DETAILED ACTION
Claims 3, 7-8, 10-11, 13-19, 22-24, 26-28, 30 and 33 are canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31-32 are pending and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The amendment filed on 08/18/2026 contains new matter.
Claim 1, as amended on 08/18/2026, recites a method of performing digital antibiotic susceptibility testing (AST), the method comprising: collecting a first multiplicity of images of a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells over a first length of time using a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample from the first multiplicity of images of the first sample over the first length of time; determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time; collecting, from a second sample provided to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, a second multiplicity of images of the second sample over a second length of time, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample from the second multiplicity of images of the second sample over the second length of time; determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during the second length of time; determining a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions; defining a susceptibility threshold; comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold; and identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicity of images with at least 94% accuracy.
Claim 32, as amended on 08/18/2026, recites a system comprising: a light source; optics configured to focus light from the light source on a liquid sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells in a container; a forward scattering imaging device configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the liquid sample in free solution in the container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves; and a controller operably coupled to the light source and the forward scattering imaging device and configured to: collect a first multiplicity of images of a first sample that comprises the uncultured bacterial cells over a first length of time using the forward scattering optical imaging device; determine a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample from the first multiplicity of images of the first sample over the first length of time; determine, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time; collect, from a second sample provided to the forward scattering imaging device, a second multiplicity of images of the second sample over a second length of time, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic; determine a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample from the second multiplicity of images of the second sample over the second length of time; determine, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during the second length of time; determine a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions; define a susceptibility threshold; compare the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold; and identify the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicities of images with at least 94% accuracy.
Applicant, in the remarks filed 03/17/2026, directs attention to paragraphs [0016], [0027]-[0029], [0035], [0038], [0039], [0042], [0055] and [0057] and [0028] of the specification for support, and asserts that no new matter has been added. See the first paragraph on page 7 of the remarks filed 03/17/2026. In the remarks filed 08/18/2026, Applicant asserts that no new matter has been added, and Applicant directs attention to the following paragraphs for support: [0027], [0028], [0042], [0055], [0038], [0029], [0041], [0034], [0043], [0046], [0031]. See p. 7 of the remarks. However, the specification as filed does not provide sufficient written description of the above underlined limitations.
Claims 1 and 32 (and dependent claims) contain new matter because of the limitation that requires (1) a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus or device configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the sample in free solution, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves; and because of the limitation that requires (2) identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicities of images with at least 94% accuracy.
(1) The specification as filed and the original claims do not provide support for the claimed forward scattering optical imaging apparatus or device. Paragraph [0027] contains the only reference to forward scattering optical imaging. The paragraph describes rapid antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) systems and methods that implement large volume scattering imaging (LVSi) for real-time imaging of single cells with sensitivity and precision. These systems and methods work directly on urine samples in glass vials or cuvettes to image, track, and count the individual division events of single bacterial cells in clinical samples. “Too precisely track and count single division events of bacterial cells in the presence of various particles (e.g., crystals and dead skin cells) in a sample, a forward scattering optical imaging configuration and an imaging processing algorithm are implemented”. See paragraph [0027]. As such, the specification indicates the LVSi system can be configured into a forward scattering optical imaging configuration to precisely track and count single division events of bacterial cells in the presence of various particles in the sample. However, the instant claims encompass any forward scattering optical imaging apparatus or device configuration that can collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the sample in a free solution in a container, without using microfluidics channels, pumps, or valves. Furthermore, the specification teaches that the elimination of microfluidics and associated pumps and valves simplifies the setup, removes clogging of microfluidic channels by air bubbles and impurities in real urine samples, and allows simultaneous tracking of multiple cells in parallel in free solution. See [0028]. Therefore, the original disclosure merely suggests the benefits of eliminating microfluidics and associated pumps and valves, without pointing to any apparatus or device configuration that does not use microfluidics channels, pumps, or valves.
(2) The specification as filed, and the original claims do not provide support for the claimed identification step. In the example, the specification teaches obtaining clinical urine samples. The refrigerated urine samples are pre-warmed before use. Then urine samples are passed through a filter to remove large substances and diluted with LB broth. The diluted samples are added to microplates preloaded with LB broth with and without ciprofloxacin. After mixing, samples are transferred to cuvettes and subjected to large volume solution scattering imaging (LVSi). See paragraph [0041]. Wide-view and deep field depth scattering images are recorded by two CMOS cameras at 10 fps through 2X variable zoom lens, for the sample and reference cuvettes respectively. See [0042]. Individual cells recorded by LVSi are resolved as bright spots. Spots from adjacent time frames are connected for directional linking. So each bright spot became a single-cell trajectory. See [0043]. To validate tracked division events were due to real cell growth, a division over-counting calibration test is designed. E. coli cells are heated for 15 min. Then, each 5-min video of heated E. coli cells with different concentrations are analyzed for single-cell division tracking. Each concentration test is repeated three times. See [0044]. By integrating division events of every 5 min during the whole detection, the cumulative division count can be plotted as in 4C, which shows exponential growth. In contrast, video snapshots of antibiotic-treated sample in FIG. 4D at 5 min, 30 min, and 60 min show cell spots and the average counting during a 5 min video. See [0047]. To validate the precision and broader application, more tests with ciprofloxacin are performed along with ampicillin. These tests are performed with different batches of E. coli samples. See [0048]. The specification states that “[i]n log phase, sufficient division events occurred sooner and the total AST time was reduced to about 30 min. These results demonstrate that the cell status in the sample affect the total detection time.” See [0050]. The specification teaches clinical urine samples that are diluted and imaged for 60 min in a setup such as that depicted in FIG. 1A. See [0051]. By comparing the final cumulative divisions with the infection threshold, 30 samples are determined to be infection negative. See [0052]. To explore infection detection accuracy overtime, comparison of a reference method and digital AST at 30, 45 and 60 mins are shown in FIGS 6D-6F. With the 30 min detection, most of the infection positive samples show measurable growth, with detection accuracy of ~90%. With 45 min detection, the detection accuracy increase to 93%. At 60 min, all infection positive samples are determined except for one false positive, showing an accuracy of 97%. See [0053]. In paragraph [0055], the specification teaches comparing the DABX/DC ratio to the susceptibility threshold to determine whether samples are resistant or susceptible to ciprofloxacin. With 30 min detection, 3 susceptible samples were in the resistant zone with another 2 samples on the border line, demonstrating a category accuracy of ~87%, while the 45 min detection increased the category accuracy to 94%. At 60 min, all susceptibility profiles were corrected [sic. correctly] determined, showing an accuracy of 100%. See [0055]. For accurate division tracking, one variation here is the final sample concentration. The single-cell division is based on accurate particle detection and trajectory linking. When the particle density is too high, linkages may be assessed incorrectly. To extract the dynamic range of the digital AST method, a minimal viable bacteria number needed for 60 min AST is assumed to be 50. When the viable bacteria number is below 50, a longer time is needed for digital AST. See [0057].
Such limitations recited in the instant claims 1 and 32 (and required by dependent claims), which did not appear in the specification or original claims, as filed, introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C 112. Applicant is required to provide sufficient written support for the limitations recited in the instant claims. Applicant can remove the new matter limitations from the claims to obviate this rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31-32 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
With respect to the support for the forward scattering imaging configuration without microfluidics, Applicant argues that paragraph [0027] explicitly describes implementing a “forward scattering optical imaging configuration” to image, track, and count single cell division events. Paragraph [0028] teaches that the system operates in “free solution” without microfluidics, pumps or valves, specifically removing microfluidic channels and associated pumps/valves to avoid channel clogging and simplify setup. Paragraphs [0017], [0027], and [0042] further describe holding the sample in a static container such as a glass vial or cuvette. See the remarks p. 8 para. 4. Applicant asserts that the amendment obviates the rejection. Claims 1 and 32 have been amended to require the free solution to be in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves. The specific structure (a sample container holding free solution imaged in a forward-scattering configuration without microfluidic channels, pumps or valves) is fully supported in paragraphs [0017], [0027], [0028] and [0042].
This argument is not persuasive because Applicant has not pointed to support commensurate in scope with the instantly claimed “forward scattering optical imaging apparatus” (line 4), and the amendment filed 08/18/2026 does not obviate the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a). Applicant argues that para. [0027] describes implementing a forward scattering optical imaging configuration to image, track, and count single cell division events. However, this summary of para. [0027] is incomplete, and the implementation described in para. [0027] is not equivalent in scope compared to the claim limitation that requires collecting a first multiplicity of images using a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus. Paragraph [0027] states that “[t]o precisely track and count single division events of bacterial cells in the presence of various particles (e.g., crystals and dead skin cells) in a sample, a forward scattering optical imaging configuration and an imaging processing algorithm are implemented”. Since the instant claims do not require the division events of the bacterial cells to occur in the presence of various particles, as described in paragraph [0027], it is unclear, based on Applicant’s argument, how the implementation disclosed in paragraph [0027] provides support for the claim limitation that requires: “collecting a first multiplicity of images…over a first length of time using a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container” (claim 1 lines 3-6). Furthermore, Applicant’s argument, to an extent, suggests that the system described in paragraph [0028] is equivalent to the forward scattering optical configuration set forth in paragraph [0027]. See the remarks p. 8 para. 4 third sentence. This suggestion is inaccurate. Paragraph [0028] states that “AST [antimicrobial susceptibility testing] systems and methods described herein provide single cell precision in real-time without DNA primers, reagents, incubation, immobilization, or microfluidics. The elimination of microfluidics and associated pumps and valves simplifies the setup”. As such, para. [0028] provides a generalized statement regarding the utility of eliminating “microfluidics and associated pumps and valves” in AST systems disclosed in the specification, but the paragraph does not provide support commensurate in scope with the claimed “forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves” (claim 1 lines 4-6).
With respect for support for the timing and accuracy limitations, Applicant argues that claims 1 and 32 have been amended to recite identifying the sample as resistant or susceptible “within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicities of images with at least 94% accuracy”. See the remarks p. 9 para. 1. Applicant asserts that paragraph [0055] provides explicit written support for this exact combination: at 45 minutes of imaging, accuracy reaches 94% (which is “at least 94%”), and at 60 minutes, accuracy reaches 100% (which is also “at least 94%”). Furthermore, counting/imaging for 30-60 minutes directly supports performing identification within 60 minutes of image collection. See the remarks p. 9 para. 2.
This argument is not persuasive because it is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Applicant cites paragraph [0055] for explicit support of the amended limitation that requires “identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicity of images with at least 94% accuracy”. However, the support relied upon by Applicant is taken out of context. The instant claims do not limit the first sample, the susceptibility threshold, or the antibiotic. Whereas para. [0055] describes samples determined to be resistant to a ciprofloxacin antibiotic when the DABX/DC is compared to a susceptibility threshold set to 0.5. Furthermore, the samples described in para. [0055] are understood to be urine samples containing E. coli (see [0040]). As such, specification does not set forth a clear timeline between collecting the first and second multiplicity of images and identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic in a way commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, as amended, recites “a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves” (lines 4-6). Claim 32, as amended, recites “a forward scattering optical imaging device configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the liquid sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves” (lines 5-7). These recitations render the claims indefinite because in one interpretation the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus is required to be configured without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves; and under an alternative interpretation the container is required to not use microfluid channels, pumps, or valves. In the remarks filed 08/18/2026, Applicant (p. 11 para. 3) recites “(containers without microfluidics/pumps/valves)”. As such, it is unclear which structure is required to not use microfluidic channels, pumps or valves.
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31 depend from claim 1 and are rejected for the reason set forth above.
Claim 32 requires “a controller operably coupled to the light source and the forward scattering imaging device and configured to: collect…determine a trajectory… determine, based on the trajectory…collect… determine a trajectory…determine, based on the trajectory…define a susceptibility ratio; compare… and identify the first sample as resistant or as susceptible”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the recitation (after “configured to:”) structurally limits the claimed system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection of claim 32 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
Applicant argues that claim 32 explicitly defines a system comprising concrete physical structures (a light source, optics, container, forward scattering imaging device, and an operably coupled controller) where the controller is structurally configured via software/firmware instructions to execute specific physical data collection and analysis operations. See the remarks p. 10 first bullet. With these clarifying amendments, Applicant asserts that all claims particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the invention. See the remarks p. 10 first full paragraph.
This argument is not persuasive because MPEP 2181(II)(A) indicates that if there is no disclosure of structure, material or acts for performing the recited function, the claim fails to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). In the instant case, the disclosure does not set forth which structures are capable of performing the recited system functions. Applicant asserts that the controller is structurally configured via software/firmware instructions to execute the functions, but Applicant has not pointed to any such software/firmware in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Each step mentioned below is in reference to the patent subject matter eligibility flowchart in MPEP 2106.
Claim 1 recites “a method”. Therefore claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31 are directed to a method, which is one of the statutory categories (Step 1: Yes).
Claim 1 further recites “comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold ” (line 22), which is an act of evaluation that can be practically performed in the human mind. Accordingly, this “comparing” step is an abstract idea categorized as a mathematical concept judicial exception (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)) (Step 2A Prong 1: Yes).
Besides the “comparing” abstract idea, claim 1 recites the purpose or intended use of the method in the preamble and requires nine additional active method steps. The recitation “performing digital antibiotic susceptibility testing (AST)” is the intended use of the invention and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it merely serves to link the judicial exception to a field of use.
For the first step, claim 1 requires collecting a first multiplicity of images of a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells over a first length of time using a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps or valves”. However, this first step is recited at a high level of generality because the “forward scattering optical imaging apparatus” encompasses any structure capable of collecting light as it deflects or forward scatters through a sample in free solution, as long the apparatus does not include microfluidic channels, pumps or valves. Furthermore, the container element is recited with a high level of generality because the claim does not provide any information as to how the free solution is contained or what the container is but instead covers any possible container. Therefore, the additional elements in the first step provide insufficient specificity to add anything of significance to the judicial exception and at most this “collecting” method step constitutes as a step of gathering data for the purpose of performing the “comparing” abstract idea.
For the second step, claim 1 requires determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample from the first multiplicity of images of the sample over the first length of time. For the third step, claim 1 requires determining based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time. These second and third determination steps encompass visually determining a bacterium’s trajectory from the first multiplicity of images and based on that determination mentally counting a first number of cell divisions, which at most constitutes as data gathering steps for the purpose of performing the “comparing” abstract idea. MPEP 2106.04(II)(B) indicates that for claims reciting multiple judicial exceptions, the eligibility analysis should be conducted for one selected exception, which in this case is the “comparing” abstract idea.
For the fourth step, claim 1 requires collecting, from a second sample provided to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, a second multiplicity over a second length of time, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic. This fourth step is recited at a high level of generality, because the common source of the first and second samples is not described, and the antibiotic in the first sample is not limited in anyway. As such, this fourth step is a data gathering pre-solution activity.
For the fifth and sixth steps, claim 1 requires determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample from the second multiplicity of images of the sample over the second length of time; and determining based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during the second length of time. These fifth and sixth determination steps encompass visually determining a bacterium’s trajectory from the first multiplicity of images and based on that determination mentally counting a second number of cell divisions, which at most constitutes as data gathering steps for the purpose of performing the “comparing” abstract idea
For the seventh step, claim 1 requires determining a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions. For the eighth step, claim 1 requires defining a susceptibility threshold. As such, the seventh and eight steps are data gathering steps necessary for performing the abstract idea of comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold.
For the ninth step, claim 1 requires identifying the first samples as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicity of images with at least 94% accuracy. This ninth step is an insignificant post-solution activity, because the step is merely an instruction to apply the judicial exception.
Claim 2 requires providing the first and second samples to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus; and/or collecting the first and second samples from a subject. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality because the way in which the samples are provided to the imaging apparatus is not limited and the subject from which the samples are collected is not limited. As such, the limitation of claim 2 merely serves to generally link the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, i.e. medical diagnostics.
Claims 4 limits the first and second samples to comprise a bodily fluid from a subject and claim 5 limits the samples to urine. The limitations of claims 4 and 5 fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the limitations merely serve to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, i.e. medical diagnostics.
Claim 6 requires combining the first and second sample with a culture medium; further comprising diluting the first and second samples; and/or filtering the first and second samples. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality because the “culture medium”, the dilution mode and the filtration mode are not limited in anyway. As such, the additional limitations of claim 6 amount to data gathering pre-solution activities, because the purpose of the activities is to obtain input for the “comparing” abstract idea.
Claim 9 requires defining an infection threshold as a number of cell divisions; and comparing the number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample and the second sample during the first length of time and the second length of time, respectively, with the infection threshold. The additional steps of claim 9 encompass the mathematical concept of comparing the number of observed bacterial cell divisions to any arbitrary infection threshold number associated with cell divisions. Claim 12 depends from claim 9 and requires the infection threshold to be between 2 to 10 cell divisions. At most, the additional steps of claim 9 and the additional limitation of claim 12 are attempts to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, i.e. medical diagnostics.
Claim 20 requires the susceptibility threshold to be between 0.4-0.6, corresponding to inhibition of 40% to 60% of the bacterial cells, respectively. This limitation is insignificant, because it is merely an instruction for applying the mathematical concept judicial exception. Claim 21 requires a volume of each of the first and second samples to be in a range of 1-50 µL; a number of particles in each of the first and second samples to be less than 2 x 105 particles/mL; wherein assessing the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample or the second sample comprises monitoring a position of each bacterial cell in a sequence of images; and/or wherein a magnification of the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus to be in a range of 0.5-10X. The limitations of claim 20 and 21 are insignificant, because the limitations are merely instructions for applying the mathematical concept judicial exception.
Claim 25 requires the step of collecting the first multiplicity of images and the second multiplicity of images to comprise irradiating the sample with infrared light. This limitation is an insignificant pre-solution activity because the purpose of the step is to collect the image inputs necessary for performing the abstract idea.
Claim 29 recites “[t]he method of claim 1, further comprising, based on the first number of bacterial cell divisions or the second number of bacterial cell divisions, administering an antibiotic to a subject”. This conditional administration step is recited with a high level of generality because the antibiotic is not limited in anyway. Furthermore, claim 29 does not limit the number of bacterial cell divisions that must occur in the sample prior to the antibiotic administration, nor does claim 29 explicitly require the sample to be from the subject to whom the antibiotic is administered. Therefore, claim 29 does not require an additional antibiotic administration. Rather, claim 29 merely serves as an insignificant post-solution activity, which cannot integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 31 depends from claim 1 and limits each of the first length of time and the second length of time to between 20 minutes and 60 minutes. This limitation is merely an instruction for applying the judicial exception. As such, claim 31 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional elements of claim 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31 separately and accumulatively do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the elements either constitute as insignificant extra-solution activities, or the limitations merely serve to generally link the judicial exception to a technological environment (Step 2A Prong 2: No).
The additional elements fail to amount to an inventive concept in view of the routine, well understood and conventional activities in the art of diagnosing infections. Wichselbaum (US 2016/0299067) teaches determining the susceptibility of bacteria to antibiotics. See the abstract. Wichselbaum teaches a method of detecting bacteria suspended in a biological fluid comprising: placing filtered biological fluid in at least one cuvette aligning the at least one cuvette in the system, illuminating a portion of the filtered biological fluid with a light beam to create forward-scattering light; repeatedly receiving forward-scattered signals at the light detector; and using the forward-scattered signals to determine a change in bacterial count over a period of time. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as the light detector (i.e. forward scattering optical imaging apparatus). See [0052]. Wichselbaum does not teach or suggest microfluidic channels, pumps or valves. Wichselbaum discloses that the system repeatedly receives for a first predefined time interval T1 a number of discrete speckles images (i.e. a multiplicity of images over a period of time). The speckles images are processed for counting bacteria. See [0036]. Tomaras (US 2020/0249148, filed 02/05/2019) teaches antibacterial susceptibility testing for a patient’s fluid sample. See [0056]. Tomaras teaches a liquid sample, e.g. urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection, that may serve as a control with no antibiotic (i.e. second sample free of added antibiotic). Tomaras further teaches the same patient’s liquid sample (i.e. common source), but mixed with an antibiotic (i.e. a first sample). See [0055]. Furthermore, Tomaras teaches an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071]. Tomaras teaches samples and cuvettes illuminated by optical or infrared (IR) light sources. See [0051]. Choi (Sci Transl Med. 2014 Dec 17;6(267):267ra174) discloses that the only information that is needed to determine antibiotic susceptibility is whether the pathogen is dividing after the antibiotic is administered. See p. 1 right column first passage. Choi teaches examining the accuracy of clinical interpretations and category agreement (see p. 9 left column second paragraph). Mo (Analytical chemistry, 2019 91(15), 10164-10171) teaches setting an infection threshold to 1.24. Mo teaches comparing the Nt ÷ N0-- of -urine samples to the infection threshold to classify the sample as infection positive if the number exceeds the threshold or negative if not. See the paragraph spanning pages 10169-10170, figure 1 and S3. Mo teaches comparing the Nt/N-0 of a first sample without ampicillin and without ciprofloxacin to the Nt/N-0 values of with ampicillin and with ciprofloxacin. See figure 3. Mo teaches defining a susceptibility threshold as 0.88 and comparing the NABX/NC overtime to the threshold and classifying resistant samples if they exceed the threshold. See the paragraph spanning pages 10169 to 10170 and figure 5. Froim (US 2006/0193924) teaches a method of treating an antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection in a subject, the method comprising administering to a subject suspected of having an antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection a therapeutically effective combination of an antibiotic and a toxic compound. See claim 1 of Froim. Thus, the additional elements in claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31 do not amount to an inventive concept because the elements provide instructions for implementing the abstract idea, such that elements amount to a recitation of the words “apply it” (Step 2B:No).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31 under 35 U.S.C. § 101
With respect to step 2A prong 1, Applicant argues that claim 1 recites a physical method of performing digital antibiotic susceptibility testing comprising tangible, physical measurement steps. See p. 10 last paragraph. Applicant asserts that tracking uncultured single-cell trajectories and division events from forward-scattered light collected from static containers cannot be performed mentally or with pen and paper. Optical single-cell trajectory tracking in free solution requires specialized physical instrumentation and optical measurement techniques. See the remarks p. 11 para. 1.
This argument is not persuasive because the abstract idea identified in step 2A prong 1 is “comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold” (line 22). The instant specification states that “[f]or antibiotic susceptibility determination, the cumulative divisions in a control sample (w/o ABX, DC) and antibiotic-treated sample (w/ABX, DABX) are used. Sample pairs that yield a DABX/DC ratio above a selected susceptibility threshold (TS) are called resistant, and samples with DABX/DC<TS are called susceptible”. See [0034]. Therefore, contrary to Applicant’s argument, the abstract idea identified in the rejection above is not tracking uncultured single-cell trajectories and division events from forward-scattered light collected from static containers.
With respect to step 2A prong 2, Applicant argues that even if the comparing step is viewed as a mathematical calculation, the claim as a whole integrates any judicial exception into a practical application by providing a specific technological improvement to AST systems. See the remarks p. 11 para. 2. Applicant asserts that conventional AST requires multi-day cell culturing, DNA primers, fluorescent labeling reagents or complex microfluidic channels subject to bubble clogging. Applicant asserts that the claim method improves optical AST technology by capturing forward-scattered light directly through uncultured clinical liquid samples in free solution (containers without microfluidics/pumps/valves), tracking single-cell division trajectories and producing high-accuracy AST results within 60 min. Applicant asserts that MPEP § 2106.04(d) confirms that claims improving a technological process or diagnostic testing framework integrate underlying concepts into a practical application. See the remarks p. 11 para 3.
This argument is not persuasive. Applicant argues that the instantly claimed method improves AST processes, but Applicant has not pointed to evidence. Applicant asserts that conventional AST requires multi-day cell culturing, DNA primers, fluorescent labeling reagents or complex microfluidic channels subject to bubble clogging. However, the instant claims do not exclude such elements because claim 1 recites the open-ended term “comprising” in line 2.
Applicant argues that claim 29 explicitly recites “based on the first number of bacterial cell divisions or the second number of bacterial cell divisions, administering an antibiotic to a subject” Applicant asserts that claims directed to method of treatment involving physical administration of a drug to a patient are patent-eligible. See the remarks p. 11 para. 4.
This argument is not persuasive because the recited administration step in claim 29 is conditional as it is based on the first number of bacterial cell divisions or the second number of bacterial cell divisions. Claim 29 does not limit the way in which the administration is based on the first or second number of bacterial divisions. Moreover, claim 29 does not limit the antibiotic or the subject to which the antibiotic may be administered. Therefore, claim 29 cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because claim 29 is merely an insignificant post-solution activity.
With respect to step 2B, Applicant argues tracking uncultured single cell bacterial cell division trajectories in free solution without microfluidics/pumps/valves, generating a dual-sample division ratio, and identifying antibiotic susceptibility within 60 minutes with at least 94% accuracy is not well-understood, routine or conventional. See the remarks p. 11 para. 5.
This argument is not persuasive. The claims do not require tracking uncultured single cell bacterial cell division trajectories in free solution without microfluidics/pumps/valves. Rather, claim 1 requires a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without microfluidic channels, pumps or valves (lines 4-6). This element is well-understood as Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as the light detector (i.e. forward scattering optical imaging apparatus) (see [0052]); and Wichselbaum does not teach or suggest microfluidic channels, pumps or valves. The claims do not require generating a dual-sample division ratio. Rather, claim 1 requires determining a susceptibility ratio comprising the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions (lines 19-20). This element is well-understood because Mo teaches comparing the Nt/N-0 of a first sample without ampicillin and without ciprofloxacin to the Nt/N-0 values of with ampicillin and with ciprofloxacin (fig. 3). Applicant argues that identifying antibiotic susceptibility within 60 minutes with at least 94% accuracy is not well-understood, routine or conventional. However, Tomaras teaches an overall time-to-result of three hours or less (see [0071]), which overlaps with the instantly recited within 60 minutes; and Choi teaches examining the accuracy of clinical interpretations and category agreement (see p. 9 left column second paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 21, 25, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wichselbaum (US 2016/0299067) in view of Tomaras (US 2020/0249148, filed 02/05/2019) and Choi (Sci Transl Med. 2014 Dec 17;6(267):267ra174).
Regarding claim 1, Wichselbaum teaches determining the susceptibility of bacteria to antibiotics. See the abstract. Wichselbaum teaches a method of detecting bacteria suspended in a biological fluid comprising: placing filtered biological fluid in at least one cuvette (i.e. a container) aligning the at least one cuvette in the system, illuminating a portion of the filtered biological fluid with a light beam to create forward-scattering light; repeatedly receiving forward-scattered signals at the light detector; and using the forward-scattered signals to determine a change in bacterial count over a period of time. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as the light detector (i.e. forward scattering optical imaging apparatus). See [0052]. Wichselbaum does not teach or suggest microfluidic channels, pumps or valves, which meets the instantly claimed limitation that requires “without using microfluidic channels, pumps or valves”. Furthermore, Wichselbaum discloses that the system repeatedly receives for a first predefined time interval T1 a number of discrete speckles images (i.e. a multiplicity of images over a period of time). The speckles images are processed for counting bacteria. See [0036]. In figures 10A, Wichselbaum teaches scattering angle-time profiles induced by particles having constant unidirectional velocity (i.e. trajectory). See [0021]. Wichselbaum teaches analyzing speckles images to study the dynamics of bacteria. Wichselbaum suggests that by inducing chemotactic or thermotactic motion (i.e. trajectory) the sensitivity for detecting and measuring the concentration of motile bacteria suspended in the examined fluid, as well as for determining their susceptibility to antibiotic agents is enhanced. See [0061].
Wichselbaum does not teach a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells.
Wichselbaum does not teach a second sample, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source, and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic.
Tomaras teaches antibacterial susceptibility testing for a patient’s fluid sample. See [0056]. Tomaras teaches liquid samples contained in optical chambers of cuvette assemblies between a light source and a sensor. See [0049]. Tomaras teaches a liquid sample, e.g. urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection, that may serve as a control with no antibiotic (i.e. second sample free of added antibiotic). Tomaras further teaches the same patient’s liquid sample (i.e. common source), but mixed with an antibiotic (i.e. a first sample). See [0055]. Furthermore, Tomaras teaches cuvette-based systems that detect urinary tract infection (UTI) pathogens directly from urine specimens (i.e. uncultured), without the need for initial processing and provides an overall time-to-result of three hours or less See [0071].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute Tomaras’s first and second liquid samples for Wichselbaum’s biological fluid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wichselbaum teaches determining the antibiotic susceptibility of motile bacteria suspended in examined fluid (see [0061]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Wichselbaum demonstrates collecting speckles images of particles suspended in synthetic urine moving in uniform directions (i.e. trajectory) (see [0050]).
Wichselbaum and Tomaras do not teach determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time. However, Wichselbaum suggests analyzing images for bacteria velocity or motion (i.e. trajectories) and counting bacteria.
Wichselbaum and Tomaras do not teach determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during second first length of time. However, Wichselbaum suggests analyzing images for bacteria velocity or motion (i.e. trajectories) and counting bacteria.
Wichselbaum and Tomaras do not teach determining a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions; defining a susceptibility threshold; comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold; and identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold.
Choi discloses that the only information that is needed to determine antibiotic susceptibility is whether the pathogen is dividing after the antibiotic is administered. See p. 1 right column first passage. Choi teaches automated image-processing and data interpretation. Choi teaches dividing the value of bacterial occupancy area in third images at 4 hours (A3) by those of first image at 0 hours (A1) and comparing the calculated value with a threshold value. If A3/ A1 (i.e. a susceptibility ratio) is larger than the threshold value, the case may be determined as resistant. See p. 8 the caption of figure 4, specifically the left column. As such if the bacterial area in the images is increased, the case is determined as resistant. See p. 2 right column second paragraph.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply the image-processing of Choi to the scatter images of Wichselbaum and Tomaras, such that the second sample without antibiotics is A1 and the first sample with antibiotics is A3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Choi suggests that cell division is the only information needed to determine antibiotic susceptibility; and Choi further suggests that the area (A) is indicative of cell division. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Choi demonstrates defining a threshold, comparing a ratio to the threshold and identifying a sample as resistant or susceptible.
Wichselbaum, Tomaras and Choi do not teach identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility ratio within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicity of images with at least 94% accuracy. However, Tomaras teaches cuvette-based systems that detect pathogens directly from urine specimens, without the need for initial processing and provides an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to optimize the method of Wichselbaum, Tomaras and Choi by adjusting the three hours or less timeframe taught by Tomaras, and the accuracy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the time frame of Tomaras because Tomaras suggests that the results may be achieved in less than three hours. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Tomaras provides a time frame that overlaps with the instantly claimed within 60 minutes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the accuracy, because Choi teaches examining the accuracy of clinical interpretations and category agreement (see p. 9 left column second paragraph). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Choi demonstrates a 91.5% category agreement, from which one could optimize (see p. 9 left column second paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Wichselbaum teaches placing filtered biological fluid in at least one cuvette (i.e. providing the sample) aligning the at least one cuvette in the system, illuminating a portion of the filtered biological fluid with a light beam to create forward-scattering light; and repeatedly receiving forward-scattered signals at the light detector. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as the light detector (i.e. imaging apparatus). See [0052].
Regarding claim 4-5, Tomaras teaches a liquid sample, e.g. urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection, that may serve as a control with no antibiotic (i.e. second sample free of added antibiotic). Tomaras further teaches the same patient’s liquid sample (i.e. common source), but mixed with an antibiotic (i.e. a first sample). See [0055].
Regarding claim 6, Tomaras discloses that each sample may undergo some type of filtering. See [0034].
Regarding claim 21, Choi teaches inoculating microplates with a bacterial stock solution of 10 µL. See p. 11 last full paragraph.
Regarding claim 25, Tomaras teaches samples and cuvettes illuminated by optical or infrared (IR) light sources. See [0051].
Regarding claim 31, Tomaras teaches a period of time, e.g. 1-6 hours, preferably 1-3 hours, which overlaps with the instantly claimed length of time between 20 minutes and 60 minutes. See [0029].
Regarding claim 32, Wichselbaum teaches a system comprising light source. Light emitted from light source passes through collimator (i.e. optics configured to focus light) and the collimated beam entered a cuvette (i.e. container). See [0027]. Wichselbaum teaches fluid contained in cuvette. See [0023]. The sample of the fluid, need not be cultured. See [0022]. Wichselbaum teaches a light detector for receiving light forwardly scattered from the biological fluid. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as a light detector. See [0052]. Wichselbaum does not teach microfluidic channels, pumps or valves, which meets the instantly claimed requirement. Wichselbaum teaches a processing and control unit that provides for powering light source and receiver unit. The receiver unit controls the detector (i.e. the forward scatter imaging device). See [0027]. Wichselbaum discloses that the system repeatedly receives for a first predefined time interval T1 a number of discrete speckles images (i.e. a multiplicity of images over a period of time). The speckles images are processed for counting bacteria. See [0036]. In figures 10A, Wichselbaum teaches scattering angle-time profiles induced by particles having constant unidirectional velocity (i.e. trajectory). See [0021].
Wichselbaum does not explicitly teach a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells.
Wichselbaum does not teach a second sample, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source, and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic.
Tomaras teaches antibacterial susceptibility testing for a patient’s fluid sample. See [0056]. Tomaras teaches liquid samples contained in optical chambers of cuvette assemblies between a light source and a sensor. See [0049]. Tomaras teaches a liquid sample, e.g. urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection, that may serve as a control with no antibiotic (i.e. second sample free of added antibiotic). Tomaras further teaches the same patient’s liquid sample (i.e. common source), but mixed with an antibiotic (i.e. a first sample). See [0055]. Furthermore, Tomaras teaches cuvette-based systems that detect urinary tract infection (UTI) pathogens directly from urine specimens (i.e. uncultured), without the need for initial processing and provides an overall time-to-result of three hours or less See [0071].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute Tomaras’s first and second liquid samples for Wichselbaum’s biological fluid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wichselbaum teaches determining the antibiotic susceptibility of motile bacteria suspended in examined fluid (see [0061]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Wichselbaum demonstrates collecting speckles images of particles suspended in synthetic urine moving in uniform directions (i.e. trajectory) (see [0050]).
Wichselbaum and Tomaras do not teach determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time. However, Wichselbaum suggests analyzing images for bacteria velocity or motion (i.e. trajectories) and counting bacteria.
Wichselbaum and Tomaras do not teach determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during second first length of time. However, Wichselbaum suggests analyzing images for bacteria velocity or motion (i.e. trajectories) and counting bacteria.
Wichselbaum and Tomaras do not teach determining a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions; defining a susceptibility threshold; comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold; and identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold.
Choi discloses that the only information that is needed to determine antibiotic susceptibility is whether the pathogen is dividing after the antibiotic is administered. See p. 1 right column first passage. Choi teaches automated image-processing and data interpretation. Choi teaches dividing the value of bacterial occupancy area in third images at 4 hours (A3) by those of first image at 0 hours (A1) and comparing the calculated value with a threshold value. If A3/ A1 (i.e. a susceptibility ratio) is larger than the threshold value, the case may be determined as resistant. See p. 8 the caption of figure 4, specifically the left column. As such if the bacterial area in the images is increased, the case is determined as resistant. See p. 2 right column second paragraph.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply the image-processing of Choi to the scatter images of Wichselbaum and Tomaras, such that the second sample without antibiotics is A1 and the first sample with antibiotics is A3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Choi suggests that cell division is the only information needed to determine antibiotic susceptibility; and Choi further suggests that the area (A) is indicative of cell division. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Choi demonstrates defining a threshold, comparing a ratio to the threshold and identifying a sample as resistant or susceptible.
Wichselbaum, Tomaras and Choi do not teach identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility ratio within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicities of images with at least 94% accuracy. However, Tomaras teaches cuvette-based systems that detect pathogens directly from urine specimens, without the need for initial processing and provides an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to optimize the method of Wichselbaum, Tomaras and Choi by adjusting the three hours or less timeframe taught by Tomaras, and the accuracy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the time frame of Tomaras because Tomaras suggests that the results may be achieved in less than three hours. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Tomaras provides a time frame that overlaps with the instantly claimed within 60 minutes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the accuracy, because Choi teaches examining the accuracy of clinical interpretations and category agreement (see p. 9 left column second paragraph). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Choi demonstrates a 91.5% category agreement, from which one could optimize (see p. 9 left column second paragraph).
Claims 9, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wichselbaum (US 2016/0299067) Tomaras (US 2020/0249148, filed 02/05/2019) and Choi (Sci Transl Med. 2014 Dec 17;6(267):267ra174), as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 21, 25, 31 and 32 above, and further in view of Mo (Analytical chemistry, 2019 91(15), 10164-10171; previously cited)
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses that the only information that is needed to determine antibiotic susceptibility is whether the pathogen is dividing after the antibiotic is administered. See p. 1 right column first passage.
Wichselbaum, Tomaras and Choi do not teach defining an infection threshold as a number of cell divisions; and comparing the number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample and the second sample during the first length of time and second length of time, respectively, with the infection threshold.
Mo teaches a large volume light scattering microscopy (LVM) technique that tracks phenotypic features of single bacterial cells directly in clinical urine samples. The technique demonstrates rapid (90 min) detection of E. coli in clinical urine samples. See the abstract. Mo teaches determining a threshold based on counting errors of a [light scattering microscopy (LVM)] system. The statistical counting error was estimated by 1÷ √N, where N is the spots count (i.e. number of bacteria). The maximum counting error among all experimental data is ±6% for infection identification. To establish a 95% confidence interval, the error is multiplied by 2. Therefore, the infection threshold, TI (N90/ N0) is set at 1.24. See the paragraph spanning pages 10169-10170. Moreover, Mo teaches analyzing LVM images to determine spot counts vs time. The ratio of the spot count at time t (Nt) to that at 0 min (N0) is measured and compared with an infection threshold (TI) to determine if infection is positive or negative. See the caption of figure 1 and figure S3. Mo teaches classifying clinical urine samples as “infection positive” or “infection negative” via LVM-AST testing. See the left column on page 10168 and figure 4 (a). Thus, Mo indicates that the 1.24 infection threshold is the number of cell divisions between 0 and 90 min (N90/ N0); and Mo teaches comparing the Nt ÷ N0-- of -urine samples to the infection threshold to classify the sample as infection positive or negative.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Mo’s infection threshold and bacterial cell division comparison of Mo to the first and second samples of Wichselbaum, Tomaras and Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Mo suggests that the calculation can be used for identifying resistant or susceptible bacteria directly in clinical urine samples; and Tomaras teaches urine samples. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Mo demonstrates classifying samples based on the infection threshold defined.
Regarding claim 12, Mo teaches setting an infection threshold set at 1.24. The threshold is determined based on counting errors. The maximum counting error is ±6% or ±0.06 for infection identification. To establish a 95% confidence interval, the error is multiplied by 2 thereby revealing a ±12% or ±0.12 confidence range of infection identification. Therefore, the 1.24 threshold is set as the upper boundary of 1.12 ±0.12, which gives >95% confidence. See the paragraph spanning pages 10169-10170.
Wichselbaum, Tomaras, Choi and Mo do not teach an infection threshold that is between 2 to 10 cell divisions.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to optimize the threshold by adjusting the confidence interval. One would be motivated to do so because a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Mo teaches infection positive urine samples with an Nt/N-0=2. Thus, one could reasonably set the threshold in view of those samples. In the process, one would arrive at a threshold equivalent to 2 cell divisions. MPEP 2144.05(II) states that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 20, Mo teaches a 0.88 susceptibility threshold. See paragraph spanning pages 10169 and 10170. Mo teaches setting the susceptibility threshold based on counting errors of the system. Moreover, Mo teaches a 95% confidence interval. See paragraph spanning pages 10169 and 10170.
Wichselbaum, Tomaras, Choi and Mo do not teach a susceptibility threshold in a range of 0.4 to 0.6.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to optimize the susceptibility threshold of Mo. One would be motivated to do so because Mo suggests setting the susceptibility threshold based on counter errors and a confidence interval of 95%. As such, one would be motivated adjust the susceptibility threshold for different counter systems or confidence intervals. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Mo demonstrates setting a susceptibility threshold at 0.88. MPEP 2144.05(II) states that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wichselbaum (US 2016/0299067), Tomaras (US 2020/0249148, filed 02/05/2019) and Choi (Sci Transl Med. 2014 Dec 17;6(267):267ra174), as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 21, 25, 31 and 32 above, and further in view of Froim (US 2006/0193924).
Regarding claim 29, Wichselbaum teaches determining the susceptibility of bacteria to antibiotics in order to devise a treatment schedule if an infection is detected. See [0002].
Tomaras teaches a liquid sample of urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection. See [0056].
Choi suggests that the only information that is needed to determine antibiotic susceptibility is whether the pathogen is dividing after the antibiotic is administered. See p. 1 right column first passage.
Wichselbaum, Tomaras, and Choi do not teach a method further comprising, based on the first number of bacterial cell divisions or the second number of cell divisions, administering an antibiotic to a subject.
Froim teaches a method of treating an antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection in a subject, the method comprising administering to a subject suspected of having an antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection a therapeutically effective combination of an antibiotic and a toxic compound. See claim 1 of Froim.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the method of Wichselbaum, Tomaras and Choi by administering an antibiotic to a subject, as taught by Froim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wichselbaum suggests that the susceptibility determination can be used to devise a treatment schedule. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Choi suggests that cell division is the only information needed to determine susceptibility; and Froim further suggests administering an antibiotic to a subject to treat a bacterial infection determined to be antibiotic-resistant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant argues that none of the cited references, individually or in combination teach or suggest the claim features. Wichselbaum relies on dynamic light scattering speckle patterns produced by ensemble bulk motion of illuminated particles. Wischselbaum does not capture single-cell images, does not track the trajectory of each individual bacterial cell, and does not count individual bacterial cell division events based on single-cell trajectory tracking. See the remarks p. 12 first bullet point.
This argument is not persuasive because the argument is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Claim 1 does not require capturing single-cell images, as argued. Claim 1 requires collecting a first multiplicity of images of a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells (lines 3-4), and collecting a second multiplicity of images of the second sample (lines 11-12). Therefore, the images are required to be of the first and second samples, not single-cell images as argued. Applicant further argues that Wichselbaum does not teach tracking the trajectory of each individual bacterial cell, and does not count individual bacterial cell division events based on single-cell trajectory tracking. This is not persuasive because Wichselbaum is not relied upon for the claim 1 requirements of determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample (line 7) and determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample (line 15).
Applicant argues that Tomaras teaches conventional bulk optical turbidity/fluorescence/absorbance measurements of samples in cuvettes over 3 hours. Tomaras contains no teaching of tracking individual single-cell trajectories or counting single cell division events. See the remarks p. 12 second bullet point. Choi teaches single-cell morphological analysis, but explicitly requires microfluidic channels and gel/agarose immobilization to freeze bacteria in place within microchannels. See the remarks p. 12 third bullet point. Applicant argues that combining Choi’s image processing with Wichselbaum or Tomaras would require destroying Choi’s fundamental teaching. Choi directly teaches away from tracking uncultured bacterial cells in free solution without microfluidic channels, pumps or valves. See the remarks p. 13 para.1.
This argument is not persuasive because Tomaras is not relied upon for teaching tracking individual single cell trajectories or counting single-cell division events, as argued, and Choi is not relied upon for teaching the claim limitation that recites “without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves” (line 6). Moreover, the claim limitation “without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves” does not exclude methods that use microfluidic channels, pumps or valves. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation requires “a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scatted through the first sample in free solution in a container” without using microfluidic channels or without using pumps or without using valves. In other words, the claim does not exclude microfluidic channels, pumps and valves; the claim excludes one of “microfluidic channels, pumps or valves”. Therefore, Choi’s use of microfluidic channels does not teach away from the instantly claimed method.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12698520 in view of Wichselbaum (US 2016/0299067), Tomaras (US 2020/0249148, filed 02/05/2019), Choi (Sci Transl Med. 2014 Dec 17;6(267):267ra174), Mo (Analytical chemistry, 2019 91(15), 10164-10171), and Froim (US 2006/0193924). This is no longer a provisional double patenting rejection because the claims of application 18/494,225 were patented 08/04/2026.
Patent claim 1 recites a method for deep learning video microscopy-based antimicrobial susceptibility testing (DLVM-AST) of a bacterial strain in a sample including non-immobilized bacterial cells and an antibiotic, the method comprising:
acquiring an image sequence of individual bacterial cells of the bacterial strain in a subject sample with a phase contrast microscope before, during, and after exposure to each antibiotic at different concentrations, wherein the acquiring of the image sequence comprises capturing one or more phenotypic features including a motion feature of the non-immobilized bacterial cells in the image sequence, wherein superposition of multiple images of the image sequence yields a trace representing the motion feature;
compressing the image sequence into one or more trace images static images while preserving essential phenotypic features, wherein the one or more trace images are generated by superposition of multiple images of the image sequence, wherein the one or more trace images represent the motion feature;
inputting data representing the static images into a pre-trained deep learning (DL) model which generates output data; and
determining antimicrobial susceptibility for the bacterial strain from the output data.
Patent claim 2 recites the method of claim 1 further comprising obtaining a minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) value for the bacterial strain.
Patent claim 3 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the subject sample is a urine sample from a human patient.
Patent claim 4 recites the method of claim 1 wherein said capturing of one or more phenotypic features further comprises capturing one or more of a division feature and a morphological feature of the non-immobilized bacterial cells in the image sequence.
Patent claim 5 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the antibiotic is selected from the group consisting of Polymyxin B, streptomycin, ciprofloxacin, aztreonam, ampicillin, and combinations thereof.
The patent claims lack: a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells, using a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample from the first multiplicity of images of the first sample over the first length of time; and determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time; collecting, from a second sample provided to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, a second multiplicity of images of the second sample over a second length of time, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample from the second multiplicity of images of the second sample over the second length of time; determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during the second length of time; determining a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions; defining a susceptibility threshold; comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold; and identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicity of images with at least 94% accuracy (relevant to instant claim 1); further comprising providing the first and second samples to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, and/or further comprising collecting the first and second samples from a subject (relevant to instant claim 2); and a length of time is in a range between 20 minutes and 60 minutes, or between 30 minutes and 60 minutes (relevant to instant claim 31). Furthermore, the patent claims lack: a system comprising: a light source, optics to focus light on the liquid sample comprising uncultured bacterial cells in a container; a forward scattering imaging device configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the liquid sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps or valves; and a controller operably coupled to the light source and forward scattering imaging device configured to: [the method steps of instant claim 1] (relevant to instant claim 32)
However, Wichselbaum teaches placing filtered biological fluid in at least one cuvette aligning the at least one cuvette (i.e. a container) in the system, illuminating a portion of the filtered biological fluid with a light beam to create forward-scattering light; repeatedly receiving forward-scattered signals at the light detector; and using the forward-scattered signals to determine a change in bacterial count over a period of time. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as the light detector (i.e. forward scattering optical imaging apparatus). See [0052]. Wichselbaum discloses that the system repeatedly receives for a first predefined time interval T1 a number of discrete speckles images. See [0036]. Tomaras a liquid sample, e.g. urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection, that may serve as a control with no antibiotic and the same patient’s liquid sample may be mixed with an antibiotic. See [0055]. Furthermore, Tomaras an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071]. Choi teaches defining a threshold value (T1) and if the bacterial occupancy area at 4 hours (A3) is divided by that of the first image at 0 hours (A0) and greater than the threshold the case is determined as resistant. See the caption of figure 4 (relevant to instant claim 1). Wichselbaum teaches providing biological fluid in at least one cuvette aligning the at least one cuvette in the system. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum (relevant to instant claim 2). Tomaras an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071] (relevant to instant claim 31). Wichselbaum teaches a system comprising light source. Light emitted from light source passes through collimator (i.e. optics configured to focus light) and the collimated beam entered a cuvette (i.e. container). See [0027]. Wichselbaum teaches fluid contained in cuvette. See [0023]. The sample of the fluid, need not be cultured. See [0022]. Wichselbaum teaches a light detector for receiving light forwardly scattered from the biological fluid. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as a light detector. See [0052]. Wichselbaum does not teach microfluidic channels, pumps or valves, which meets the instantly claimed requirement. Wichselbaum teaches a processing and control unit that provides for powering light source and receiver unit. The receiver unit controls the detector (i.e. the forward scatter imaging device). See [0027] (relevant to instant claim 32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute the urine sample recited in patent claim 3 for the biological fluid of Wichselbaum, to further use that urine sample as a first with an antibiotic and second sample without an antibiotic as suggested by Tomaras, and to further apply the resistance determination of Choi in order to determine antibiotic susceptibility.
The patent claims lack: filtering the first and second samples (relevant to instant claim 6); defining an infection threshold as a number of cell divisions; and comparing the number of the bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample and the second sample during the first length and the second length of time, respectively, with the invention threshold (relevant to instant claim 9); an infection threshold that is between 2 to 10 cell divisions (relevant to instant claim 12); a threshold of 0.4 to 0.6 (relevant to instant claim 20); first and second samples in a range of 1 µl to 50 µl (relevant to instant claim 21); irradiating the sample with IR (relevant to instant claim 25); based on the number of bacterial cell divisions, administering an antibiotic to a subject (relevant to instant claim 29).
However, Tomaras discloses that each sample may undergo some type of filtering. See [0034] (relevant to instant claim 6). Mo teaches setting an infection threshold to 1.24 (relevant to instant claims 9, 12 and 20). Choi teaches inoculating microplates with a bacterial stock solution of 10 µL. See p. 11 last full paragraph (relevant to instant claim 21). Tomaras teaches samples and cuvettes illuminated by optical or infrared (IR) light sources. See [0051] (relevant to instant claim 25). Froim (administering to a subject suspected of having an antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection a therapeutically effective combination of an antibiotic. See claim 1 of Froim (relevant to instant claim 29).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply the filtering and IR illumination of Tomaras to the urine sample recited in patent claim 3, optimize the volume of the sample based on Choi’s 10 µL suggestion, and to further apply the infection threshold determination of Mo in order to test for antibiotic susceptibility.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12049662 (hereafter Wang ‘662), in view of Wichselbaum (US 2016/0299067), Tomaras (US 2020/0249148, filed 02/05/2019) and Choi (Sci Transl Med. 2014 Dec 17;6(267):267ra174), Mo (Analytical chemistry, 2019 91(15), 10164-10171), and Froim (US 2006/0193924).
Patent claim 1 recites a method of assessing the presence of microbes in a liquid sample, the method comprising:
directing light from a light source toward a reservoir containing the liquid sample;
obtaining, with a video camera, a series of images of the liquid sample over a length of time, wherein incident light from the light source is prevented from directly entering the camera, and objects in the liquid sample appear as bright spots in the images of the sample; removing background noise from the images of the liquid sample to yield modified images of the sample, wherein removing the background noise comprises averaging frames of raw images to reduce noise and data size to produce a local stack average, subtracting a stack local minimal from the local stack average to remove static and drifting background noises to produce a subtracted stack local minimal, subtracting a stack median of all frames from the subtracted stack local minimal to remove dynamic background noises to produce a median subtracted stack local minimal, and subtracting a local spatial background from the median subtracted stack local minimal to remove spatial optical noises to produce the modified images of the sample;
assessing, from the modified images of the liquid sample, an initial integrated scattering intensity of the objects (IC0) and an integrated scattering intensity of the objects at a time t (ICt); and
identifying the sample as comprising microbes for (ICt)/(IC0) above a predefined infection threshold TI, wherein a portion of the sample comprising microbes is treated with an antibiotic to yield a treated liquid sample.
Patent claim 2 recites a method of claim 2, further comprising identifying the microbes as resistant to the antibiotic for a ratio of ΔIABX to ΔIC that exceeds a predefined resistant threshold TR.
Patent claim 4 recites the method of claim 2, further comprising identifying the microbes as susceptible to the antibiotic for a ratio of ΔIABX to ΔIC that is less than or equal to a predefined resistant threshold TR.
Patent claim 5 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the microbes comprise bacteria.
Patent claim 6 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the liquid sample comprises urine.
Patent claim 7 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the length of time is at least 60 minutes.
Patent claim 8 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the light source comprises a light emitting diode (LED).
Patent claim 9 recites the method of claim 1, wherein a volume of the liquid sample is in a range between 1 μL and 10 μL.
Patent claim 10 recites the method of claim 1, further comprising magnifying the objects in the liquid sample in a range of 1X-5X before obtaining the series of images.
Patent claim 11 recites the method of claim 1, further comprising maintaining a temperature of the liquid sample between about 35° C. and about 37° C. while obtaining the series of images.
The patent claims lack: a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells, using a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample from the first multiplicity of images of the first sample over the first length of time; and determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time; collecting, from a second sample provided to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, a second multiplicity of images of the second sample over a second length of time, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample from the second multiplicity of images of the second sample over the second length of time; determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during the second length of time; determining a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions; defining a susceptibility threshold; comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold; and identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicity of images with at least 94% accuracy (relevant to instant claim 1); further comprising providing the first and second samples to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, and/or further comprising collecting the first and second samples from a subject (relevant to instant claim 2); and a length of time is in a range between 20 minutes and 60 minutes, or between 30 minutes and 60 minutes (relevant to instant claim 31). Furthermore, the patent claims lack: a system comprising: a light source, optics to focus light on the liquid sample comprising uncultured bacterial cells in a container; a forward scattering imaging device configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the liquid sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps or valves; and a controller operably coupled to the light source and forward scattering imaging device configured to: [the method steps of instant claim 1] (relevant to instant claim 32)
However, Wichselbaum teaches placing filtered biological fluid in at least one cuvette aligning the at least one cuvette in the system, illuminating a portion of the filtered biological fluid with a light beam to create forward-scattering light; repeatedly receiving forward-scattered signals at the light detector; and using the forward-scattered signals to determine a change in bacterial count over a period of time. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as the light detector (i.e. forward scattering optical imaging apparatus). See [0052]. Wichselbaum discloses that the system repeatedly receives for a first predefined time interval T1 a number of discrete speckles images. See [0036]. Tomaras a liquid sample, e.g. urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection, that may serve as a control with no antibiotic and the same patient’s liquid sample may be mixed with an antibiotic. See [0055]. Furthermore, Tomaras an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071]. Choi teaches defining a threshold value (T1) and if the bacterial occupancy area at 4 hours (A3) is divided by that of the first image at 0 hours (A0) and greater than the threshold the case is determined as resistant. See the caption of figure 4 (relevant to instant claim 1). Wichselbaum teaches providing biological fluid in at least one cuvette aligning the at least one cuvette in the system. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum (relevant to instant claim 2). Tomaras an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071] (relevant to instant claim 31). Wichselbaum teaches a system comprising light source. Light emitted from light source passes through collimator (i.e. optics configured to focus light) and the collimated beam entered a cuvette (i.e. container). See [0027]. Wichselbaum teaches fluid contained in cuvette. See [0023]. The sample of the fluid, need not be cultured. See [0022]. Wichselbaum teaches a light detector for receiving light forwardly scattered from the biological fluid. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as a light detector. See [0052]. Wichselbaum does not teach microfluidic channels, pumps or valves, which meets the instantly claimed requirement. Wichselbaum teaches a processing and control unit that provides for powering light source and receiver unit. The receiver unit controls the detector (i.e. the forward scatter imaging device). See [0027] (relevant to instant claim 32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute the series of images recited in patent claim 1 for Wichselbaum’s multiplicity of images, and to substitute the urine sample recited in patent claim 6 for Tomaras’s first and second sample in order to determine antibiotic susceptibility.
The patent claims lack: filtering the first and second samples (relevant to instant claim 6); defining an infection threshold as a number of cell divisions; and comparing the number of the bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample and the second sample during the first length and the second length of time, respectively, with the invention threshold (relevant to instant claim 9); an infection threshold that is between 2 to 10 cell divisions (relevant to instant claim 12); a threshold of 0.4 to 0.6 (relevant to instant claim 20); first and second samples in a range of 1 µl to 50 µl (relevant to instant claim 21); irradiating the sample with IR (relevant to instant claim 25); based on the number of bacterial cell divisions, administering an antibiotic to a subject (relevant to instant claim 29).
However, Tomaras discloses that each sample may undergo some type of filtering. See [0034] (relevant to instant claim 6). Mo teaches setting an infection threshold to 1.24 (relevant to instant claims 9, 12 and 20). Choi teaches inoculating microplates with a bacterial stock solution of 10 µL. See p. 11 last full paragraph (relevant to instant claim 21). Tomaras teaches samples and cuvettes illuminated by optical or infrared (IR) light sources. See [0051] (relevant to instant claim 25). Froim (administering to a subject suspected of having an antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection a therapeutically effective combination of an antibiotic. See claim 1 of Froim (relevant to instant claim 29).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute Tomaras’s IR for the LED light recited in patent claim 8, optimize the volume of the sample based on Choi’s 10 µL suggestion, and to further apply the infection threshold determination of Mo in order to test for antibiotic susceptibility.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 20-21, 25, 29, and 31-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11834696 (hereafter Tao ‘696), in view of Wichselbaum (US 2016/0299067), Tomaras (US 2020/0249148, filed 02/05/2019) and Choi (Sci Transl Med. 2014 Dec 17;6(267):267ra174), Mo (Analytical chemistry, 2019 91(15), 10164-10171), and Froim (US 2006/0193924).
Patent claim 1 of Tao ‘696 recites a method for determining susceptibility of bacterial cells to at least one selected drug, the method comprising:
(a) preparing a set of test samples from a patient sample, where each test sample of the set of test samples includes a plurality of bacterial cells;
(b) preparing at least one negative control sample from the patient sample;
(c) adding a different dose of the at least one selected drug in each test sample of the set of test samples;
(d) selecting a first test sample having a first dose of the selected drug from the set of test samples;
(e) subjecting the selected test sample to large-volume light scattering imaging (LLSi) utilizing a light source and optics to produce a light slab to illuminate a test sample view volume of at least 1 mm3, and utilizing a camera (e.g. imaging device) configured to collect light scattered by transit through at least a portion of the test sample view volume;
(f) producing, from the LLSi imaging, a video (e.g. a multiplicity of images over a length of time) of at least a portion of the plurality of bacterial cells in the selected test sample;
(g) generating a training data set comprising at least 6000 bacterial cell traces including at least 3000 bacterial cell traces inhibited by an antibiotic, and at least 3000 controls, and thereafter processing the video with a deep learning (DL) algorithm to provide an output signal for the selected test sample;
(h) selecting a next test sample from the set of test samples;
(i) repeating steps (e) through (h) so as to provide a plurality of output signals; and
(j) determining drug susceptibility of the plurality of bacterial cells to the at least one selected drug from the plurality of output signals as compared against a control output signal generated from the at least one negative control sample.
Patent claim 2 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the at least one selected drug includes at least one antibiotic, the method further comprising:
(k) for each of the at least one selected drug, repeating steps (a) to (i) for each of the at least one selected drug to obtain an inhibition curve for each of said at least one selected drug thereby generating a set of inhibition curves; and
(l) determining drug susceptibility of the plurality of bacterial cells for each of the at least one selected drug from the set of inhibition curves.
Patent claim 3 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the patient sample is selected from the group consisting of a urine sample, a blood sample, a sample including bacterial cells and combinations thereof.
Patent claim 4 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 1 wherein processing the video with a deep learning (DL) algorithm comprises:
compressing an LLSi video into a trace image;
transmitting the trace image into a convolutional neural network as an input; and
processing the input using a plurality of hidden layers in a neural network to provide an output.
Patent claim 5 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the act of processing the video with a deep learning (DL) algorithm comprises detecting action of the at least one selected drug on the plurality of bacterial cells for each selected test sample that leads to changes in various phenotypic features of the plurality of bacterial cells including features selected from the group consisting of division, metabolic driven motion, morphology and combinations thereof.
Patent claim 6 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 1 wherein processing the video with a deep learning (DL) algorithm comprises differentiating antibiotic susceptible bacterial cells in the plurality of bacterial cells of each test sample from antibiotic resistant cells in the plurality of bacterial cells of each test sample automatically by detecting differences in the videos of individual bacterial cells.
Patent claim 7 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 6 wherein the act of detecting differences includes detecting differences in characteristics selected from the group consisting of cell division, morphology change, motion associated with metabolic activities, changes in the LLSi images, ATP, redox markers, and combinations thereof.
Patent claim 8 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the act of processing the video with a deep learning (DL) algorithm comprises:
transforming each bacterial cell in the video into a trace image; and
detecting cell division.
Patent claim 9 of Tao ‘696 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the plurality of bacterial cells for at least one selected test sample comprises E. Coli cells.
The patent claims lack: a first sample that comprises uncultured bacterial cells, using a forward scattering optical imaging apparatus configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the first sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps, or valves; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample from the first multiplicity of images of the first sample over the first length of time; and determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the first sample, a first number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample during the first length of time; collecting, from a second sample provided to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, a second multiplicity of images of the second sample over a second length of time, wherein the first sample and the second sample are obtained from a common source and wherein the first sample comprises an antibiotic and the second sample is free of added antibiotic; determining a trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample from the second multiplicity of images of the second sample over the second length of time; determining, based on the trajectory of each bacterial cell in the second sample, a second number of bacterial cell divisions that occur in the second sample during the second length of time; determining a susceptibility ratio, wherein the susceptibility ratio comprises a ratio of the first number of bacterial cell divisions to the second number of bacterial cell divisions; defining a susceptibility threshold; comparing the susceptibility ratio to the susceptibility threshold; and identifying the first sample as resistant or as susceptible to the antibiotic if the susceptibility ratio exceeds the susceptibility threshold within 60 minutes of collecting the first and second multiplicity of images with at least 94% accuracy (relevant to instant claim 1); further comprising providing the first and second samples to the forward scattering optical imaging apparatus, and/or further comprising collecting the first and second samples from a subject (relevant to instant claim 2); and a length of time is in a range between 20 minutes and 60 minutes, or between 30 minutes and 60 minutes (relevant to instant claim 31). Furthermore, the patent claims lack: a system comprising: a light source, optics to focus light on the liquid sample comprising uncultured bacterial cells in a container; a forward scattering imaging device configured to collect light transmitted and forward-scattered through the liquid sample in free solution in a container, without using microfluidic channels, pumps or valves; and a controller operably coupled to the light source and forward scattering imaging device configured to: [the method steps of instant claim 1] (relevant to instant claim 32)
However, Wichselbaum teaches placing filtered biological fluid in at least one cuvette aligning the at least one cuvette in the system, illuminating a portion of the filtered biological fluid with a light beam to create forward-scattering light; repeatedly receiving forward-scattered signals at the light detector; and using the forward-scattered signals to determine a change in bacterial count over a period of time. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as the light detector (i.e. forward scattering optical imaging apparatus). See [0052]. Wichselbaum discloses that the system repeatedly receives for a first predefined time interval T1 a number of discrete speckles images. See [0036]. Tomaras a liquid sample, e.g. urine from a patient suspected of having a urinary tract infection, that may serve as a control with no antibiotic and the same patient’s liquid sample may be mixed with an antibiotic. See [0055]. Furthermore, Tomaras an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071]. Choi teaches defining a threshold value (T1) and if the bacterial occupancy area at 4 hours (A3) is divided by that of the first image at 0 hours (A0) and greater than the threshold the case is determined as resistant. See the caption of figure 4 (relevant to instant claim 1). Wichselbaum teaches providing biological fluid in at least one cuvette aligning the at least one cuvette in the system. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum (relevant to instant claim 2). Tomaras an overall time-to-result of three hours or less. See [0071] (relevant to instant claim 31). Wichselbaum teaches a system comprising light source. Light emitted from light source passes through collimator (i.e. optics configured to focus light) and the collimated beam entered a cuvette (i.e. container). See [0027]. Wichselbaum teaches fluid contained in cuvette. See [0023]. The sample of the fluid, need not be cultured. See [0022]. Wichselbaum teaches a light detector for receiving light forwardly scattered from the biological fluid. See claim 18 of Wichselbaum. Wichselbaum teaches a CMOS sensor that serves as a light detector. See [0052]. Wichselbaum does not teach microfluidic channels, pumps or valves, which meets the instantly claimed requirement. Wichselbaum teaches a processing and control unit that provides for powering light source and receiver unit. The receiver unit controls the detector (i.e. the forward scatter imaging device). See [0027] (relevant to instant claim 32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute the forward-scattering imaging of Wichselbaum for the LLSi imaging recited in patent claim 1, to substitute Tomara’s first and second urine samples for the urine sample recited in patent claim 3, and to further apply Choi’s resistance determination calculation in order to determine antibiotic susceptibility.
The patent claims lack: filtering the first and second samples (relevant to instant claim 6); defining an infection threshold as a number of cell divisions; and comparing the number of the bacterial cell divisions that occur in the first sample and the second sample during the first length and the second length of time, respectively, with the invention threshold (relevant to instant claim 9); an infection threshold that is between 2 to 10 cell divisions (relevant to instant claim 12); a threshold of 0.4 to 0.6 (relevant to instant claim 20); first and second samples in a range of 1 µl to 50 µl (relevant to instant claim 21); irradiating the sample with IR (relevant to instant claim 25); based on the number of bacterial cell divisions, administering an antibiotic to a subject (relevant to instant claim 29).
However, Tomaras discloses that each sample may undergo some type of filtering. See [0034] (relevant to instant claim 6). Mo teaches setting an infection threshold to 1.24 (relevant to instant claims 9, 12 and 20). Choi teaches inoculating microplates with a bacterial stock solution of 10 µL. See p. 11 last full paragraph (relevant to instant claim 21). Tomaras teaches samples and cuvettes illuminated by optical or infrared (IR) light sources. See [0051] (relevant to instant claim 25). Froim (administering to a subject suspected of having an antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection a therapeutically effective combination of an antibiotic. See claim 1 of Froim (relevant to instant claim 29).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply the filtering and IR illumination of Tomaras to the urine samples, to optimize the volume of the sample based on Choi’s 10 µL suggestion, and to further apply the infection threshold determination of Mo in order to test for antibiotic susceptibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant argues that none of the refence claims require the combination of tracking optical trajectories of individual bacterial cells in free solution in a container without microfluidic, pumps or valves; determining a specific count of single-cell division events from cell trajectories in dual samples; and identifying susceptibility from a division ratio within 60 minutes of image collection with at least 95% accuracy. See the remarks p. 14 bullet points 1-3. Applicant argues that Nongjian ‘225 requires phase-contrast deep learning models on static compressed images; Wang ‘662 relies on integrated bulk scattering intensity differences; and Tao ‘696 requires deep learning convolutional neural network trace images generated from light-slab volume illuminator. See the remarks p. 14 para. 2.
This argument is not persuasive because the double patenting rejections above are all obvious-type rejections that do not rely on the conflicting patent claims alone to meet the instant claim elements. Applicant has not pointed to an instant claim element not taught by the combination of cited references. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive. For clarity of the record, the provisional rejection over Nongjian ‘225 in view of Wichselbaum, Tomaras, Choi, Mo and Froim is no longer provisional because application 18/494,225 (Nongjian ‘225) was granted 08/04/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/K.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1657