DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on October 20, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 20, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 7: The phrases "e.g." and “such as” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Furthermore, the parentheses within the claim render the claim indefinite as it is not clear if the limitations within the parentheses are required or optional.
Regarding Claim 8: The phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tehlar et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0043533).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 11-12: Tehlar et al. teaches zeolite 5A particles (particles which comprise an internal porous structure) wherein the zeolite particles have absorbed carbon dioxide (fire extinguishing substance contained within the internal porous structure) ([0155]). While Tehlar et al. does not teach the zeolite as a fire suppressant material, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 3: Zeolite 5A preferentially absorbs carbon dioxide over nitrogen or oxygen.
Regarding Claims 4-6 and 8-10: The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the internal pores being substantially consistent in size and shape, the material being configured or adapted to release molecules of fire extinguishing substance upon absorption of heat at the claimed temperatures, being able to absorb carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and release upon heating, being capable of being regenerated as claimed, being capable of absorbing the fire extinguishing substance from the atmosphere or a source of extinguishing molecles, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claim 7: Tehlar et al. teaches that the zeolite is allowed to absorb carbon dioxide in a vessel with a carbon dioxide partial pressure of 0.97 bar (about 1 atm) ([0155]).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 November 19, 2025