Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake et al. (US 16/060509 A1) in view of Jin et al. (US 2015/0200226 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Otake teaches an imaging device ([Abstract] A sensor includes a first substrate including at least a first pixel) comprising:
an N-type first semiconductor region ([0092] an n-type semiconductor region 101);
a P-type second semiconductor region in contact with one surface of the first semiconductor region ([0092] a p-type semiconductor region 102… which Is formed under the n-type semiconductor region Examiner Note: See Fig. 3 reproduced below); and
a light absorbing region provided on a side opposite to the first semiconductor region across the second semiconductor region ([0094] The p-type semiconductor region 102 constitutes a pn junction at its interface with the n-type semiconductor region 101. The p-type semiconductor region 102 has a multiplication region in which carriers generated by incidence of light to be detected are put to avalanche multiplication);
an anode electrode provided at a position facing the second semiconductor region across the light absorbing region; wherein the anode electrode includes a P-type semiconductor ([0095]The n-type semiconductor region 101 functions as a cathode, and is connected to a circuit through a contact 104. An anode 105 opposed to the cathode is formed in the same layer as the n-type semiconductor region 101, between the n-type semiconductor region 101 and an isolation region 108. The anode 105 is connected to a circuit through a contact 106 Examiner Note: An n-type cathode implies that the anode is p-type).
Otake is not relied upon as teaching that the anode electrode has a refractive index of 1.8 or larger and an optical bandgap of 1.9 eV or larger.
However, Jin teaches a semiconductor substrate having a refractive index of 1.8 or larger ([0019] the plurality of second layers may have the refractive index of about 2.1 to about 2.7) and an optical bandgap of 1.9 eV or larger ([0048] Each of the p-type semiconductor material and the n-type semiconductor material may have an energy bandgap of, for example, about 2.0 to about 2.5 eV).
Otake and Jin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of image sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed a simple substitution of the material used to create the anode of Otake with the semiconductor substrate of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success because both are p-type semiconductors used in image sensing. One would have been motivated in doing so to reduce parasitic absorption and increase efficiency in light guidance. This would have yielded the predictable result of an anode electrode with a refractive index of 1.8 or larger and an optical bandgap of 1.9 eV or larger.
Regarding Claim 2, Otake teaches that the anode electrode includes:
a first site facing the second semiconductor region in a thickness direction of the light absorbing region; and
a second site facing the second semiconductor region in a direction intersecting the thickness direction of the light absorbing region (See Fig. 3, reproduced above, elements 102, 105, 107a Examiner Note: 102 contains the light absorbing region (See Claim 1), 105 and 107a are the anode (See Claim 1), notice the shape of 107a).
Regarding Claim 9, Otake teaches a semiconductor substrate ([0010] a first substrate including at least a first pixel);
a plurality of pixels provided on the semiconductor substrate ([0010] first pixel includes an isolation region that isolates the third region from at least a second pixel); and
a light-shielding pixel isolation unit that is provided on the semiconductor substrate and isolates adjacent pixels among the plurality of pixels from each other ([0010] first pixel includes an isolation region that isolates the third region from at least a second pixel), wherein
the first semiconductor region ([0092] an n-type semiconductor region 101), the second semiconductor region ([0092] a p-type semiconductor region 102… which Is formed under the n-type semiconductor region), the light absorbing region ([0094] The p-type semiconductor region 102 is a semiconductor region of p-type conductivity which has a high impurity concentration. The p-type semiconductor region 102 constitutes a pn junction at its interface with the n-type semiconductor region 101. The p-type semiconductor region 102 has a multiplication region in which carriers generated by incidence of light to be detected are put to avalanche multiplication), and the anode electrode are arranged in each of the plurality of pixels ([0095]The n-type semiconductor region 101 functions as a cathode, and is connected to a circuit through a contact 104. An anode 105 opposed to the cathode is formed in the same layer as the n-type semiconductor region 101, between the n-type semiconductor region 101 and an isolation region 108. The anode 105 is connected to a circuit through a contact 106 Examiner Note: An n-type cathode implies that the anode is p-type).
Regarding Claim 10, Otake teaches an electronic device ([0001] an avalanche photodiode) comprising:
an imaging device that photoelectrically converts the light and outputs a signal ([0472] an optical sensor that receives light and outputs an electrical signal according to the amount of light received), wherein
the imaging device is provided ([Abstract] A sensor includes… at least a first pixel) with:
an N-type first semiconductor region ([0092] an n-type semiconductor region 101);
a P-type second semiconductor region in contact with one surface of the first semiconductor region ([0092] a p-type semiconductor region 102… which Is formed under the n-type semiconductor region Examiner Note: See Fig. 3 reproduced above);
a light absorbing region provided on a side opposite to the first semiconductor region across the second semiconductor region ([0094] The p-type semiconductor region 102 is a semiconductor region of p-type conductivity which has a high impurity concentration. The p-type semiconductor region 102 constitutes a pn junction at its interface with the n-type semiconductor region 101. The p-type semiconductor region 102 has a multiplication region in which carriers generated by incidence of light to be detected are put to avalanche multiplication); and
an anode electrode provided at a position facing the second semiconductor region across the light absorbing region, and the anode electrode includes a P-type semiconductor ([0095]The n-type semiconductor region 101 functions as a cathode, and is connected to a circuit through a contact 104. An anode 105 opposed to the cathode is formed in the same layer as the n-type semiconductor region 101, between the n-type semiconductor region 101 and an isolation region 108. The anode 105 is connected to a circuit through a contact 106 Examiner Note: An n-type cathode implies that the anode is p-type).
Otake is not relied upon as teaching a light source that emits light of a wavelength band set in advance and the anode electrode has a refractive index of 1.8 or larger and an optical bandgap of 1.9 eV or larger.
However, Jin teaches a light source that emits light of a wavelength band set in advance ([0122] The photoactive layer 130G may… transmit light in other wavelength region besides the green wavelength region, that is, light in a blue wavelength region), and
the anode electrode has a refractive index of 1.8 or larger ([0019] the plurality of second layers may have the refractive index of about 2.1 to about 2.7) and an optical bandgap of 1.9 eV or larger ([0048] Each of the p-type semiconductor material and the n-type semiconductor material may have an energy bandgap of, for example, about 2.0 to about 2.5 eV).
Otake and Jin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of image sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed a simple substitution of the material used to create the anode of Otake with the semiconductor substrate of Jin with a reasonable expectation of success because both are p-type semiconductors used in image sensing. One would have been motivated in doing so to reduce parasitic absorption and increase efficiency in light guidance. This would have yielded the predictable result of an anode electrode with a refractive index of 1.8 or larger and an optical bandgap of 1.9 eV or larger.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake et al. (US 16/060509 A1) and Jin et al. (US 2015/0200226 A1) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2005/0012143 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Otake is not relied upon as teaching that anode electrode includes P-type amorphous silicon carbide, P-type polysilicon carbide, P-type amorphous silicon nitride, or P-type polysilicon nitride.
However, Tanaka teaches that anode electrode includes P-type amorphous silicon carbide, P-type polysilicon carbide, P-type amorphous silicon nitride, or P-type polysilicon nitride ([0101] has an anode region 311 made of p-type polysilicon carbide).
Otake and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of p type semiconductor materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material used to create the anode of Otake to include the material of Tanaka with a reasonable expectation of success because both are p-type. This would have yielded the predictable result of an anode electrode including p-type polysilicon carbide.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake et al. (US 16/060509 A1) and Jin et al. (US 2015/0200226 A1) in view of Schmidt (US 2005/0156284 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Otake is not relied upon as teaching that a boron concentration in the anode electrode is 1x10^18 cm^-3 or larger.
However, Schmidt teaches that a boron concentration in the anode electrode is 1x10^18 cm^-3 or larger ([0151] An example is considered in which the vertical diffusion depth of the p-type region 20 with boron doping is 6 µm and the edge concentration is 5*10^18 cm^-3).
Otake and Schmidt are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of p type semiconductor materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material used to create the anode of Otake with the boron doping of Schmidt with a reasonable expectation of success because both are p-type. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the boron doping concentrations taught by Schmidt to the anode structure of Otake in order to optimize performance. This would use a known technique to improve a similar device.
Claims 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake et al. (US 16/060509 A1) and Jin et al. (US 2015/0200226 A1) in view of Manda et al. (WO 2018105359 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Otake teaches an insulating film provided on a side opposite to the light absorbing region across the anode electrode ([0124] A fixed charge film 151 is formed at side surfaces inside the isolation region… also on the back surface side Examiner Note: See Fig. 7 element 151, reproduced below).
Otake is not relied upon as teaching that the insulating film has a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the anode electrode.
However, Manda teaches that the insulating film has a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the anode electrode ([0034] the insulating film 23 may be smaller in refractive index than the materials that configure the first-conductivity-type layer 32 and the second-conductivity-type layer 34).
Otake and Manda are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of light receiving imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material used to create the film of Otake with the insulating film of Manda with a reasonable expectation of success because both are insulating films used in semiconductor imaging devices. This would have yielded the predictable result of an insulating film with a lower refractive index than the anode.
Regarding Claim 6, Otake teaches that the insulating film is an aluminum oxide film, a silicon oxide film, or a hafnium oxide film ([0297] the above-mentioned fixed charge film 151 having a negative fixed charge may include a hafnium nitride film, an aluminum nitride film, a hafnium oxynitride film or an aluminum oxynitride film).
Regarding Claim 7, Otake teaches a lens body provided on a side opposite to the light absorbing region across the insulating film in a thickness direction of the light absorbing region ([0086]-[0090] and Figs. 1 and 2, Light is incident from the on-chip lens 23 side (in FIG. 1, the upper side), and is incident on the APD 21 through the wiring layer 22… Light is incident from the on-chip lens 23 side (in FIG. 2, the lower side), and is incident on the APD 21… The present technology is applicable to both the front side illumination type pixel 10 as depicted in FIG. 1 and the backside illumination type pixel 30 as depicted in FIG. 2.).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake et al. (US 16/060509 A1) and Jin et al. (US 2015/0200226 A1) in view of Kasai (US 2010/0327387 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Otake is not relied upon as teaching that a voltage for electron amplification is applied between the anode electrode and the first semiconductor region.
However, Kasai teaches that a voltage for electron amplification is applied between the anode electrode and the first semiconductor region. ([0026] n the configuration shown in FIG. 2, APD 200 includes a p-n junction formed by highly-doped back-side p-type region 214 and highly-doped back-side n-type region 216. In operation, a reverse bias may be applied to the p-n junction… If the applied reverse bias voltage is large enough… free electrons present in the avalanche region may be accelerated by the electric field present in the avalanche region such that the free electrons may strike other atoms in the avalanche region, in turn creating more free electrons through impact ionization).
Otake and Kasai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of semiconductor imaging devices and electron-multiplying photodetectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a reverse-bias voltage between the anode electrode and the first (N-type) semiconductor region of Otake with a reasonable expectation of success because Kasai teaches that a reverse-biased PN junction in an avalanche photodiode produces electron multiplication and such biasing techniques are well known in the art. This would have yielded the predictable result of electron amplification within the imaging device.
Conclusion
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645