DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed 02/10/2026.
Claim 1, 3-15, 17-19 is pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sinha et al. (US 2015/0350601 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sinha discloses a method comprising: accessing directly a first secure active collaborative communication session, called first active collaborative session, ongoing between participating communication terminals, called participating terminals ([0016]: The video communication session identifier is bound to a domain creating a domain based security model where members of the domain are trusted to connect to any video communication session tied to the domain. A domain-trusted video communication indicates that the video communication sessions are open to all users that are established to be a member of a domain and that these users that are members of the domain are subject to the same set of policies), by a requesting communication terminal, the requesting terminal being a non-participant terminal, the participating terminals and the requesting terminal being distinct terminals ([0016]: Users that are not members of a domain can join video communication sessions associated with the domain, but may be subject to separate policies or authentication protocols before being allowed to join the video communication session), the first secure active collaborative communication session including audio exchanges between users of the participating terminals accessing being implemented by a management device ([0028]: video communication management servers 301 that can handled the creation and join processes for the trusted-domain video communication networks supported by the video communication system. [0042]: The video communication management server can utilize any video telecommunications protocols to implement the video sharing between the participants as well as other ancillary functionality such as document sharing, video or audio capture or similar functions) and comprising:
receiving an active collaborative session access request message sent by the requesting terminal to the management device, the active collaborative session access request message requesting to access the first active collaborative session ([0035]: The video session manager 307 can implement separate policies for members of a domain and non-members of the domain. The video session manager 307 can provide user interfaces for negotiating participation in video communication sessions such as waiting rooms and similar interfaces to effect the varying policies. [0043]: When another user seeks to join the now active video communication session they can utilize the client application…send a join request via the client application to the video communication management server);
transmitting the received active collaborative session access request message originating from the requesting terminal to at least two of the participating terminals of the first active collaborative session ([0026]: notification is sent to each of the current participants in the video communication session or to those that are members of the domain providing the domain and/or unique name of the user attempting to join the video communication. [0044]: Where the user is not confirmed as a user of the domain (e.g. non-member), a separate set of policies may be specified such that the user may be required to await approval of the session creator or other participants before being joined and may be placed in a waiting room interface via the client application); and
triggering direct admission of the requesting terminal, which is distinct from the participating terminals, into the ongoing first active collaborative session between the participating terminals upon receipt of an acceptance of the requesting terminal into the ongoing first active collaborative session from one of the participating terminals answering the transmission of the active collaborative session access request message originating from the requesting terminal ([0026]-[0027]: A waiting room interface indicates that the user must wait for approval before being joined to a video communication session. A notification is sent to each of the current participants in the video communication session or to those that are members of the domain providing the domain of the user attempting to join the video communication session. In response, the current participants can decide to allow or decline the join request. If the admission notification indicates allowed access, then the client application of the user device is joined with the video communication session).
Regarding claim 3, Sinha discloses the method for accessing directly a first secure active collaborative communication session as claimed in claim 1, wherein the active collaborative session access request message, which once transmitted triggers access to the first active collaborative session, comprises data entered by using the requesting terminal ([0043]: When another user seeks to join the now active video communication session they can utilize the client application…send a join request via the client application to the video communication management server).
Regarding claim 4, Sinha discloses the method for accessing directly a first secure active collaborative communication session as claimed in claim 3,wherein transmitting the active collaborative session access request message to the at least two participating terminals of the first active collaborative session comprises one of the following steps: broadcasting the message to all the participating terminals before the requesting terminal accesses the first active collaborative session ([0026]-[0027]:. A notification is sent to each of the current participants in the video communication session or to those that are members of the domain providing the domain of the user attempting to join the video communication session. In response, the current participants can decide to allow or decline the join request. If the admission notification indicates allowed access, then the client application of the user device is joined with the video communication session); sending the message via asynchronous communication to the at least two of the participating terminals; sending the message to at the least two participating terminal of the first active collaborative session outside the first active collaborative session.
Regarding claim 8, Sinha discloses a method comprising: requesting direct access to a first secure active collaborative communication session, called first active collaborative session, ongoing between participating communication terminals, called participating terminals ([0016]: The video communication session identifier is bound to a domain creating a domain based security model where members of the domain are trusted to connect to any video communication session tied to the domain. A domain-trusted video communication indicates that the video communication sessions are open to all users that are established to be a member of a domain and that these users that are members of the domain are subject to the same set of policies), by a requesting communication terminal, called requesting terminal, the requesting terminal being a non- participant terminal, the participating terminals and the requesting terminal being distinct terminals ([0016]: Users that are not members of a domain can join video communication sessions associated with the domain, but may be subject to separate policies or authentication protocols before being allowed to join the video communication session), the first secure active collaborative communication session including audio exchanges between users of the participating terminals, and the requesting implemented by the requesting terminal ([0028]: video communication management servers 301 that can handled the creation and join processes for the trusted-domain video communication networks supported by the video communication system. [0043]: When another user seeks to join the now active video communication session they can utilize the client application…send a join request via the client application to the video communication management server) and comprising:
transmitting an active collaborative session access request message, requesting to access the first active collaborative session, to a management device that is configured to transmit the active collaborative session access request message originating from the requesting terminal to at least two of the participating terminals of the first active collaborative session ([0026]: notification is sent to each of the current participants in the video communication session or to those that are members of the domain providing the domain and/or unique name of the user attempting to join the video communication. [0044]: Where the user is not confirmed as a user of the domain (e.g. non-member), a separate set of policies may be specified such that the user may be required to await approval of the session creator or other participants before being joined and may be placed in a waiting room interface via the client application), the requesting terminal, which is distinct from the participating terminals, being directly admitted into the ongoing first active collaborative session between the participating terminals, with said direct admission being triggered upon receipt by the management device of an acceptance from one of the participating terminals answering the transmission of the active collaborative session access request message originating from the requesting terminal ([0026]-[0027]: A waiting room interface indicates that the user must wait for approval before being joined to a video communication session. A notification is sent to each of the current participants in the video communication session or to those that are members of the domain providing the domain of the user attempting to join the video communication session. In response, the current participants can decide to allow or decline the join request. If the admission notification indicates allowed access, then the client application of the user device is joined with the video communication session).
Regarding claim 9, Sinha discloses a method comprising granting direct access to a first secure active collaborative communication session, called first active collaborative session, ongoing between participating communication terminals, called participating terminals ([0016]: The video communication session identifier is bound to a domain creating a domain based security model where members of the domain are trusted to connect to any video communication session tied to the domain. A domain-trusted video communication indicates that the video communication sessions are open to all users that are established to be a member of a domain and that these users that are members of the domain are subject to the same set of policies), by a requesting communication terminal, called requesting terminal, the requesting terminal being a non- participant terminal, the participating terminals and the requesting terminal being distinct terminals ([0016]: Users that are not members of a domain can join video communication sessions associated with the domain, but may be subject to separate policies or authentication protocols before being allowed to join the video communication session), the first secure active collaborative communication session including audio exchanges between users of the participating terminals ([0028]: video communication management servers 301 that can handled the creation and join processes for the trusted-domain video communication networks supported by the video communication system. [0043]: When another user seeks to join the now active video communication session they can utilize the client application…send a join request via the client application to the video communication management server), the granting direct access being performed by one of the participating terminals and comprising:
receiving an active collaborative session access request message sent from a management device, to at least two of the participating terminals including the participating terminal performing the granting, the active collaborative session access request message originating from the requesting terminal and requesting to access the first active collaborative session ([0026]: notification is sent to each of the current participants in the video communication session or to those that are members of the domain providing the domain and/or unique name of the user attempting to join the video communication. [0044]: Where the user is not confirmed as a user of the domain (e.g. non-member), a separate set of policies may be specified such that the user may be required to await approval of the session creator or other participants before being joined and may be placed in a waiting room interface via the client application), and sending an acceptance of the requesting terminal into the ongoing first active collaborative session to the management device upon receipt of and in answer to the active collaborative session access request message originating from the requesting terminal, with the sent acceptance triggering, upon receipt, direct admission of the requesting terminal, which is distinct from the participating terminals, into the ongoing first active collaborative session between the participating terminals ([0026]-[0027]: A waiting room interface indicates that the user must wait for approval before being joined to a video communication session. A notification is sent to each of the current participants in the video communication session or to those that are members of the domain providing the domain of the user attempting to join the video communication session. In response, the current participants can decide to allow or decline the join request. If the admission notification indicates allowed access, then the client application of the user device is joined with the video communication session).
Regarding claims 10 and 11; the claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, Sinha discloses the requesting terminal as claimed in claim 12, wherein the instructions further configure the requesting terminal to generate the active collaborative session access request message to be sent by the requesting terminal to at least one participating terminal of the first active collaborative session ([0043]: When another user seeks to join the now active video communication session they can utilize the client application…send a join request via the client application to the video communication management server).
Regarding claim 14; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 17, Sinha discloses the method for accessing directly a first secure active collaborative communication session as claimed in claim 1, wherein the management device is implemented: by a device that is separate from the participating terminals; or by a device that is implemented in a participating terminal of the first active collaborative session (fig. 3, [0028]: video communication management servers 301 that can handled the creation and join processes for the trusted-domain video communication networks supported by the video communication system. [0042]: The video communication management server can utilize any video telecommunications protocols to implement the video sharing between the participants as well as other ancillary functionality such as document sharing, video or audio capture or similar functions).
Regarding claim 18; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 19; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha in view Ezell et al. (US 2012/0265808 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sinha discloses the method for accessing directly a first secure active collaborative communication session as claimed in claim 1.
However, Sinha does not disclose the active collaborative session access request message comprising at least one datum from among the following data: a short audible warning datum; an identifier associated with the requesting terminal; an identifier associated with a terminal participating in the first active collaborative session; an identifier of the first active collaborative session to which the requesting terminal requests access; a text, audio or video message of a user of the requesting terminal.
In an analogous art, Ezell discloses the active collaborative session access request message comprising at least one datum from among the following data: a short audible warning datum; an identifier associated with the requesting terminal; an identifier associated with a terminal participating in the first active collaborative session; an identifier of the first active collaborative session to which the requesting terminal requests access; a text, audio or video message of a user of the requesting terminal ([0038]: Joel sees from his e-mail client that Jeff and Sally are collaborating in the context of this activity stream (e-mail thread). The e-mail client has a button that allows him to ask to be included in the collaboration session and Joel invokes this action. Jeff and Sally both see this request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sinha to comprise “the active collaborative session access request message comprising at least one datum from among the following data: a short audible warning datum; an identifier associated with the requesting terminal; an identifier associated with a terminal participating in the first active collaborative session; an identifier of the first active collaborative session to which the requesting terminal requests access; a text, audio or video message of a user of the requesting terminal” taught by Ezell.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to provide the ability for participants in the communication to control access in terms of how others can join the communication based on the profile (Ezell, [0006]).
Claims 6-7, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha in view of Coffman et al. (US 2016/0234264 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Sinha discloses the method for accessing directly first secure active collaborative communication session as claimed in claim 1.
However, Sinha does not disclose the method comprising: establishing, prior to triggering direct admission of the requesting terminal into the first active collaborative session, a second synchronous communication session between the requesting terminal and one of the terminals participating in the first active collaborative session following an establishment request from said one of the participating terminals following the transmission of the active collaborative session access request message.
In an analogous art, Coffman discloses the method comprising: establishing, prior to triggering direct admission of the requesting terminal into the first active collaborative session, a second synchronous communication session between the requesting terminal and one of the terminals participating in the first active collaborative session following an establishment request from said one of the participating terminals following the transmission of the active collaborative session access request message ([0019], [0038]: the virtual waiting room allows a single virtual meeting room to be used for adjacent meetings. The notification and user interface button are presented to the meeting room owner only during an existing meeting, and includes text to explain that there are attendees waiting for the next meeting, and that the meeting room owner can click a button to open the virtual waiting room so that those attendees/invitees who are waiting can be connected to the virtual waiting room. In other words, analogous to a real meeting room, the notification at 250 informs the meeting room owner that there are one or more invitees who have requested to enter the room. [0058]: During this meeting in virtual meeting room 600, a new meeting attendee Bob arrives. Since Tom is still in a meeting with Charles, Bob is automatically put into a virtual waiting room).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sinha to comprise “the method comprising: establishing, prior to triggering direct admission of the requesting terminal into the first active collaborative session, a second synchronous communication session between the requesting terminal and one of the terminals participating in the first active collaborative session following an establishment request from said one of the participating terminals following the transmission of the active collaborative session access request message” taught by Coffman.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled for the waiting room to become ready for attendees/invitees, for waiting room attendees to interact with each other while in the virtual waiting room, and for meeting room owner interactions with the virtual waiting room interactions (Coffman, [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Sinha-Coffman discloses the method for accessing directly a first secure active collaborative communication session as claimed in claim 6, the method comprising: closing the second communication session upon implementing one step from among the following steps: receiving an acceptance by the participating terminal of the second communication session; triggering direct admission of the requesting terminal into the first active collaborative session (Coffman, [0060]: At some point after the meeting room owner Tom interacts with Bob via voice and video, by clicking the button 650 and clicking the button 650 again to return to the meeting with Charles, the meeting room owner Tom decides that Bob should be admitted/added to the in-progress meeting with Charles. To add/admit Bob to the meeting, the meeting room owner Tom clicks another button 660. When this happens, Bob is added to the in-progress meeting and an example of the user interface that Tom sees is shown in FIG. 9D. Bob is moved from the virtual waiting room and added to the virtual meeting room with any other attendee already in the virtual meeting room. The meeting room owner Tom, attendee Charles and attendee Bob can all interact with each other in the virtual meeting room. Once Bob is added to the virtual meeting room, and assuming there is nobody else in the virtual waiting room, the virtual waiting room can be closed and the resources for the virtual waiting room can be released). The same rationale applies as in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Kotnis et al., US 2023/0136777 A1: Communication Channel Into a Conference Session of a Subsequent Meeting When a Current Meeting Overruns.
Ravichandran, US 2020/0177647 A1: Call to Meeting Upgrade.
Rosenberg et al., US 2019/0245898 A1: Managing Access to Communication Sessions with Communication Identifiers of Users and Using Chat Applications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446