DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 18/002,425 filed on November 25, 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are still pending, with claims 1-5, 8-10 and 13 being currently amended.
Status of Objections and Non-Prior Art Rejections
I. 35 USC § 112 Rejections
Applicant’s amendments to claim 3 are accepted. The 112(b) rejections of claims 3-4 are therefore withdrawn.
II. 35 USC § 112(f) Interpretations
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 are sufficient such that claims 1-2, 4-5 and 9-10 are no longer interpreted under 112(f).
Response to Arguments
On page 8 of the remarks filed November 25, 2025, Applicant argues:
Applicant submits that Gadh does not disclose the aforementioned features. Paragraph [0130] of Gadh merely states that an existing charge station configured for charging a single EV according to the J1772 specification is retrofitted "to provide multiple EV charging," and that the existing charge station "performs communications with the EV, and decides when to turn power on and off for charging that EV." In other words, Gadh assumes that communication between the charge station and each EV is based on a single, fixed J1772 specification. Gadh does not disclose first data that includes protocol versions respectively corresponding to communication protocols for a plurality of mobile vehicles, nor does it disclose a processor that specifies a common protocol version compatible with all of the protocol versions of the mobile vehicles and causes the fourth datum to include that common protocol version. Accordingly, Gadh fails to disclose or suggest the above-recited configurations of amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that although Gadh does not disclose that the vehicles use different protocols, Gadh does disclose that each of the vehicle signals a protocol version via its first data, since each vehicle on the J1772 specification signals according to J1772, indicating its protocol [pars. 47-48]. Examiner notes that given that the amended claim language refers to protocol data from each of the plural vehicles and does not specify that the protocols are different, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation includes each vehicle having a protocol which happens to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gadh et al. US PGPUB 2014/0062401.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Gadh discloses a charge control device [fig. 3; par.
130], comprising:
a plurality of first connection parts respectively connectable to a plurality of mobile vehicles each having a battery [fig. 3; first connection parts 88 connectable to EVs 1-4; par. 57-59];
a second connection part connectable to a charger [fig. 3, second connection part 76 to the “original single EV charger from which power is being drawn”; par. 58]; and
a first communication circuit [fig. 3, control unit 72 with multiple wireless communication capabilities; par. 58] configured to:
(1) receive first data from the mobile vehicles respectively and transmit second data to the mobile vehicles respectively via the first connection parts [fig. 3, pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137, ; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol, i.e. a retrofit; each EV can select the amount of current to be allocated to it; the middle man transmits the pilot signal to the vehicles (second data) and receives the modulated pilot signal in return (first data)]; and
(2) receive a third datum from the charger and transmit a fourth datum to the charger via the second connection part, each of the first data, the second data, the third datum, and the fourth datum complying with a charging standard [fig. 3, pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137, ; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol, i.e. a retrofit; each EV can select the amount of current to be allocated to it; the middle-man (emulator in control unit) receives the original pilot signal from the charger (third datum) and modulates it (transmits fourth data)]; and
a processor that generates the fourth datum from the first data, generates the second data for the mobile vehicles respectively from the third datum received from the charger in response to the fourth datum, and causes the first communication circuit to transmit the fourth datum and the second data [fig. 3, pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137, ; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol, i.e. a retrofit; each EV can select the amount of current to be allocated to it; the middle-man causes the fourth data (modulation of the original/main pilot signal) to be transmitted on the basis of the first signal(s) it receives (modulation of the separate pilot signals for each EV) and generates the second data (separate pilot signals) based on the third pilot (original/main) received from the charger], wherein
the first data includes protocol versions each representing a version of a communication protocol for use in communication with each of the mobile vehicles [pars. 47-49 & 57-59; each of the vehicles uses SAE J1772 and thus signals according to the SAE J1772 standard, which indicates the protocol version; Examiner is interpreting the limitation according to the broadest reasonable interpretation of allowing for each of the vehicles to have the same protocol as long as they have a protocol], and
the processor specifies a common protocol version which enables communication with the charger for all the protocol versions of the mobile vehicles, and causes the fourth datum to include the common protocol version [fig. 3, pars. 47-50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol (the common protocol version)].
Regarding claim 8, the method steps disclosed therein are deemed as being inherent in the assembly and operation of the prior art reference(s) applied above, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements recited in the method claim, as pointed out in the above rejection of claim 1. The claim is accordingly rejected.
Regarding claim 2, Gadh discloses further comprising a second communication circuit that transmits the first data to an external device and receives a charging schedule for each of the mobile vehicles from the external device, wherein charging to each of the mobile vehicles is controlled in accordance with the charging schedule [pars. 37 & 103-105; the control unit has a communication section which communicates with an external server to receive a schedule based on the local grid needs].
Regarding claim 3, Gadh discloses wherein each of the first data and the fourth datum includes a state of the battery with the common protocol version [pars. 47, 68, 207; the EV modulates the pilot signal to indicate when the battery is ready to accept charge (a state) or “fully charged” ( a state), thus this is a signal of first data, and since the same signaling is emulated (pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137) for all the vehicles connected to the single charger, the charger receives fourth data indicating a state of at least one battery (if one battery is still able to receive charge then the emulated pilot signal will indicate a ready to charge, but if all the batteries are fully charged then the emulated signal will indicate not ready to charge)]
each of the second data and the third datum includes an output specification of the charger [pars. 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88; the middle-man control unit includes an output state of the charger via the duty cycle including the amount of allowable charge current in both the original signal and the emulated signal to each EV (see rejection of claim 1)],
the state of the battery included in the fourth datum is generated by calculation of or comparison with the state of the battery included in each of the first data [pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137; the emulated signal to the charger is based upon the charge states of the vehicle, thus calculated based on the states], and
each output specification included in the second data is generated by distributing the output specification included in the third datum to each of the mobile vehicles [pars. 58, 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88, 137; the middle-man control unit includes an output state of the charger via the duty cycle including the amount of allowable charge current in both the original signal and the emulated signal to each EV (see rejection of claim 1), the current (“output way”) is distributed among the vehicles, the signals indicating the amount of current are based on the allocated amount for each vehicle].
Regarding claim 4, Gadh discloses wherein each of the first data and the fourth datum further includes a specification of the battery of each of the mobile vehicles [pars. 58, 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88, 137; the first data (from vehicle) and fourth data (emulated) each indicate a maximum allowable current, which is a specification of the battery (see paragraph [0091] and fig. 6 of the instant application’s PGPUB)],
the second communication circuit further transmits, to the external device, the specification and the state of the battery of each of the mobile vehicles [pars. 38-41, 130-131; the charging at a station is controlled by a coordinator 22 (fig. 1) or at a higher level by gateway 20 or device 14, which receive communication from the charging station over a network, the information used to emulate the pilot signals to the single charging chord is relayed through the gate to a server such that it can be evaluated and commands can be returned; thus the state data (see claim 3) and the specification data are transmitted to the external device], and a plurality of output specifications of the charger, comprising the output specification included in each of the second data, as a plurality of pseudo-output specifications [pars. 58, 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88, 137; the middle-man control unit includes an output state of the charger via the duty cycle including the amount of allowable charge current in both the original signal and the emulated signal to each EV (see rejection of claim 1), the current (“output way”) is distributed among the vehicles, the signals indicating the amount of current are based on the allocated amount for each vehicle], and
the received charging schedule is based on the transmitted specification and state of the battery of each of the mobile vehicles, and based on the plurality of pseudo-output specifications of the charger [pars. 38-41, 58, 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88, 127, 130-131, 137; the current (“output way”) is distributed among the vehicles as a plurality of pseudo-output ways based on commands received from the server (pars. 127 & 130-131), the schedule is received based on the vehicle and grid needs (pars. 37 & 103-105)].
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Gadh discloses further comprising a second communication circuit that receives a charging schedule for each of the mobile vehicles from an external device [pars. 37 & 103-105; the control unit has a communication section which communicates with an external server to receive a schedule based on the local grid needs], wherein the fourth datum is generated from the first data in accordance with the charging schedule [pars. 38-41, 58, 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88, 127, 130-131, 137; the current (“output way”) is distributed among the vehicles as a plurality of pseudo-output ways based on commands received from the server (pars. 127 & 130-131), the schedule is received based on the vehicle and grid needs (pars. 37 & 103-105); thus the fourth data (emulated, to the charger) is based on the commands from the server, which are based on the charging schedule, and thus the fourth data is generated from the first data (vehicle needs) according to the schedule].
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Gadh discloses wherein each of the first data and the fourth datum includes a charging request [par. 68, 78, 207; J1772 allows the vehicle or emulator to signal ready to charge (charging request)], each of the second data and the third datum includes an output state of the charger [fig. 3, pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 62-63, 94, 130, 136-137; the second data (to EVs) and third data (emulated) include output state of charger, like available current, signaled by the duty cycle],
the charging request included in the fourth datum is generated on the basis of at least one of the charging request included in the first data and the charging schedule for each of the mobile vehicles to be charged at the same time in accordance with the charging schedule [pars. 47, 68, 207; the EV modulates the pilot signal to indicate when the battery is ready to accept charge (a charge request), thus this is a signal of first data, and since the same signaling is emulated (pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137) for all the vehicles connected to the single charger, the charger receives fourth data indicating a state of at least one battery (if one battery is still able to receive charge then the emulated pilot signal will indicate a ready to charge, but if all the batteries are fully charged then the emulated signal will indicate not ready to charge); the schedule is received based on the vehicle and grid needs (pars. 37 & 103-105); thus the fourth data (emulated, to the charger) is based on the commands from the server, which are based on the charging schedule, and thus the fourth data is generated from the first data (vehicle needs) according to the schedule], and each output state included in the second data is generated by distributing the output state included in the third datum to each of the mobile vehicles [pars. 38-41, 58, 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88, 127, 130-131, 137; the current (“output way”) is distributed among the vehicles as a plurality of pseudo-output ways based on commands received from the server (pars. 127 & 130-131), the schedule is received based on the vehicle and grid needs (pars. 37 & 103-105)].
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Gadh discloses wherein an electric current output from the charger in accordance with each output state included in the second output data is distributed to each of the mobile vehicles [pars. 58, 62-63, 66, 73, 87-88, 137; the middle-man control unit includes an output state of the charger via the duty cycle including the amount of allowable charge current in both the original signal and the emulated signal to each EV (see rejection of claim 1), the current (“output way”) is distributed among the vehicles, the signals indicating the amount of current are based on the allocated amount for each vehicle].
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Gadh discloses a charge control device, comprising:
a first connection part connectable to a mobile vehicle having a battery [fig. 3; first connection parts 88 connectable to EVs 1-4; par. 57-59];
a second connection part connectable to a charger [fig. 3, second connection part 76 to the “original single EV charger from which power is being drawn”; par. 58];
a first communication circuit [fig. 3, control unit 72 with multiple wireless communication capabilities; par. 58] configured to:(1) receive a first datum from the mobile vehicle and transmit a second datum to the mobile vehicle via the first connection part [fig. 3, pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137, ; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol, i.e. a retrofit; each EV can select the amount of current to be allocated to it; the middle man transmits the pilot signal to the vehicles (second data) and receives the modulated pilot signal in return (first data)]; and
(2) receive a third datum from the charger and transmit a fourth datum to the charger via the second connection part, each of the first datum, the second datum, the third datum, and the fourth datum complying with a charging standard [fig. 3, pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137, ; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol, i.e. a retrofit; each EV can select the amount of current to be allocated to it; the middle-man (emulator in control unit) receives the original pilot signal from the charger (third datum) and modulates it (transmits fourth data)]; and
a processor that generates the fourth datum from the first datum, generates the second datum for the mobile vehicle from the third datum received from the charger in response to the fourth datum, and causes the first communication circuit to transmit the fourth datum and the second datum [fig. 3, pars. 50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137, ; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol, i.e. a retrofit; each EV can select the amount of current to be allocated to it; the middle-man causes the fourth data (modulation of the original/main pilot signal) to be transmitted on the basis of the first signal(s) it receives (modulation of the separate pilot signals for each EV) and generates the second data (separate pilot signals) based on the third pilot (original/main) received from the charger],
wherein the first data includes protocol versions each representing a version of a communication protocol for use in communication with each of the mobile vehicles [pars. 47-49 & 57-59; each of the vehicles uses SAE J1772 and thus signals according to the SAE J1772 standard, which indicates the protocol version; Examiner is interpreting the limitation according to the broadest reasonable interpretation of allowing for each of the vehicles to have the same protocol as long as they have a protocol], and
the processor specifies a common protocol version which enables communication with the charger for all the protocol versions of the mobile vehicles, and causes the fourth datum to include the common protocol version [fig. 3, pars. 47-50, 53, 57-59, 94, 130, 136-137; EVs communicate via modulating the pilot line, a middle-man “emulator” unit is used to combine the signals from multiple vehicles into a single pilot line, such that multiple EVs can be charged using a system which was designed to charge only a single EV using the SAE J1772 protocol (the common protocol version)].
Regarding claim 13, the method steps disclosed therein are deemed as being inherent in the assembly and operation of the prior art reference(s) applied above, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements recited in the method claim, as pointed out in the above rejection of claim 9. The claim is accordingly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859