DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 1-34 are pending, as which claim 1 is independent claim.
Claims 1-34 are amended.
Claims 1-34 are examined as follow:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 15th 2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
In claims 23 and 25:
The limitation of “bottom wall”.
the limitation “wherein the second magnetic element are arranged on the bottom wall of the cup-shape body”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 26 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the term “coupleable” should change to “couplable”.
In claim 8, the term “motorised” should change to “motorized”.
In claim 15:
the term “coupleable” should change to “couplable”.
the term “motorised” should change to “motorized”.
In claim 19, the term “motorised” should change to “motorized”.
In claim 26:
the term “coupleable” should change to “couplable”.
the term “motorised” should change to “motorized”.
In claim 30, the term “motorised” should change to “motorized”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “coupling device” in claims 6 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device" coupled with functional language “… configured to cause …” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is only preceded by an insufficient structural modifier “coupling” only. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “coupling device" has been described in Page 1/19 line 27-29 cited: “…a bayonet coupling device formed of at least two radial fins carried by the filter-holder and a corresponding number of slots formed in the annular supporting body.…”.
Claim limitation “automation device” in claims 6 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device" coupled with functional language “… configured to cause …” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is only preceded by an insufficient structural modifier “automation” only. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “automation device" has been described in Page 9/19 first line cited: “…The automation device 29 comprises a toothed ringnut 30 carried by the supporting body 6 and mounted to rotate around the axis 20, and a drive device 31operatively coupled to the toothed ringnut30torotate it around the axis 20 and drive it between a rest configuration, in which an operator is allowed to couple the filter-holder 7 to the supporting body 6 in order to arrange it in the insertion configuration, and an operating configuration in which the filter-holder 7 is in the tight coupling configuration.…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1:
The limitation of “…wherein the user interface is configured to sense an action by a user on the filter-holder or a force applied by a user to the frame either directly or indirectly through the filter-holder, and to cause beverage delivery to start and stop in response to a sensed action or force…” is indefinite, it is unclear that the “a sensed action or force” is related to “sense an action by a user on the filter-holder or a force applied by a user to the frame either directly or indirectly through the filter-holder” or not, are there two different unrelate sensed or they are the same sensed? Clarification is required.
The limitation “a user” is recited twice in the claim line 7 and 12-13, it is unclear how many user are being cited and are those two different users or the same. Clarification is required.
In claim 3:
The limitation “a user” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many user are being cited and are those two different users or the same. Clarification is required.
The limitation “an action” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many action are being cited and are those two different action or the same. Clarification is required.
The limitation “a force” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many force are being cited and are those two different force or the same. Clarification is required.
The limitation “…a force applied by the user an area of the frame…” is indefinite, it seems like there are missing some words, it is unclear what is actually being claimed in such limitation. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that the limitation is intended as “…a force applied directly by the user on an area of the frame…” (refer to the claims set that is not yet amended for the reason that examiner make such assumption).
In claim 10:
The limitation “a user” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many user are being cited and are those two different users or the same. Clarification is required.
The limitation “an action” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many action are being cited and are those two different action or the same. Clarification is required.
The limitation “a force” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many force are being cited and are those two different force or the same. Clarification is required.
The limitation “beverage delivery” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many delivery are being cited and are those two different delivery or the same. Clarification is required.
In claim 12, The limitation “a force” is already recited in the claim 1, it is unclear how many force are being cited and are those two different force or the same. Clarification is required.
In claim 13, the limitation “…micro-movement…” is indefinite, because the term “micro” is a relevant term, it is unclear how much movement is considered as “micro”. Furthermore the specification does not provide details of what range of movement is considered as micro-movement. Clarification is required.
In claim 20 is indefinite, because the term of “operator”, it is unclear is operator considered as user in claim 1, or there are the same. Clarification is required.
In claim 21 is indefinite, because the term of “operator”, it is unclear is operator considered as user in claim 1, or there are the same. Clarification is required.
In claim 31 is indefinite, because the term of “operator”, it is unclear is operator considered as user in claim 1, or there are the same. Clarification is required.
In claim 32 is indefinite, because the term of “operator”, it is unclear is operator considered as user in claim 1, or there are the same. Clarification is required.
Claim 2, 4-9, 11, 13-20, 22-30, and 33-34 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 , 5-6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571.
Regarding claim 1, WO39571 discloses a coffee machine (device #1, fig.1 and 2) comprising:
a frame (move able body #4, fig.);
a supporting body (water-steam shower #2b, fig.2) mounted to the frame (move able body #4, fig.) that delivers hot water (refer to “water-steam shower” for #2b) for producing a beverage (refer as coffee in the specification);
a filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1) that is fillable with a brewing material (refer as ground coffee in the specification) and is releasably coupleable to the supporting body (water-steam shower #2b, fig.2) to receive the hot water (refer to “water-steam shower” for #2b) therefrom for brewing the brewing material (refer as ground coffee in the specification) to produce the beverage (refer as coffee in the specification);
a user interface (sensor element #17 and #18, fig.2) that allows a user to control operation of the coffee machine (device #1, fig.1 and 2);
wherein the user interface (sensor element #17 and #18, fig.2) is configured to sense an action by a user on the filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1) or a force applied by a user to the frame either directly or indirectly through the filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1), and to cause beverage (refer as coffee in the specification) delivery to start and stop in response to a sensed action or force (refer to page 8, line 5 to 13 cited: “…When in the seat 8 is introduced the first type of filter holder 3, then only one of the two sensor elements 18 is energized while, when in the seat 8 is introduced the second type of filter holder 3, then both sensor elements 18 are energized. It is easy to understand, therefore, that such sensor means 17 enable the device 1 (and, consequently, the coffee machine with the device 1) to recognize in a practical and easy manner not only whether the filter holder 3 is inserted in the seat 8, but also whether it is a filter holder 3 which contains one dose of coffee or two doses of coffee, to set the dispensing of a corresponding amount of steam through the filter holder 3, optionally in a completely automated way.…”).
Regarding claim 2, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, WO39571 further discloses wherein the user interface (sensor element #17 and #18, fig.2) is further configured to cause hot water delivery (refer as “water-steam shower) in Page 4 line 17 to 21 cited: “…The device 1 is associated with a dispensing assembly 2 of a coffee machine. The latter has a rounded body 2a with a lower abutment portion 2b (so-called "water-steam shower") able to be coupled to a filter holder 3 having a containment portion 3a in which the dose of coffee powder to be dispensed is inserted…”) to the filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1) to start and stop in respond a sensed action or force (refer to page 8, line 5 to 13 cited: “…When in the seat 8 is introduced the first type of filter holder 3, then only one of the two sensor elements 18 is energized while, when in the seat 8 is introduced the second type of filter holder 3, then both sensor elements 18 are energized. It is easy to understand, therefore, that such sensor means 17 enable the device 1 (and, consequently, the coffee machine with the device 1) to recognize in a practical and easy manner not only whether the filter holder 3 is inserted in the seat 8, but also whether it is a filter holder 3 which contains one dose of coffee or two doses of coffee, to set the dispensing of a corresponding amount of steam through the filter holder 3, optionally in a completely automated way.…”).
Regarding claim 5, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, WO39571 further discloses wherein the user interface (sensor element #17 and #18, fig.2) comprises: an electronic sensory system (refer as “”hall effect type” in page 6 line 31-32 cited: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field…”) configured to sense either the action by the user on the filter-holder the force applied to the frame by the user, and responsively output an electrical output of the electronic sensory system to cause beverage delivery to start and stop in response to sensed action for forces (refer to page 8, line 5 to 13 cited: “…When in the seat 8 is introduced the first type of filter holder 3, then only one of the two sensor elements 18 is energized while, when in the seat 8 is introduced the second type of filter holder 3, then both sensor elements 18 are energized. It is easy to understand, therefore, that such sensor means 17 enable the device 1 (and, consequently, the coffee machine with the device 1) to recognize in a practical and easy manner not only whether the filter holder 3 is inserted in the seat 8, but also whether it is a filter holder 3 which contains one dose of coffee or two doses of coffee, to set the dispensing of a corresponding amount of steam through the filter holder 3, optionally in a completely automated way.…”); and
An electronic control unit (refer to the capability of “recognition” cited below, and the electrical signal generated by sensor, in view of those two disclosure such that an controller is inherently disclosed) communicatively coupled to the electronic sensory system (refer as “”hall effect type” in page 6 line 31-32 cited: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field…”) that receives the electrical output (refer to signal of “hall effect”) thereof and generates electrical commands for an automation device based on the electrical output (refer to signal of “hall effect”) of the electronic sensory system (refer as “”hall effect type” in page 6 line 31-32 cited: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field…”) to cause beverage delivery to start and stop in response to sensed action or force(refer to page 8, line 5 to 13 cited: “…When in the seat 8 is introduced the first type of filter holder 3, then only one of the two sensor elements 18 is energized while, when in the seat 8 is introduced the second type of filter holder 3, then both sensor elements 18 are energized. It is easy to understand, therefore, that such sensor means 17 enable the device 1 (and, consequently, the coffee machine with the device 1) to recognize in a practical and easy manner not only whether the filter holder 3 is inserted in the seat 8, but also whether it is a filter holder 3 which contains one dose of coffee or two doses of coffee, to set the dispensing of a corresponding amount of steam through the filter holder 3, optionally in a completely automated way.…”).
Regarding claim 6, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, WO39571 further discloses a coupling device (Seat #8 and annotated “second coupling part in fig.2) comprising a first coupling part (seat #8, fig.2) mounted on the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) and a second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) carried by the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2); the coupling device (Seat #8 and annotated “second coupling part in fig.2) is configured to cause the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) to assume a tight-coupling configuration (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 below), in which the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is tight-coupled (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 below) to the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2),starting from an insertion configuration (refer to the insertion of filter holder #3 in fig.1 and 2), in which the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is loosely inserted to the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2), as a result of a relative movement (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 below) of the first coupling part (seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2), and an automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) configured to cause the first coupling part (seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) to relatively move at least partially automatically (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 cited: “…The operation of the present invention is as follows.
By inserting the filter holder 3 containing the coffee powder in the seat 8, the sensor means 17 detect its position.
At this point, in an automatic way or by means of a command button, it is possible to activate the electric motor 10, which starts and transfers the rotary motion to the cylindrical body 15 by means of the reduction unit 19.
The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N.…”).
Regarding claim 9, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, WO39571 further discloses wherein the user interface (sensor element #17 and #18, fig.2) is further configured to operate the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) to cause the coupling device (sensor element #17 and #18, fig.2) to tight-couple (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 above) and uncouple in response to the sensed actions (refer to the sensing action of sensor element #17) or forces.
Regarding claim 11, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 9, WO39571 further discloses wherein the user interface (sensor element #17 and #18, fig.2) comprises: an electronic sensory system (refer as “”hall effect type” in page 6 line 31-32 cited: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field…”) configured to sense either the action by the user on the filter-holder the force applied to the frame by the user and responsively output an electrical output indicative of sensed actions (refer as the sensor element #17 and #18 detection of the action of inserting the filter holder by user) or forces; and an electronic control unit (refer to control unit and electronic control unit cited in Page 7 line 24 to 30 cited: “…the sensor means 17 are connected to the electric motor 10 by interposition of a processing and control unit, of the type of an electronic control unit, which manages the switching on and off of the electric motor 10 according to what has been detected by the sensor means 17.
The sensor means 17 comprise at least a sensor element 18 associated with the movable body 4 and able to detect the presence of the filter holder 3 when it is inserted in the seat 8…”)) configured to output electrical commands for the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) based on the electrical output (refer the electrical output of the hall effect) of the electronic sensory system (refer as “”hall effect type” in page 6 line 31-32 cited: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field…”) to cause the coupling device (Seat #8 and annotated “second coupling part in fig.2) to tight- couple and uncouple in response to sensed actions (refer as the sensor element #17 and #18 detection of the action of inserting the filter holder by user) or forces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Grassia et al (US2016/0128507A1) herein set forth as Grassia.
Regarding claim 3, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, WO39571 does not explicitly disclose wherein the user interface is further configured to sense either an action by a user on the filter-holder that is either rightwards, leftwards, upwards, and downwards, or a force applied directly by the user an area of the frame.
In the similar field of coffee brewing, Grassia discloses wherein the user interface (switch or micro switch #140, fig.14) is further configured to sense either an action by a user on the filter-holder that is either rightwards (refer to the arrow annotated in fig.14), leftwards, upwards, and downwards, or a force applied directly by the user an area of frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substitute WO39571’s user interface with Grassia’s user interface, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable, in order to provide a more motion related detection, that ensure the user had completed a certain action, such that would reduce of defected beverage and better controlled brewing times.
Regarding claim 4, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, WO39571 does not explicitly disclose wherein the user interface is further configured to sense either an action by a user on the filter-holder that is either rightwards, leftwards, upwards, and downwards, or a force applied directly by the user an area of frame on opposite sides of the supporting body.
In the similar field of coffee brewing, Grassia discloses wherein the user interface (switch or micro switch #140, fig.14) is further configured to sense (refer to the switching sensing of switch #140 in fig.14) either an action by a user (refer to the movement by the user indicated as the annotated arrow in fig.14) on the filter-holder (portafilter #141, fig.14) that is either rightwards (refer to the arrow annotated in fig.14), leftwards, upwards, and downwards, or a force applied directly by the user an area of frame on the opposite sides of the supporting body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substitute WO39571’s user interface with Grassia’s user interface, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable, in order to provide a more motion related detection, that ensure the user had completed a certain action, such that would reduce of defected beverage and better controlled brewing times.
Regarding claim 12, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, WO39571 already discloses in the rejection above, wherein the electronic sensory system comprises one or more sensors coupled to the frame to sense the filter-holder present.
WO39571 does not explicitly disclose to sense forces applied to the frame either directly or indirectly- through the filter-holder.
In the similar field of coffee brewing, Grassia discloses wherein the sensor (micro switch #140, fig.14) coupled to the frame (refer to “frame” annotated in fig.15) to sense forces applied to the frame (refer to “frame” annotated in fig.15) either directly or indirectly- through the filter-holder (portafilter #141, fig.14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substitute WO39571’s user interface with Grassia’s user interface, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable for sensing and detecting the filter holder, in order to provide a more motion related detection, that ensure the user had completed a certain action, such that would reduce of defected beverage and better controlled brewing times.
Regarding claim 13, the modification of WO39571 and Grassia discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, WO39571 already discloses in the rejection above, wherein the electronic sensory system comprises one or more sensors coupled to the frame to sense the filter-holder present. WO39571 does not discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more motion sensors coupled to the frame to sense micro-movements of the frame caused by the forces applied to the frame either directly or indirectly- through the filter-holder.
In the similar field of coffee brewing, Grassia discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more motion sensors (micro switch #140, fig.14) coupled to the frame to sense micro-movements (refer to the term “micro” for micro switch #140 in fig.14) of the frame (refer to “frame” annotated in fig.15) caused by the forces applied to the frame (refer to “frame” annotated in fig.15) either directly or indirectly- through the filter-holder (portafilter #141, fig.14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substitute WO39571’s user interface with Grassia’s user interface, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable for sensing and detecting the filter holder, in order to provide a more motion related detection, that ensure the user had completed a certain action, such that would reduce of defected beverage and better controlled brewing times.
Claims 7-8, 15-16, 18-21 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Wang (US2007/0034085A1) herein set forth as Wang.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of WO3957 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, WO3957 further discloses the coupling device (Seat #8 and annotated “second coupling part in fig.2) is configured to cause the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) to assume the tight-coupling configuration, however, WO3957 does not disclose the tight-coupling configuration as a result of a relative rotation of the first coupling part and the second coupling part.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses the tight-coupling configuration as a result of a relative rotation (refer to the rotational angle of lock and unlock position annotated in fig.4) of the first coupling part (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with an automation device (29) configured to cause the first coupling part (24) and the second coupling part (16) to relatively move at least partially automatically, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 8, the mortification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 7, WO39571 does not explicitly disclose wherein the supporting body has an axis, and wherein the automation device comprises a motorized member operable to relatively rotate the first coupling part and the second coupling part about the axis of the supporting body (6) and in opposite rotational directions.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang further discloses wherein the supporting body (coffee maker body #23, fig.1) has an axis (refer to the angle value annotated in fig.4), and wherein the automation device (driven gear #3, synchronous motor #4 and pinion #5 in fig.4) comprises a motorized member (synchronous motor #4, fig.4) operable to relatively rotate the first coupling part (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 2) about the axis (refer to the angle value annotated in fig.4) of the supporting body (coffee maker body #23, fig.1) and in opposite rotational directions (referring driven gear #3 rotating only latches #2 and chamber seat #7 in fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the supporting body has an axis, and wherein the automation device comprises a motorized member operable to relatively rotate the first coupling part and the second coupling part about the axis of the supporting body and in opposite rotational directions, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 15, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, WO39571 further discloses wherein the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) comprises a motorised member (electric motor #10, fig.1) operable to relatively move seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) about an axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) of the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) and in opposite seat #8, fig.2) is integral with the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2),and wherein the motorized member (electric motor #10, fig.1) comprises a ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3), which that is rotatably mounted on the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) to rotate about the axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) and is designed to be couplable to the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2), when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is in the insertion configuration, so as to become angularly integral (refer to the integral of seat #8 and “second coupling part” annotated in fig.2) with the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2); and wherein the ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3) is operable to refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) relative to the first coupling part (seat #8, fig.2) so as to move the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) from the insertion configuration (refer to the filter holder #3 insertion in to seat #8 in fig.1-2) to the tight-coupling configuration (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 cited: “…The operation of the present invention is as follows.
By inserting the filter holder 3 containing the coffee powder in the seat 8, the sensor means 17 detect its position.
At this point, in an automatic way or by means of a command button, it is possible to activate the electric motor 10, which starts and transfers the rotary motion to the cylindrical body 15 by means of the reduction unit 19.
The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N.…”), and vice versa.
However, WO39571 does not discloses the relative movement is a rotation.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the motorized motor (motor #4, fig.4) move the first (locking pin #11, fig.1) and second (latches #2, fig.1 and 4) coupling parts to a relative rotational (referring driven gear #3 rotating only latches #2 and chamber seat #7 in fig.4) movement to the tighten configuration (refer to abstract as “seal”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the motorized motor move the first and second coupling parts to a relative rotational movement to the tighten configuration, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 16, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 15, WO39571 further discloses wherein the ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3) comprises a seat (seat #8, fig.2) configured to be engageable, when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is in the insertion configuration (refer to the filter holder #3 insertion in to seat #8 in fig.1-2), by a part of the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2).
WO39571 does not disclose wherein to cause the filter- holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein to cause the filter- holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) and the ring nut (driven gear #3) to become angularly integral.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the motorized motor move the first and second coupling parts to a relative rotational movement to the tighten configuration, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 16, WO39571 does not explicitly disclose wherein the seat is defined by a pocket integral with the ring nut and is configured to be engageable by the second coupling part of the filter-holder when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration so as to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the seat is defined by a pocket integral with the ring nut (driven gear #3, fig.4) and is configured to be engageable by the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 2) of the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) when the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration (refer as the #11 and #2 in fig.1 insert into each other) so as to cause the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) and the ring nut (driven gear #3, fig.4) to become angularly integral (refer to the angular annotation in fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the seat is defined by a pocket integral with the ring nut and is configured to be engageable by the second coupling part of the filter-holder when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration so as to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 19, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, WO39571 further disclose wherein the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) comprises a motorised member (electric motor #10, fig.1) operable to relatively seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) about an axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) of the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) and in opposite refer the compression action cited in Page 9 line 30 to Page 10 line 6: “…The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N…”), the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) comprises a motorised member (electric motor #10, fig.1) operable to relatively seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (movable body #4, fig.2) about an axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) of the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2).
WO39571 does not disclose the use of relative rotation and opposite rotational direction for the first coupling part and the second coupling part.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses the use of the rotation and opposite rotational direction (refer to the angular annotation in fig.4) for the first coupling part (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with the use of relative rotation and opposite rotational direction for the first coupling part and the second coupling part, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 20, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 19, WO39571 does not disclose wherein the supporting body is shaped to cooperate with the second coupling part when the filter- holder is in the insertion configuration so as to substantially prevent the filter-holder from rotating about the axis during rotation of the ring nut, so as to assume one and the same configuration relative to an operator both in the insertion configuration and in the tight-coupling configuration.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang further discloses wherein the supporting body (coffee maker body #23, fig.1) is shaped to cooperate with the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 2) when the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion #2 and #11 in fig.1) so as to substantially prevent the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) from rotating about the axis (refer to the axis of the angular annotation on fig.4) during rotation of the ring nut (driven gear #3, fig.4), so as to assume one and the same configuration relative to an operator both in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion #2 and #11 in fig.1) and in the tight-coupling configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the supporting body is shaped to cooperate with the second coupling part when the filter- holder is in the insertion configuration so as to substantially prevent the filter-holder from rotating about the axis during rotation of the ring nut, so as to assume one and the same configuration relative to an operator both in the insertion configuration and in the tight-coupling configuration, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 21, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 19, WO39571 further discloses wherein ring nut (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) is angularly oriented around the axis (refer to the axis of the reduction unit #19 in fig.3) so that both in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion of #3 into #8 in fig.1) and in the tight-coupling configuration the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) assumes, relative to an operator, a frontal configuration (refer to the #3 where operator holding #3 in fig.1 and 2) in which a handle (refer to the handle of filter holder #3 in fig.1) of the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is arranged frontally relative to the operator.
Regarding claim 33, the modification WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 15, WO39571 further discloses wherein the ring nut (screw nut #15, fig.3) has a toothing (refer to the toothing on the screw nut of #15 in fig.3), and wherein the automation device (sliding mean #10, #11 and #15 in fig.fig.1-3) comprises an electric actuator (electric motor #10, fig.1-3) and a gear transmission (reduction unit #19 fig.3) to kinematically couple the electric actuator (electric motor #10, fig.1-3) and the ring nut (screw nut #15, fig.3).
Regarding claim 34, the modification WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 15, WO39571 further discloses wherein the filter-holder (filter holder#3, fig.1) and the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) are fluid-tightly coupled in the tight-coupling configuration (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 cited: “…The operation of the present invention is as follows.
By inserting the filter holder 3 containing the coffee powder in the seat 8, the sensor means 17 detect its position.
At this point, in an automatic way or by means of a command button, it is possible to activate the electric motor 10, which starts and transfers the rotary motion to the cylindrical body 15 by means of the reduction unit 19.
The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N.…”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Psarologos et al (US2016/0296061A1) herein set forth as Psarologos.
Regarding claim 10, WO39571 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 9, WO39571 already discloses in the rejections above, wherein the user interface to start and stop beverage delivery in response to the user interface sensed.
WO39571 does not disclose wherein the user interface is further configured to sense either rightwards, leftwards, upwards, and downwards actions by a user on the filter-holder or a forces directly applied by a-the user on areas of the frame right of, the left of, above, and below the supporting body, and to cause the coupling device to tight-couple and uncouple in response either to the sensed rightwards and leftwards actions or to the sensed forces on right of and left of the supporting body, and to start and stop beverage delivery in response either to the sensed upwards and downwards actions or to the sensed forces above and below the supporting body, or vice versa.
In the similar field of coffee preparing apparatus, Psarologas discloses wherein the user interface (control #16, knot #21, switch #22, fig.1) is further configured to sense a forces (refer as the user operating the control, knot and switch) directly applied by the user on areas of the frame (ledge #12, fig.1) above (refer to the location of control #16, knot #21, switch #22, fig.1) the supporting body (support cradle #14, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the user interface is further configured to sense a forces directly applied by a-the user on areas of the frame above the supporting body, as taught by Psarologas, in order to provide an easy access to control and operating the coffee machine, such that would be more user friendly and better user experience.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Grassia et al (US2016/0128507A1) herein set forth as Grassia, and further in view of ABBIATI (US2018/0153332A1) herein set forth as ABBIATI.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of WO39571 and Grassia discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, WO39571 and Grassia does not disclose wherein the one or more motion sensors comprise one or more load cells.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, ABBIATI discloses the use of load cell for sensor use (refer to Paragraph 0087 cited: “…The drive system 7 is connected to the load transfer structure 55. It will be appreciated that the mass as measured by the load cell 6 is also inclusive of the mass of the drive system 7…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s sensor to be a load cell, as taught by ABBIATI, in order to provide the ability to monitor the mass of the ingredient in the filter and provide control to a specific recipe or pre-determined range, such that would improve user experience, easy to use and better control of recipe amount.
Claims 17 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Wang (US2007/0034085A1) herein set forth as Wang, and further in view of WO2010/031281A1 herein set forth as WO31281A1.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 16, WO39571 further discloses wherein the seat (seat #8, fig.2) is configured to be arrangeable astride a handle (filter holder#3, fig.1) of the filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1) when the filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion of filter holder #3 in fig.1 and 2).
WO39571 does not discloses wherein the seat is defined by a fork integral with the ring nut; and to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the seat (seat #7, fig.4) is defined by the ring nut (driven gear #3); and to cause the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) and the ring nut (driven gear #3) to become angularly integral (refer to the angular annotation in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the seat is defined by the ring nut and to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Wang does not discloses a fork integral with the ring nut.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, WO31281 discloses a fork (refer to “fork” annotated in fig.5) integral with the ring nut (refer to “ring nut” annotated in fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with a fork integral with the ring nut, as taught by WO31281, in order to provide a more secure control of the filter holder and also provide a visual fixture for use to know the handle is being secured by the coffee machine at the right location, such that a better user experience on operating the coffee machine.
Regarding claim 28, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 27, WO39571 further discloses wherein the seat (seat #8, fig.2) is configured to be arrangeable astride a handle (filter holder#3, fig.1) of the filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1) when the filter-holder (containment portion #3a, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion of filter holder #3 in fig.1 and 2).
WO39571 does not discloses wherein the seat is defined by a fork integral with the ring nut; and to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the seat (seat #7, fig.4) is defined by the ring nut (driven gear #3); and to cause the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) and the ring nut (driven gear #3) to become angularly integral (refer to the angular annotation in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the seat is defined by the ring nut and to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Wang does not discloses a fork integral with the ring nut.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, WO31281 discloses a fork (refer to “fork” annotated in fig.5) integral with the ring nut (refer to “ring nut” annotated in fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with a fork integral with the ring nut, as taught by WO31281, in order to provide a more secure control of the filter holder and also provide a visual fixture for use to know the handle is being secured by the coffee machine at the right location, such that a better user experience on operating the coffee machine.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Wang (US2007/0034085A1) herein set forth as Wang, and further in view of Reid (US2008/0092748A1) herein set forth as Reid.
Regarding claim 22, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 15. WO39571 further discloses a magnetic positioning device (sensor element #18, fig.2 and refer to “Hall effect” sensor type cited in Page 7 line 31 to Page 8 line 1: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field, and the filter holder 3 has at least a magnetized body 21, of a permanent magnet type or the like, which, when the filter holder 3 is inserted inside the seat 8…”) that facilitates positioning of the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.1 and 2) in the insertion configuration when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.1 and 2) is approached to the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2); wherein the magnetic positioning device (sensor element #18, fig.2 and refer to “Hall effect” sensor type cited in Page 7 line 31 to Page 8 line 1: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field, and the filter holder 3 has at least a magnetized body 21, of a permanent magnet type or the like, which, when the filter holder 3 is inserted inside the seat 8…”); when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.1 and 2) is in or is about to assume the insertion configuration.
WO37581 or Wang does not disclose comprises one or more first magnetic elements associated with the supporting body and one or more second magnetic elements associated with the second coupling part ;wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements.
In the similar field of apparatus for brewing beverage, Reid discloses comprises one or more first magnetic elements (#14b, fig.2) associated with the supporting body (#4b, fig.2) and one or more second magnetic elements (#14a, fig.2) associated with the second coupling part (#4a, fig.2);wherein the first magnetic elements (#14b, fig.2) are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements (#14a, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO37581’s coffee machine with comprises one or more first magnetic elements associated with the supporting body and one or more second magnetic elements associated with the second coupling part ;wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements, as taught by Reid, in order to provide a better, stronger coupling, and also easier to couple with magnetic.
Regarding claim 23, the modification of WO37581, Wang and Reid discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 22, WO37581 further discloses wherein the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.1 and 2) comprises a cup-shaped body (refer to the shape of #3a in fig.1) having a bottom wall and an open end delimited by an edge (refer to the structure of #3a in fig.1), and wherein the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) comprises a brewing hot water outlet (refer as “water-steam shower) in Page 4 line 17 to 21 cited: “…The device 1 is associated with a dispensing assembly 2 of a coffee machine. The latter has a rounded body 2a with a lower abutment portion 2b (so-called "water-steam shower") able to be coupled to a filter holder 3 having a containment portion 3a in which the dose of coffee powder to be dispensed is inserted…”) and a seal (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 cited: “…The operation of the present invention is as follows.
By inserting the filter holder 3 containing the coffee powder in the seat 8, the sensor means 17 detect its position.
At this point, in an automatic way or by means of a command button, it is possible to activate the electric motor 10, which starts and transfers the rotary motion to the cylindrical body 15 by means of the reduction unit 19.
The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N.…”) surrounding the brewing hot water outlet (refer as “water-steam shower) in Page 4 line 17 to 21 cited: “…The device 1 is associated with a dispensing assembly 2 of a coffee machine. The latter has a rounded body 2a with a lower abutment portion 2b (so-called "water-steam shower") able to be coupled to a filter holder 3 having a containment portion 3a in which the dose of coffee powder to be dispensed is inserted…”); when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.1 and 2) is approached to the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2), and wherein the first magnetic elements (sensor element #18, fig.2) face corresponding second magnetic elements (magnetized body #21).
WO37581 does not disclose wherein the first coupling part comprises a plurality of first projections and the second coupling part comprises a plurality of second projections; wherein the plurality of second projections are arranged on the filter-holder so as to avoid interference with the plurality of first projections when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration and to slidably cooperate with the plurality of first projections during relative rotation of the first coupling part and the second coupling part; wherein the first projections and the second projections are so shaped as to cause, during the relative rotation, the filter-holder and the supporting body to move one towards each the other so that, in the tight- coupling configuration, the edge of the filter-holder is fluid-tightly pressed against the seal, wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged on the bottom wall of the cup-shaped body, between the first plurality of projections, and wherein the second magnetic elements are carried by respective fins in positions such that, when the filter-holder is approached to the supporting body, and wherein the first magnetic elements face corresponding second magnetic elements.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the first coupling part (brewing chamber cover #19, fig.1-2) comprises a plurality of first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second coupling part (brewing chamber seat #7, fig.1) comprises a plurality of second projections (latches #2, fig.1); wherein the plurality of second projections (latches #2, fig.1) are arranged on the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) so as to avoid interference with the plurality of first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) when the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration and to slidably cooperate with the plurality of first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) during relative rotation of the first coupling part (brewing chamber cover #19, fig.1-2) and the second coupling part (brewing chamber seat #7, fig.1); wherein the first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second projections (latches #2, fig.1) are so shaped as to cause, during the relative rotation, the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) and the supporting body (top cover #10, fig.1) to move one towards each the other so that, in the tight- coupling configuration, the edge (referring the edge of seal ring #14 in fig.1) of the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) is fluid-tightly pressed against the seal (seal ring #14, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO37571’s coffee machine with wherein the first coupling part comprises a plurality of first projections and the second coupling part comprises a plurality of second projections; wherein the plurality of second projections are arranged on the filter-holder so as to avoid interference with the plurality of first projections when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration and to slidably cooperate with the plurality of first projections during relative rotation of the first coupling part and the second coupling part; wherein the first projections and the second projections are so shaped as to cause, during the relative rotation, the filter-holder and the supporting body to move one towards each the other so that, in the tight- coupling configuration, the edge of the filter-holder is fluid-tightly pressed against the seal, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Wang does not discloses wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged on the bottom wall of the cup-shaped body, between the first plurality of projections, and wherein the second magnetic elements are carried by respective fins in positions such that, when the filter-holder is approached to the supporting body, and wherein the first magnetic elements face corresponding second magnetic elements.
In the similar field of apparatus for brewing beverage, Reid discloses wherein the first magnetic elements (#14a, fig.2) are arranged on the bottom wall of the cup-shaped body (#4a, fig.2), between the first plurality of projections (#12, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO37571’s coffee machine with comprises one or more first magnetic elements associated with the supporting body and one or more second magnetic elements associated with the second coupling part ;wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements, as taught by Reid, in order to provide a better, stronger coupling, and also easier to couple with magnetic.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Reid (US2008/0092748A1) herein set forth as Reid.
Regarding claim 24, WO39571 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, WO39571 further discloses a positioning device (refer to the structure of #22 and #18 in fig.2) that facilitates positioning of the filter- holder (filter holder #3 in fig.1 and 2) in the insertion configuration; wherein the positioning device (refer to the structure of #22 and #18 in fig.2) is a magnetic positioning device (refer as “”hall effect type” in page 6 line 31-32 cited: “…the sensor element 18 is of the "Hall effect" sensor type, i.e. a transducer sensitive to the magnetic field…”) comprising one or more first magnetic elements (magnetic body #21 in fig.2) associated with the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.1 and 2) and associated with the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2), and wherein the first magnetic elements (magnetic body #21 in fig.2) are so arranged as to cooperate magnetically with the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) when the filter-holder (filter holder #3 in fig.1 and 2) is in, or is about to assume, the insertion configuration.
WO39571 does not disclose one or more second magnetic element in the second coupling part.
In the similar field of apparatus for brewing beverage, Reid discloses comprises one or more first magnetic elements (#14b, fig.2) associated with the supporting body (#4b, fig.2) and one or more second magnetic elements (#14a, fig.2) associated with the second coupling part (#4a, fig.2);wherein the first magnetic elements (#14b, fig.2) are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements (#14a, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO37581’s coffee machine with comprises one or more first magnetic elements associated with the supporting body and one or more second magnetic elements associated with the second coupling part ;wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements, as taught by Reid, in order to provide a better, stronger coupling, and also easier to couple with magnetic.
Claims 25-27, 29 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016/139571 herein set forth as WO39571, in view of Reid (US2008/0092748A1) herein set forth as Reid, further in view of Wang (US2007/0034085A1) herein set forth as Wang.
Regarding claim 25, the modification of WO39571 and Reid discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 24, WO39571 further discloses wherein the filter-holder (filter holder #3 in fig.1 and 2) comprises a cup-shaped body (referring the shape of #17 in fig.1 and 2) having a bottom wall (refer to the wall of #17 in fig.1 and 2) and an open end (refer to the opening of #3a in fig.1 and 2) delimited by an edge (referring the edge of the opening of #3a in fig.1 and 2), wherein the supporting body (moveable body #4, fig.1 and 2) comprises a brewing hot water outlet (refer as “water-steam shower) in Page 4 line 17 to 21 cited: “…The device 1 is associated with a dispensing assembly 2 of a coffee machine. The latter has a rounded body 2a with a lower abutment portion 2b (so-called "water-steam shower") able to be coupled to a filter holder 3 having a containment portion 3a in which the dose of coffee powder to be dispensed is inserted…”) and a seal (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 cited: “…The operation of the present invention is as follows.
By inserting the filter holder 3 containing the coffee powder in the seat 8, the sensor means 17 detect its position.
At this point, in an automatic way or by means of a command button, it is possible to activate the electric motor 10, which starts and transfers the rotary motion to the cylindrical body 15 by means of the reduction unit 19.
The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N.…”) surrounding the brewing hot water outlet (refer as “water-steam shower) in Page 4 line 17 to 21 cited: “…The device 1 is associated with a dispensing assembly 2 of a coffee machine. The latter has a rounded body 2a with a lower abutment portion 2b (so-called "water-steam shower") able to be coupled to a filter holder 3 having a containment portion 3a in which the dose of coffee powder to be dispensed is inserted…”).
WO39571 does not disclose wherein the first coupling part comprises a plurality of first projections and the second coupling part comprises a plurality of second projections; wherein the plurality of second projections are arranged on the filter-holder so as to avoid to interference with the plurality of first projections when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration and to slidably cooperate with the plurality of first projections during the relative rotation of the first coupling part and the second coupling part; wherein the plurality of first projections and plurality of the second projections are so shaped as to cause, during the relative rotation, the filter-holder and the supporting body to move one towards the each other so that, in the tight-coupling configuration, the edge of the filter- holder is fluid-tightly pressed against the seal; wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged on the bottom wall of the cup-shaped body, between the first projections, and wherein the second magnetic elements are carried by respective fins in positions such that, when the filter-holder is approached to the supporting body, and wherein the first magnetic elements face corresponding second magnetic elements.
In the similar field of apparatus for brewing beverage, Reid discloses wherein one or more first magnetic elements (#14b, fig.2) associated with the supporting body (#4b, fig.2) and one or more second magnetic elements (#14a, fig.2) associated with the second coupling part (#4a, fig.2);wherein the first magnetic elements (#14b, fig.2) are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements (#14a, fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO37581’s coffee machine with comprises one or more first magnetic elements associated with the supporting body and one or more second magnetic elements associated with the second coupling part ;wherein the first magnetic elements are arranged to cooperate magnetically with the second magnetic elements, as taught by Reid, in order to provide a better, stronger coupling, and also easier to couple with magnetic.
Reid does not disclose wherein the first coupling part comprises a plurality of first projections and the second coupling part comprises a plurality of second projections; wherein the plurality of second projections (16) are arranged on the filter-holder (7) so as to avoid to interference with the plurality of first projections (21) when the filter-holder (7) is in the insertion configuration and to slidably cooperate with the plurality of first projections (24) during the relative rotation of the first coupling part (24) and the second coupling part (16); wherein the plurality of first projections (21) and plurality of the second projections (16) are so shaped as to cause, during the relative rotation, the filter-holder (7) and the supporting body (6) to move one towards the each other so that, in the tight-coupling configuration, the edge (15) of the filter- holder (7) is fluid-tightly pressed against the seal (23)
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the first coupling part (brewing chamber cover #19, fig.1-2) comprises a plurality of first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second coupling part (brewing chamber seat #7, fig.1) comprises a plurality of second projections (latches #2, fig.1); wherein the plurality of second projections (latches #2, fig.1) are arranged on the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) so as to avoid interference with the plurality of first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) when the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration and to slidably cooperate with the plurality of first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) during relative rotation of the first coupling part (brewing chamber cover #19, fig.1-2) and the second coupling part (brewing chamber seat #7, fig.1); wherein the first projections (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second projections (latches #2, fig.1) are so shaped as to cause, during the relative rotation, the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) and the supporting body (top cover #10, fig.1) to move one towards each the other so that, in the tight- coupling configuration, the edge (referring the edge of seal ring #14 in fig.1) of the filter-holder (brewing chamber #17, fig.1) is fluid-tightly pressed against the seal (seal ring #14, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO37571’s coffee machine with wherein the first coupling part comprises a plurality of first projections and the second coupling part comprises a plurality of second projections; wherein the plurality of second projections are arranged on the filter-holder so as to avoid interference with the plurality of first projections when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration and to slidably cooperate with the plurality of first projections during relative rotation of the first coupling part and the second coupling part; wherein the first projections and the second projections are so shaped as to cause, during the relative rotation, the filter-holder and the supporting body to move one towards each the other so that, in the tight- coupling configuration, the edge of the filter-holder is fluid-tightly pressed against the seal, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 26, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 24, WO39571 further discloses wherein the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) comprises a motorised member (electric motor #10, fig.1) operable to relatively move seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) about an axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) of the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) and in opposite seat #8, fig.2) is integral with the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2),and wherein the motorized member (electric motor #10, fig.1) comprises a ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3), which that is rotatably mounted on the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) to rotate about the axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) and is designed to be couplable to the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2), when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is in the insertion configuration, so as to become angularly integral (refer to the integral of seat #8 and “second coupling part” annotated in fig.2) with the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2); and wherein the ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3) is operable to refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) relative to the first coupling part (seat #8, fig.2) so as to move the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) from the insertion configuration (refer to the filter holder #3 insertion in to seat #8 in fig.1-2) to the tight-coupling configuration (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 cited: “…The operation of the present invention is as follows.
By inserting the filter holder 3 containing the coffee powder in the seat 8, the sensor means 17 detect its position.
At this point, in an automatic way or by means of a command button, it is possible to activate the electric motor 10, which starts and transfers the rotary motion to the cylindrical body 15 by means of the reduction unit 19.
The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N.…”), and vice versa.
However, WO39571 does not discloses the relative movement is a rotation.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the motorized motor (motor #4, fig.4) move the first (locking pin #11, fig.1) and second (latches #2, fig.1 and 4) coupling parts to a relative rotational (referring driven gear #3 rotating only latches #2 and chamber seat #7 in fig.4) movement to the tighten configuration (refer to abstract as “seal”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the motorized motor move the first and second coupling parts to a relative rotational movement to the tighten configuration, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 27, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 26, WO39571 further discloses wherein the ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3) comprises a seat (seat #8, fig.2) configured to be engageable, when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is in the insertion configuration (refer to the filter holder #3 insertion in to seat #8 in fig.1-2), by a part of the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2).
WO39571 does not disclose wherein to cause the filter- holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein to cause the filter- holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) and the ring nut (driven gear #3) to become angularly integral.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the motorized motor move the first and second coupling parts to a relative rotational movement to the tighten configuration, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 29, the modification of WO39571 and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 27, WO39571 does not explicitly disclose wherein the seat is defined by a pocket integral with the ring nut and is configured to be engageable by the second coupling part of the filter-holder when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration so as to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the seat is defined by a pocket integral with the ring nut (driven gear #3, fig.4) and is configured to be engageable by the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 2) of the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) when the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration (refer as the #11 and #2 in fig.1 insert into each other) so as to cause the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) and the ring nut (driven gear #3, fig.4) to become angularly integral (refer to the angular annotation in fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the seat is defined by a pocket integral with the ring nut and is configured to be engageable by the second coupling part of the filter-holder when the filter-holder is in the insertion configuration so as to cause the filter-holder and the ring nut to become angularly integral, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 30, the modification of WO39571 and Reid discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 24, WO39571 further discloses wherein the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) comprises a motorised member (electric motor #10, fig.1) operable to relatively seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) about an axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) of the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) and in opposite refer the compression action cited in Page 9 line 30 to Page 10 line 6: “…The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N…”), the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) comprises a motorised member (electric motor #10, fig.1) operable to relatively seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (movable body #4, fig.2) about an axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) of the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2);
wherein the automation device (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) comprises a motorised member (electric motor #10, fig.1) operable to relatively move seat #8, fig.2) and the second coupling part (refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) about an axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) of the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) and in opposite seat #8, fig.2) is integral with the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2),and wherein the motorized member (electric motor #10, fig.1) comprises a ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3), which that is rotatably mounted on the supporting body (movable body #4, fig.2) to rotate about the axis (refer as the axis of the electric motor #10 in fig.1) and is designed to be couplable to the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2), when the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is in the insertion configuration, so as to become angularly integral (refer to the integral of seat #8 and “second coupling part” annotated in fig.2) with the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2); and wherein the ring nut (reduction unit #19, fig.3) is operable to refer to the annotated “second coupling part” in fig.2) relative to the first coupling part (seat #8, fig.2) so as to move the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) from the insertion configuration (refer to the filter holder #3 insertion in to seat #8 in fig.1-2) to the tight-coupling configuration (refer to Page 9 line 22 to Page 10 line 6 cited: “…The operation of the present invention is as follows.
By inserting the filter holder 3 containing the coffee powder in the seat 8, the sensor means 17 detect its position.
At this point, in an automatic way or by means of a command button, it is possible to activate the electric motor 10, which starts and transfers the rotary motion to the cylindrical body 15 by means of the reduction unit 19.
The cylindrical body 15, thanks to the screw-nut screw system 11, 15, moves up along the main direction X guided by the support screw 11.
The latter, due to the rotation of the cylindrical body 15, is pushed downwards against the rounded body 2a and, due to the anti-rotation assembly 12, 13, does not rotate on itself and keeps stationary. The cylindrical body 15, being associated with the thrust bearings 16, drags the movable body 4 with it and, then, the seat 8 with the filter holder 3, lifting it. In particular, the filter holder 3 is brought to adhere to the rounded body 2a so as to compress the coffee contained in it and, thanks to the action of the electric motor 10, with pressures so as to ensure a sealing force even higher than 1000 N.…”), and vice versa.
However, WO39571 or Reid does not discloses the relative movement is a rotation; the use of relative rotation and opposite rotational direction for the first coupling part and the second coupling part.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses the use of the rotation and opposite rotational direction (refer to the angular annotation in fig.4) for the first coupling part (locking pin #11, fig.1) and the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 4); wherein the motorized motor (motor #4, fig.4) move the first (locking pin #11, fig.1) and second (latches #2, fig.1 and 4) coupling parts to a relative rotational (referring driven gear #3 rotating only latches #2 and chamber seat #7 in fig.4) movement to the tighten configuration (refer to abstract as “seal”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the motorized motor move the first and second coupling parts to a relative rotational movement to the tighten configuration, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 31, the modification of WO39571, Reid and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 30, WO39571 or Reid does not disclose wherein the supporting body is shaped to cooperate with the second coupling part when the filter- holder is in the insertion configuration so as to substantially prevent the filter-holder from rotating about the axis during rotation of the ring nut, so as to assume one and the same configuration relative to an operator both in the insertion configuration and in the tight-coupling configuration.
In the similar field of coffee brewing apparatus, Wang discloses wherein the supporting body (coffee maker body #23, fig.1) is shaped to cooperate with the second coupling part (latches #2, fig.1 and 2) when the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) is in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion #2 and #11 in fig.1) so as to substantially prevent the filter-holder (brewing chamber body #17, fig.1) from rotating about the axis (refer to the axis of the angular annotation on fig.4) during rotation of the ring nut (driven gear #3, fig.4), so as to assume one and the same configuration relative to an operator both in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion #2 and #11 in fig.1) and in the tight-coupling configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WO39571’s coffee machine with wherein the supporting body is shaped to cooperate with the second coupling part when the filter- holder is in the insertion configuration so as to substantially prevent the filter-holder from rotating about the axis during rotation of the ring nut, so as to assume one and the same configuration relative to an operator both in the insertion configuration and in the tight-coupling configuration, as taught by Wang, in order to provide more compact and smaller coffee machine as the motor no longer stick out of the frame as shown in WO39571, also a faster brewing of coffee and require less human operation of the machine, such that would reduce overhead cost and customer get their coffee faster.
Regarding claim 32, the modification WO39571, Reid and Wang discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 30, WO39571 further discloses wherein ring nut (sliding mean #10, 11 and 15 fig.1) is angularly oriented around the axis (refer to the axis of the reduction unit #19 in fig.3) so that both in the insertion configuration (refer to the insertion of #3 into #8 in fig.1) and in the tight-coupling configuration the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) assumes, relative to an operator, a frontal configuration (refer to the #3 where operator holding #3 in fig.1 and 2) in which a handle (refer to the handle of filter holder #3 in fig.1) of the filter-holder (filter holder #3, fig.2) is arranged frontally relative to the operator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN208837651U discloses a coffee maker that may read on almost every limitation cited in claim 1.
Psarologos et al (US2016/0296061A1) discloses an expresso maker that read on a lot of the limitation cited in claim 1.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 April 1st 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761