DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–4, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12–21 are pending.
Claims 5, 8, and 11 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0223658 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "wherein the support material is one of: aluminum oxide (Al2O3), titanium oxide (TiO2), titanium nitride (TiN), titanium aluminum nitride (TiAlN), a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride (TiCN)." The chemical formulae within the parentheses render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. There is more than one chemical formula that may represent aluminum oxide (e.g., Al2O, AlO, Al2O3) and titanium oxide (e.g., TiO, Ti2O3, Ti3O5, Ti4O7, Ti5O9, Ti3O, Ti2O, δ-TiOx). See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 21 recites the limitation "wherein the support material is one of: aluminum oxide (Al2O3), titanium oxide (TiO2), titanium nitride (TiN), titanium aluminum nitride (TiAlN), a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride (TiCN)." The chemical formulae within the parentheses render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. There is more than one chemical formula that may represent aluminum oxide (e.g., Al2O, AlO, Al2O3) and titanium oxide (e.g., TiO, Ti2O3, Ti3O5, Ti4O7, Ti5O9, Ti3O, Ti2O, δ-TiOx). See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 10, 12, and 14–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariga (JP 2016-152170 A) in view of Cho et al. (US 2005/0287429 A1, hereinafter Cho '429) and Cho et al. (US 2016/0036009 A1, hereinafter Cho '009).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 15–21, Ariga discloses a lithium-ion cell (100, [0011]), comprising:
a ribbon-shaped electrode-separator assembly (3) comprising an anode (32), a cathode (34), and a separator (33) in a sequence anode/separator/cathode (FIG. 3, [0022]),
the electrode-separator assembly (3) being in the form of a winding with two terminal end faces (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein the anode (32) comprises a negative electrode material (32b) and a ribbon-shaped anode current collector (32c) having a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two ends (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein a strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector (32c) is loaded with a layer of the negative electrode material (32b, [0022]) and
a free edge strip (32c) of the anode current collector (32c), extending along the first longitudinal edge, is not loaded with the negative electrode material (32b, [0015]),
the cathode (34) comprises a positive electrode material (34b) and a ribbon-shaped cathode current collector (34c) having a first longitudinal edge, a second longitudinal edge, and two ends (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein a strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector (34c) is loaded with a layer of the positive electrode material (34b, [0022]) and
a free edge strip (34c) of the cathode current collector (34c), extending along the first longitudinal edge, is not loaded with the positive electrode material (34b, [0015]), and
a housing (1) enclosing the electrode-separator assembly (3, [0012]); and
a metallic contact element (24, 44; [0015]),
wherein the anode (32) and the cathode (34) are offset within the electrode-separator assembly (3) so that the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (32c) protrudes from a first terminal end face of the terminal end faces and the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (34c) protrudes from a second terminal end face of the two terminal end faces (FIG. 3, [0022]),
wherein a respective first longitudinal edge is in direct contact with the metallic contact element (24, 44; [0015]),
the respective first longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector (32c) or the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector (34c, [0015]), and
wherein the metallic contact element (22, 44) is connected to the respective first longitudinal edge by a weld (FIG. 1, [0024]),
wherein a respective free edge strip (32c, 34c) is coated with a support material (34, [0034]),
the respective freed edge strip (32c, 34c) being the free edge strip of the anode current collector (32c) or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (34c, [0034]),
the support material (50, [0041]) being different from both the negative electrode material (32b, [0028]) and the positive electrode material (34b, [0039]), and
wherein the separator (33) comprises a coating (33b) comprising at least one inorganic material (FIG. 4, [0025]),
the coating (33b) being disposed at least in a region that covers a boundary (C) between the support material (50) and a respective adjacent electrode material (34b, [0035),
the respective adjacent electrode material (34b) being the negative electrode material (32b) or the positive electrode material (34b, [0035]).
Ariga does not explicitly disclose:
a metallic contact element resting flat on one of the two terminal end faces; and
wherein the metallic contact element resting flat on one of the two terminal end faces is a sheet metal plate or a sheet metal strip having first and second faces and an edge,
the first and second faces extending perpendicular to a winding axis of the winding,
the first face being connected to the respective first longitudinal edge by the weld.
Cho '429 discloses a lithium-ion cell (FIG. 1, [0024]) comprising a metallic contact element (20) resting flat on a terminal end face (11a) of electrode-separator assembly (10, [0034]); and wherein the metallic contact element (20) resting flat on the terminal end face (11a) is a sheet metal plate or a sheet metal strip having first and second faces and an edge (FIG. 3, [0033]), the first and second faces extending perpendicular to a winding axis of the winding (10, [0034]), the first face being connected to a respective first longitudinal edge by a weld (FIG. 3, [0030]) to improve the current collecting efficiency (FIG. 3, [0013]). Ariga and Cho '429 are analogous because they are directed to lithium-ion cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium-ion cell of Ariga with the metallic contact element of Cho '429 in order to improve the current collecting efficiency.
Modified Ariga does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the support material retains a solid state at a temperature at which a material forming the respective free edge strip melts;
wherein the support material is an electrically insulating ceramic material having a higher melting point than a metal from which the respective free edge strip is formed;
wherein the respective first longitudinal edge is a longitudinal edge of the respective free edge strip;
wherein a second respective free edge strip is coated with a layer of the support material,
the second respective free edge strip being the other of the free edge strip of the anode current collector or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector;
wherein the anode current collector is formed from copper or a copper alloy,
wherein the respective free edge strip is the free edge strip of the anode current collector, or
wherein the cathode current collector is formed from aluminum or an aluminum alloy,
wherein the respective free edge strip is the free edge strip of the cathode current collector, and
wherein the respective free edge strip comprises a first region and a second region,
the first region being coated with the support material while the second region is uncoated,
wherein the first region and the second region each have a shape of a line or a strip and run parallel to each other, and
wherein the first region is disposed between a respective strip-shaped main region and the second region,
the respective strip-shaped main region being the strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector or the strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector.
wherein the support material is one of: aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride;
wherein the support material comprises aluminum oxide and/or titanium oxide.
Cho '009 discloses a support material (212) that retains a solid state at a temperature at which a material forming a respective free edge strip (111c) melts (FIG. 5B, [0109]); wherein the support material (212) is an electrically insulating ceramic material having a higher melting point than a metal from which the respective free edge strip (111c) is formed ([0109], [0113]); wherein a respective first longitudinal edge (111d) is a longitudinal edge of a respective free edge strip (111e, [0110]); wherein a second respective free edge strip (112c) is coated with a layer of the support material (212, [0116]), the second respective free edge strip (112c) being the other of the free edge strip of the anode current collector (111a) or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (112a, [0116]); wherein the anode current collector (111) is formed from copper or a copper alloy (see copper, [0147]), wherein the respective free edge strip (111c) is the free edge strip of the anode current collector (111, [0116]), or wherein the cathode current collector (112) is formed from aluminum or an aluminum alloy (see aluminum, [0149]), wherein the respective free edge strip (112c) is the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (112, [0116]), and wherein the respective free edge strip (111c) comprises a first region and a second region, the first region being coated with the support material while the second region is uncoated (FIG. 5C, [0107]), wherein the first region and the second region each have a shape of a line or a strip and run parallel to each other (FIG. 5A, [0107]), and wherein the first region is disposed between a respective strip-shaped main region and the second region (FIG. 5A, [0107]), a respective strip-shaped main region being the strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector (111) or the strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector (112, [0116]); wherein the support material (212) is one of: aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride (FIG. 5B, [0113]); wherein the support material (212) comprises aluminum oxide and/or titanium oxide (FIG. 5B, [0113]) to improve heat resistance and suppress thermal shrinkage (see ceramic layer, [0112]). Ariga and Cho '009 are analogous because they are directed to lithium-ion cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the anode and cathode current collectors of modified Ariga with the support material of Cho '009 in order to improve heat resistance and suppress thermal shrinkage.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein the electrode-separator assembly (3) additionally comprises a second separator (35, [0022]),
wherein the second separator (35) and the separator (33) are identical (FIG. 4, [0025]), and
wherein the electrode-separator assembly (3) has a sequence anode/separator/cathode/second separator or the sequence second separator/anode/separator/cathode (FIG. 3, [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein the at least one inorganic material is further contained in the separator (33) as particulate filler material (FIG. 4, [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the separator (33) comprises the coating (33b) comprising the at least one inorganic material only in regions (FIG. 4, [0025]), the separator (33) has an edge strip along a first and/or the second longitudinal edge of the separator (33), the separator (33) comprising the coating (33b) comprising the at least one inorganic material along the edge strip (FIG. 4, [0025]), or the separator (33) comprises a ribbon-shaped main region not coated with the at least one inorganic material (FIG. 4, [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the respective free edge strip (34c) comprises a first region and a second region (FIG. 6, [0034]), wherein the first region is coated with the support material (50) while the second region is uncoated, the first region and the second region each have a shape of a line or a strip and run parallel to each other, or the first region is disposed between a respective strip-shaped main region the second region (FIG. 6, [0034]),
the respective strip-shaped main region being the strip-shaped main region of the anode current collector (32c) or the strip-shaped main region of the cathode current collector (34c, [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein the free edge strip of the anode current collector (34c) is coated with the support material (50) up to the first longitudinal edge thereof and/or the free edge strip of the cathode current collector (34c) is coated with the support material (50) up to the first longitudinal edge thereof (FIG. 6, [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein, in the winding, the separator (33) and a respective electrode (34) comprising the respective adjacent electrode material (34b) are in contact such that the coating (33b) contacts (i) a first portion of the respective electrode (34) being coated with the support material (50) and (ii) a second portion of the respective electrode (34) being coated with the respective electrode material (34b, [0044]).
Claims 3, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariga (JP 2016-152170 A) in view of Cho '429 (US 2005/0287429 A1) and Cho '009 (US 2016/0036009 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo (US 2019/0379022 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 6, and 13, modified Ariga discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium-ion cell:
wherein the separator (33) is a ribbon-shaped plastic substrate (33a) with first and second longitudinal edges and two ends (FIG. 4, [0025]),
the first and second longitudinal edges of the separator (33) form the terminal end faces of the electrode-separator assembly (33, [0022]).
Ariga does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the separator comprises a ribbon-shaped plastic substrate having a thickness in a range of 5 μm to 50 μm,
wherein the coating comprising the at least one inorganic material has a thickness in a range of 0.5 μm to 5 μm, and
wherein the at least one inorganic material comprises a ceramic material;
wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an electrically insulating material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of ceramic material, glass-ceramic material, and glass, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises a lithium ion conducting ceramic material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an oxidic material, and/or the ceramic or oxide material is aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride.
Guo discloses a separator comprising a ribbon-shaped plastic substrate having a thickness in a range of 5 μm to 50 μm (see porous substrate, [0074]) and a coating containing at least one inorganic material with a thickness in a range of 0.5 μm to 5 μm (see porous layer, [0074]), and wherein the at least one inorganic material comprises a ceramic material; wherein at least one of the following additional features is present the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an electrically insulating material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of ceramic material, glass-ceramic material, and glass, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises a lithium ion conducting ceramic material, the at least one inorganic material is or comprises an oxidic material, and/or the ceramic or oxide material is aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, titanium nitride, titanium aluminum nitride, a silicon oxide, or titanium carbonitride (see aluminum oxide, [0074]) in order to improve safety performance of the lithium-ion cell (TABLE 1, [0079]). Ariga and Guo are analogous because they are directed to lithium-ion cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the separator of modified Ariga with the separator of Guo in order to improve safety performance of the lithium-ion cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Damlencourt have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Ariga, Cho '429, and Guo have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the single protruding edges of negative electrode metal foil-exposure part 32c and positive electrode metal foil-exposure part 34c of Cho '429 are not compatible with the geometry of Cho-429's current collecting plates 20 and 20' formed as covers 21 and 21' (P9/¶1). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Ariga discloses various modifications may be made without departing from the spirit of the invention (e.g., [0056]); and Cho'429 also discloses various modifications may be made without departing from the spirit of the invention (e.g., [0056]). Ariga (FIG. 1, [0011]) and Cho '429 (FIG. 1, [0024]) are both directed to prismatic batteries with current collector plates withing an outer casing. Therefore, the single protruding edges of negative electrode metal foil-exposure part 32c and positive electrode metal foil-exposure part 34c of Cho '429 are within the skill of one in the art to modify to be compatible with the geometry of Cho-429's current collecting plates 20 and 20' formed as covers 21 and 21'.
Applicants argue Cho-429's current collecting plates 20 and 20' formed as covers 21 and 21' are additionally incompatible with the wound group 3 of Ariga because the presence of separators 33 and 35 and of adhesive material 50 would interfere when attempting to form welds in the regions of covers 21 and 21 (P10/¶1). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Ariga discloses various modifications may be made without departing from the spirit of the invention (e.g., [0056]); and Cho '429 also discloses various modifications may be made without departing from the spirit of the invention (e.g., [0056]). Ariga discloses current collector plates that are welded to uncoated portions and the separators 33 and 35 with an adhesive material 50 are compatible (e.g., [0036], [0045]); Cho '429 discloses current collector plates are welded to uncoated portions and the presence of separators (e.g., [0030], [0036]). Therefore, Cho-429's current collecting plates 20 and 20' formed as covers 21 and 21' are within the skill of one in the art to modify to be compatible with the wound group 3 of Ariga with separators 33 and 35 and adhesive material 50 when attempting to form welds in the regions of covers 21 and 21.
Applicants argue it is further respectfully submitted that Guo fails to cure the above-described deficiencies (P12/¶2). The Ariga and Cho '429 are not deficient as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725