Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges applicant’s remarks filed 01/06/2026. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 4, 5, and 8-10 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-10 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim limitation “image capturing unit” in claim 1 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “image capturing” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The term “unit” is merely a generic placeholder for the term “means.”
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover “imaging lenses and an imaging sensor, configured to capture an image of the one or more samples. The imaging sensor may be, for example, a charge-coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS), corresponding to structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, see applicant’s specification at para. [0032].
Claim limitation “holding unit” in claim 1 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “holding” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The term “unit” is merely a generic placeholder for the term “means.”
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover “may be a part of the extendable sample tray” corresponding to structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof see applicant’s specification at para. [0031].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0364536 to Busa et al.
Regarding applicant’s claim 1, Busa et al. discloses an immunoassay test reader that uses test strips 10. (Title and [0005])
Busa et al. teaches that a reader 30 (assembly) includes a housing 1022A,B (enclosure) enclosing electronics and an optics unit configured for reading the one or more test lines and the control line of the test strip (para [0073],[0090]; Figs. 3 and 10) .
Busa et al. further teaches that reader 30 (assembly) is configured with a light source and optics unit 1028 that captures the reflectance of all the test stripes by use of a 2D imaging device (image capturing unit) (para. [0090], [0153]. As such, the imaging device (imaging capturing unit) has a field of view in the reader housing 1022A,B (enclosure).
Busa et al. teaches that the test strips are held in tray 32 as shown in Fig. 3. [0077].
As shown in Fig. 3, the tray 32 protrudes from the reader housing 1022A,B (enclosure). The tray 32 is then retracted inside the reader 30 (assembly) (para. [0077]). Thus, Busa et al. teaches that an end of the tray 20 extends out of the housing 1022A,B (enclosure).
Busa et al. teaches that the tray 32 further includes an area 1008 the area 1008 provided with an optical calibration test pattern 200 (calibration marker) spaced from the test device and positioned in alignment with the axis of the test device (para [0097], Fig. 10).Therefore, the area 1008 corresponds to the claimed holding unit, inasmuch as the area 1008 (holding unit) is coupled to the tray 32 and configured to hold calibration pattern 200 (calibration marker).
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above Busa et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recited the image capturing unit is spaced away from the at least one sample tray and the at least one holding unit.
Busa et al. illustrates an optical system in Fig. 4 in which when the image capturing device is used as the stated alternative to the array of photodiodes, the image capturing device would be spaced away from the at least one sample tray and the at least one holding unit. [0078]
Therefore Busa et al. anticipates claim 6.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above Busa et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 7 recites a light source, and wherein when the at least one extendable sample tray is brought in the field of view of the image capturing unit, a portion of the extendable sample tray configured to hold the one or more samples is illuminated by the light source.
In Fig. 4 Busa et al. illustrates that tray in the field of view of the image capturing device wherein a portion of the sample tray configured to hold one or more samples is illuminated by the light source 102 for purpose of capturing images of the test strips.
Therefore, Busa et al. anticipates claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Busa et al. as applied to claim 1 and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20090155921 to Lu et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Busa et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites assembly according to further comprising a casing unit and wherein the at least one holding unit is rollable into the casing unit.
Busa et al. does not teach a casing unit and wherein the at least one holding unit is rollable into the casing unit.
Lu et al. discloses a method and apparatus for reading test strips. (Abstract).
In Lu et al. teaches that the test strips are placed into a holding cassette 805 [0004], [0064]
In Lu et al. the holding cassette and test strips are rollable into the enclosure in the manner in which gear rack attached to a side of the sliding cassette holder or tray 804. During motion of tray 804, gear rack 1102 actuates rotary damper 1103 through pinion gear 1106, engaged with rack 1102. [0075]
The configuration and function of the gear rack 1102, rotary damper 1103 and pinion gear 1106 reads on a casing unit in that the holding cassette and test strips are rollable into the enclosure in the manner in which gear rack attached to a side of the sliding cassette holder or tray 804 rolls into the surrounding structure that encases the gear rack and holder cassette.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Busa et al. to include the configuration and function of the gear rack 1102, rotary damper 1103 and pinion gear 1106 od Lu et al. for purposes of directing the tray 20 into the reader in a similar manner as taught by Lu et al.
Therefore, Busa et al. in view of Lu et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Busa et al. in view of Lu et al. renders claim 2 obvious from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites that the extension of the at least one sample tray coupled to the at least one holding unit causes rolling out of the rollable at least one holding unit from the casing unit.
Lu et al. teaches that in the configuration and function of the gear rack 1102, rotary damper 1103 and pinion gear 1106 that read on a casing unit spring 1104 causes rolling out of the holding unit. [0075]
Therefore, Busa et al. in view of Lu et al. renders claim 3 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
International Patent Application Publication No. WO2019045282 to Han teaches a casing unit in which urging member 111 pushes kit K against the inner surface of tray 100 as shown in Fig. 4, illustrating that a casing unit can be interpreted as being merely a case.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798