Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/037999 (06/18/2021)
PCT/US2021/037999 has PRO 63/040,620 (06/18/2020).
Status
Claims 1-9, 17-24 are pending.
Rejections not reiterated in this office action are withdrawn.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter et al. (Front. Med. 7:226, 15 May 2020, 7 pages) in view of Breithaupt-Faloppa et al. (“17β-Estradiol, a potential ally to alleviate SARS-CoV-2 infection.” Clinics (Sao Paulo). 2020:75:e1980. doi: 10.6061/clinics/2020/e1980. Epub 2020 May 29. 8 pages).
Reiter teaches administration of melatonin to COVID-19 patients at 100 mg/day (abstract, page 5, Fig. 2: twice daily) and suggests combinations with other drugs (p. 5: “melatonin should be given consideration for prophylactic use or treatment alone or in combination with other drugs”).
Reiter does not teach a combination with toremifene.
Breithaupt-Faloppa teaches that toremifene has antiviral activity in SARS-CoV-2 models as shown in MERS-CoV, SARS-CoV, and Ebola infections (p. 5: the “compounds play a major role in antiviral therapies for SARS-CoV-2”). “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (the “joint use [of magnesium oxide and calcium carbide] is not patentable” where the prior art teaches “that both magnesium oxide and calcium carbide, individually, promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron, and it would be natural to suppose that, in combination, they would produce the same effect and would supplement each other”); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious).
See also Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs, Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 808 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“Given the prior art teaching that both amiloride and hydrochlorothiazide are natriuretic, it is to be expected that their coadministration would induce more sodium excretion than would either diuretic alone”); In re Diamond, 360 F.2d 214, 217 (CCPA 1966) (where the evidence showed that synergy was expected because combined drugs targeted different cellular mechanisms, and no evidence to the contrary was produced, “[w]e are not convinced of [the] non-obviousness of the combination of two drugs, A5MP and a glucocorticoid . . . particularly since Appeal the record supports the [PTO’s] contention that the drugs selected are two of the commonly used drugs in the treatment of such collagen diseases”).
In this case, Reiter teaches melatonin is useful for treating COVID-19 in combination with other therapeutics while Breithaupt-Faloppa teaches toremifene is useful for treating COVID-19. Therefore, the combination of the two compounds for the very same purpose is prima facie obvious. “[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
One of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine and well within their technical grasp the process of combining the therapies as suggested by the prior art and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have also considered optimization of the doses and schedule through routine experimentation as these are well-known results-effective variables in the art and would lead to the claimed ranges with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626