
Freda discloses analogous art (Title: Device to Device Relay Connection Establishment and Configuration) including layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by providing layer 2 relay initial configuration of the UE is associated with signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic, as shown by Freda, thereby ensuring consistent configuration of the SLRBs in an end-to-end fashion.
Regarding claim 20,
The combination of Zhang, Yu, and Freda discloses receiving the indication from another network entity (Fig. 5, S5.8 from eRemote MME) based on successful UE authentication and security setup (Fig. 5, S5-7; paragraph 26; NAS prior to S5.8).
Regarding claim 22,
The combination of Zhang, Yu, and Freda discloses transmitting the layer 2 relay initial configuration in a RRC reconfiguration message (paragraph 38-40; RRC reconfiguration).
Regarding claims 23 and 24,
The combination of Zhang, Yu, and Freda discloses the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes at least one of: an access link RLC channel configuration for second UE access link SRB traffic relaying (paragraph 13-14, 135; remote UE relayed via RLC, MAC, and PHY layer configuration), adaptation configuration for an SRB for access link RLC channel and local connection channel mapping (paragraph 14-15, 128-135, 142, 219; adaptation layer between PDCP and RLC layer) or local connection channel configuration for second UE sidelink SRB traffic relaying.
Claims 8-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda in view of Yu.
Regarding claim 8,
Freda discloses a method (Fig. 8, 9) of wireless communication performed by a first UE (Fig. 8, 9; remote WTRU) comprising initiating a connection with a network entity (Fig. 8, step 801; Fig. 9, step 911; paragraph 200, 277; remote WTRU in-coverage and RRC connected, receives list of relay WTRUs; Fig. 8, step 802-803, 806b; Fig. 9, step 915; paragraphs 160, 201, 213; remote WTRU sends connection request to relay WTRU); and receiving, from the network entity, a layer 2 relay initial configuration based at least in part on initiating the connection (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 160, 208-210, 214, 255; remote WTRU receives configuration regarding relay WTRU directly from the network).
Freda further shows receiving a SRB0 RRC setup request from the second UE (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
Freda does not expressly disclose initiating a connection prior to discovery between UEs.
Yu discloses analogous art (Title: Device Discovery using Two Types of Discovery) including initiating a connection prior to discovery between UEs (Fig. 5; paragraphs 52-65; NAS layer signaling used to authenticate the right of a device for discovery before performing the discovery process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by initiating a connection prior to discovery between UEs, as shown by Yu, thereby ensuring an appropriate type of discovery and corresponding resources are supported before performing the discovery process.
Regarding claim 9,
Freda discloses non-access stratum (paragraph 65) and access stratum (paragraph 80, 89-93, 165-166, 189) signaling related to relay service, but Freda fails to expressly show initiating the connection with the network entity comprises at least one of: performing a successful authentication and security set up with the network entity during a NAS registration/service request procedure, or performing a successful AS security setup with the network entity during RRC connection setup procedure.
Yu discloses analogous art (Title: Device Discovery using Two Types of Discovery) including performing a successful authentication and security set up with the network entity during a NAS registration and service request procedure, or performing a successful AS security setup with the network entity during RRC connection setup procedure (Fig. 5; paragraphs 52-65; NAS layer signaling used to authenticate the right of a device for discovery before performing discovery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by performing a successful authentication and security set up with the network entity during a NAS registration and service request procedure, or performing a successful AS security setup with the network entity during RRC connection setup procedure, as shown by Yu, thereby ensuring an appropriate type of discovery and corresponding resources are supported before performing the corresponding discovery process.
Regarding claim 10,
The combination of Freda and Yu discloses receiving the layer 2 relay initial configuration in a RRC reconfiguration message from the network entity (Fig. 8, steps 807; paragraphs 92, 192, 214; RRC reconfiguration).
Regarding claim 11,
The combination of Freda and Yu discloses the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes at least one of: an access link RLC channel configuration for remote UE access link SRB traffic relaying (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 91, 132-139, 214; SL RLC bearers for SRB traffic), an adaptation layer configuration for an SRB for access link RLC channel and local connection channel mapping (paragraph 105, 128, 251, 259-263; configuration of adaptation layer) or a local connection channel configuration for remote UE sidelink SRB traffic relaying (paragraph 28, 68).
Regarding claim 12,
The combination of Freda and Yu discloses the access link RLC channel and local connection channel configuration includes at least one of: an RLC entity configuration, a medium access control (MAC) logical channel configuration, or a physical (PHY) layer configuration (paragraph 105; configuration of RLC, MAC and PHY signaling radio bearer).
Regarding claim 13,
The combination of Freda and Yu discloses receiving a request to establish a layer 2 relay service from a second UE over a local connection, wherein the local connection includes at least one of a sidelink, a WiFi link, WiFi direct (WiFi-D) link, a Bluetooth (BT) link, or a Bluetooth low energy (BTLE) link (paragraph 73, 196, 217, 226; sidelink relay) and transmitting the layer 2 relay initial configuration to a second UE based at least in part on receiving the request (Fig. 8, step 807; paragraph 160, 208-210, 214, 255; remote WTRU receives configuration from the network over the relayed path via relay WTRU).
Regarding claims 14 and 15,
The combination of Freda and Yu discloses transmitting the layer 2 relay initial configuration to the second UE in a sidelink PC5-radio resource control (PC5-RRC) message indicating that set up of a sidelink unicast link between the second UE and the first UE was successful (paragraph 209; successful configuration between remote and relay WTRUs via PC5RRC message).
Regarding claim 16,
The combination of Freda and Yu discloses the layer 2 relay initial configuration includes a local connection (RLC) channel configuration for relaying signaling radio bearer zero (SRB0) traffic between the second UE and a network entity (paragraphs 251-255, 283-285; relay WTRU configuration relaying SRB0 to dedicated SL radio bearers).
Regarding claim 18,
The combination of Freda and Yu discloses receiving a SRB0 RRC setup request from the second UE and relaying the SRB0 RRC setup request to a network entity based at least in part on the layer 2 relay initial configuration as well as receiving an RRC setup message from the network entity and relaying the RRC setup message to the second UE based at least in part on the layer 2 relay initial configuration (paragraph 251-256; SRB0 RRC signaling/mapping to SL RLC bearers between relay and remote UE; relay UE triggers RRC connection upon establishment of link request from the first UE, relay initates RRC connect/resume with network).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on newly-cited Yu reference for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 26 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 12 of the Amendment, Applicant contends that claim 26 have been amended to include similar features as in claims 1, 8, and 19.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 26 has been amended to include limitations from previous dependent claim 30, now cancelled, but has not been amended to include any limitations similar to that of claims 1, 8, or 19 in which a network connection setup procedure is performed prior to relay discovery between UEs, as now addressed by newly-cited Yu reference in the rejections of claims 1, 8, and 19. Therefore, the rejections of claims 26-29 as anticipated by Freda are properly maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn et al. (US20210385778A1); shows security method performed both before and after peer discovery (Fig. 19a-b; paragraph 151).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477