DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed 10/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-13 have been amended and remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20220279538A1; “Jung”) in view of Yang et al. (US20210259010A1; “Yang”).
Regarding claim 9,
Jung discloses a terminal (Fig. 1, UE 110; paragraph 15) comprising a receiver (Fig. 5, transceiver 570/antenna 575; paragraph 137) that receives first downlink control information including information related to a resource for a UL transmission to be cancelled (Fig. 3, step 300; paragraph 21-31, 110, 124; PUCCH config/resource), receives information related to a priority of an uplink shared channel scheduled by second downlink control information (Fig. 3, step 320; paragraph 110, 124; UL grant of high-priority PUSCH), and receives information related to a priority of an uplink control channel for transmitting HARQ-ACK for a semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel (Fig. 3, step 330; paragraph 11, 22-50, 65, 113-131; UCI includes HARQ-ACK for semi-persistent DL assignment/PDSCH of corresponding priority) that is configured by a higher layer parameter (paragraph 26-29, 37, 59, 67-69; RRC configuration indicating priority of corresponding grants).
Jung further discloses a processor (Fig. 5, controller 520; paragraph 136, 162) that, when the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK for the semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel and the uplink shared channel overlap in a time domain and when the uplink shared channel uses the resource for the UL transmission to be cancelled, controls to cancel transmission of the uplink shared channel after multiplexing the HARQ-ACK with the uplink shared channel or cancelling the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK, based on the priority of the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK and the priority of the uplink shared channel (Fig. 3, steps 320-340; paragraph 12, 20-29, 110, 124; UE determines which PUSCH/PUCCH to transmit among colliding/overlapping according to dropping/multiplexing rules related to the priorities of PUSCH/PUCCH/HARQ-ACK; see also Fig. 4) which is assumed that no case of priority of the control channel is higher than priority of the shared channel (paragraph 40; alternatively, the UE may not be expected – i.e. assumes – to be configured with a high priority PUCCH overlapping a PUSCH).
Jung does not expressly disclose the use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission.
Yang discloses use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission (paragraphs 73, 164, 165; use of DCI format 2_4 to cancel one of multiple overlapping UL transmissions PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS based on priorities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Jung through use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission, as shown by Yang, thereby avoiding problematic scenarios, increased computational complexity, and inefficient resource utilization at the UE.
Regarding claim 11,
Jung discloses a radio communication method (Fig. 3-4) for a terminal (Fig. 1, UE 110) comprising receiving first downlink control information including information related to a resource for a UL transmission to be cancelled (Fig. 3, step 300; paragraph 21-31, 110, 124; PUCCH config/resource), receiving information related to a priority of an uplink shared channel scheduled by second downlink control information (Fig. 3, step 320; paragraph 110, 124; UL grant of high-priority PUSCH), and receiving information related to a priority of an uplink control channel for transmitting HARQ-ACK for a semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel (Fig. 3, step 330; paragraph 11, 22-50, 65, 113-131; UCI includes HARQ-ACK for semi-persistent DL assignment/PDSCH of corresponding priority) that is configured by a higher layer parameter (paragraph 26-29, 37, 59, 67-69; RRC configuration indicating priority of corresponding grants).
Jung further discloses, when the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK for the semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel and the uplink shared channel overlap in a time domain and when the uplink shared channel uses the resource for the UL transmission to be cancelled, controlling to cancel transmission of the uplink shared channel after multiplexing the HARQ-ACK with the uplink shared channel or cancelling the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK, based on the priority of the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK and the priority of the uplink shared channel (Fig. 3, steps 320-340; paragraph 12, 20-29, 110, 124; UE determines which PUSCH/PUCCH to transmit among colliding/overlapping according to dropping/multiplexing rules related to the priorities of PUSCH/PUCCH/HARQ-ACK; see also Fig. 4) which is assumed that no case of priority of the control channel is higher than priority of the shared channel (paragraph 40; alternatively, the UE may not be expected – i.e. assumes – to be configured with a high priority PUCCH overlapping a PUSCH).
Jung does not expressly disclose the use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission.
Yang discloses use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission (paragraphs 73, 164, 165; use of DCI format 2_4 to cancel one of multiple overlapping UL transmissions PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS based on priorities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Jung through use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission, as shown by Yang, thereby avoiding problematic scenarios, increased computational complexity, and inefficient resource utilization at the UE.
Regarding claim 12,
Jung discloses a base station (Fig. 1, base station 120/125; paragraph 15) comprising a transmitter (Fig. 5, transceiver 570/antenna 575; paragraph 137) that transmits first downlink control information including information related to a resource for a UL transmission to be cancelled (Fig. 3, step 300; paragraph 21-31, 110, 124; PUCCH config/resource), transmits information related to a priority of an uplink shared channel scheduled by second downlink control information (Fig. 3, step 320; paragraph 110, 124; UL grant of high-priority PUSCH), and transmits information related to a priority of an uplink control channel for transmitting HARQ-ACK for a semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel (Fig. 3, step 330; paragraph 11, 22-50, 65, 113-131; UCI includes HARQ-ACK for semi-persistent DL assignment/PDSCH of corresponding priority) that is configured by a higher layer parameter (paragraph 26-29, 37, 59, 67-69; RRC configuration indicating priority of corresponding grants).
Jung further discloses a processor (Fig. 5, controller 520; paragraph 136, 162) that, when the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK for the semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel and the uplink shared channel overlap in a time domain and when the uplink shared channel uses the resource for the UL transmission to be cancelled, indicates, by the first downlink control information, cancellation of the UL transmission after a multiplexing process or a cancellation process is performed, based on the priority of the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK and the priority of the uplink shared channel (Fig. 3, steps 320-340; paragraph 12, 20-29, 110, 124; UE determines which PUSCH/PUCCH to transmit among colliding/overlapping according to dropping/multiplexing rules related to the priorities of PUSCH/PUCCH/HARQ-ACK; see also Fig. 4) which is assumed that no case of priority of the control channel is higher than priority of the shared channel (paragraph 40; alternatively, the UE may not be expected – i.e. assumes – to be configured with a high priority PUCCH overlapping a PUSCH).
Jung does not expressly disclose the use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission.
Yang discloses use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission (paragraphs 73, 164, 165; use of DCI format 2_4 to cancel one of multiple overlapping UL transmissions PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS based on priorities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Jung through use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission, as shown by Yang, thereby avoiding problematic scenarios, increased computational complexity, and inefficient resource utilization at the UE.
Regarding claim 13,
Jung discloses a system (Fig. 1, system 100) comprising a terminal (Fig. 1, UE 110; paragraph 15) and a base station (Fig. 1, base station 120/125; paragraph 15), wherein the terminal comprises a receiver (Fig. 5, transceiver 570/antenna 575; paragraph 137) that receives first downlink control information including information related to a resource for a UL transmission to be cancelled (Fig. 3, step 300; paragraph 21-31, 110, 124; PUCCH config/resource), receives information related to a priority of an uplink shared channel scheduled by second downlink control information (Fig. 3, step 320; paragraph 110, 124; UL grant of high-priority PUSCH), and receives information related to a priority of an uplink control channel for transmitting HARQ-ACK for a semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel (Fig. 3, step 330; paragraph 11, 22-50, 65, 113-131; UCI includes HARQ-ACK for semi-persistent DL assignment/PDSCH of corresponding priority) that is configured by a higher layer parameter (paragraph 26-29, 37, 59, 67-69; RRC configuration indicating priority of corresponding grants).
Jung further discloses a processor (Fig. 5, controller 520; paragraph 136, 162) that, when the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK for the semi-persistently transmitted downlink shared channel and the uplink shared channel overlap in a time domain and when the uplink shared channel uses the resource for the UL transmission to be cancelled, controls to cancel transmission of the uplink shared channel after multiplexing the HARQ-ACK with the uplink shared channel or cancelling the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK, based on the priority of the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK and the priority of the uplink shared channel (Fig. 3, steps 320-340; paragraph 12, 20-29, 110, 124; UE determines which PUSCH/PUCCH to transmit among colliding/overlapping according to dropping/multiplexing rules related to the priorities of PUSCH/PUCCH/HARQ-ACK; see also Fig. 4).
Jung further discloses the base station comprises a transmitter (Fig. 5, transceiver 570/antenna 575; paragraph 137) that transmits the first downlink control information, the information related to the priority of the uplink shared channel, and the information related to the priority of the uplink control channel (Fig. 3, step 300; paragraph 21-31, 110, 124; PUCCH config/resource; Fig. 3, step 320; paragraph 110, 124; UL grant of high-priority PUSCH; Fig. 3, step 330; paragraph 11, 22-50, 65, 113-131; UCI includes HARQ-ACK for semi-persistent DL assignment/PDSCH of corresponding priority) and a processor (Fig. 5, controller 520; paragraph 136, 162) that indicates, by the first downlink control information, cancellation of the UL transmission after the multiplexing or the cancelling is performed, based on the priority of the uplink control channel for transmitting the HARQ-ACK and the priority of the uplink shared channel (Fig. 3, steps 320-340; paragraph 12, 20-29, 110, 124; UE determines which PUSCH/PUCCH to transmit among colliding/overlapping according to dropping/multiplexing rules related to the priorities of PUSCH/PUCCH/HARQ-ACK; see also Fig. 4) which is assumed that no case of priority of the control channel is higher than priority of the shared channel (paragraph 40; alternatively, the UE may not be expected – i.e. assumes – to be configured with a high priority PUCCH overlapping a PUSCH).
Jung does not expressly disclose the use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission.
Yang discloses use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission (paragraphs 73, 164, 165; use of DCI format 2_4 to cancel one of multiple overlapping UL transmissions PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS based on priorities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Jung through use of DCI format 2_4 to control cancellation of the UL transmission, as shown by Yang, thereby avoiding problematic scenarios, increased computational complexity, and inefficient resource utilization at the UE.
Regarding claim 10,
Jung discloses when the priority of the uplink control channel is low and the priority of the uplink shared channel is high, the processor controls to cancel transmission of the uplink shared channel after cancelling the uplink control channel (paragraphs 12, 18-29, 61, Tables 1-2; different examples/implementations of dropping/multiplexing rules based on various priorities of the PUCCH/PUSCH/UCI). See also Yang (paragraphs 73, 164, 165; use of DCI format 2_4 to cancel one of multiple overlapping UL transmissions PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS based on priorities) and motivation above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 9-10 of the Amendment, Applicant contends Jung fails to disclose configuring the priority of channels using a higher layer parameter. Applicant further argues that Jung fails to show the limitation moved up from dependent claim 10 in which it is assumed no case where the priority of the control channel is higher than the shared channel. Applicant also states that Yang fails to supply what Jung lacks on pg. 11-12 of the Amendment.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As now shown in the rejection, Jung clearly discloses configuring the priority of channels using a higher layer parameter through disclosure at least in paragraphs 26-29 of RRC configuration indicating priority of corresponding grants on PUCCH and PUSCH. Further, paragraph 40 (as cited by Applicant) of Jung also discloses embodiments in which the UE is not expected to be configured with a high priority PUCCH that overlaps a PUSCH. This “expected” aspect of the disclosure directly maps to the contested limitation of “assuming” no case where the priority of the control channel is higher than the shared channel, given a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitation. Yang is not relied upon to teach these limitations, only to show the use of dci format 2_4. However, Yang does further show the use of higher layer/RRC configuration of priority in paragraph 172. Therefore, the rejections based on the combination of Jung and Yang are properly maintained.
Conclusion
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477