DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–4, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12–21 are pending.
Claims 5, 8, and 11 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0223658 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 September 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the final Office Action on 04 June 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 10, 12, and 14–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariga (JP 2016-152170 A) in view of Cho et al. (US 2005/0287429 A1, hereinafter Cho) in view of Katayama et al. (JP 2009-043515 A, hereinafter Katayama).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 12, and 15–21, Ariga discloses a lithium-ion cell (100, [0011]), comprising:
a ribbon-shaped electrode-separator assembly (3) comprising an anode (32), a cathode (34), and a separator (33) in a sequence anode/separator/cathode (FIG. 3, [0022]),
the electrode-separator assembly (3) being in the form of a winding with two terminal end faces (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein the anode (32) comprises a negative electrode material (32b) and a ribbon-shaped anode current collector (32c) having a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two ends (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein a strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector (32c) is loaded with a layer of the negative electrode material (32b, [0022]) and
a free edge strip (32c) of the anode current collector (32c), extending along the first longitudinal edge, is not loaded with the negative electrode material (32b, [0015]),
the cathode (34) comprises a positive electrode material (34b) and a ribbon-shaped cathode current collector (34c) having a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two ends (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein a strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector (34c) is loaded with a layer of the positive electrode material (34b, [0022]) and
a free edge strip (34c) of the cathode current collector (34c), extending along the first longitudinal edge, is not loaded with the positive electrode material (34b, [0015]), and
a housing (1) enclosing the electrode-separator assembly (3, [0012]); and
a metallic contact element (24, 44; [0015]),
wherein the anode (32) and the cathode (34) are offset within the electrode-separator assembly (3) so that the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (32c) protrudes from a first terminal end face of the terminal end faces and the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (34c) protrudes from a second terminal end face of the two terminal end faces (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein a respective first longitudinal edge is in direct contact with the metallic contact element (24, 44; [0015]),
the respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (32c) or the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (34c, [0015]), and
wherein the metallic contact element (22, 44) is connected to the respective first longitudinal edge by a weld (FIG. 1, [0024]),
wherein a respective free edge strip (32c, 34c) is coated with a support material (34, [0034]),
the respective freed edge strip (32c, 34c) being the free edge strip of the anode current collector (32c) or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (34c, [0034]),
the support material (50, [0041]) being different from both the negative electrode material (32b, [0028]) and the positive electrode material (34b, [0039]), and
wherein the separator (33) comprises a coating (33b) comprising at least one inorganic material (FIG. 4, [0025]),
the coating (33b) being disposed at least in a region that covers a boundary (C) between the support material (50) and a respective adjacent electrode material (34b, [0035),
the respective adjacent electrode material (34b) being the negative electrode material (32b) or the positive electrode material (34b, [0035]).
Ariga does not explicitly disclose:
a metallic contact element resting flat on one of the two terminal end faces; and
wherein the metallic contact element resting flat on one of the two terminal end faces is a sheet metal plate or a sheet metal strip having first and second faces and an edge,
the first and second faces extending perpendicular to a winding axis of the winding,
the first face being connected to the respective first longitudinal edge by the weld.
Cho discloses a lithium-ion cell (FIG. 1, [0024]) comprising a metallic contact element (20) resting flat on a terminal end face (11a) of electrode-separator assembly (10, [0034]); and wherein the metallic contact element (20) resting flat on the terminal end face (11a) is a sheet metal plate or a sheet metal strip having first and second faces and an edge (FIG. 3, [0033]), the first and second faces extending perpendicular to a winding axis of the winding (10, [0034]), the first face being connected to a respective first longitudinal edge by a weld (FIG. 3, [0030]) to improve the current collecting efficiency (FIG. 3, [0013]). Ariga and Cho are analogous because they are directed to lithium-ion cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium-ion cell of Ariga with the metallic contact element of Cho in order to improve the current collecting efficiency.
Modified Ariga does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the support material retains a solid state at a temperature at which a material forming the respective free edge strip melts;
wherein the support material is an electrically insulating ceramic material having a higher melting point than a metal from which the respective free edge strip is formed;
wherein the respective first longitudinal edge is a longitudinal edge of the respective free edge strip;
wherein a second respective free edge strip is coated with a layer of the support material,
the second respective free edge strip being the other of the free edge strip of the anode current collector or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector;
wherein the anode current collector is formed from copper or a copper alloy,
wherein the respective free edge strip is the free edge strip of the anode current collector, or
wherein the cathode current collector is formed from aluminum or an aluminum alloy,
wherein the respective free edge strip is the free edge strip of the cathode current collector, and
wherein the respective free edge strip comprises a first region and a second region,
the first region being coated with the support material while the second region is uncoated,
wherein the first region and the second region each have a shape of a line or a strip and run parallel to each other, and
wherein the first region is disposed between a respective strip-shaped main region and the second region,
the respective strip-shaped main region being the strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector or the strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector;
wherein the free edge strip of the anode current collector is coated with the support material up to the first longitudinal edge thereof and/or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector is coated with the support material up to the first longitudinal edge thereof;
wherein the support material is one of: aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride;
wherein the support material comprises aluminum oxide and/or titanium oxide.
Katayama discloses a support material (4) that retains a solid state at a temperature at which a material forming a respective free edge strip (1b, 2b) melts (FIG. 5, [0071]); wherein the support material (4) is an electrically insulating ceramic material having a higher melting point than a metal from which the respective free edge strip (1b, 2b) is formed ([0070], [0071], [0073], [0074]); wherein a respective first longitudinal edge (1b, 2b) is a longitudinal edge of a respective free edge strip (1b, 2b; [0071], [0074]); wherein a second respective free edge strip (2b) is coated with a layer of the support material (4, [0074]), the second respective free edge strip (2b) being the other of the free edge strip of the anode current collector (FIG. 5, [0074]) or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (2b, [074]); wherein the anode current collector is formed from copper or a copper alloy (see copper, [0073]), wherein the respective free edge strip (2b) is the free edge strip of the anode current collector (FIG. 5, [0074]), or wherein the cathode current collector is formed from aluminum or an aluminum alloy (see aluminum, [0070]), wherein the respective free edge strip (2B) is the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (FIG. 5, [0071]), and wherein the respective free edge strip (1b, 2b) comprises a first region and a second region, the first region being coated with the support material (4) while the second region is uncoated (FIG. 5; [0071], [0074]), wherein the first region and the second region each have a shape of a line or a strip and run parallel to each other (FIG. 5; [0071], [0074]), and wherein the first region is disposed between a respective strip-shaped main region and the second region (FIG. 5; [0071], [0074]), a respective strip-shaped main region being the strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector (2b, [0074]) or the strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector (1b, [0071]); wherein the free edge strip of the anode current collector (2b) is coated with the support material (4) up to the first longitudinal edge thereof (FIG. 5, [0074]) and/or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (1b) is coated with the support material (4) up to the first longitudinal edge thereof (FIG. 5, [0071]); wherein the support material (4) is one of: aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride (FIG. 5, [0071]); wherein the support material (4) comprises aluminum oxide and/or titanium oxide (FIG. 5; [0071], [0074]) to improve reliability while maintaining excellent charge-discharge efficiency (TABLE 1, [0087]). Ariga and Katayama are analogous because they are directed to lithium-ion cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the anode and cathode current collectors of modified Ariga with the support material of Katayama in order to improve heat resistance and suppress thermal shrinkage.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein the electrode-separator assembly (3) additionally comprises a second separator (35, [0022]),
wherein the second separator (35) and the separator (33) are identical (FIG. 4, [0025]), and
wherein the electrode-separator assembly (3) has a sequence anode/separator/cathode/second separator or the sequence second separator/anode/separator/cathode (FIG. 3, [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein the at least one inorganic material is further contained in the separator (33) as particulate filler material (FIG. 4, [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the separator (33) comprises the coating (33b) comprising the at least one inorganic material only in regions (FIG. 4, [0025]), the separator (33) has an edge strip along a first and/or the second longitudinal edge of the separator (33), the separator (33) comprising the coating (33b) comprising the at least one inorganic material along the edge strip (FIG. 4, [0025]), or the separator (33) comprises a ribbon-shaped main region not coated with the at least one inorganic material (FIG. 4, [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the respective free edge strip (34c) comprises a first region and a second region (FIG. 6, [0034]), wherein the first region is coated with the support material (50) while the second region is uncoated, the first region and the second region each have a shape of a line or a strip and run parallel to each other, or the first region is disposed between a respective strip-shaped main region the second region (FIG. 6, [0034]),
the respective strip-shaped main region being the strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector (32c) or the strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector (34c, [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein, in the winding, the separator (33) and a respective electrode (34) comprising the respective adjacent electrode material (34b) are in contact such that the coating (33b) contacts (i) a first portion of the respective electrode (34) being coated with the support material (50) and (ii) a second portion of the respective electrode (34) being coated with the respective electrode material (34b, [0044]).
Claims 3, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariga (JP 2016-152170 A) in view of Cho (US 2005/0287429 A1) in view of Katayama (JP 2009-043515 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo (US 2019/0379022 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 6, and 13, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein the separator (33) is a ribbon-shaped plastic substrate (33a) with first and second longitudinal edges and two ends (FIG. 4, [0025]),
the first and second longitudinal edges of the separator (33) form the terminal end faces of the electrode-separator assembly (33, [0022]).
Ariga does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the separator comprises a ribbon-shaped plastic substrate having a thickness in a range of 5 μm to 50 μm,
wherein the coating comprising the at least one inorganic material has a thickness in a range of 0.5 μm to 5 μm, and
wherein the at least one inorganic material comprises a ceramic material;
wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an electrically insulating material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of ceramic material, glass-ceramic material, and glass, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises a lithium ion conducting ceramic material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an oxidic material, and/or the ceramic or oxide material is aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride.
Guo discloses a separator comprising a ribbon-shaped plastic substrate having a thickness in a range of 5 μm to 50 μm (see porous substrate, [0074]) and a coating containing at least one inorganic material with a thickness in a range of 0.5 μm to 5 μm (see porous layer, [0074]), and wherein the at least one inorganic material comprises a ceramic material; wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an electrically insulating material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of ceramic material, glass-ceramic material, and glass, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises a lithium ion conducting ceramic material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an oxidic material, and/or the ceramic or oxide material is aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride (see aluminum oxide, [0074]) in order to improve safety performance of the lithium-ion cell (TABLE 1, [0079]). Ariga and Guo are analogous because they are directed to lithium-ion cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the separator of modified Ariga with the separator of Guo in order to improve safety performance of the lithium-ion cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–4, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12–21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zheng (US 2020/0144674 A1) discloses an electrode plate having a support material (1406) coated up to a first longitudinal edge of a free edge strip of a current collector (1403, [0056]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725