DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1 and 7 are amended in the current application.
Claim 4 is canceled in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on June 18, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the claim objection set forth in the previous office action.
The claim objection set forth in the previous office action is withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
Applicant argues that Earle does not teach an aliphatic acrylate oligomer.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. The grounds of rejection have been updated to reflect the present claim amendments. It is also noted that the present claims only require that an acrylate monomer has a glass transition temperature from -80oC to -10oC or a combination of an acrylate monomer and an aliphatic urethane acrylate oligomer has a glass transition temperature from -80oC to -10oC; where the combination including the aliphatic urethane acrylate oligomer is an optional alternative.
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Earle is not relied upon alone to satisfy the entirety of the claimed invention. Earle suggests the (meth)acrylate-based components can be combined with other copolymerizable esters of acrylic or methacrylic acids and (meth)acrylic diluents such as urethane methacrylate (Earle, Pgs 9-12, 14), where Kurimura teaches it is well known and well within the abilities of those skilled in the art to form (meth)acrylic-based two-part adhesive compositions comprising polyfunctional (meth)acrylate oligomers that include urethane (meth)acrylates formed from aliphatic polyols (such as ethylene glycol) and aliphatic polyisocyanates to yield aliphatic urethane (meth)acrylate oligomers (Kurimura, [0029]-[0030], [0056]-[0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have add Kurimura’s aliphatic urethane (meth)acrylate oligomer to Earle’s (meth)acrylate-based components to yield an adhesive that achieves improved curing effect, high size precision, excellent adhesive property, and excellent peeling property (Kurimura, [0019], [0049], [0077]-[0079]).
Applicant argues that Kurimura only discloses a cured body composition having Tg of 0oC to 45oC well outside of the claimed range of -80oC to -10oC.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. Note that while Kurimura does not disclose all the features of the presently claimed invention, Kurimura is used as a teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, and in combination with the other applied prior art establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the presently claimed invention. The entirety of Kurimura’s cured body composition is not relied upon, but rather only Kurimura’s aliphatic urethane (meth)acrylate oligomer is utilized.
Moreover, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the Tg of a total cured body composition, and requirement to include an aliphatic urethane acrylate oligomer) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The present claims only require that an acrylate monomer has a glass transition temperature from -80oC to -10oC or a combination of an acrylate monomer and an aliphatic urethane acrylate oligomer has a glass transition temperature from -80oC to -10oC; where the combination including the aliphatic urethane acrylate oligomer is an optional alternative. Earle teaches the (meth)acrylate-based components are acrylate monomers such as lauryl methacrylate (Earle, Pgs 9-12). The specification as originally filed recites that lauryl methacrylate is a preferred monomer satisfying the claimed Tg of -80oC to -10oC (Spec as originally filed, Pg 4). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. See MPEP 2112.01, II. Therefore, lauryl methacrylate satisfies the claimed acrylate monomer having a Tg of -80oC to -10oC.
Applicant argues that neither Earle nor Kurimura provides any hint of the benefits of high elongation-to-break and low bonding strength.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., high elongation-to-break and low bonding strength properties) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Additionally, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earle et al. (WO 2005/087850 A1) in view of Kurimura et al. (US 2015/0044490 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Earle teaches a two-part thermally conductive adhesive composition comprising a first part (Part A) and a second part (Part B), where the composition comprises (meth)acrylate-based components, a peroxide-based curing agent component (i.e., a peroxide oxidant), a catalytic component for catalyzing the cure reaction (such as metal salts; i.e., a peroxide decomposition promoter), and thermally conductive filler components (such as alumina and boron nitride) (Earle, Abstract, Pgs 7-11, 13). Earle teaches the first part (Part A) comprises the peroxide-based curing agent, the second part (Part B) comprises the catalytic component for catalyzing the cure reaction, and the (meth)acrylate-based components and the thermally conductive filler components are within both the first and second parts (Parts A and B) (Earle, Pgs 7-8). Earle teaches the (meth)acrylate-based components are acrylate monomers such as lauryl methacrylate; where the (meth)acrylate-based components are included in an amount of 20-50 wt% in the first part (Part A) and 10-90 wt% in the second part (Part B) (Earle, Pgs 9-12). The specification as originally filed recites that lauryl methacrylate is a preferred monomer satisfying the claimed Tg of -80oC to -10oC (Spec as originally filed, Pg 4). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. See MPEP 2112.01, II. Therefore, lauryl methacrylate satisfies the claimed acrylate monomer having a Tg of -80oC to -10oC. Earle teaches the peroxide-based curing agent component is included in an amount of 0.1-5 wt% (Earle, Pg 9). Earle teaches the catalytic component for catalyzing the cure reaction is included in an amount of 0.01-5 wt% (Earle, Pgs 12-13). Earle teaches the thermally conductive filler components are included in an amount of 20-90 wt% in the first part (Part A) and 20-90 wt% in the second part (Part B) (Earle, Pgs 10-11, 13-14). Earle teaches a ratio of the first part (Part A) to the second part (Part B) is from 0.5:1 to 6:1, preferably about 1:1 (Earle, Pg 14). Taking a basis of the first part (Part A) to the second part (Part B) being 1:1 with 100 total parts by weight of the entire composition yields the following wt% of each component:
15-70 wt% of the (meth)acrylate-based components (Part A: 0.2*50=10 to 0.5*50=25; Part B: 0.1*50=5 to 0.9*50=45; Total: 10+5=15 to 25+45=70, 15-70 wt%), where this overlaps the claimed range of 8-38 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05);
0.1-5 wt% of the peroxide-based curing agent component, where this encompasses the claimed range of 0.2-4 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05);
0.01-5 wt% of the catalytic component for catalyzing the cure reaction, where this encompasses the claimed range of 0.05-1 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05); and
20-90 wt% the thermally conductive filler components (Part A: 0.2*50=10 to 0.9*50=45; Part B: 0.2*50=10 to 0.9*50=45; Total: 10+10=20 to 45+45=90, 20-90 wt%), where this overlaps the claimed range of 60-90 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Earle teaches the (meth)acrylate-based components comprise acrylate monomers such as lauryl methacrylate, and can be combined with other copolymerizable esters of acrylic or methacrylic acids and (meth)acrylic diluents such as urethane methacrylate (Earle, Pgs 9-12, 14), but remains silent regarding an aliphatic urethane oligomer.
Kurimura, however, teaches a two-part adhesive composition comprising a mono-functional (meth)acrylate (an acrylate monomer), a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate such as an oligomer (an acrylate oligomer), an organic peroxide, a decomposition accelerator, and a particulate filler (Kurimura, Abstract, [0020]-[0038]). Kurimura teaches the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate oligomer includes urethane (meth)acrylates formed from aliphatic polyols (such as ethylene glycol) and aliphatic polyisocyanates to yield aliphatic urethane (meth)acrylate oligomers (Kurimura, [0029]-[0030], [0056]-[0063]).
Since Earle and Kurimura both disclose substantially similar two-part adhesive compositions comprising (meth)acrylate components, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have add Kurimura’s aliphatic urethane (meth)acrylate oligomer to Earle’s (meth)acrylate-based components to yield an adhesive that achieves improved curing effect, high size precision, excellent adhesive property, and excellent peeling property as taught by Kurimura (Kurimura, [0019], [0049], [0077]-[0079]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, modified Earle teaches the acrylate monomer can be lauryl methacrylate; where lauryl methacrylate has 12 carbon atoms (Earle, Pgs 9, 12).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Earle teaches the aliphatic urethane oligomer has a weight average molecular weight of from 5,000 to 60,000 (Kurimura, [0063]). Although modified Earle does not measure and provide a number average molecular weight, modified Earle’s aliphatic urethane oligomer would necessarily and reasonably yield some overlap with the claimed number average molecular weight range of 5,000 to 8,000, because modified Earle’s weight average molecular weight range fully encompasses the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Earle teaches the peroxide-based curing agent component (peroxide oxidant) includes peroxides, hydroperoxides, and ketone peroxides (Earle, Pgs 9-10).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, modified Earle teaches the two-part thermally conductive adhesive composition discussed above for claims 1 and 6.
Modified Earle remains silent regarding when a hydroperoxide or ketone peroxide oxidant is employed, then an organic acid metal salt, an organometallic chelate, or a thiourea is used as a peroxide decomposition promoter (required by claim 7); and remains silent regarding when a diacyl peroxide oxidant is employed, then an amine is used as a peroxide decomposition promoter (required by claim 8).
Kurimura, however, teaches a two-part adhesive composition comprising a mono-functional (meth)acrylate (an acrylate monomer), a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate such as an oligomer (an acrylate oligomer), an organic peroxide, a decomposition accelerator, and a particulate filler (Kurimura, Abstract, [0020]-[0038]). Kurimura teaches when hydroperoxides or ketone peroxides are used, then an organic acid metal salt or an organic metal chelate is used as a peroxide decomposition promoter; and when diacyl peroxides are used, then an amine is used as a peroxide decomposition promoter (Kurimura, [0085]-[0092]).
Since modified Earle and Kurimura both disclose substantially similar two-part adhesive compositions comprising peroxides and peroxide decomposition promoters, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used peroxide decomposition promoters according to Kurimura’s guidance to modified Earle’s composition to yield an adhesive exhibiting reliable curing properties and sufficient storage stability as taught by Kurimura (Kurimura, [0085]-[0092]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, modified Earle teaches the thermally conductive filler components include inorganic materials such as alumina (aluminum oxide) and boron nitride (Earle, Pgs 10-11, 13-14).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Earle teaches the two-part thermally conductive adhesive composition discussed above for claims 1 and 9.
Modified Earle remains silent regarding an average particles diameter of inorganic conductive filler ranging from 1 to 130 μm.
Kurimura, however, teaches a two-part adhesive composition comprising a mono-functional (meth)acrylate (an acrylate monomer), a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate such as an oligomer (an acrylate oligomer), an organic peroxide, a decomposition accelerator, and a particulate filler (Kurimura, Abstract, [0020]-[0038]). Kurimura teaches the particulate filler includes inorganic particles such as alumina (aluminum oxide), where the inorganic particles having an average particle size (diameter) ranging from 20 to 200 μm (Kurimura, [0096]-[0098]). Kurimura’s average particle size range overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 130 μm, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Since modified Earle and Kurimura both disclose substantially similar two-part adhesive compositions comprising inorganic particulate fillers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used inorganic conductive fillers having average particle diameter within the claimed range within modified Earle’s composition to yield an adhesive exhibiting excellent peeling property and excellent dimensional precision as taught by Kurimura (Kurimura, [0098]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Earle teaches the (meth)acrylate-based components (the lauryl methacrylate monomer) and the thermally conductive filler components are within both the first and second parts (Parts A & B) (Earle, Pgs 7-8).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Earle teaches the ratio of the first part (Part A) to the second part (Part B) is from 0.5:1 to 6:1 (1:2 to 6:1), preferably about 1:1 (Earle, Pg 14). Earle’s ratio range falls within the claimed range of 1:10 to 10:1, and therefore, satisfies the claimed range (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Earle teaches the ratio of the first part (Part A) to the second part (Part B) is from 0.5:1 to 6:1 (1:2 to 6:1), preferably about 1:1 (Earle, Pg 14). Earle’s ratio range encompasses the claimed ratio of 1:1, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Earle teaches the two-part thermally conductive adhesive composition discussed above. Modified Earle teaches the adhesive composition eliminates the need for mechanical fasteners and clips and is used for bonding between transformers, transistors, and other heat generating electronic components, while providing an efficient method of thermal transfer between heat generating electronic devices and their heat sinks (fills gaps between and bonds together heat generating electronic components to provide thermal conduction continuity; i.e., a thermally conductive gap-filling adhesive/glue) (Earle, Pgs 1-6, 9). Modified Earle teaches the adhesive composition is applied in a manner where the adhesive permeates in clearance gaps and then is cured (i.e., a thermally conductive gap-filling adhesive/glue) (Earle, Pgs 1-6, 9; Kurimura, [0115]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eli D. Strah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782