DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed 09/02/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 12, and 17 are cancelled. Claims 13-16 and 18 are non-elected claims, and remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 5, 7, 20, and 22 are amended. Claims 1, 3-11, and 19-23 are presented for examination on the merits for patentability.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2026, 07/17/2026, and 06/25/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Modified Rejection As Necessitated by the Amendment Filed 09/02/2026
Double Patenting
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of Claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In this case, both claims recite the same language “The method according to claim 1, wherein the ratio of protein-containing composition to protein-deamidase is from 100: 1 to 1000: 1 2000: 1 (w/w).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (CN 111227074 A, Of record), hereinafter He.
He discloses a processing method of a matcha product, which comprises the steps of pretreatment, pulping, primary enzymolysis, grinding, secondary enzymolysis and post-treatment to improve the solubility, dispersibility, nutrient absorption, and flavor of the matcha (Abstract). The matcha product can also be used as an additive for processing various foods, beverages and cosmetics (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 1, He relates that its method comprises the steps of: 1) crushing ground tea serving as a raw material of matcha to obtain ground tea powder; 2) adding an aqueous liquid into the obtained ground tea powder for pulping to further crush the ground tea powder to obtain a pulping residue liquid; 3) performing enzymolysis on the liquid by using cellulase, hemicellulase and pectinase to obtain primary enzymolysis liquid; 4) grinding the primary enzymolysis liquid to further reduce the degree of fragmentation to obtain grinding slurry; 5) performing a secondary enzymolysis on the obtained grinding slurry by using protease, tannase and glutaminase to obtain secondary enzymolysis liquid; 6) and post-treatment on the obtained secondary enzymolysis liquid to obtain a matcha product (p. 2, bottom half; Claim 1). As such, features of Claim 1 steps a) and b) are obvious. Regarding the ratio in step b), He teaches using 0.8 g glutaminase per kg of the tea and/or of the liquid slurry, which is equivalent to 1:1250 of the composition to protein-deamidase, rendering the ratio in Claims 1, 5 and 20 obvious (Example 1). Regarding Claim 1 steps c) and d), He relates that the post-processing steps include degassing, homogenization and sterilization (p. 8, last paragraph). He recognizes that steaming deactivates enzymes (p. 2, Background, 1st paragraph). He expressly teaches homogenization at 19 MPa, and then instantly sterilizing at 135 ˚C (Example 1). He also teaches that homogenization is performed twice at pressure of 18-19 MPa to make the slurry system more uniform and stable (p. 9, 2nd paragraph). By Examiner’s calculation, 18-19 MPa is equivalent to 180-190 bar.
Regarding the sequence of steps, He’s example describes homogenization and then instantly sterilizing at 135 ˚C. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the steps, and perform the sterilization prior to homogenization as part of an ordinary person in the art’s optimization process. The Examiner notes that the Applicant does not disclose the criticality of the steps. The instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious). Thus, the claimed variation of steps would have been obvious to a skilled artisan. Unless Applicant demonstrates the criticality of the order, i.e. heating prior to homogenization, and demonstrate that He’s product produced by the method claims is not the same product as the instant application, changes in sequence has been rendered to be prima facie obvious Note MPEP § 2144.04 [R-1] In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious).
Regarding the pressure, the 190 bar taught by He is outside the 270-600 bar claimed. However, while the exact pressure range is not disclosed by He, it is generally noted that differences in pressure do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such pressure range is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Given that applicant did not point out the criticality of the pressure range claimed, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum pressure range. NOTE: MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to adjust the homogenization pressure as a matter of experimentation and optimization. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results. As such, Claims 7 and 21 are also obvious.
Regarding Claims 3-4 and 8-9, He teaches expressly teaches sequential treatment with enzymes cellulase, treating the pulping residue liquid with cellulase first, followed by glutaminase (Examples 1-3).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to adjust the pressure or the ratio of the protein composition to the deamidase as a matter of experimentation and optimization. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, as applied to Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 20-21 above, and in view of Rinas et al. (DE 4116744 A1, Of record), hereinafter Rinas.
The teachings of He have been set forth supra.
Regarding Claim 10, He does not teach wherein the enzymatic treatment with the carbohydrate-hydrolyzing enzyme is carried out simultaneously with the protein-deamidase treatment in step b).
Rinas is in a related field, teaching the production of enzymatic seasoning or seasoning from plant raw material where the substrate is finely distributed in water is hydrolyzed by proteases, peptidases, glutaminases, and maceration enzymes, i.e. cellulases, pectinases, or amylases (Abstract). The combination produces a seasoning with no bitter taste (Abstract). Rinas relates that seasonings are obtained by hydrolysis of amino acids obtained from vegetable protein, i. e. glutamic acid, increasing the individual taste of food (p. 5). The proteases hydrolyze and expose the amino acids; the glutaminases converts glutamine to glutamic acid; the starch, cellulose and other carbohydrates, which contributes to the aroma, are also cleaved by adding macerating enzymes, such as cellulase, pectinases, glucanases and amylases (pp. 3 and 5; Claims 4 and 7-8). The enzymes can be added as mixture to treat soy flour and wheat gluten (p. 3, 1st and 2nd paragraphs).
Rinas expressly teaches the enzymatic wort production from soy flour comprising a step of enzyme hydrolysis with a mixture of glutaminase, cellulase, and amylase altogether (p. 3, 6th paragraph; p. 6, 2nd to last paragraph; Claim 16). Rinas teaches that the various enzymes can be processed in a single step in a mixture, but that it is preferable that the enzymes are added in a multi-step process (p. 5). The first enzymatic reaction comprises the mixture of proteases; followed by deamination by adding glutaminase, and preferably with the macerating enzyme (p. 6).
Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the known technique of mixing together cellulase with glutaminase to perform the hydrolysis of protein and carbohydrate at once per the teaching of Rinas, and apply it to the method of He. Applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results is the rationale supporting obviousness. See MPEP § 2143 and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, as applied to Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 20-21 above, and in view of Maningat et al. (US 2018/0295857 A1, Of record.
The teachings of He have been set forth supra.
He is silent on the Claim 11 feature of wherein the protein in the plant-based protein-containing composition has a solubility of less than 41 %.
He teaches a processing method of a matcha product with better solubility and dispersibility, good flavor and better taste, wherein the matcha product can be used as an additive for processing various foods, beverages and cosmetics (Abstract). He’s product is prepared comprising a step of grinding a slurry of the protein hydrolysate with glutaminase (Example 1). Maningat discloses the preparation of high-protein food additives by reacting a protein material with L-cysteine, or a derivative thereof, with homogenization and heating, preferably carried out on an aqueously slurry of the protein material and L-cysteine (Abstract; Example 1). Maningat teaches examples wherein plant protein is added to an aqueous solution, which is treated with glutaminase and homogenized and heated to 185 ˚C to deactivate the enzyme(Examples 5 and 9). As such, the teachings of Maningat is compatible with He.
Regarding the solubility in Claim 11, Maningat teaches that its food additive may be prepared by first forming an aqueous slurry comprising the at least one protein material, wherein the slurry comprises from about 10% to about 90%, from about 20% to about 80%, from about 30% to about 70%, or about 40% to about 60% by weight of the at least one protein material [0075]. Maningat recognizes the use of homogenization and adjusting the pH to increase solubility, for example, for wheat gluten proteins, which Maningat recognizes to have poor solubility [0075]. While Maningat does not expressly recite a protein in the plant-based protein-containing composition that has a solubility of less than 41 %, the Examiner interprets the slurry comprising e.g. 20% protein material to mean that the protein is less than 41 % in the slurry.
Maningat teaches how wheat gluten proteins are insoluble in water and form a cohesive, viscoelastic dough mass, resisting dispersion, and as such, requires a high shear mixer for both mechanical shearing and fluid shearing [0065]. The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See also Dystar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick, 464 F.3d 1356, 1368, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1651 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In the instant case, He and Maningat are compatible, and one skilled in the art experimenting with a protein with low solubility such as the wheat gluten taught by Maningat, would have improved the method of He.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, as applied to Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 20-21 above, and in view of Alting (WO 2016/129998, Of record).
He does not teach the spray drying and dry mixing steps claimed.
Alting discloses the preparation of aqueous dispersion of poorly dispersible plant proteins by preparing an aqueous dispersion comprising colloidal protein particles dispersed in an aqueous fluid, which colloidal protein particles comprise caseinate and one or more plant proteins, and food products comprising the same (Abstract). Alting recognizes other poorly soluble plant protein to be proteins from rice, oat, wheat etc. (p. 9, lines 1-4). Alting also teaches using deaminated sodium caseinate stirred with protein glutaminase prior to homogenization, (Example 5; p. 5). Alting expressly teaches an example wherein the dispersion is homogenized at a pressure of 35 MPa, which is equivalent to 350 bar, before spray-drying (Example 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Alting teaches while aqueous colloidal dispersion may be used in the preparation of a food product etc., or the hybrid protein particles may be obtained from the colloidal dispersion by drying the aqueous dispersion via generally known drying techniques, e.g. drum drying, spray drying or freeze-drying to give a powder (p. 13, pp. 28-29). Spray drying is particularly useful in obtaining a powder of particles having a core-shell morphology, with increased dispersibility (pp. 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to improve upon the method of He and use the spray-drying technique of Alting to obtain protein particles from the colloidal dispersion after the deamidase treatment if a core-shell morphology is desired and/or increase the dispersibility of the composition.
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable He, as applied to Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 20-21 above, and further in view of Rommi et al. (Of record), hereinafter Rommi.
The teachings of He have been set forth supra.
Regarding Claims 6 and 22, He does not teach the press cake.
Rommi relates that rapeseed cold-pressed cake has gained growing interest as a potential plant-based protein source for use as animal feed, and noted how rapeseed protein has favorable features for human use, specifically food and cosmetics applications (Introduction, Conclusions). Rommi teaches that rapeseed press cake has high carbohydrate content, and phytates and phenolics negatively impacts its digestibility and sensory properties, but are resolved by use of proteases and/or cell wall-degrading enzymes (Introduction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of He and Rommi to use the rapeseed press cake or other plant-based protein press cake as food additive in He to obtain food products with better digestibility and sensory properties.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, as applied to Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 20-22 above, and in view of Maningat and Rommi.
Claim 23 depends from Claim 22. The teachings of He, Maningat and Rommi have been set forth supra.
He teaches performing the enzymolysis at pH between 5-6, but not the claimed pH (Claims 6 and 8; Examples 1-3).
Maningat teaches the food additive may be prepared by first forming an aqueous slurry comprising the at least one protein material, and wherein the slurry is homogenized under acidic, alkaline, or neutral pH conditions [0075]. Maningat expressly teaches a different sample compositions treated at different pH, including a sample comprising lentil and pea proteins that are treated with protein glutaminase at pH 6.8; another sample comprises wheat gluten and sunflower protein treated with protein glutaminase at pH 7.3 (Table 1, sample X; Table 2, Sample 231). Sample 231 exhibited high emulsifying capacity, higher foaming stability, and the greatest number of improved functional properties compared to the other protein samples [0141].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Maningat with that of He and Rommi, and adjust the pH during the protein deamidase treatment, for example from pH 6 taught by He to pH 6.8 per the teaching of Maningat. One would have been motivated to do so because Maningat has taught the suitability of optimizing the pH to alkaline, neutral, and acidic as needed food additive. Further, Maningat has taught different sample compositions treated at pH 6.8 and at pH 7.3, wherein one sample exhibited high emulsifying capacity, higher foaming stability, and the greatest number of improved functional properties compared to the other protein samples.
Response to Remarks:
Applicant traversed the rejection over He, arguing that the 180-190 bar is not near the claimed pressure of 270-600 bar. Applicant submits that the claimed high-pressure homogenization range is not arbitrary as the condition disrupts the tertiary and quaternary structure of proteins through cleavage of non-covalent bonds, thereby improving protein solubility. Applicant also pointed to working examples utilize high-pressure homogenization at 300 bar and demonstrate significant improvements in protein functionality.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but the Examiner is unconvinced. In order to be convincing, the showing must be statistically significant. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. An unexpected property or result must actually be unexpected and of statistical and practical significance. The burden is on the applicant to establish the results are in fact unexpected, unobvious and of statistical and practical significance. See MPEP 716.02.
The Examiner reviewed Example 1 and Figures 1-2, and found data on protein solubility of the control, homogenization alone, PG+Foodpro, and PG+Foodpro+homogenization were obtained at a single fixed homogenization pressure of 300 bar. No experiments were performed outside the claimed range to overcome He. Because there is no comparison with the closest prior art to date, no comparison can be made to conclude that there exists a statistically significant difference between the instant invention and the prior art to the extent that a determination can be made that the range in the instant invention is critical/unexpected.
Applicant argues that He fails to teach or suggest this combination and sequence of processing conditions; that Maningat teaches homogenization followed by enzyme inactivation. Applicant pointed to Example 1 and Figures 1-2 of the present disclosure, the protein-deamidase is inactivated before the subsequent high pressure homogenization, and the disclosed combination provides a substantial improvement in protein solubility.
As discussed above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the steps, and perform the sterilization prior to homogenization as part of an ordinary person in the art’s optimization process. The Examiner notes that He taught homogenization and then instantly sterilizing at 135 ˚C. Applicant has not shown or discussed any criticality to the claimed sequence to date. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious). Unless Applicant demonstrates the criticality of the order, i.e. heating prior to homogenization, and demonstrate that He’s product produced by the method claims is not the same product as the instant application, changes in sequence has been rendered to be prima facie obvious Note MPEP § 2144.04 [R-1] In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious).
The Examiner reviewed Example 1 and Figures 1-2, but there is no comparison found with regards to the conditions in the prior art being argued. Fig. 2, which is the only figure showing data on protein solubility of the control, homogenization alone, PG+Foodpro, and PG+Foodpro+homogenization at a fixed homogenization pressure of 300 bar. However, the figure does not show different pressure conditions, nor does it show the pressure condition with the sequence of steps taught by He.
Applicant argued that Alting utilizes high pressure homogenization in a materially different compositional context involving aqueous colloidal dispersions of poorly dispersible plant proteins and caseinate. Applicant submits that there is no motivation to replace the disclosed homogenization process with the high-pressure homogenization of Alting.
He gives guidance on homogenization at 190 bar pressure, which renders the claimed range obvious as a result of optimization, in the absence of a showing of criticality. Alting provides evidence that such conditions are known, and is not relied on to modify He per se. Nevertheless, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify to use higher pressure for compositions that are not easily soluble/dispersible; both He and Alting recognized plant proteins that an intrinsically low solubility in water at about neutral pH and aimed at improving solubility and dispersibility (Abstract and p. 10, last paragraph in He; p. 2, 2nd paragraph in Alting).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 7 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-12 of co-pending Application 18/246,455, hereinafter ‘455.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter and composition components.
Both the instant claims and ‘455 are drawn to processes of treating protein in plant-based products, and requires mixing a plant-based composition with aqueous solvent, followed by enzymatic treatment with glutamines and carbohydrate-hydrolyzing enzymes, and homogenization.
Therefore, the claims are drawn to the same subject matter and are not patentably distinct from the instant claims.
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 11, and 18-20 of co-pending Application 18/002,542, hereinafter ‘542 (now US 12610961B2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same subject matter and composition components.
Both the instant claims and ‘542 are drawn to processes of treating protein in plant-based products, and requires mixing a plant-based composition with aqueous solvent, followed by enzymatic treatment with glutamines and carbohydrate-hydrolyzing enzymes, and homogenization. Further, the composition is in the form of press cake.
Therefore, the claims are drawn to the same subject matter and are not patentably distinct from the instant claims.
Response to Remarks:
With respect to the Double Patenting rejection, the rejections are maintained since applicant has not made any substantive arguments traversing the rejection. Applicant(s) is/are reminded that a request to hold a rejection in abeyance is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an OBJECTION or REQUIREMENTS AS TO FORM (see MPEP 37 714.02 and CFR 1.111(b)).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Boursier et al. (US 2015/0237885 A1) discloses a process for obtaining an assembly of at least one Vegetable protein and at least one dairy protein, and teaches that homogenization modifies the conformation of the proteins (Claims 1, 11-12). Boursier et al. also recognizes that heat treatment inactivate enzymes [0070].
Kuranayakul et al. (Food Hydrocolloids 79 (2018) 197e207) discloses pH solubility profiles of non-deamidated and deamidated coconut proteins by protein-glutaminase (Fig. 7).
Gonçalves dos Santos Aguilar et al. (Food Research International 109 (2018) 120–125) teaches the use of high-pressure homogenization (HPH) in protein modification, specifically to modulate stabilization or activation of the enzymes by modifying various chemical bonds (mainly weak bonds) causing different denaturation levels and, consequently, affecting the catalytic activity (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.Y.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792