DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 16-30, and chronic inflammation (claim 27) for the species in the reply filed on November 11, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the election of species is improper because the restriction requirement does not show burden. This is not found persuasive because it is not required to establish burden for an election of species requirement in a 371 application because restriction in a 371 application is based on lack of unity requirements set forth in MPEP 1850 section rather than MPEP section 803.02 as asserted by applicant. Applicant also argues that the restriction between groups I and II is improper because a technical relationship exists between the two groups because they are drawn to a product and a process for using the product. However, MPEP section 1850 states that linked invention must have the same inventive concept as represented by a special technical feature. If the linking technical feature is not a special technical feature, then the groups of invention lack unity because the linking feature is not an inventive concept because it is a known concept. “Lack of unity of invention may be directly evident "a priori," i.e., before considering the claims in relation to any prior art, or may only become apparent "a posteriori," i.e., after taking the prior art into consideration. For example, independent claims to A + X, A + Y, X + Y can be said to lack unity a priori as there is no subject matter common to all claims. In the case of independent claims to A + X and A + Y, unity of invention is present a priori as A is common to both claims. However, if it can be established that A is known, there is lack of unity a posteriori, since A (be it a single feature or a group of features) is not a technical feature that defines a contribution over the prior art…”. Applicant also argues that the restriction is improper because burden has not been established. However, as discussed above, it is not required to establish burden in restrictions based on lack of unity.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
4. Claims 1-15, 21-26, 28, and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
5. Claims 16-20, 27, and 30 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. Claims 16-20 and 30 are indefinite because the metes and bounds of “quality of life” are unclear. It is unclear what parameters are used to determine “quality of life” and what would be considered an improvement in “quality of life.” Claim 16 states that the composition is administered to a human; however, it is unclear how to select the particular subject for administration because “quality of life” is indefinite.
7. Claim 27 is indefinite because it states that “improves quality of life based on chronic inflammation.” It is unclear what is meant by “based on chronic inflammation.” It appears that the claim intends to treat chronic inflammation or reduce chronic inflammation. However, clarification of the intended scope of the claim is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 16-20, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higashi (WO 2019/009437 – English translation).
Higashi teaches a fermented plant product that is the same as the product claimed by applicant as defined by applicant in paragraphs 6 and 9 of the specification. The reference teaches that the product is administered in a dosage of 0.1 g or more to reduce the incidence of spontaneous cancers. The reference teaches that chronic inflammation causes spontaneous cancers (see pages 2, 3, and 5 of the translation). Thus, the reference teaches administering the same composition as claimed to a subject with chronic inflammation. The reference does not specifically teach that the administration improves the “quality of life” of the subject. However, applicant’s claim 27 and the specification states the improvement in chronic inflammation and reduction in the incidence of spontaneous cancer improves the “quality of life” (see paragraphs 9 and 13). Thus, the reference method should inherently result in the improvement in “quality of life” because the reference method is structurally the same as the claimed method, i.e. the same composition is administered to the same subject. Therefore, applicant’s claimed invention is considered to be anticipated by the prior art.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 16-20 and 30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/484,738 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to administering the same composition as claimed to suppress immune checkpoints. Applicant’s specification states that the suppression of immune checkpoints improves a subject’s quality of life (see paragraph 9). Thus, the claims of the reference applicant inherently anticipate the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
10. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655