Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20181398.7, filed on 06/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20181386.2, filed on 06/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20181408.4, filed on 06/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203457.5, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203463.3, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203447.6, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203458.3, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203460.9, filed on 10/22/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–2, 4–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatwar et al. (US 2010/0288362 A1, included in Applicants’ IDS filed on 12/15/2022, hereafter Hatwar) in view of Hummert et al. (US 2017/0373251 A1, hereafter Hummert).
Regarding Claims 1–2, 4–7, 9, 13–14, Hatwar teaches a tandem organic light-emitting device 4-2 comprising an anode, a cathode, and an intermediate connecting region comprising a n-type charge generation layer and a p-type charge generation layer [0157] -– [0171], wherein the p-type charge generation layer comprises compound PR-1 which reads on Applicants’ formula (I)–(III) (shown below),
wherein:
X1–X5 are CR1–CR5, respectively,
R1, R2, R4, and R5 are each F,
R3 is CN
However, PD-1 fails to meet any of Applicants’ requirements a) to e).
Hummert teaches a tandem organic light-emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and a charge generation layer between an anode and a cathode. The charge generation layer comprises a compound of formula (I) [0016], exemplified by compound B8 [0041]. Hummert further teaches the p-type dopants of formula (I) may be used instead of state-of-art p-dopants as they have large redox potentials and therefore may be used in lower concentrations [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compound B8 as the p-dopant in the p-type charge generation layer of the tandem organic light-emitting device taught by Hatwar, based on the teaching of Hummert. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a p-dopant with large redox potentials therefore allowing for doping in lower concentrations, as taught by Hummert.
Per Claim 1, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound B8 reads on Applicants’ formulae (I), (II), and (III) (shown below),
wherein:
For A1:
X1, X2, X4, and X5 are CR1, CR2, CR4, and CR5, respectively,
X3 is N,
R1, R4, and R5 are each F,
R2 is a perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl),
R’ is CN
For A2 and A3:
Ar is a C6 aryl (phenyl),
substituted with F and perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl),
R’ is CN
Furthermore, compound B8 meets Applicants’ provisos b) and e).
Per Claim 2, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound B8 reads on Applicants’ formulae (IV) and (V) (shown below),
wherein:
For B1:
X1, X2, X4, and X5 are CR1, CR2, CR4, and CR5, respectively,
X3 is N,
R1, R4, and R5 are each F,
R2 is a perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl),
R’ is CN
For B3 and B5:
Ar is a C6 aryl (phenyl),
substituted with F and perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl),
For B2, B4, and B6:
R’ is CN
Per Claim 4, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since X3 is N, while R1, R4, and R5 are each F, and R2 is a perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl) in compound B8.
Per Claim 5, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound B8 may be rotated wherein A1 and A3 are swapped. In this case, R1, R2, R4, R5 are F, and R3 is perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl).
Per Claim 6, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since in A2 and A3 are identical in compound B8.
Per Claim 7, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since A1 is different from A2 and A3 in compound B8.
Per Claim 9, the organic light-emitting device, as described above based on Hatwar Example 4-2, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the p-type charge generation layer comprises 4,4'-Bis[N-(l-naphthyl)-N-phenylamino] Biphenyl (NPB) [0165] [Table 4]. NPB is a substantially covalent matrix compound as it is identical to Applicants’ compound F1 in the instant specification [pg. 45] (shown below).
Per Claim 13, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation as it is an electroluminescent device.
Per Claim 14, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since Hatwar teaches the organic light-emitting device may be part of a display device [0102].
Regarding Claims 10–12, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, discloses a hole injection layer comprised of HAT-1.
However, it does not disclose the use of a p-dopant, like compound B8, in the hole injection layer.
Hatwar teaches that a more stable way to provide injection of holes is to use a layer comprising strong acceptors in the hole injection layers, such as p-dopants. If the hole transport layer is p-doped, then it may be used as the hole injection layer [0089].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use NPB doped with compound B8 as the hole injection layer, based on the teaching of Hatwar. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more stable way to inject holes, as taught by Hatwar.
Per Claim 10, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the hole injection layer, which is positioned between the anode layer and charge generation layer, comprises compound B8, which is a compound of formula (I).
Per Claim 11, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the p-type charge generation layer and the hole injection layer both comprise compound B8, which is a compound of formula (I).
Per Claim 12, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the p-type charge generation layer and the hole injection layer both comprise NPB as the substantially covalent matrix compound.
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15, the organic light-emitting device, as described above comprising compound B8, does not read on Applicants’ claim 8 since compound B8 does not read on formulae (IVa) to (IVd). Additionally, compound B8 does not read on any of the groups recited in claim 15.
Hummert teaches the p-type dopants of formula (I) may be used instead of state-of-art p-dopants as they have large redox potentials and therefore may be used in lower concentrations [0039]. Hummert further teaches exemplary structures, including compound B9 [0040]].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compound B9 as the p-dopant in the p-type charge generation layer of the tandem organic light-emitting device taught by Hatwar, based on the teaching of Hummert. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a p-dopant with large redox potentials therefore allowing for doping in lower concentrations, as taught by Hummert.
Per Claim 1, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound B9 reads on Applicants’ formulae (I), (II), and (III) (shown below),
wherein:
For A1:
X1, X3, and X5 are CR1, CR3, and CR5, respectively,
X2 and X4 are each N,
R1, R3, and R5 are each a perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl).
R’ is CN
For A2 and A3:
Ar is a C6 aryl (phenyl),
substituted with F and CN
R’ is CN
Furthermore, compound B9 meets Applicants’ requirements c) to e).
Per Claim 8, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound B9 reads on Applicants’ formulae (IVa) (shown below),
wherein:
For B1:
X1, X3, and X5 are CR1, CR3, and CR5, respectively,
X2 and X4 are each N,
R1, R3, and R5 are each a perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl).
R’ is CN
For B3 and B5:
Ar is a C6 aryl (phenyl),
substituted with F and CN
For B2, B4, and B6:
R’ is CN
Per Claim 15, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since fragment 1 recited in claim 15 (shown below) is represented in compound B9 (circled),
Claims 1–3, 6, 8–9, 10–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatwar et al. (US 2010/0288362 A1, hereafter Hatwar) in view of Hartmann et al. (US 2008/0265216 A1, hereafter Hartmann).
Regarding Claims 1–3, 6, 8–9, 13–14, Hatwar teaches a tandem organic light-emitting device 4-2 comprising an anode, a cathode, and an intermediate connecting region comprising a n-type charge generation layer and a p-type charge generation layer [0157] -– [0171], wherein the p-type charge generation layer comprises compound PR-1 which reads on Applicants’ formula (I)–(III) (shown below),
wherein:
X1–X5 are CR1–CR5, respectively,
R1, R2, R4, and R5 are each F,
R3 is CN
However, PD-1 fails to meet any of Applicants’ requirements a) to e).
Hartmann teaches p-dopants which may be used in organic light-emitting diodes, exemplified by compound 12 [0054]. Hartmann further teaches charge carrier injection of the electrodes into the doped layer can be improved by the doping agents. Furthermore, the electronic components can have an improved long-time stability on account of the compounds in accordance with the invention [0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compound 12 as the p-dopant in the p-type charge generation layer of the tandem organic light-emitting device taught by Hatwar, based on the teaching of Hummert. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a p-dopant with large redox potentials therefore allowing for doping in lower concentrations, as taught by Hummert.
Per Claim 1, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound 12 reads on Applicants’ formulae (I), (II), and (III) (shown below),
wherein:
For A1:
X1–X5 are CR1–CR5, respectively,
R3 is CN,
R1, R2, R4, and R5 are each H,
R’ is a C6 aryl (phenyl) substituted with a CN.
For A2 and A3:
Ar is a C6 aryl substituted with a CN,
R’ C6 aryl substituted with a CN.
Furthermore, compound 12 meets Applicants’ requirement a).
Per Claim 2, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound 12 reads on Applicants’ formulae (IV) and (V) (shown below),
wherein:
For B1:
X1–X5 are CR1–CR5, respectively,
R3 is CN,
R1, R2, R4, and R5 are each H,
For B3 and B5:
Ar is a C6 aryl substituted with a CN,
For B2, B4, and B6:
R’ is a C6 aryl substituted with a CN.
Per Claim 3, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since in compound 12 R3 is CN and R1, R2, R4, R5 are each H.
Per Claim 6, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since in compound 12 A2 and A3 are identical.
Per Claim 8, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since compound 12 reads on Applicants’ formulae (IVa) (shown below),
wherein:
For B1:
X1–X5 are CR1–CR5, respectively,
R3 is CN,
R1, R2, R4, and R5 are each H,
For B3 and B5:
Ar is a C6 aryl substituted with a CN,
For B2, B4, and B6:
R’ is a C6 aryl substituted with a CN.
Per Claim 9, the organic light-emitting device, as described above based on Hatwar Example 4-2, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the p-type charge generation layer comprises 4,4'-Bis[N-(l-naphthyl)-N-phenylamino] Biphenyl (NPB) [0165] [Table 4]. NPB is a substantially covalent matrix compound as it is identical to Applicants’ compound F1 in the instant specification [pg. 45] (shown below).
Per Claim 13, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation as it is an electroluminescent device.
Per Claim 14, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since Hatwar teaches the organic light-emitting device may be part of a display device [0102].
Regarding Claims 10–12, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, discloses a hole injection layer comprised of HAT-1.
However, it does not disclose the use of a p-dopant, like compound B8, in the hole injection layer.
Hatwar teaches that a more stable way to provide injection of holes is to use a layer comprising strong acceptors in the hole injection layers, such as p-dopants. If the hole transport layer is p-doped, then it may be used as the hole injection layer [0089].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use NPB doped with compound B8 as the hole injection layer, based on the teaching of Hatwar. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more stable way to inject holes, as taught by Hatwar.
Per Claim 10, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the hole injection layer, which is positioned between the anode layer and charge generation layer, comprises compound B8, which is a compound of formula (I).
Per Claim 11, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the p-type charge generation layer and the hole injection layer both comprise compound B8, which is a compound of formula (I).
Per Claim 12, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicants’ limitation since the p-type charge generation layer and the hole injection layer both comprise NPB as the substantially covalent matrix compound.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/002,562 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claim 1 of ‘562 is a species of independent claim 1 of ‘008.
The instant application’s claim 1 recites an organic electronic device comprising an anode layer, a cathode layer and a charge generation layer, wherein the charge generation layer comprises a p-type charge generation layer and a n-type charge generation layer, wherein the p-type charge generation layer comprises a compound of formula (I), formula (II), and formula (III). Furthermore, claim 1 recites the proviso that requirement a) to e) must be satisfied.
‘562 claim 1 An organic electronic device comprising an anode layer, a cathode layer and at least one organic semiconductor layer, wherein the at least one organic semiconductor layer is arranged between the anode layer and the cathode layer; and wherein the at least one organic semiconductor layer comprises a compound of formula (I), formula (II), and formula (III).
R1–R3, X1–X3 for formula (II) of ‘562 are encompassed by X1–X5, R’ of formula (II) of the instant application. Additionally, the requirements of a) to e) of the instant application are broad and can be met by ‘562 formula (I), formula (II), and formula (III).
Therefore, independent claim 1 of ‘562 is a species of independent claim 1 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/722,072 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claim 14 of ‘072 is a species of independent claim 1 of ‘008.
The instant application’s claim 1 recites an organic electronic device comprising an anode layer, a cathode layer and a charge generation layer, wherein the charge generation layer comprises a p-type charge generation layer and a n-type charge generation layer, wherein the p-type charge generation layer comprises a compound of formula (I), formula (II), and formula (III). Furthermore, claim 1 recites the proviso that requirement a) to e) must be satisfied.
‘072 claim 14 recites a compound according to formula (XI), formula (XIIa), and formula (XIII).
The difference between formula (II) of the instant application and formula (XIIIa) of ‘072 is that formula (XIIIa) requires that X4 be CR4, which is allowed by formula (II). Additionally, the requirements of a) to e) of the instant application are broad and can be met by ‘072 formula (XI), formula (XIIa), and formula (XIII).
Therefore, independent claim 14 of ‘072 is a species of independent claim 1 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789