0DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/002,008. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims and the instant claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2017/0346037) (Huang) in view of Kim et al (US 2017/0200899) (Kim).
In reference to claims 1-4, 7, and 9-14, Huang teaches organic light emitting diode for use in a display panel (Huang [0236]) comprising an anode, a cathode, , a hole injection layer, a first emission layer, an n-type charge generation layer, a p-type charge generation layer, and a second emission layer (among others) (Huang [0271]) wherein the p-type charge generation layer and hole transport layers comprise p-type dopants and Huang specifically teaches radialene derivatives as such p-type dopants that maybe mixed with organic matrix materials (Huang [0220] [0226] [0227] [0102]).
Huang does not expressly teach that the radialene derivative is the radialene derivatives of formula (1) as instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Kim teaches, in analogous art, radialene derivatives of formula 3-3 as p-dopants for organic light emitting devices in hole transport or charge generating materials (Kim [0350] to [0354]) and exemplifies compound P29 as shown below (Kim p. 83 and [0286]). Kim further teaches that the inclusion of this material provides a device with high hole mobility and improved stability (Kim [0194] [0289]).
In light of the motivation of using the radialene compound P29 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the radialene compound P29 as described by Kim in order to provides a device with high hole mobility and improved stability and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on a device comprising an anode, cathode, a charge generating layer comprising a p-type and n-type layer wherein the p-type layer comprises a compound of formula 1 wherein A1 is II, R’ is C5 heteroaryl, X1 is CH, C2 is CH, X3 is CCN, X4 is CH, X5 is CH and A2 and A3 are III wherein each Ar is a substituted C6 aryl, and each R’ is C5 heteroaryl such that R1 and R5 are each hydrogen and R3 is CN which has a Hammett parameter of 0.66 in the para position according to Table 1 of the instant specification, R2 and R4 are each H.
For Claim 2: Reads on formula IV wherein B1, B3 and B5 are each substituted phenyl, B2, B4 and B6 are each pyridine.
For Claim 3: Reads on a combined Hammett value of 0.66.
For Claim 4: Reads on 3 CN moieties.
For Claim 7: Reads on a combined Hammett value of 0.66.
For Claim 9: The organic matrix materials read on the covalent matrix material.
For Claim 10: The p-doped hole injection layer reads on the hole injection layer.
For Claim 11: Reads on comprising the same material.
For Claim 12: The organic matrix materials read on the covalent matrix material.
For Claim 13: The OLED reads on an electroluminescent device.
For Claim 14: The display panel reads on a display device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2017/0346037) (Huang) in view of Kim et al (US 2017/0200899) (Kim) as evidenced by Despotović and Maksić (J. Mol. Str:THEOCHEM; Vol 811, p 313-322 June 2007).
In reference to claim 8, Huang in view of Kim teaches the device as described above for claim 1 wherein the charge generating layer includes radialene derivatives (Huang [0220]). Huang in view of Kim does not expressly state that the isomers as claimed are also present.
However, it is noted that the claimed formulae are E/Z isomers of the material P29 of Kim. The p-dopant, under operating conditions of these devices, is reduced by accepting an electron from the matrix materials or adjacent layer materials. The resulting anion can readily undergo E/Z isomerization, a fact that would be recognized by an ordinarily skilled artisan. As evidence of this effect, Despotović and Maksić describe the isomerization of anions of [3]radialenes and similar materials in Schemes 1 and 2.
As such, the existence of various isomeric forms is expected to be inherent in the use of such devices, in the absence of results to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to the outstanding provisional double patenting rejection, the claim amendments do not appear to separate the instant claims from the copending claims.
In reference to the rejections under 35 USC 112, claims have been amended or canceled to overcome the rejections and the arguments are therefore moot.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant first argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the rejection. Notably, Applicant has amended the range of claimed Hammett values. However, as noted herein, the prior art of record teaches materials that meet the new claimed range.
Applicant further argues that the compound of P27 of Kim does not exhibit the unexpected and surprising results achieved by the compounds of amended claim 1. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing for at least the following reasons. The data pointed to as evidence of unexpected results is data from compounds per se. The instant claims are not drawn to a compound per se, but to an organic electronic device. These data do not correspond to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786