DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on October 15, 2025. Claims 1-80 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-14, 17-22, 28-34, 37-42, 48-54, 57-62, 68-74 and 77-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0124787).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (wireless device, 36), the method comprising: determining a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which the UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 129; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); performing a PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129; measure the PRSs mapped); and transmitting the RACH sequence on the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence, according to the PRS to RO mapping and based on the PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also paragraph 145).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al discloses performing the PRS measurement comprises performing the PRS measurement while the UE is in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state (see at least paragraph 78).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al discloses determining the PRS to RO mapping comprises receiving the PRS to RO mapping from a base station (see at least paragraph 130).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al discloses receiving the PRS to RO mapping comprises receiving a system information block (SIB) or positioning SIB comprising the PRS to RO mapping (see at least paragraph 149).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al discloses determining the PRS to RO mapping comprises mapping PRS measurements related to a measurement target to ROs during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence, the measurement target comprising: one or more identified PRS resources; one or more identified PRS sets; one or more identified transmission/reception points (TRPs); one or more identified positioning frequency layers; or an identified combination thereof (see at least paragraph 129).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a base station (BS) (Base Station, 40), the method comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 123; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and sending, to the UE, the PRS to RO mapping (see at least paragraph 123 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also see paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al discloses receiving the PRS to RO mapping from the network entity comprises receiving the PRS to RO mapping from a location server or a location management function (see at least paragraph 130).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al discloses sending the PRS to RO mapping comprises sending a system information block (SIB) or a positioning SIB comprising the PRS to RO mapping (see at least paragraph 149).
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al discloses receiving the PRS to RO mapping comprises receiving a mapping that maps PRS measurements related to a measurement target to ROs during which the UE should report PRS measurements related to the measurement target, the measurement target comprising: one or more identified PRS resources; one or more identified PRS sets; one or more identified transmission/reception points (TRPs); one or more identified positioning frequency layers; or an identified combination thereof (see at least paragraph 129).
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity (positioning network node, 44), the method comprising: determining a group of PRS resources (see at least paragraph 131; PRS configuration information); determining, based on the group of PRS resources, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 131; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and sending the PRS to RO mapping to a base station that is serving the UE (see at least paragraph 133 discloses transmission of mapped PRS).
Regarding claim 18, Wang et al discloses the network entity comprises a location server or a location management function (see at least paragraph 130).
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al discloses the base station is a co-located with or is a component of the network entity (see at least paragraph 130).
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al discloses determining the group of PRS resources comprises determining the group of PRS resources based on transmission/reception points (TRPs) in a geographic region (see at least paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 21, Wang et al discloses a user equipment (UE) (wireless device, 36), comprising: a memory (paragraph 142, inherent in wireless device); at least one transceiver (paragraph 142, inherent in wireless device); and at least one processor (paragraph 142, inherent in wireless device) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to: determine a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which the UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 129; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); perform a PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129; measure the PRSs mapped); and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the RACH sequence on the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence, according to the PRS to RO mapping and based on the PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also paragraph 145).
Regarding claim 31, Wang et al discloses a base station (BS) (Base Station, 40), comprising: a memory (paragraph 141, memory); at least one transceiver (paragraph 140, inherent in base station); and at least one processor (paragraph 140, inherent in base station) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to: receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a network entity, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 123; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and send, via the at least one transceiver, to the UE, the PRS to RO mapping (see at least paragraph 123 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also see paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 37, Wang et al discloses a network entity (positioning network node, 44), comprising: a memory (paragraph 148, inherent in positioning network node); at least one transceiver (paragraph 148, inherent in positioning network node); and at least one processor (paragraph 148, inherent in positioning network node) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to: determine a group of PRS resources (see at least paragraph 131; PRS configuration information); determine, based on the group of PRS resources, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 131; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and send, via the at least one transceiver, the PRS to RO mapping to a base station that is serving the UE (see at least paragraph 133 discloses transmission of mapped PRS).
Regarding claim 41, Wang et al discloses a user equipment (UE) (wireless device, 36), comprising: means for determining a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which the UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 129; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); means for performing a PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129; measure the PRSs mapped); and means for transmitting the RACH sequence on the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence, according to the PRS to RO mapping and based on the PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also paragraph 145).
Regarding claim 51, Wang et al discloses a base station (BS) (Base Station, 40), comprising: means for receiving, from a network entity, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 123; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and means for sending, to the UE, the PRS to RO mapping (see at least paragraph 123 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also see paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 57, Wang et al discloses a network entity (positioning network node, 44), comprising: means for determining a group of PRS resources (see at least paragraph 131; PRS configuration information); means for determining, based on the group of PRS resources, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 131; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and means for sending the PRS to RO mapping to a base station that is serving the UE (see at least paragraph 133 discloses transmission of mapped PRS).
Regarding claim 61, Wang et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a user equipment (UE) (wireless device, 36), cause the UE to: determine a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which the UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 129; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); perform a PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129; measure the PRSs mapped); and transmit the RACH sequence on the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence, according to the PRS to RO mapping and based on the PRS measurement (see at least paragraph 129 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also paragraph 145).
Regarding claim 71, Wang et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a base station (BS) (Base Station, 40), cause the BS to: receive, from a network entity, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 123; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and send, to the UE, the PRS to RO mapping (see at least paragraph 123 discloses transmission of mapped PRS; also see paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 77, Wang et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a network entity (positioning network node, 44), cause the network entity to: determine a group of PRS resources (see at least paragraph 131; PRS configuration information); determine, based on the group of PRS resources, a positioning reference signal (PRS) to random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) mapping that maps PRS measurements to ROs during which a UE should transmit a RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 131; discloses mapping PRSs to resources); and send the PRS to RO mapping to a base station that is serving the UE (see at least paragraph 133 discloses transmission of mapped PRS).
Regarding claims 22, 28-30, 32-34, 38-40, 42, 48-50, 52-54, 58-60, 62, 68-70, 72-74 and 78-80, see above rejection of claims 2, 8-10, 12-14 and 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-7, 15-16, 23-27, 35-36, 43-47, 55-56, 63-67 and 75-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0124787) in view of Lee et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0275726).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al fails to explicitly disclose transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) mapped to the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) mapped to the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence (see at least paragraph 209). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Wang et al, for purpose of transmitting measurement value for PRS; transmit multiple results in one report.
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al fails to explicitly disclose transmitting the SRS comprises transmitting the SRS: using a same transmit beam used for the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence; using a same time and frequency resource used for the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence; or using one of one or more timing adjustment commands received from a base station; using a power offset specified by the base station or using a power offset of zero if no power offset is specified by the base station; using time and frequency resources specified by the base station; a combination thereof. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses transmitting the SRS comprises transmitting the SRS: using a same transmit beam used for the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence; using a same time and frequency resource used for the RO during which the UE should transmit the RACH sequence; or using one of one or more timing adjustment commands received from a base station; using a power offset specified by the base station or using a power offset of zero if no power offset is specified by the base station; using time and frequency resources specified by the base station; a combination thereof (see at least paragraph 392). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Wang et al, for purpose of transmitting measurement value for PRS; transmit multiple results in one report.
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al fails to explicitly disclose reporting, to a base station, a result of the PRS measurement, the result comprising a reception-to-transmission (Rx-Tx) measurement, a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement, a timestamp, a quality metrics measurement, or a combination thereof, wherein the result is reported to the base station according to the PRS measurement, the PRS to RO mapping, the SRS, or a combination thereof. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses reporting, to a base station, a result of the PRS measurement, the result comprising a reception-to-transmission (Rx-Tx) measurement, a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement, a timestamp, a quality metrics measurement, or a combination thereof, wherein the result is reported to the base station according to the PRS measurement, the PRS to RO mapping, the SRS, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraph 249). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Wang et al, for purpose of transmitting measurement value for PRS; transmit multiple results in one report.
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al fails to explicitly disclose reporting the result of the PRS measurement comprises reporting the result of the PRS measurement while the UE is in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses reporting the result of the PRS measurement comprises reporting the result of the PRS measurement while the UE is in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state (see at least paragraph 346). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Wang et al, for purpose of transmitting measurement value for PRS; transmit multiple results in one report.
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al fails to explicitly disclose reporting the result of the PRS measurement comprises reporting the result of the PRS measurement to the base station via at least one physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion, via at least one MSG3 message, or a combination thereof. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses reporting the result of the PRS measurement comprises reporting the result of the PRS measurement to the base station via at least one physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion, via at least one MSG3 message, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraph 346). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Wang et al, for purpose of transmitting measurement value for PRS; transmit multiple results in one report.
Regarding claim 15, Wang et al fails to explicitly disclose receiving, from the UE and on at least one RO, a result of a PRS measurement; and determining the measurement target to which the PRS measurement relates, based on the PRS to RO mapping. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses receiving, from the UE and on at least one RO, a result of a PRS measurement; and determining the measurement target to which the PRS measurement relates, based on the PRS to RO mapping (see at least paragraph346). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Wang et al, for purpose of transmitting measurement value for PRS; transmit multiple results in one report.
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al fails to explicitly disclose sending, to the network entity, the result of the PRS measurement and an indication of the measurement target to which the PRS measurement relates. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee et al discloses sending, to the network entity, the result of the PRS measurement and an indication of the measurement target to which the PRS measurement relates (see at least paragraph 346). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Lee et al into the system of Wang et al, for purpose of transmitting measurement value for PRS; transmit multiple results in one report.
Regarding claims 23-27, 35-36, 43-47, 55-56, 63-67 and 75-76, see above rejection of claims 3-7 and 15-16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on October 15, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-80 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang et al and Lee et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Wang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0020423) directed toward transmitting the PRS using the determined resources.
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642