DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed on Sep. 9, 2026. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9 and 14-21 are pending and currently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Previous Rejection – Partially Maintained and Extended to New Claim) Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “The method of claim 14, further comprising: administering the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1 to the subject in an amount effective to induce a protective immune response against SARS-CoV-2.” Considering that claim 14 recites administering the subject already, it is not clear if claim 15 require administering a subject at least twice. If the answer if no, Applicant may consider such wordings for claim 15 like “The method of claim 14, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered in an amount effective to induce a protective immune response against SARS-CoV-2.”
Claim 21 recites “a dose concentration of 1 to 5 mg”. The specification does not describe the term “dose concentration” which is not a commonly used term. Therefore, it is not clear how to interpret the limitation of “a dose concentration of 1 to 5 mg.” To facilitate examination, the limitation is considered as if it were “a dose amount of 1 to 5 mg”.
(New Rejection – Necessitated by Amendment) Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 introduces new matter.
As indicated in the 112(b) rejection above, the instant specification does not describe “a dose concentration of 1 to 5 mg.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Previous Rejection – Maintained) Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erasmus et al. (bioRxiv [Preprint]. 2020 May 28:2020.05.28.121640) in view of Ahmed et al. (Viruses 2020, 12, 254; published: 25 February 2020) and/or Dutta et al. (J Virol 94:e00647-20; published on Jun. 16, 2020).
This rejection is extended to new claim 21.
The base claim 1, as amended, is directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising
- a sequence encoding a SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein antigen and a sequence encoding a SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid antigen, wherein the sequence encoding the SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein antigen and the sequence encoding the SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid protein antigen are comprised in an effective amount of one or more self-replicating RNA molecules, wherein the self-replicating RNA molecules are derived from an alphavirus and comprise a sequence encoding for nonstructural alphavirus proteins, and wherein the self-replicating RNA molecules are encapsulated in, bound to or adsorbed on a lipid nanoparticle; and
- a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and/or a vehicle.
Claims 14-21 are directed a method of inducing an immune response in a subject comprising administering the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1.
Erasmus teaches a single-dose replicating RNA vaccine against SARS-CoV-2. The authors developed repRNA-CoV2S, a stable and highly immunogenic vaccine candidate comprised of an RNA replicon formulated with a novel Lipid InOrganic Nanoparticle (LION) designed to enhance vaccine stability, delivery and immunogenicity. Intramuscular injection of LION/repRNA-CoV2S elicits robust anti-SARS-CoV-2 spike protein IgG antibody isotypes indicative of a Type 1 T helper response as well as potent T cell responses in mice. A single-dose administration in nonhuman primates elicited antibody responses that potently neutralized SARS-CoV-2. These data support further development of LION/repRNA-CoV2S as a vaccine candidate for prophylactic protection from SARS-CoV-2 infection. See Abstract.
Figure 1 of Erasmus shows the structure and characterization of the repRNA-CoV2S construct. See below.
Accordingly, Erasmus teaches a vaccine composition comprising a self-replicating RNA construct, repRNA-CoV2S, comprising a sequence encoding a SARS-CoV-2 Spike antigen and a sequence from an alphavirus, VEEV strain TC-83 (see page 5, para 1), encoding the alphavirus nonstructural proteins nsP1, nsP2, nsP3, nsP4, that confer the construct the ability to self-replicate. Erasmus further teaches that the repRNA-CoV2S construct is incorporated in Lipid InOrganic Nanoparticle (LION), which also functions as an adjuvant (see page 5, para 2). However, Erasmus is silent on a SARS-CoV-2 vaccine construct comprising a sequence encoding SARS-CoV-2 nucleocapsid (N) protein antigen built on the same alphavirus platform.
Ahmed teaches that the authors sought to gain insights for vaccine design against SARS-CoV-2 by considering the high genetic similarity between SARS-CoV-2 and SARS-CoV, which caused the outbreak in 2003, and leveraging existing immunological studies of SARS-CoV. By screening the experimentally-determined SARS-CoV-derived B cell and T cell epitopes in the immunogenic structural proteins of SARS-CoV, they identified a set of B cell and T cell epitopes derived from the spike (S) and nucleocapsid (N) proteins that map identically to SARS-CoV-2 proteins. As no mutation has been observed in these identified epitopes among the 120 available SARS-CoV-2 sequences (as of 21 February 2020), immune targeting of these epitopes may potentially offer protection against this novel virus. Their findings provide a screened set of epitopes that can help guide experimental efforts towards the development of vaccines against SARS-CoV-2. See Abstract.
Dutta discusses about the potential of the nucleocapsid protein of SARS-CoV-2 as a target for vaccine development. It teaches that, in construct to the S protein which has a high mutation rate, the N gene is more conserved and stable, with 90% amino acid homology and fewer mutations over time. N proteins of many coronaviruses are highly immunogenic and are expressed abundantly during infection. High levels of IgG antibodies against N have been detected in sera from SARS patients, and the N protein is a representative antigen for the T-cell response in a vaccine setting, inducing SARS-specific T-cell proliferation and cytotoxic activity. The middle or C-terminal region of the SARS-CoV N protein have been shown to be important for eliciting antibodies against SARS-CoV during the immune response. Several reports offer important and timely insights relevant to the SARS-CoV-2 N protein, a vaccine target that has some distinct advantages over other potential SARS-CoV-2 antigens. Because of the conservation of the N protein sequence, the expanding knowledge of its genetics and biochemistry, and its strong immunogenicity, the N protein of SARS-CoV-2 should be strongly considered as a vaccine candidate for SARS-CoV-2. See pages 1 and 2.
Accordingly, teachings of both Ahmed and Dutta suggest that the nucleocapsid protein of SARS-CoV-2 is a potential vaccine target.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Erasmus, Ahmed and Dutta to arrive at the invention as claimed. One would have been motivated to do so to evaluate the vaccine potential of a self-replicating alphavirus-based nucleic acid construct, similar to that of Erasmus, that comprises a sequence encoding a SARS-CoV-2 nucleocapsid antigen, as well as the vaccine potential of a combination of both the S and N proteins of SARS-CoV-2.
Regarding claims 6-7, Erasmus teaches using the full-length S protein in the repRNA-CoV2S vaccine construct while Ahmed discloses potential immunogenic epitopes in the S and N proteins of SARS-CoV-2 that can be targeted (see Tables 3-4). One of skill in the art would have found it obvious to select regions of the S protein to be included for expression in a nucleic acid vaccine construct for best protection effect through routine experimental optimization, including a truncated form of the S protein as claimed, unless there is evidence that the claimed truncated form is critical.
Regarding claims 8-9, Erasmus teaches that following RNA transcription and capping, repRNA-COV2S, was transfected into BHK cells (see Figure 1 legend) and that the RNA replicon was transcribed from template DNA and capped with NEB Vaccinia Capping System (See line 342). Erasmus is silent on the existence of a poly A tail downstream of the SAR-CoV-2 S gene. Since poly A is commonly included downstream of a gene to be expressed, one of skill in the art would have assumed that the construct disclosed in Erasmus comprises a poly A sequence.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed on Sep 9, 2026 are fully considered and addressed as follows.
To the 103 rejection over Erasmus, Ahmed and Dutta, Applicant argues that Erasmus is silent on the nucleocapsid antigen, silent on any combination of antigens, and uses a specific delivery platform including a chemical adjuvant; that Ahmed is an in-silico screen of previously mapped SARS-CoV-2 cell and T cell epitopes, checked for sequence identity against the SARS-CoV-2 proteome; and that Dutta is silent on expression of any such sequences from a self-replicating RNA molecule, and does not disclose or suggest combining a SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein ("S")-derived antigen with a SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid protein ("N")-derived antigen in a single composition. Applicant argues that at most Erasmus, Ahmed, and Dutta supply a delivery platform (Erasmus), a list of candidate epitopes located within the S and N proteins (Ahmed), and a case for N as a target of interest (Dutta), that Dutta fails to demonstrate elicitation of a functional immune response by N targeting, and that none of these references, alone or in combination, discloses or suggests an RBD.
Applicant’s arguments above are not persuasive. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091,231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Erasmus, Ahmed and Dutta together teach that SARS-CoV-2 S and N proteins are potential vaccine antigens against COVID19. On the other hand, Erasmus teaches a vaccine composition comprising a self-replicating RNA construct, repRNA-CoV2S, comprising a sequence encoding a SARS-CoV-2 Spike antigen and a sequence from an alphavirus, VEEV strain TC-83 (see page 5, para 1), encoding the alphavirus nonstructural proteins nsP1, nsP2, nsP3, nsP4, that confer the construct the ability to self-replicate. Erasmus further teaches that the repRNA-CoV2S construct is incorporated in Lipid InOrganic Nanoparticle (LION), which also functions as an adjuvant (see page 5, para 2).
Therefore, based on the teachings of the three references, one of skill in the art would have found it obvious to introduce the N protein into the study of Erasmus to product a vaccine that express both the S and N proteins. It is not required that the cited references must teach or suggest combination of prior arts as long as there is a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness. A "motivation to combine may be found explicitly or implicitly in market forces; design incentives; the ‘interrelated teachings of multiple patents’; ‘any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the patent’; and the background knowledge, creativity, and common sense of the person of ordinary skill." Zup v. Nash Mfg., 896 F.3d 1365, 1371, 127 USPQ2d 1423, 1427 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (quoting Plantronics, Inc. v. Aliph, Inc., 724 F.3d 1343, 1354 [107 USPQ2d 1706] (Fed. Cir. 2013) (citing Perfect Web Techs., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328 [92 USPQ2d 1849] (Fed. Cir. 2009) (quoting KSR, 550 U.S. at 418-21)) . See MPEP § 2143.01
Applicant argues that the only reference made of record that built and tested an S plus N combination is Deming, and that, however, in Deming, the combination failed. Applicant quotes from Deming: "The initial neutralizing response in animals vaccinated with VRP-S and VRP-S+N was similar (p = 0.2 at 5 wk post-boost), and although there was not significant waning of the icSARS- neutralizing activity over the 48-wk period in the VRP-S-vaccinated animals (p = 0.3 Wilcoxin matched pairs signed-rank test), VRP-S+N serum was diminished by about 3-fold (p = 0.03 Wilcoxin matched pairs signed-rank test)." Applicant argues that from the quoted passages of Deming, the person of ordinary skill in the art would understand VRP-S+N combinations failed to inhibit viral replication more than VRP-S alone and had 3-fold lower icSARS-neutralizing activity over 48 weeks. From this, the person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude VRP-S alone should be the focus of future work. He or she would also expect that VRP-S+N combinations would be ineffective at neutralizing icSARS activity over time.
Applicant argues that even if, accepted strictly for the sake of argument, the person of ordinary skill in the art had a motivation to try the VRP-S+N combination, he or she would have lacked any reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill starting from Erasmus's Spike-only construct would have lacked any a reasonable expectation that adding an N antigen from Ahmed and/or Dutta would improve the resulting vaccine. From Deming, in fact, he or she would have expected adding an N antigen would reduce the effectiveness of the resulting vaccine.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive. First, Deming explicitly teaches the construction of potential SARS-CoV vaccines based on an alphavirus self-replicating vector, Venezuelan equine encephalitis virus replicon particle (VRP), expressing the SARS-CoV S, N, or S+N proteins, indicating that inclusion of the N protein in a self-replicating alphavirus replicon-based vaccine format was contemplated and investigated before the time of invention for a different coronavirus. One of skill in the art would have reasonably been motivated to pursue the same study with a different coronavirus, e.g., SARS-CoV-2, to find out if the observation reported in Deming could be repeated for SARS-CoV-2. Secondly, even though Deming teaches experimental observations on the drawbacks of combining the N protein with the S protein in the study of self-replicating VEEV vector-based coronavirus vaccines, it does not teach that inclusion of the N protein antigen should be prohibited. Rather, Deming teaches that their research provides a model for future experiments designed to characterize the components and inducers of the VRP-N-enhanced pulmonary inflammation, and suggests that vaccine regimens that contains N protein should be used with caution in human populations until further testing. See page 2373, left column, para 1.
As to Applicant’s argument about predictability of combining the cited references, one of skill in the art would have reasonably predicted that a replicon expressing SARS-CoV-2 N protein can be construct based on the replicon vector platform of Erasmus and combined with one expressing the SARS-CoV-2 S protein, and that immunization studies can be performed and effects evaluated for different combinations of vaccine constructs.
Applicant argues that Claim 1 requires RBD Spike antigen in combination with N, and the application's data show that the S-RBD+N immunization induces robust SARS-CoV-2 specific binding antibody responses in hamsters (see Example 7 and Figure 18), and that this observation is in contrast with what was observed and reported in Deming.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Applicant appears to be arguing that the invention as claimed produces unexpected results comparing to the results in the studies of Deming. As an initial matter, “the burden of showing unexpected results rests on he who asserts them. Thus it is not enough to show that results are obtained which differ from those obtained in the prior art: that difference must be shown to be an unexpected difference.” In re Klosak, 455 F.2d 1077, 1080 (CCPA 1972) (citation omitted). Moreover, “[i]t is well settled that unexpected results must be established by factual evidence. Mere argument or conclusory statements in the specification does not suffice.” In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (citation omitted). Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 716.02(b)-(e) for how unexpected results can be established. E.g., to evaluate if the claimed invention produces unexpected results, one must consider if the results produced by the claimed invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the results compare with the closest prior art. See MPEP Section 716.02(d) and (e). Here, Fig. 18 of instant application shows IgG titers induced by S-RBD+N saRNA, comparing to mock or SHAM (PBS) injections. Applicant has not indicated how the results of Fig. 18 can be compared to the studies in Deming. As a matter of fact, Deming does not present results on IgG titers induced by various vaccine constructs. Instead, it shows virus titers (log10 pfu/g) in mice protection studies. Therefore, applicant has not provided sufficient information for the Office to consider if the results produced by the claimed invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the results compare with the closest prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NIANXIANG (NICK) ZOU whose telephone number is (571) 272-2850. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL ALLEN, on (571) 270-3497, can be reached. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIANXIANG ZOU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671