DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang, Kai CN. 109826819 A (“Kai”)1.
Regarding claim 1, Kai discloses a computing device comprising:
a processing unit [process 10 of fig. 2];
a cooling device [fan 1] positioned in proximity to the processing unit; and
a controller [10], coupled to the cooling device, wherein the controller is to:
determine a current value of a monitored current signal, wherein the monitored current signal corresponds to an output load provided to the processing unit;
FIG. 1 a structure diagram of a system for adjusting the rotating speed of the fan in this invention embodiment, the system comprises a processor 10 and a plurality of current detecting part connected with the processor 10 11. each of the current detecting part 11 with the corresponding chip connection, for when the system is operated, current value of the collecting chip, and transmitting the current value to the processor 10, a processor 10 for receiving the current detecting component 11 transmission and the current value according to the current value, adjusting the rotating speed of the fan.
each chip in the system connected with a current detecting part 11, so the processor 10
obtaining the change condition of the current value of each chip. [page 4]
compare the current value of the monitored current signal with a predefined threshold value;
based on the comparison, determine whether the processing unit is in a high-performance mode [when the current value is greater than or equal to the corresponding current upper limit value of the target chip exists indicating high workload] or a normal operating mode;
in response to a determination that the processing unit is in the high-performance mode, cause an increase in an operating speed of the cooling device to a designated speed independent of a temperature of the processing unit; and
In a particular implementation, one implementation feasible, can the processor pre-set current threshold value and the rotating speed of the fan 10, in the corresponding relationship, wherein the current threshold value may be the value range of the current. Accordingly, processor 10 can be obtained from the corresponding relation corresponding to the current value of the target rotation speed and the rotation speed of the fan is adjusted to a target speed.
In addition, and also can through the set limited value, adjusting the rotating speed of the fan. Specifically, the processor 10 can judge whether each current value is greater than or equal to the corresponding current limit value. current limit chip performance of different types of difference, the chips corresponding to the respective corresponding will be different, the value of each current upper limit value can be set according to the performance of the chip, which will not be limited. when the current value is greater than or equal to the corresponding current upper limit value of the target chip exists, then increasing the rotating speed of the large fan.
According to the technical solution of the invention can be seen, a plurality of current detecting part for adjusting rotating speed of fan system including a processor and connected with the processor, current value of each current detecting part connected from the corresponding chip, for when the system is operated, collecting chip, and transmits the current value to the processor. in the traditional technology according to the chip temperature value, adjusting the rotating speed of fan as compared to the current value of the chip can be more accurately the timely reflect the current heat change. processor for receiving each part transfers the current detection current value, and according to the current value, adjusting the rotating speed of the fan. when each chip in the system due to increased workload, the load increases, the current will rise up the chip, the temperature starts to rise. when the system detects that the chip of the current value rises, firstly the rotating speed of fan high, early start heat dissipation, the system temperature is not too high, and can reduce the temperature value of the chip in a shorter period of time. When the system load decreases, the current value of the chip begins to fall, then the system will advance the fan rotation speed is reduced, and reaches energy-saving effect. [page 5]
in response to a determination that the processing unit is in the normal operating mode, receive the temperature of the processing unit and cause an adjustment in the operating speed of the cooling device to be within a first speed range, based on the temperature of the processing unit.
the embodiment of the invention provided by adjusting the rotating speed of the fan in the system may include a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature value of each chip 12 and the corresponding system structure schematic diagram as shown in FIG. 2, each chip is configured with a current detecting part 11 outer, further comprises a temperature sensor 12. FIG. 2 is a structure diagram of a system with a chip as an example of adjusting the rotating speed of the fan.
the change of the chip current value is more sensitive than change of the temperature value, therefore, when the current value of each chip is less than or equal to the corresponding current limit may be one or some of the chip temperature value is not reduced to the desired temperature value. Therefore, when each of the current value are less than or equal to the corresponding current limit value, and the processor 10 adjusting the speed of the fan before processor 10 also can be used for judging whether the temperature value of each of the chip is less than or equal to the corresponding temperature lower limit value.
different chips because the performance is different, the corresponding temperature lower limit value will be different. when the temperature values of each chip is less than or equal to the corresponding temperature limit value, the temperature value of each chip has been reduced to the safe temperature range of the claim, step speed at this time can be executed down the fan.
when the target chip in the preset time temperature value is less than the preset temperature difference value, the current value of the chip is temporarily increased, is not caused by the load is too high, this can be adjusted to the initial rotating speed of the fan. [page 6]
Regarding claim 3, Kai discloses monitored current signal increases from a first value to a second value in response to processing unit switching to the high-performance mode [SEE page 5 - when each chip in the system due to increased workload, the load increases, the current will rise up the chip].
Regarding claim 4, Kai discloses the processing unit is to switch from the normal operating mode to the high-performance mode, with the output load provided during the normal operating mode being less than the output load provided during the high-performance mode [page 5 - when each chip in the system due to increased workload, the load increases, the current will rise up the chip and when the system load decreases, the current value of the chip begins to fall, then the system will advance the fan rotation speed is reduced].
Regarding claim 16, Kai discloses the designated speed is higher than the first speed range [page 5 - when each chip in the system due to increased workload, the load increases, the current will rise up the chip, the temperature starts to rise. when the system detects that the chip of the current value rises, firstly the rotating speed of fan high; page 6 - when the current value of each chip is less than or equal to the corresponding current limit may be one or some of the chip temperature value is not reduced to the desired temperature value. Therefore, when each of the current value are less than or equal to the corresponding current limit value, and the processor 10 adjusting the speed of the fan].
Regarding claim 17, Kai discloses the designated speed is within a second speed range different from the first speed range [page 5 - In a particular implementation, one implementation feasible, can the processor pre-set current threshold value and the rotating speed of the fan 10, in the corresponding relationship, wherein the current threshold value may be the value range of the current. Accordingly, processor 10 can be obtained from the corresponding relation corresponding to the current value of the target rotation speed and the rotation speed of the fan is adjusted to a target speed; increasing the speed of the fan can be adjusting the speed of the fan to the preset high speed value, or the rotating speed of the fan to more carefully divided, according to the level of the current value, the fan rotating speed to the rotating speed of the corresponding level; SEE further discussed paragraph in claim 16].
Regarding claim 18, Kai discloses the designated speed is a constant value [page 5 - In a particular implementation, one implementation feasible, can the processor pre-set current threshold value and the rotating speed of the fan 10, in the corresponding relationship, wherein the current threshold value may be the value range of the current. Accordingly, processor 10 can be obtained from the corresponding relation corresponding to the current value of the target rotation speed and the rotation speed of the fan is adjusted to a target speed; increasing the speed of the fan can be adjusting the speed of the fan to the preset high speed value, or the rotating speed of the fan to more carefully divided, according to the level of the current value, the fan rotating speed to the rotating speed of the corresponding level].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 2, Although Kai teaches, when each chip in the system due to increased workload, the load increases, the current will rise up the chip. Kai does not teach a voltage regulator to: provide the output load to the processing unit as per an operating mode of the processing unit; and generate the monitored current signal for monitoring in response to providing the output load, wherein the monitored current signal is proportional to a value of the output load provided to the processing unit.
Chen teaches another fan control system configured to determine whether the current value of the computer system is larger than or equal to a predetermined current value; and if yes, changing the rotation speed of the fan device according to a variation of the current value. Specifically, Chen teaches a voltage regulator [Voltage regulator module 31 of fig. 2] to provide the output load to the processing unit as per an operating mode of the processing unit; and generate the monitored current signal for monitoring in response to providing the output load, wherein the monitored current signal is proportional to a value of the output load provided to the processing unit [SEE par. 0025].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a voltage regulator to provide the output load to the processing unit as per an operating mode of the processing unit. The motivation for doing so would has been to allows for dynamic power delivery. Different operating modes demand varying amounts of power/current. By actively adjusting the power/current supplied to the processing unit based on its current operating state, the system can optimize energy consumption and prevent over-or-under powering, which can impact performance and efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the predefined threshold value corresponds to a minimum output load for operating in the high-performance mode, generated by a voltage regulator to provide to the processing unit [SEE par. 0025, 0042].
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the control engine on ascertaining the processing unit to have switched to the high- performance mode is to further: generate a control signal to override a device controller controlling the cooling device; and control the operating speed of the cooling device in place of the device controller [SEE fig. 3].
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the controller is further to maintain the cooling device to operate at the designated speed for a duration in which the processing unit is operating in the high-performance mode [SEE fig. 3].
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the designated speed is within a range between a first operating speed and a second operating speed of the cooling device [SEE fig. 3].
Claim(s) 9-15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 9, Kai teaches a method comprising:
monitoring a current signal [11], wherein a value of the monitored current signal corresponding to an output load provided to a processing unit of a computing device [SEE page 5];
determining, based on a comparison between the change in the current value of the monitoring current signal and a predefined threshold value whether the processing unit is in a high-performance mode [when the current value is greater than or equal to the corresponding current upper limit value (high load) – page 5] or a normal operating mode [when the current value is less than or equal to the corresponding current limit value (low load) – page 6];
in response to a determination that the processing unit is in the high-performance mode, cause an increase in an operating speed of the cooling device to a designated speed independent of a temperature of the processing unit; and
in response to a determination that the processing unit is in the normal operating mode, receive the temperature of the processing unit and cause an adjustment in the operating speed of the cooling device to be within a first speed range, based on the temperature of the processing unit [SEE further discussion in claim 1].
Kai does not teach monitoring a current signal, wherein a value of the monitored current signal corresponds to an output load provided by a voltage regulator to a processing unit of a computing device; determining a change in a current value of the monitored current signal in response to change in output load provided by the voltage regulator, wherein the change in the output load occurs due to a change in an operating mode of the processing unit.
Chen teaches another fan control system configured to determine whether the current value of the computer system is larger than or equal to a predetermined current value; and if yes, changing the rotation speed of the fan device according to a variation of the current value. Specifically, Chen teaches monitoring a current signal, wherein a value of the monitored current signal corresponds to an output load provided by a voltage regulator [Voltage regulator 31] to a processing unit [Central processor unit 1a] of a computing device;
determining a change in a current value of the monitored current signal in response to change in output load provided by the voltage regulator, wherein the change in the output load occurs due to a change in an operating mode of the processing unit;
[0025] In one embodiment of the present invention, the current detecting module 30 includes a voltage regulator module (VRM) 31, a sensing resistor 32, an amplifier 33, a voltage follower 34, and a digital to analog converter 35. The voltage regulator module 31 is electrically connected to the central processing unit 1a for adjusting and supplying an adequate power signal to the central processing unit 1a according to the required power of the central processing unit la. The sensing resistor 32 is electrically connected to the power input end V and the voltage regulator module 31 for receiving the power signal from the power input end V, for example, a power signal of 12 volts, and then transmitting the power signal to the input end of the voltage regulator module 31. The voltage regulator module 31 then transforms and adjusts the power signal of the central processing unit 1a. Therefore, when the current value of the required power signal of the central processing unit 1a is changed, the current value passing through the sensing resistor 32 is also changed, such that the voltage difference of both ends of the sensing resistor 32 is also changed at the same time. As a result, the sensing resistor 32 can generate a voltage difference signal. The amplifier 33 is electrically connected to the sensing resistor 32 for amplifying the required multiple of the voltage difference signal generated by the sensing resistor 32. The voltage follower 34 is electrically connected to the amplifier 33 for separating and buffering the signal. Therefore, when the voltage difference signal passes through the voltage follower 34, the voltage follower 34 can avoid the interference signal from outside. The digital to analog converter 35 is electrically connected to the voltage follower 34 for receiving the voltage difference signal and transforming the analog voltage difference signal into a digital voltage difference signal, and then for transmitting to the second determining module 50 finally. As a result, the second determining module 50 can estimate the current value of the central processing unit 1 a from the voltage difference signal.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kai with the steps discussed above of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been, since a voltage regulator is crucial for supply the precises voltage and current required by the processor, adapting to its varying operation states, to monitor the current signal from the voltage regulator provides an immediate and accurate indicator of the processor’s actual workload. Thus, provides for quick adjustments to cooling system, such as fan speed, before significant heat buildup occurs.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches determining a computational load due to execution of a programmable tasks on the processing unit; and in response to the computational load being greater than predefined workload, increasing output load provided by the voltage regulator to switch the processing unit to the high-performance mode [SEE par. 0025, 0042].
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the current value of the monitored current signal is proportional to the output load provided by the voltage regulator to the processing unit [SEE par. 0025].
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the designated speed is within a range between a first operating speed and a higher second operating speed of the cooling device [SEE fig. 3].
Regarding claim 13, Tai teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer readable instructions, which when executed by a processing unit, causes a controller within a computing device to:
monitor a current signal, wherein the current signal is proportional to an output load being provided to a processor [SEE page 5-6];
determine a current value of the monitored current signal;
compare the determined current value of the monitored current signal with a predefined threshold value [SEE discussion in claim 1]; and
based on the comparison control operating speed of a cooling device positioned in proximity to the processor, wherein to control operating speed [READ page 5], the computer readable instructions are to further cause the controller to:
increase operating speed of the cooling device to a designated speed independent of a temperature of the processor in response to determining that the current value is greater than the predefined threshold value, wherein the current value being greater is indicative of the processor being in a high-performance mode [SEE discussion in claim 1]
Tai does not teach monitor a current signal, wherein the current signal is proportional to an output load being provided by a voltage regulator to a processor.
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches maintain the cooling device to operate at the designated speed for a duration during which the processing unit is operating in the high- performance mode [SEE step in fig. 3].
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the processing unit operating in the normal operating mode is operating at a clock frequency which is less than the clock frequency of the processing unit operating in the high-performance mode [SEE par. 0042- overclocking].
Chen teaches monitor a current signal, wherein the current signal is proportional to an output load being provided by a voltage regulator to a processor [SEE further discussion in claim 9].
Regarding claim 19, Tai teaches the designated speed is within a second speed range between a lower speed value and a maximum rated operating speed of the cooling device [page 5 - In a particular implementation, one implementation feasible, can the processor pre-set current threshold value and the rotating speed of the fan 10, in the corresponding relationship, wherein the current threshold value may be the value range of the current. Accordingly, processor 10 can be obtained from the corresponding relation corresponding to the current value of the target rotation speed and the rotation speed of the fan is adjusted to a target speed; increasing the speed of the fan can be adjusting the speed of the fan to the preset high speed value, or the rotating speed of the fan to more carefully divided, according to the level of the current value, the fan rotating speed to the rotating speed of the corresponding level].
Regarding claim 20, Tai teaches the speed range is between a first value and a second value, and wherein the designated speed is higher than the first value and the second value [page 5 - In a particular implementation, one implementation feasible, can the processor pre-set current threshold value and the rotating speed of the fan 10, in the corresponding relationship, wherein the current threshold value may be the value range of the current. Accordingly, processor 10 can be obtained from the corresponding relation corresponding to the current value of the target rotation speed and the rotation speed of the fan is adjusted to a target speed; increasing the speed of the fan can be adjusting the speed of the fan to the preset high speed value, or the rotating speed of the fan to more carefully divided, according to the level of the current value, the fan rotating speed to the rotating speed of the corresponding level].
Conclusion
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Cited by the Examiner on 12/11/2024.