DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are canceled. Claims 22-47 have been added. and are examined on the merits.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s election of the species of Formula III. Claims 22, 24 and 27-47 encompass the elected species.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
This application contains sequence disclosures in accordance with the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.831(a) and 1.831(b). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834. The examiner has noted that
There are enumerated amino acid sequences on pages 156, 161, 162, 165-167 of the claims and on pages 87, 91 and 92 of the specification that come under the Sequence Rules, but are lacking a Sequence Identifier.
Applicant must provide:
• A replacement “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2., as well as
• A statement that identifies the location of all additions, deletions, or replacements of sequence information in the “Sequence Listing XML” as required by 1.835(b)(3);
• A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(4);
• A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter in accordance with 1.835(b)(5); and
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The specification is objected to for not complying with the Sequence Rules, as per above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 39 states that the side chain linked conjugate of claim 22 has in vitro, in vivo or ex vivo cell killing ability. Claim 22 requires that the conjugate comprises camptothecin linked to a cell binding agent. The camptothecin is toxic to the cell thus bound. Stating that the conjugate has in vitro, in vivo or ex vivo cell killing activity fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 22. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 22-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(A)A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance,
claim 22 recites the broad recitation nutrient transport molecule, and the claim also recites a transferrin which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 22 recites the broad recitation “capsid”, and the claim also recites “(viral)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
claims 24-27 recite the broad recitation hyaluronic acid and the claim also recites “glycosaminoglycan” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claims 25-27 recite chondroitin sulfate/dermatan sulfate and the claim also recites “(CSGAGs)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
(B)Claims 35, 36, 41 and 45 recite multiple instances of parenthetical material which is broader in scope than the term which precedes it. It is unclear if this parenthetical material is a claim limitation, and how it affects the metes and bounds of the claim
(C)Claim 22 (page 3), claim 32(page 154) and claim 35 contains the contains the trademark/trade name “DARPin”. Claim 35 (page 156)contains the contains the trademark/trade name nanobody. Claim 41 (page 175) contains the trademark/trade name “PSK”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name “PSK” is used to identify/describe a pharmaceutical preparation, the trademark/trade name “PSK” is used to identify/describe a pharmaceutical preparation nanobody is used to identify/describe and the trademark/tradename DARPin and nanobody is used to identify/describe a cell binding molecule. and, accordingly, the identifications/descriptions are indefinite.
(D)Claim 36 (page 171), recites interleukins (comprising Il-1, Il-2…). It is unclear if the parenthetical information is an actual claim limitations and how it affects the metes and bounds of the claim.
(E)The recitation of the “conjugate according to claim 40” in claim 42 lacks antecedent basis in claim 40 which is drawn to a pharmaceutical composition, not a conjugate.
Claims 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The factors considered when determining if the disclosure satisfies the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue include, but are not limited to: 1) nature of the invention, 2) state of the prior art, 3) relative skill of those in the art, 4) level of predictability in the art, 5) existence of working examples, 6) breadth of claims, 7) amount of direction or guidance by the inventor, and 8) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention. In re wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737.8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Claim 38, 40, 41, and 42 are drawn in part to pharmaceutical compositions for the prevention of cancer, an autoimmune disease or an infectious disease. When given the broadest reasonable interpretation, this applies to the administration of the pharmaceutical composition to humans or non-experimental animals for the prevention of these diseases. In order for prevention to be carried out the inventive conjugate targeting the particular cancer, pathological autoimmune cell or infectious disease must be present in the circulation of the human or non-experimental animal before the cancer, autoimmune disease or infectious disease occurs. It is noted that the cell binding conjugates have a finite circulation in the blood. Because it is not possible to know when a particular cancer, particular autoimmune disease or infections disease will occur, it is not possible to know when to administer the inventive conjugate having the appropriate targeting agent in order to prevent said disease. The specification fails to address this problem, Thus, one of skill in the art would be subject to undue experimentation in order to administer the pharmaceutical composition for the prevention of cancer, autoimmune disease or infectious disease.
.
Claims 22-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 22-29, 31, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 43, 44, and 47 are drawn to a genus of cell surface binding molecules-camptothecin analog conjugates; claims 30, 32, 34, 45, 46 are drawn to a process of making said conjugates, claims 38, 40, 41, 42 are drawn to pharmaceutical composition comprising the conjugates.
Section 2163 of the M.P.E.P. states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a “representative number” of species. The “structural features common to the members of the genus” needed for one of skill in the art to ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus takes into account the state of the art at the time of the invention.
Applicant has reduced to practice the drug-linkers of compounds 29, 31, 35, 41, 42, 43, 46, 47, 50, 64, 110, 177, 188, 199, 200, 208, 210, 226, 238, 305, 306, 311, 396, 397, 401, 402, 407, 411, 414, 419, 424, 428, and 436 (pages 127-223) which conform to the instant formula of claim 22, wherein R4 is F. It is noted that drug-linker compounds 5, 8, 21, 22, 56, 61 have been reduced to practice but are outside of the genus of camptothecin analogs of the instant claims because R4 in these instances is “H”. R4 of claim 22 requires F, Cl, Br, I, CN, NO2, SO3H, OR6, SR6, S(O2)R6, NHR6, , NR6R6’, C(O)XR6 or N+R6R6’R6’’, thus excluding “H”. It is further noted that drug-linker compounds 29, 31, 35, 41, 42, 43, 46, 47, 50, 64, 177, 188, 199, 200, 208, 210, 226, 238, 396, 397, 401, 402, 407, 411, 414, 419, 428, and 436 represent the camptothecin analog of claim 22 wherein R4 is F, X is O, and R3 is C1-C6 alkyl, R2 is H, R1 is CH2-N (alkyl amine); drug-linker compounds 110, 305, 306, represent the camptothecin analog of clam 22 wherein R4 is F, , X is O, R3 is heterocycloalkyl, R2 is aminoalkyl,, R1 is C1-C6 alkyl (methyl) and drug-linker compounds 424 and 428 represent the camptothecin analog of clam 22 wherein R4 is F, , X is O, R3 is heterocycloalkyl, R2 is alkylamine, R1 is H and drug-linker compound 311 represent the camptothecin analog of clam 22 wherein R4 is C(O)NH, , X is O, R3 is C1-C6 alkyl(methyl), R2 is H,, R1 is alkyl amine. It is further noted that there is no reduction to practice of the species where R5 carries the linker. Said drug-linker compounds ails to describe the genus of camptothecin analogs claimed because the genus is highly variant and in contrast to the camptothecin analogs educed to practice. The specification describes the conversion of the drug-linker compounds to antibody conjugates through reaction of the antibody cysteine to the maleimide of the drug-linker compounds. The genus of cell binding agents, T, is highly variant encompassing antibody, a single chain antibody, an antibody fragment that binds to a target cell, a monoclonal antibody, a single chain monoclonal antibody, a monoclonal antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, a chimeric antibody, a chimeric antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, a domain antibody, a domain antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, an adnectin that mimics antibody, DARPins, a lymphokine, a hormone, a vitamin, a growth factor, a colony stimulating factor, a nutrient-transport molecule (a transferrin), and/or a cell-binding peptide, protein, or small affinity molecule attached or coated on an albumin, a polymer, a dendrimer, a liposome, a nanoparticle, a vesicle, or on a (viral) capsid; and not described by the antibody of the conjugates reduced to practice.
The examples in the specification do not disclose the numerous and varied linkers encompassed by in the instant claims which include side-chain linker, cross-linkers, branching linkers.
The instant claims are reliant on a huge list of possible groups and variable for the camptothecin molecule itself as well as for the releasable linker, L and the cell binding agent, T. The description of the species reduced to practice fails to describe a representative number of species of the large genus of camptothecin analogs, large and varied genus of binding agents, T and large and varied genus of linkers.
Written description issues may arise if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not have permitted the ordinary artisan to immediately envisage the claimed product arising from the disclosed process (Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a "laundry list" disclosure of every possible moiety does not necessarily constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to any particular species; MPEP 2162.1(A)).
Further, the criteria for a “representative number of species” to be described requires that the species which are reduced to practice are representative of the entire genus. The description of the conjugates with only a limited number of moieties of “R” groups attached to the camptothecin heterocycle are not representative of the compounds required in the instant claimed conjugates and thus, it cannot be concluded that the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.").
Regarding the description of the genus by partial structure combined with a specific function, the specification fails to provide such a correlation. It would be expected that the plethora of different releasable linkers attached to different parts of the camptothecin molecule would provide conjugates with different properties the drug being delivered with different kinetics under different microenvironmental conditions. It would also be expected that the released linkers would not in all cases provide the free drug (Casi and Neri, Journal of Controlled Release, 2012, Vol. 161, pp. 422-428, see Table 2). Thus, the resulting drug would be modified by the residue of the linker which can affect the toxicity of the drug.
The compounds described in the specification do not provide a description of
(i) all the compounds having the numerous linkers that could be generated from all the variables recited in the instant claims pertaining to the linkers,
(i) all the modifications of the camptothecin heterocyclic core encompassed by the instant claims, and
(iii) the camptothecin-linker structures attached to the large genus of cell-binding agents, T.
Thus, the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of compounds claimed and does not reasonably convey to one of skill in the art that he inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the genus of conjugates, methods of making said conjugates and pharmaceutical composition comprising said conjugates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22, 24, 30, 35, 36-39 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burke et al (Bioconjugate Chemistry, 2009, Vol. 20, pp. 1242-1250, reference of the IDS filed 12/16/2022).
Burke et al disclose a antibody-drug conjugates made by reaction of antibody thiols to a maleimide linker (page 1247, first column, under “Preparation of Antibody-Drug Conjugates) attached to 7-butyl, 9-amino-10,11-methylenedioxy-camptothecin (page 1246, scheme 2), wherein the linker is attached to the amio group at position 9, which is at R1 in the drawing below:
The 10,11-methylenedioxy provides for X=O, R3 is “heterocycloalky and R4 is OR6, wherein R6 is “heterocyclic” or “heteroalkylcycloalkyl”, the 7-butyl provides for R1 being C1-C6 alkyl. The linker of Burke et al provides for the linker of -Ww-(Aa)r-Vv- wherein W has the formula
wherein R20 is C1-C8 alkyl; Aa is an amino acid “unit” of natural amino acids, wherein r is 2; and V is a self-immolative unit including a para-aminobenzyl carbonyl, which meets the limitations of claims 22, 24, 30, 35 for T being an antibody, a chimeric antibody and a humanized antibody, claim 36 for binding CD30, CD70 and Lewis Y antigen; and claims 45-47 wherein the reacting group is maleimide which is a group that can react with an antibody thiol.
Burke et al disclose that the cell-binding agent is chBr96, which binds to Lewis Y antigen on carcinomas, chAc10 which binds to CD30 on hematological malignancies and humanized 1F6 which binds to CD70 on hematological malignancies and renal cell carcinomas (abstract). The conjugates were used in in vitro an in vivo testing (pages 1247-1249, under the heading “In Vitro Biological Evaluation” and “In Vivo Biological Evaluation” , wherein Karpas 299 cells were used as a target for the anti-CD0 conjugate, which meets the limitations claim 37 for lymphoma cells because Karpas 299 cells are lymphoma cells, and malignant cells and a “pharmaceutical composition” in claim 38 because Burke et al would necessarily have the conjugates in a vehicle for contacting with cell in vitro or administration in vivo. Burke et al disclose that the conjugates haver in vitro cell killing activity (page 1247, Table 1), thus anticipating instant claim 39.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-43, 46 and 47 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8 and 44-46 of copending Application No. 19//216,389(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘389 application anticipate the instant claims. Claim 7 of ‘389 discloses
which meets the limitations of instant claims 22-26, and 47 wherein the cell-binding agent, T, is an antibody.
Claim 44 of ‘689 discloses that the antibody drug conjugate according to claim 1, wherein the antibody or the antibody like protein is selected from: one or several of a dAb, Fab, Fab′, F(ab′).sub.2, Fv, nanobody, diabody, triabody, tetrabody, miniantibody, a minibody, a full-length antibody (polyclonal antibody, monoclonal antibody, antibody dimer, antibody multimer), multispecific antibody (selected from, bispecific antibody, trispecific antibody, or tetraspecific antibody); a single chain antibody, an antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, a monoclonal antibody, a single chain monoclonal antibody, a monoclonal antibody fragment that binds the target cell, a chimeric antibody, a chimeric antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, a domain antibody, a domain antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, a resurfaced antibody, a resurfaced single chain antibody, or a resurfaced antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, a humanized antibody or a resurfaced antibody, a humanized single chain antibody, or a humanized antibody fragment that binds to the target cell, anti-idiotypic (anti-Id) antibodies, CDR's, a probody, a probody fragment, small immune proteins (SIP), a lymphokine, a hormone, a vitamin, a growth factor, a colony stimulating factor, a nutrient-transport molecule, large molecular weight proteins, fusion proteins, kinase inhibitors, gene-targeting agents, nanoparticles or polymers modified with antibodies or large molecular weight proteins; a vitamin (including folate); or large molecular peptides, a polymeric micelle, a liposome, a lipoprotein-based drug carrier, a nano-particle drug carrier, a dendrimer, and a particle said above coating or linking with a cell-binding ligand or a protein, which meets the same limitations in claims 22 and 35.
Claim 45 of ‘689 discloses that the antibody drug conjugate of claim 1, wherein the antibody or the antibody like protein is capable of targeting against a tumor cell, a virus infected cell, a microorganism infected cell, a parasite infected cell, an autoimmune disease cell, an activated tumor cells, a myeloid cell, an activated T-cell, an affecting B cell, or a melanocyte, or any malfunctioned cells expressing any one of the following antigens or receptors: CD1, CD1a, CD1b, CD1c, CD1d, CD1e, CD2, CD3, CD3d, CD3e, CD3g, CD4, CD5, CD6, CD7, CD8, CD8a, CD8b, CD9, CD10, CD11a, CD11b, CD11c, CD11d, CD12w, CD13, CD14, CD15, CD16, CD16a, CD16b, CDw17, CD18, CD19, CD20, CD21, CD22, CD23, CD24, CD25, CD26, CD27, CD28, CD29, CD30, CD31, CD32, CD32a, CD32b, CD33, CD34, CD35, CD36, CD37, CD38, CD39, CD40, CD41, CD42, CD42a, CD42b, CD42c, CD42d, CD43, CD44, CD45, CD46, CD47, CD48, CD49b, CD49c, CD49c, CD49d, CD49f, CD50, CD51, CD52, CD53, CD54, CD55, CD56, CD57, CD58, CD59, CD60, CD60a, CD60b, CD60c, CD61, CD62E, CD62L, CD62P, CD63, CD64, CD65, CD65s, CD66, CD66a, CD66b, CD66c, CD66d, CD66e, CD66f, CD67, CD68, CD69, CD70, CD71, CD72, CD73, CD74, CD75, CD75s, CD76, CD77, CD78, CD79, CD79a, CD79b, CD80, CD81, CD82, CD83, CD84, CD85, CD85a, CD85b, CD85c, CD85d, CD85e, CD85f, CD85g, CD85g, CD85i, CD85j, CD85k, CD85m, CD86, CD87, CD88, CD89, CD90, CD91, CD92, CD93, CD94, CD95, CD96, CD97, CD98, CD99, CD100, CD101, CD102, CD103, CD104, CD105, CD106, CD107, CD107a, CD107b, CD108, CD109, CD110, CD111, CD112, CD113, CD114, CD115, CD116, CD117, CD118, CD119, CD120, CD120a, CD120b, CD121, CD121a, CD121b, CD122, CD123, CD123a, CD124, CD125, CD126, CD127, CD128, CD129, CD130, CD131, CD132, CD133, CD134, CD135, CD136, CD137, CD138, CD139, CD140, CD140a, CD140b, CD141, CD142, CD143, CD144, CD145, CDw145, CD146, CD147, CD148, CD149, CD150, CD151, CD152, CD153, CD154, CD155, CD156, CD156a, CD156b, CD156c, CD156d, CD157, CD158, CD158a, CD158b1, CD158b2, CD158c, CD158d, CD158e1, CD158e2, CD158f2, CD158g, CD158h, CD158i, CD158j, CD158k, CD159, CD159a, CD159b, CD159c, CD160, CD161, CD162, CD163, CD164, CD165, CD166, CD167, CD167a, CD167b, CD168, CD169, CD170, CD171, CD172, CD172a, CD172b, CD172g, CD173, CD174, CD175, CD175s, CD176, CD177, CD178, CD179, CD179a, CD179b, CD180, CD181, CD182, CD183, CD184, CD185, CD186, CDw186, CD187, CD188, CD189, CD190, CD191, CD192, CD193, CD194, CD195, CD196, CD197, CD198, CD199, CDw198, CDw199, CD200, CD201, CD202, CD202(a,b), CD203, CD203c, CD204, CD205, CD206, CD207, CD208, CD209, CD210, CDw210a, CDw210b, CD211, CD212, CD213, CD213a1, CD213a2, CD214, CD215, CD216, CD217, CD218, CD218a, CD218, CD21b9, CD220, CD221, CD222, CD223, CD224, CD225, CD226, CD227, CD228, CD229, CD230, CD231, CD232, CD233, CD234, CD235, CD235a, CD235b, CD236, CD237, CD238, CD239, CD240, CD240ce, CD240d, CD241, CD242, CD243, CD244, CD245, CD246, CD247, CD248, CD249, CD250, CD251, CD252, CD253, CD254, CD255, CD256, CD257, CD258, CD259, CD260, CD261, CD262, CD263, CD264, CD265, CD266, CD267, CD268, CD269, CD270, CD271, CD272, CD273, CD274, CD275, CD276, CD277, CD278, CD279, CD281, CD282, CD283, CD284, CD285, CD286, CD287, CD288, CD289, CD290, CD291, CD292, CD293, CD294, CD295, CD296, CD297, CD298, CD299, CD300, CD300a, CD300b, CD300c, CD301, CD302, CD303, CD304, CD305, CD306, CD307, CD307a, CD307b, CD307c, CD307d, CD307e, CD307f, CD308, CD309, CD310, CD311, CD312, CD313, CD314, CD315, CD316, CD317, CD318, CD319, CD320, CD321, CD322, CD323, CD324, CD325, CD326, CD327, CD328, CD329, CD330, CD331, CD332, CD333, CD334, CD335, CD336, CD337, CD338, CD339, CD340, CD341, CD342, CD343, CD344, CD345, CD346, CD347, CD348, CD349, CD350, CD351, CD352, CD353, CD354, CD355, CD356, CD357, CD358, CD359, CD360, CD361, CD362, CD363, CD364, CD365, CD366, CD367, CD368, CD369, CD370, CD371, CD372, CD373, CD374, CD375, CD376, CD377, CD378, CD379, CD381, CD382, CD383, CD384, CD385, CD386, CD387, CD388, CD389, CRIPTO, CRIPTO, CR, CR1, CRGF, CRIPTO, CXCR5, LY64, TDGF1, 4-1BB, APO2, ASLG659, BMPR1B, 4-1BB, 5AC, 5T4 (trophoblastic glycoprotein, TPBG, 5T4, Wnt-activated inhibitory factor 1 or WAIF1), adenocarcinoma antigen, AGS-5, AGS-22M6, activin receptor-like kinase 1, AFP, AKAP-4, ALK, alpha integrin, alpha v beta6, amino-peptidase N, Amyloid beta, androgen receptor, angiopoietin 2, angiopoietin 3, annexin A1, anthrax toxin protective antigen, anti-transferrin receptor, AOC3 (VAP-1), B7-H3, Bacillus anthracis anthrax, BAFF (B-cell activating factor), BCMA, B-lymphoma cell, bcr-abl, Bombesin, BORIS, C5, C242 antigen, CA125 (carbohydrate antigen 125, MUC16), CA-IX (or CAIX, carbonic anhydrase 9), CALLA, CanAg, Canis lupus familiaris IL31, carbonic anhydrase IX, cardiac myosin, CCL11 (C-C motif chemokine 11), CCR4 (C-C chemokine receptor type 4), CCR5, CD3E (epsilon), CEA (carcinoembryonic antigen), CEACAM3, CEACAM5 (carcino-embryonic antigen), CFD (Factor D), Ch4D5, cholecystokinin 2 (CCK2R), CLDN18 (Claudin-18), CLDN18.2 (Claudin-18.2), clumping factor A, cMet, CRIPTO, FCSFIR (colony stimulating factor 1 receptor), CSF2 (colony stimulating factor 2, granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF)), CSP4, CTLA4 (cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated protein 4), CTAA16.88 tumor antigen, CXCR4, C-X-C chemokine receptor type 4, cyclic ADP ribose hydrolase, cyclin B1, CYP1B1, cytomegalovirus, cytomegalovirus glycoprotein B, Dabigatran, DLL3 (delta-like-ligand 3), DLL4 (delta-like-ligand 4), DPP4 (dipeptidyl-peptidase 4), DR5 (feath receptor 5), E. coli shiga toxin type-1, E. coli shiga toxin type-2, ED-B, EGFL7 (EGF-like domain-containing protein 7), EGFR, EGFRII, EGFRVIII, endoglin, endothelin B receptor, endotoxin, EpCAM (epithelial cell adhesion molecule), EphA2, Episialin, ERBB2 (epidermal growth factor receptor 2), ERBB3, ERG (TMPRSS2 ETS fusion gene), Escherichia coli, ETV6-AML, FAP (fibroblast activation protein alpha), FCGR1, alpha-Fetoprotein, Fibrin II, beta chain, fibronectin extra domain-B, FOLR (folate receptor), folate receptor alpha, folate hydrolase, Fos-related antigen 1F protein of respiratory syncytial virus, frizzled receptor, fucosyl GM1, GD2 ganglioside, G-28 (a cell surface antigen glyvolipid), GD3 idiotype, GloboH, glypican 3, N-glycolylneuraminic acid, GM3, GMCSF receptor α-chain, growth differentiation factor 8, GP100, GPNMB (trans-membrane glycoprotein NMB), GUCY2C (guanylate cyclase 2C, guanylyl cyclase C (GC-C), intestinal fuanylate cyclase, fuanylate cyclase-C receptor, heat-stable enterotoxin receptor (hSTAR)), heat shock proteins, hemagglutinin, hepatitis B surface antigen, hepatitis B virus, HER1 (human epidermal growth factor receptor 1), HER2, HER2/neu, HER3 (ERBB-3), IgG4, HGF/SF (Hepatocyte growth factor/scatter factor), HHGFR, HIV-1, histone complex, HLA-DR (human leukocyte antigen), HLA-DR10, HLA-DRB, HMWMAA, human chorionic gonadotropin, HNGF, human scatter factor receptor kinase, HPV E6/E7, Hsp90, hTERT, ICAM-1 (Intercellular Adhesion Molecule 1), idiotype, IGFIR (IGF-1, insulin-like growth factor 1 receptor), IGHE, IFN-γ, Influenza hemagglutinin, IgE, IgE Fc region, IGHE, interleukins (comprising IL-1, IL-2, IL-3, IL-4, IL-5, IL-6, IL-6R, IL-7, IL-8, IL-9, IL-10, IL-11, IL-12, IL-13, IL-15, IL-17, IL-17A, IL-18, IL-19, IL-20, IL-21, IL-22, IL-23, IL-27, or IL-28), IL31RA, ILGF2 (insulin-like growth factor 2), Integrins (α4, α.sub.IIbβ.sub.3, αvβ.sub.3, α.sub.4β.sub.7, α.sub.5β.sub.1, α.sub.6β.sub.4, a.sub.7β.sub.7, αllβ.sub.3, α.sub.5β.sub.5, αvβ.sub.5), interferon gamma-induced protein, ITGA2, ITGB2, KIR2D, Kappa Ig, LCK, Le, Legumain, Lewis-Y antigen, LFA-1 (lymphocyte function-associated antigen 1, CD11a), LHRH, LINGO-1, lipoteichoic acid, LIVIA, LMP2, LTA, MAD-CT-1, MAD-CT-2, MAGE-1, MAGE-2, MAGE-3, MAGE A1, MAGE A3, MAGE 4, MART1, MCP-1, MIF (macrophage migration inhibitory factor, or glycosylation-inhibiting factor (GIF)), MS4A1 (membrane-spanning 4-domains subfamily A member 1), MSLN (mesothelin), MUC1 (Mucin 1, cell surface associated (MUC1) or polymorphic epithelial mucin (PEM)), MUC1-KLH, MUC16 (CA125), MCP1 (monocyte chemotactic protein 1), MelanA/MART1, ML-IAP, MPG, MS4A1 (membrane-spanning 4-domains subfamily A), MYCN, myelin-associated glycoprotein, myostatin, NA17, NARP-1, NCA-90 (granulocyte antigen), Nectin-4 (ASG-22ME), NGF, neural apoptosis-regulated proteinase 1, NOGO-A, Notch receptor, nucleolin, neu oncogene product, NY-BR-1, NY-ESO-1, OX-40, OxLDL (oxidized low-density lipoprotein), OY-TES1, P21, p53 nonmutant, P97, Page 4, PAP, paratope of anti-(N-glycolylneuraminic acid), PAX3, PAX5, PCSK9, PDCD1 (PD-1, programmed cell death protein 1), PDGF-Ra (Alpha-type platelet-derived growth factor receptor), PDGFR-β, PDL-1, PLAC1, PLAP-like testicular alkaline phosphatase, platelet-derived growth factor receptor beta, phosphate-sodium co-transporter, PMEL 17, polysialic acid, proteinase3 (PR1), prostatic carcinoma, PS (Phosphatidylserine), prostatic carcinoma cells, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, PSMA, PSA, PSCA, rabies virus glycoprotein, RHD (Rh polypeptide 1 (RhPI)), Rhesus factor, RANKL, RhoC, Ras mutant, RGS5, ROBO4, respiratory syncytial virus, RON, ROR1, Sarcoma translocation breakpoints, SART3, sclerostin, SLAMF7 (SLAM family member 7), Selectin P, SDC1 (Syndecan 1), sLe (a), Somatomedin C, SIP (Sphingosine-1-phosphate), Somatostatin, sperm protein 17, SSX2, STEAP1 (six-transmembrane epithelial antigen of the prostate 1), STEAP2, STn, TAG-72 (tumor associated glycoprotein 72), Survivin, T-cell receptor, T cell transmembrane protein, TEM1 (Tumor endothelial marker 1), TENB2, Tenascin C (TN-C), TGF-α, TGF-β (transforming growth factor beta), TGF-β1, TGF-β2 (transforming growth factor-beta 2), Tie (CD202b), Tie2, TIM-1 (CDX-014), Tn, TNF, TNF-α, TNFRSF8, TNFRSF10B (tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily member 10B), TNFRSF-13B (tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily member 13B), TPBG (trophoblast glycoprotein), TRAIL-R1 (tumor necrosis apoptosis inducing ligand receptor 1), TRAILR2 (death receptor 5 (DR5)), tumor-associated calcium signal transducer 2, tumor specific glycosylation of MUC1, TWEAK receptor, TYRP1 (glycoprotein 75), TRP-1 (Trop-1), TRP-2 (Trop-2), tyrosinase, VCAM-1, VEGF, VEGF-A, VEGF-2, VEGFR-1, VEGFR2, or vimentin, WT1, XAGE 1, or cells expressing any insulin growth factor receptors, or any epidermal growth factor receptors which meets the limitations of instant claim 36
Claim 46 of ‘389 discloses the antibody drug conjugate according of claim 45, wherein the tumor cell is selected from the group consisting of lymphoma cells, myeloma cells, renal cells, breast cancer cells, prostate cancer cells, ovarian cancer cells, colorectal cancer cells, gastric cancer cells, squamous cancer cells, small-cell lung cancer cells, none small-cell lung cancer cells, testicular cancer cells, malignant cells, or any cells that grow and divide at an unregulated, quickened pace to cause cancers which meets the limitations of instant claim 37.
Claim 47 of ‘689 discloses that the antibody drug conjugate according to claim 1, wherein the antibody drug conjugate is prepared homogenously via the following three key steps: (1). incubating the antibody or antibody-like protein in the presence of an effective zinc (II) cation or zinc (II) cation-amino chelate/complex (Zn(NR.sub.1R.sub.2R.sub.3).sub.m1.sup.2+) and a reductant (Tris(2-carboxyethyl) phosphine (TCEP)) in a buffer system (including PBS, Mes, Bis-Tris, Bis-Tris Propane, Acetates, Histidine, Citrates, MES, or Borates) at pH 4.5˜8.5, 1˜10° C. for 1˜24 h to selectively reduce interchain disulfide bonds within the antibody, to generate thiols; wherein R.sub.1, R.sub.2 and R.sub.3 in the formula of Zn(NR.sub.1R.sub.2R.sub.3).sub.m1.sup.2+ are independently selected from C.sub.1-C.sub.8 of alkyl; C.sub.2-C.sub.8 of heteroalkyl, alkylcycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl; C.sub.3-C.sub.8 of aryl, Ar-alkyl, heterocyclic, carbocyclic, cycloalkyl, heteroalkylcycloalkyl, alkylcarbonyl, heteroaryl; m.sub.1 is selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 or 8; And (NR.sub.1R.sub.2R.sub.3).sub.m1 in Zn(NR.sub.1R.sub.2R.sub.3).sub.m1.sup.2+ can be form a dimer, trimer, tetramer, pentamer, or hexamer; and N, R.sub.1, R.sub.2 or R.sub.3 groups can themselves or jointly form (or join together to form) 3˜10 member rings of heterocyclic, carbocyclic, diheterocyclic, or dicarbocyclic groups; (2). introducing an effective amount of a cytotoxic drug-linker complex sequentially, to react with the thiol groups resulted from step (1) for 15 minutes to 4 hours; For the payload/linker complex containing a disulfide bond, the reduced antibody was isolated at 2-8° C. through a chromatography (with ion exchange or size exclusion column) or dialysis prior to addition of the cytotoxic drug-linker complex; (3). adding effective amount of 4-(azidomethyl)-benzoic acid or p-azido-benzoic acid to quench excess reductants, and dehydroascorbic acid (DHAA) to re-oxidize unreacted thiol groups, and then purifying the resulted conjugates; the step (3) can be replaced by: adding an effective amount of cystine to quench the excessive conjugation linker or linker/payload complex containing thiol reactive groups (maleimide); and adding 4-(azidomethyl)-benzoic acid or p-azido-benzoic acid or a disulfide compound (cystine) to quench the unreacted reductant (TCEP), simultaneously or sequentially, wherein addition of cystine to quench the unreacted reductant (TCEP) yields a cysteine which simultaneously quenches the excessive linker/payload complex, the yielded conjugate is optionally isolated by chromatography or UF/DF, which meets thelimitations of instn claims 30 and when taken together with the disclosed structures of the ‘689 clims, renders obvious instant claims 32, 34 and 46.
Claim 48 of the ‘689 application discloses pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the antibody drug conjugate of claim 1, and a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, carrier, diluent, or excipient therefore, or a combination of the conjugates thereof, for use in the treatment or prevention of a cancer. Claim 49 of the ‘689 application specifies that the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 48 is either in the liquid formula or in the formulated lyophilized solid, comprising by weight of: 0.01%-99% of one or more the antibody drug conjugate; 0.0%-20.0% of one or more polyols; 0.0%-2.0% of one or more surfactants; 0.0%-5.0% of one or more preservatives; 0.0%-30% of one or more amino acids; 0.0%-5.0% of one or more antioxidants; 0.0%-0.3% of one or more metal chelating agents; 0.0%-0.5% of hyaluronidase with activity of >500 u/mg; 0.0%-30.0% of one or more buffer salts for adjusting pH of the formulation to pH 4.5 to 7.5; and 0.0%-30.0% of one or more of isotonic agent for adjusting osmotic pressure between about 250 to 350 mOsm when reconstituted for administration to a patient; wherein the polyol is selected from fructose, mannose, maltose, lactose, arabinose, xylose, ribose, rhamnose, galactose, glucose, sucrose, trehalose, sorbose, melezitose, raffinose, mannitol, xylitol, erythritol, maltitol, lactitol, erythritol, threitol, sorbitol, glycerol, or L-gluconate and its metallic salts; wherein the surfactant is selected from polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 65, polysorbate 80, polysorbate 81, or polysorbate 85, poloxamer, poly(ethylene oxide)-poly (propylene oxide), polyethylene-polypropylene, Triton; sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS), sodium laurel sulfate; sodium octyl glycoside; lauryl-, myristyl-, linoleyl-, or stearyl-sulfobetaine; lauryl-, myristyl-, linoleyl- or stearyl-sarcosine; linoleyl-, myristyl-, or cetyl-betaine; lauroamidopropyl-, cocamidopropyl-, linoleamidopropyl-, myristamidopropyl-, palmidopropyl-, or isostearamidopropyl-betaine (lauroamidopropyl); myristamidopropyl-, palmidopropyl-, or isostearamidopropyl-dimethylamine; sodium methyl cocoyl-, or disodium methyl oleyl-taurate; dodecyl betaine, dodecyl dimethylamine oxide, cocamidopropyl betaine and coco ampho glycinate; or isostearyl ethylimidonium ethosulfate; polyethyl glycol, polypropyl glycol, and copolymers of ethylene and propylene glycol; wherein the preservative is selected from benzyl alcohol, octadecyldimethylbenzyl ammonium chloride, hexamethonium chloride, benzalkonium chloride, benzethonium chloride, phenol, butyl and benzyl alcohol, alkyl parabens such as methyl or propyl paraben, catechol, resorcinol, cyclohexanol, 3-pentanol, or m-cresol; wherein the amino acid is selected from arginine, cystine, glycine, lysine, histidine, ornithine, isoleucine, leucine, alanine, glycine glutamic acid or aspartic acid; wherein the antioxidant is selected from ascorbic acid, glutathione, cystine or methionine; wherein the chelating agent is selected from EDTA or EGTA; wherein the buffer salt is selected from sodium, potassium, ammonium, or trihydroxyethylamino salts of citric acid, ascorbic acid, gluconic acid, carbonic acid, tartaric acid, succinic acid, acetic acid or phthalic acid; Tris or tromethamine hydrochloride, phosphate or sulfate; arginine, glycine, glycylglycine, or histidine with anionic acetate, chloride, phosphate, sulfate, or succinate salts; wherein the tonicity agent is selected from mannitol, sorbitol, sodium acetate, potassium chloride, sodium phosphate, potassium phosphate, trisodium citrate, or sodium chloride. Claim 54 of the ‘689 application discloses that pharmaceutical composition according to claim 52, wherein the synergistical drug is selected from one or several of the following drugs: Abatacept, Abiraterone acetate, Abraxane, Acetaminophen/hydrocodone, Acalabrutinib, aducanumab, Adalimumab, ADXS31-142, ADXS-HER2, Afatinib dimaleate, Aldesleukin, Alectinib, Alemtuzumab, Alitretinoin, ado-trastuzumab emtansine, Amphetamine/dextroamphetamine, Anastrozole, Aripiprazole, anthracyclines, Aripiprazole, Atazanavir, Atezolizumab, Atorvastatin, Avelumab, Axicabtagene ciloleucel, Axitinib, Belinostat, BCG Live, Bevacizumab, Bexarotene, Blinatumomab, Bortezomib, Bosutinib, Brentuximab vedotin, Brigatinib, Budesonide, Budesonide/formoterol, Buprenorphine, Cabazitaxel, Cabozantinib, Capmatinib, Capecitabine, Carfilzomib, chimeric antigen receptor-engineered T (CAR-T) cells, Celecoxib, Ceritinib, Cetuximab, Chidamide, Ciclosporin, Cinacalcet, Crizotinib, Cobimetinib, Cosentyx, Crizotinib, CTL019, Dabigatran, Dabrafenib, Dacarbazine, Daclizumab, Dacomotinib, Daptomycin, Daratumumab, Darbepoetin alfa, Darunavir, Dasatinib, Denileukin diftitox, Denosumab, Depakote, Dexlansoprazole, Dexmethylphenidate, Dexamethasone, Dinutuximab, Doxycycline, Duloxetine, Duvelisib, Durvalumab, Elotuzumab, Emtricitabine/Rilpivirine/Tenofovir, Disoproxil fumarate, Emtricitbine/tenofovir/efavirenz, Enoxaparin, Ensartinib, Enzalutamide, Epoetin alfa, erlotinib, Esomeprazole, Eszopiclone, Etanercept, Everolimus, Exemestane, Everolimus, Exenatide ER, Ezetimibe, Ezetimibe/simvastatin, Fenofibrate, Filgrastim, Fingolimod, Fluticasone propionate, Fluticasone/salmeterol, Fulvestrant, Gazyva, Gefitinib, Glatiramer, Goserelin acetate, Icotinib, Imatinib, Ibritumomab tiuxetan, Ibrutinib, Idelalisib, Ifosfamide, Infliximab, Imiquimod, ImmuCyst, Immuno BCG, Iniparib, Insulin aspart, Insulin detemir, Insulin glargine, Insulin lispro, Interferon alfa, Interferon alfa-1b, Interferon alfa-2a, Interferon alfa-2b, Interferon beta, Interferon beta 1a, Interferon beta 1b, Interferon gamma-1a, Iapatinib, Ipilimumab, Ipratropium bromide/salbutamol, Ixazomib, Kanuma, Lanreotide acetate, Lenalidomide, Lenaliomide, Lenvatinib mesylate, Letrozole, Levothyroxine, Levothyroxine, Lidocaine, Linezolid, Liraglutide, Lisdexamfetamine, LN-144, Lorlatinib, Memantine, Methylphenidate, Metoprolol, Mekinist, Mericitabine/Rilpivirine/Tenofovir, Modafinil, Mometasone, Mycidac-C, Necitumumab, neratinib, Nilotinib, Niraparib, Nivolumab, Ofatumumab, Obinutuzumab, Olaparib, Olmesartan, Olmesartan/hydrochlorothiazide, Omalizumab, Omega-3 fatty acid ethyl esters, Oncorine, Oseltamivir, Osimertinib, Oxycodone, Palbociclib, Palivizumab, Panitumumab, Panobinostat, Pazopanib, Pembrolizumab, PD-1 antibody, PD-L1 antibody, PD-1/VEGF antibody, PD-L1/VEGF antibody, Pemetrexed, Pertuzumab, Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine, Pomalidomide, Poziotinib, Pregabalin, ProscaVax, Propranolol, Quetiapine, Rabeprazole, Radium 223 chloride, Raloxifene, Raltegravir, Ramucirumab, Ranibizumab, Regorafenib, Rituximab, Rivaroxaban, Romidepsin, Rosuvastatin, Ruxolitinib phosphate, Salbutamol, Savolitinib, Semaglutide, Sevelamer, Sildenafil, Siltuximab, Sipuleucel-T, Sitagliptin, Sitagliptin/metformin, Solifenacin, Solanezumab, Sonidegib, Sorafenib, Sunitinib, Tacrolimus, Tacrimus, Tadalafil, Tamoxifen, Tafinlar, Talimogene laherparepvec, Talazoparib, Telaprevir, Talazoparib, Temozolomide, Temsirolimus, Tenofovir/emtricitabine, Tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, Testosterone gel, Thalidomide, TICE BCG, Tiotropium bromide, Tisagenlecleucel, Toremifene, Trametinib, Trastuzumab, Trastuzumab deruxtecan, Trabectedin (ecteinascidin 743), Trametinib, Tremelimumab, Trifluridine/tipiracil, Tretinoin, Uro-BCG, Ustekinumab, Valsartan, Veliparib, Vandetanib, Vemurafenib, Venetoclax, Vorinostat, Ziv-aflibercept, Zostavax, and their analogs, derivatives, pharmaceutically acceptable salts, carriers, diluents or excipients thereof or a combination above thereof, which meets the limimtations of instant claims 38, 40 and 41.
Claim 51 of ‘689 disloses the conjugate of claim 1, having in vitro, in vivo or ex vivo cell killing activity which anticipates instant claim 39. Claim 52 of ‘689 discloses the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 48, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered concurrently with a chemotherapeutic agent, a radiation therapy, an immunotherapy agent, an autoimmune disorder agent, an anti-infectious agent or the other conjugates for use as a synergistical drug in treatment or prevention of a cancer which meets the limitation of claim 40. Claim 53 of ‘689 discloses the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 52, wherein the synergistical drug is selected from: (1). a). an alkylating agent: selected from nitrogen mustards: chlorambucil, chlornaphazine, cyclophosphamide, dacarbazine, estramustine, ifosfamide, mechlorethamine, mechlorethamine oxide hydrochloride, mannomustine, mitobronitol, melphalan, mitolactol, pipobroman, novembichin, phenesterine, prednimustine, thiotepa, trofosfamide, uracil mustard; CC-1065 and adozelesin, carzelesin, bizelesin or their synthetic analogues; duocarmycin and its synthetic analogues, KW-2189, CBI-TMI, or CBI dimers; benzodiazepine dimers or pyrrolobenzodiazepine (PBD) dimers, tomaymycin dimers, indolinobenzodiazepine dimers, imidazobenzothiadiazepine dimers, or oxazolidinobenzodiazepine dimers; Nitrosoureas: comprising carmustine, lomustine, chlorozotocin, fotemustine, nimustine, ranimustine; Alkylsulphonates: including busulfan, treosulfan, improsulfan and piposulfan); Triazenes or dacarbazine; Platinum containing compounds: comprising carboplatin, cisplatin, and oxaliplatin; aziridines, benzodopa, carboquone, meturedopa, or uredopa; ethylenimines and methylamelamines including altretamine, triethylenemelamine, trietylenephosphoramide, triethylenethiophosphoramide and trimethylolomelamine]; b). A plant alkaloid: selected from the group consisting of Vinca alkaloids: including vincristine, vinblastine, vindesine, vinorelbine, and navelbin; Taxoids: comprising paclitaxel, docetaxol and their analogs, Maytansinoids including DM1, DM2, DM3, DM4, DM5, DM6, DM7, maytansine, ansamitocins and their analogs, cryptophycins (including the group of cryptophycin 1 and cryptophycin 8); epothilones, eleutherobin, discodermolide, bryostatins, dolostatins, auristatins, tubulysins, cephalostatins; pancratistatin; a sarcodictyin; spongistatin; c). A DNA Topoisomerase Inhibitor: selected from the groups of Epipodophyllins: comprising 9-aminocamptothecin, camptothecin, crisnatol, daunomycin, etoposide, etoposide phosphate, irinotecan, mitoxantrone, novantrone, retinoic acids (or retinols), teniposide, topotecan, 9-nitrocamptothecin or RFS 2000; and mitomycins and their analogs; d). An antimetabolite: selected from the group consisting of {[Anti-folate: (DHFR inhibitors: comprising methotrexate, trimetrexate, denopterin, pteropterin, aminopterin (4-aminopteroic acid) or folic acid analogues); IMP dehydrogenase Inhibitors: (including mycophenolic acid, tiazofurin, ribavirin, EICAR); Ribonucleotide reductase Inhibitors: (including hydroxyurea, deferoxamine)]; [Pyrimidine analogs: Uracil analogs: (including ancitabine, azacitidine, 6-azauridine, capecitabine, carmofur, cytarabine, dideoxyuridine, doxifluridine, enocitabine, 5-Fluorouracil, floxuridine, ratitrexed); Cytosine analogs: (including cytarabine, cytosine arabinoside, fludarabine); Purine analogs: (including azathioprine, fludarabine, mercaptopurine, thiamiprine, thioguanine)]; folic acid replenisher, frolinic acid}; e). A hormonal therapy: selected from Receptor antagonists: [Anti-estrogen: (including megestrol, raloxifene, tamoxifen); LHRH agonists: (including goscrclin, leuprolide acetate); Anti-androgens: (including bicalutamide, flutamide, calusterone, dromostanolone propionate, epitiostanol, goserelin, leuprolide, mepitiostane, nilutamide, testolactone, trilostane and other androgens inhibitors)]; Retinoids/Deltoids: [Vitamin D.sub.3 analogs: (including CB 1093, EB 1089 KH 1060, cholecalciferol, ergocalciferol); Photodynamic therapies: (including verteporfin, phthalocyanine, photosensitizer Pc4, demethoxyhypocrellin A); Cytokines: (comprising Interferon-alpha, Interferon-gamma, tumor necrosis factor (TNFs), human proteins containing a TNF domain); f). A kinase inhibitor, selected from the group consisting of BIBW 2992 (anti-EGFR/Erb2), imatinib, gefitinib, pegaptanib, sorafenib, dasatinib, sunitinib, erlotinib, nilotinib, lapatinib, axitinib, pazopanib, vandetanib, E7080 (anti-VEGFR2), mubritinib, ponatinib, bafetinib, bosutinib, cabozantinib, vismodegib, iniparib, ruxolitinib, CYT387, axitinib, tivozanib, sorafenib, bevacizumab, cetuximab, Trastuzumab, Ranibizumab, Panitumumab, ispinesib; g). A poly (ADP-ribose) polymerase (PARP) inhibitors selected from the group of olaparib, niraparib, iniparib, talazoparib, veliparib, CEP 9722 (Cephalon's), E7016 (Eisai's), BGB-290 (BeiGene's), or 3-aminobenzamide; h). An antibiotic, selected from the group consisting of an enediyne antibiotic (selected from the group of calicheamicin, calicheamicin γ1, δ1, α1 or β1; dynemicin, including dynemicin A and deoxydynemicin; esperamicin, kedarcidin, C-1027, maduropeptin, or neocarzinostatin chromophore and related chromoprotein enediyne antibiotic chromomophores), aclacinomycins, actinomycin, authramycin, azaserine, bleomycins, cactinomycin, carabicin, carminomycin, carzinophilin; chromomycins, dactinomycin, daunorubicin, detorubicin, 6-diazo-5-oxo-L-norleucine, doxorubicin, morpholino-doxorubicin, cyanomorpholino-doxorubicin, 2-pyrrolino-doxorubicin and deoxydoxorubicin, epirubicin, eribulin, esorubicin, idarubicin, marcellomycin, nitomycins, mycophenolic acid, nogalamycin, olivomycins, peplomycin, potfiromycin, puromycin, quelamycin, rodorubicin, streptonigrin, streptozocin, tubercidin, ubenimex, zinostatin, zorubicin; i). A polyketide (acetogenin), bullatacin and bullatacinone; gemcitabine, epoxomicins andcarfilzomib, bortezomib, thalidomide, lenalidomide, pomalidomide, tosedostat, zybrestat, PLX4032, STA-9090, Stimuvax, allovectin-7, Xegeva, Provenge, Yervoy, Isoprenylation inhibitors and Lovastatin, Dopaminergic neurotoxins and 1-methyl-4-phenylpyridinium ion, Cell cycle inhibitors (including staurosporine), Actinomycins (including Actinomycin D, dactinomycin), amanitins, Bleomycins (including bleomycin A2, bleomycin B2, peplomycin), Anthracyclines (including daunorubicin, doxorubicin (adriamycin), idarubicin, epirubicin, pirarubicin, zorubicin, mtoxantrone, MDR inhibitors or verapamil, Ca.sup.2+ ATPase inhibitors or thapsigargin, Histone deacetylase inhibitors ((including Vorinostat, Romidepsin, Panobinostat, Valproic acid, Mocetinostat (MGCD0103), Belinostat, PCI-24781, Entinostat, SB939, Resminostat, Givinostat, AR-42, CUDC-101, sulforaphane, Trichostatin A); Thapsigargin, Celecoxib, glitazones, epigallocatechin gallate, Disulfiram, Salinosporamide A.; Anti-adrenals, selected from the group of aminoglutethimide, mitotane, trilostane; aceglatone; aldophosphamide glycoside; aminolevulinic acid; amsacrine; arabinoside, bestrabucil; bisantrene; edatraxate; defofamine; demecolcine; diaziquone; eflornithine (DFMO), elfomithine; elliptinium acetate, etoglucid; gallium nitrate; gacytosine, hydroxyurea; ibandronate, lentinan; lonidamine; mitoguazone; mitoxantrone; mopidamol; nitracrine; pentostatin; phenamet; pirarubicin; podophyllinic acid; 2-ethylhydrazide; procarbazine; PSK®; razoxane; rhizoxin; sizofiran; spirogermanium; tenuazonic acid; triaziquone; 2, 2′,2″-trichlorotriethylamine; trichothecenes (including the group of T-2 toxin, verrucarin A, roridin A and anguidine); urethane, siRNA, antisense drugs; (2). An anti-autoimmune disease agent: cyclosporine, cyclosporine A, aminocaproic acid, azathioprine, bromocriptine, chlorambucil, chloroquine, cyclophosphamide, corticosteroids (including the group consisting of amcinonide, betamethasone, budesonide, hydrocortisone, flunisolide, fluticasone propionate, fluocortolone danazol, dexamethasone, Triamcinolone acetonide, beclometasone dipropionate), DHEA, enanercept, hydroxychloroquine, infliximab, meloxicam, methotrexate, mofetil, mycophenylate, prednisone, sirolimus, tacrolimus; (3). An anti-infectious disease agents comprising: a). Aminoglycosides: amikacin, astromicin, gentamicin (netilmicin, sisomicin, isepamicin), hygromycin B, kanamycin (amikacin, arbekacin, bekanamycin, dibekacin, tobramycin), neomycin (framycetin, paromomycin, ribostamycin), netilmicin, spectinomycin, streptomycin, tobramycin, verdamicin; b). Amphenicols: azidamfenicol, chloramphenicol, florfenicol, thiamphenicol; c). Ansamycins: geldanamycin, herbimycin; d). Carbapenems: biapenem, doripenem, ertapenem, imipenem, cilastatin, meropenem, panipenem; e). Cephems: carbacephem (loracarbef), cefacetrile, cefaclor, cefradine, cefadroxil, cefalonium, cefaloridine, cefalotin or cefalothin, cefalexin, cefaloglycin, cefamandole, cefapirin, cefatrizine, cefazaflur, cefazedone, cefazolin, cefbuperazone, cefcapene, cefdaloxime, cefepime, cefminox, cefoxitin, cefprozil, cefroxadine, ceftezole, cefuroxime, cefixime, cefdinir, cefditoren, cefepime, cefetamet, cefmenoxime, cefodizime, cefonicid, cefoperazone, ceforanide, cefotaxime, cefotiam, cefozopran, cephalexin, cefpimizole, cefpiramide, cefpirome, cefpodoxime, cefprozil, cefquinome, cefsulodin, ceftazidime, cefteram, ceftibuten, ceftiolene, ceftizoxime, ceftobiprole, ceftriaxone, cefuroxime, cefuzonam, cephamycin (including cefoxitin, cefotetan, cefmetazole), oxacephem (flomoxef, latamoxef); f). Glycopeptides: bleomycin, vancomycin (including oritavancin, telavancin), teicoplanin (dalbavancin), ramoplanin; g). Glycylcyclines: tigecycline; h). B-Lactamase inhibitors: penam (sulbactam, tazobactam), clavam (clavulanic acid); i). Lincosamides: clindamycin, lincomycin; j). Lipopeptides: daptomycin, A54145, calcium-dependent antibiotics (CDA); k). Macrolides: azithromycin, cethromycin, clarithromycin, dirithromycin, erythromycin, flurithromycin, josamycin, ketolide (telithromycin, cethromycin), midecamycin, miocamycin, oleandomycin, rifamycins (rifampicin, rifampin, rifabutin, rifapentine), rokitamycin, roxithromycin, spectinomycin, spiramycin, tacrolimus (FK506), troleandomycin, telithromycin; l). Monobactams: aztreonam, tigemonam; m). Oxazolidinones: linezolid; n). Penicillins: amoxicillin, ampicillin, pivampicillin, hetacillin, bacampicillin, metampicillin, talampicillin, azidocillin, azlocillin, benzylpenicillin, benzathine benzylpenicillin, benzathine phenoxymethylpenicillin, clometocillin, procaine benzylpenicillin, carbenicillin (carindacillin), cloxacillin, dicloxacillin, epicillin, flucloxacillin, mecillinam (pivmecillinam), mezlocillin, meticillin, nafcillin, oxacillin, penamecillin, penicillin, pheneticillin, phenoxymethylpenicillin, piperacillin, propicillin, sulbenicillin, temocillin, ticarcillin; o). Polypeptides: bacitracin, colistin, polymyxin B; p). Quinolones: alatrofloxacin, balofloxacin, ciprofloxacin, clinafloxacin, danofloxacin, difloxacin, enoxacin, enrofloxacin, floxin, garenoxacin, gatifloxacin, gemifloxacin, grepafloxacin, kano trovafloxacin, levofloxacin, lomefloxacin, marbofloxacin, moxifloxacin, nadifloxacin, norfloxacin, orbifloxacin, ofloxacin, pefloxacin, trovafloxacin, grepafloxacin, sitafloxacin, sparfloxacin, temafloxacin, tosufloxacin, trovafloxacin; q). Streptogramins: pristinamycin, quinupristin/dalfopristin; r). Sulfonamides: mafenide, prontosil, sulfacetamide, sulfamethizole, sulfanilimide, sulfasalazine, sulfisoxazole, trimethoprim, trimethoprim-sulfamethoxazole (co-trimoxazole); s). Steroid antibacterials: selected from fusidic acid; t). Tetracyclines: doxycycline, chlortetracycline, clomocycline, demeclocycline, lymecycline, meclocycline, metacycline, minocycline, oxytetracycline, penimepicycline, rolitetracycline, tetracycline, glycylcyclines (including tigecycline); u). antibiotics: selected from the group consisting of annonacin, arsphenamine, bactoprenol inhibitors (Bacitracin), DADAL/AR inhibitors (cycloserine), dictyostatin, discodermolide, eleutherobin, epothilone, ethambutol, etoposide, faropenem, fusidic acid, furazolidone, isoniazid, laulimalide, metronidazole, mupirocin, mycolactone, NAM synthesis inhibitors (fosfomycin), nitrofurantoin, paclitaxel, platensimycin, pyrazinamide, quinupristin/dalfopristin, rifampicin (rifampin), tazobactam tinidazole, uvaricin; (4). Anti-viral drugs comprising: a). Entry/fusion inhibitors: aplaviroc, maraviroc, vicriviroc, gp41 (enfuvirtide), PRO 140, CD4 (ibalizumab); b). Integrase inhibitors: raltegravir, elvitegravir, globoidnan A; c). Maturation inhibitors: bevirimat, vivecon; d). Neuraminidase inhibitors: oseltamivir, zanamivir, peramivir; e). Nucleosides & nucleotides: abacavir, aciclovir, adefovir, amdoxovir, apricitabine, brivudine, cidofovir, clevudine, dexelvucitabine, didanosine (ddI), elvucitabine, emtricitabine (FTC), entecavir, famciclovir, fluorouracil (5-FU), 3′-fluoro-substituted 2′,3′-dideoxynucleoside analogues (including the group consisting of3′-fluoro-2′,3′-dideoxythymidine (FLT) and 3′-fluoro-2′,3′-dideoxyguanosine (FLG), fomivirsen, ganciclovir, idoxuridine, lamivudine (3TC), 1-nucleosides (including the group consisting of 8-1-thymidine and 8-1-2′-deoxycytidine), penciclovir, racivir, ribavirin, stampidine, stavudine (d4T), taribavirin (viramidine), telbivudine, tenofovir, trifluridine valaciclovir, valganciclovir, zalcitabine (ddC), zidovudine (AZT); f). Non-nucleosides: amantadine, ateviridine, capravirine, diarylpyrimidines (etravirine, rilpivirine), delavirdine, docosanol, emivirine, efavirenz, foscarnet (phosphonoformic acid), imiquimod, interferon alfa, loviride, lodenosine, methisazone, nevirapine, NOV-205, peginterferon alfa, podophyllotoxin, rifampicin, rimantadine, resiquimod (R-848), tromantadine; g). Protease inhibitors: amprenavir, atazanavir, boceprevir, darunavir, fosamprenavir, indinavir, lopinavir, nelfinavir, pleconaril, ritonavir, saquinavir, telaprevir (VX-950), tipranavir; h). anti-virus drugs: abzyme, arbidol, calanolide a, ceragenin, cyanovirin-n, diarylpyrimidines, epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG), foscarnet, griffithsin, taribavirin (viramidine), hydroxyurea, KP-1461, miltefosine, pleconaril, portmanteau inhibitors, ribavirin, seliciclib; (5). pharmaceutically acceptable salts, acids, derivatives, hydrate or hydrated salt; or a crystalline structure; or an optical isomer, racemate, diastereomer or enantiomer of any of the above drugs which meets the limitation of claim 41.
Claim 54 of ‘689 discloses pharmaceutical composition according to claim 52, wherein the synergistical drug is selected from one or several of the following drugs: Abatacept, Abiraterone acetate, Abraxane, Acetaminophen/hydrocodone, Acalabrutinib, aducanumab, Adalimumab, ADXS31-142, ADXS-HER2, Afatinib dimaleate, Aldesleukin, Alectinib, Alemtuzumab, Alitretinoin, ado-trastuzumab emtansine, Amphetamine/dextroamphetamine, Anastrozole, Aripiprazole, anthracyclines, Aripiprazole, Atazanavir, Atezolizumab, Atorvastatin, Avelumab, Axicabtagene ciloleucel, Axitinib, Belinostat, BCG Live, Bevacizumab, Bexarotene, Blinatumomab, Bortezomib, Bosutinib, Brentuximab vedotin, Brigatinib, Budesonide, Budesonide/formoterol, Buprenorphine, Cabazitaxel, Cabozantinib, Capmatinib, Capecitabine, Carfilzomib, chimeric antigen receptor-engineered T (CAR-T) cells, Celecoxib, Ceritinib, Cetuximab, Chidamide, Ciclosporin, Cinacalcet, Crizotinib, Cobimetinib, Cosentyx, Crizotinib, CTL019, Dabigatran, Dabrafenib, Dacarbazine, Daclizumab, Dacomotinib, Daptomycin, Daratumumab, Darbepoetin alfa, Darunavir, Dasatinib, Denileukin diftitox, Denosumab, Depakote, Dexlansoprazole, Dexmethylphenidate, Dexamethasone, Dinutuximab, Doxycycline, Duloxetine, Duvelisib, Durvalumab, Elotuzumab, Emtricitabine/Rilpivirine/Tenofovir, Disoproxil fumarate, Emtricitbine/tenofovir/efavirenz, Enoxaparin, Ensartinib, Enzalutamide, Epoetin alfa, erlotinib, Esomeprazole, Eszopiclone, Etanercept, Everolimus, Exemestane, Everolimus, Exenatide ER, Ezetimibe, Ezetimibe/simvastatin, Fenofibrate, Filgrastim, Fingolimod, Fluticasone propionate, Fluticasone/salmeterol, Fulvestrant, Gazyva, Gefitinib, Glatiramer, Goserelin acetate, Icotinib, Imatinib, Ibritumomab tiuxetan, Ibrutinib, Idelalisib, Ifosfamide, Infliximab, Imiquimod, ImmuCyst, Immuno BCG, Iniparib, Insulin aspart, Insulin detemir, Insulin glargine, Insulin lispro, Interferon alfa, Interferon alfa-1b, Interferon alfa-2a, Interferon alfa-2b, Interferon beta, Interferon beta 1a, Interferon beta 1b, Interferon gamma-1a, Iapatinib, Ipilimumab, Ipratropium bromide/salbutamol, Ixazomib, Kanuma, Lanreotide acetate, Lenalidomide, Lenaliomide, Lenvatinib mesylate, Letrozole, Levothyroxine, Levothyroxine, Lidocaine, Linezolid, Liraglutide, Lisdexamfetamine, LN-144, Lorlatinib, Memantine, Methylphenidate, Metoprolol, Mekinist, Mericitabine/Rilpivirine/Tenofovir, Modafinil, Mometasone, Mycidac-C, Necitumumab, neratinib, Nilotinib, Niraparib, Nivolumab, Ofatumumab, Obinutuzumab, Olaparib, Olmesartan, Olmesartan/hydrochlorothiazide, Omalizumab, Omega-3 fatty acid ethyl esters, Oncorine, Oseltamivir, Osimertinib, Oxycodone, Palbociclib, Palivizumab, Panitumumab, Panobinostat, Pazopanib, Pembrolizumab, PD-1 antibody, PD-L1 antibody, PD-1/VEGF antibody, PD-L1/VEGF antibody, Pemetrexed, Pertuzumab, Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine, Pomalidomide, Poziotinib, Pregabalin, ProscaVax, Propranolol, Quetiapine, Rabeprazole, Radium 223 chloride, Raloxifene, Raltegravir, Ramucirumab, Ranibizumab, Regorafenib, Rituximab, Rivaroxaban, Romidepsin, Rosuvastatin, Ruxolitinib phosphate, Salbutamol, Savolitinib, Semaglutide, Sevelamer, Sildenafil, Siltuximab, Sipuleucel-T, Sitagliptin, Sitagliptin/metformin, Solifenacin, Solanezumab, Sonidegib, Sorafenib, Sunitinib, Tacrolimus, Tacrimus, Tadalafil, Tamoxifen, Tafinlar, Talimogene laherparepvec, Talazoparib, Telaprevir, Talazoparib, Temozolomide, Temsirolimus, Tenofovir/emtricitabine, Tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, Testosterone gel, Thalidomide, TICE BCG, Tiotropium bromide, Tisagenlecleucel, Toremifene, Trametinib, Trastuzumab, Trastuzumab deruxtecan, Trabectedin (ecteinascidin 743), Trametinib, Tremelimumab, Trifluridine/tipiracil, Tretinoin, Uro-BCG, Ustekinumab, Valsartan, Veliparib, Vandetanib, Vemurafenib, Venetoclax, Vorinostat, Ziv-aflibercept, Zostavax, and their analogs, derivatives, pharmaceutically acceptable salts, carriers, diluents or excipients thereof or a combination above thereof which mets the limitations of instant claim 42.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
All claims are rejected.
KAREN A. CANELLA
Examiner
Art Unit 1643
/Karen A. Canella/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643