DETAILED ACTION
Receipt of Amendments to the Specification and Drawings filed May 11 2026; and claim amendments and Arguments/Remarks filed on May 21 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5, 9, 14, 16-17, 19, 21-23 and 25 were/stand cancelled. Claims 1, 6, 10-11 and 15 were amended. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-13, 15, 18, 20 and 24 are pending.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The amendments filed May 11 2026 are sufficient to overcome the objection to the drawings.
The amendments filed May 21 2026 are sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 6, 9-10 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Claim 1 was amended to recite the peptide comprises at least one helical turn which encompasses 3 to 3.6 amino acids as set forth in the specification (see page 7 of response as well). Therefore, while claim 6 includes i and i+11, the minimum length of the peptide is one which contains a helical turn. Therefore, not all anchoring positions are necessarily present in the peptide but at a minimum I and i+3 would be present in light of the helical turn. The cancellation of claim 9 and change in dependency of claim 10 has rendered the rejection moot. The correction of the peptide sequence in claim 15 has overcome the rejection.
The cancellation of claims 21-23 and 25 has rendered the rejection under 35 USC 101 moot.
Modified Rejection Based on Amendments in the reply filed on May 21 2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-12, 18, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. (Peptide Science 2016, cited on PTO Form 1449) in view of Fasan et al. (WO2017223207, cited on PTO Form 1449).
Applicant Claims
The instant application claims a method of producing a conformationally constrained peptide in a cell, the method comprising: i) providing a cell containing a recombinant peptide comprising at least one helical turn, wherein the recombinant peptide comprises at least two derivatisable amino acid residues located at anchoring positions, each derivatisable amino acid comprising a reactive thiol group; ii) contacting the cell with a cross-linker, wherein the cross-linker is capable of reacting with said reactive thiol groups; and iii) culturing the cell in the presence of the cross-linker, such that the cross-linker forms thioether cross-links with the at least two derivatisable amino acids, thereby producing the conformationally constrained peptide in the cell wherein the cross-linker is a compound of formula 1.
The examiner notes that in every instance, the word optional/optionally, is interpreted as reciting elements that are not required to be present.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Fairlie et al. is directed to stapling peptides using cysteine crosslinking. When stapling peptides, chemists can chemically manipulate the peptide framework to mimic the binding site of proteins, to fine-tune its biological activity, to make it more stable to proteolytic degradation and/or to adjust its overall pharmacokinetic properties. Using this strategy a number of bioactive peptides have been generated for a range of biological applications including the targeting of intracellular protein-protein interactions (page 843, left column). Figure 1 shows conformation stabilization of α-helical and cyclic peptides by stapling together two cysteines with a suitable crosslinker. In recombinantly express peptides and proteins, cysteines can simply be engineered into the coding sequence (page 844, left column). The ultimate goal of peptide stapling is often the stabilization of a given bioactive conformation. To accomplish this, the cysteine pair must be included at positions that facilitate the macrocyclization of the peptide and ideally do not compromise target binding. For instance, in an α-helical peptide, residues located at the (i, i+4), (i, i+7) or (i, i+11) positions reside on the same face of the helix and are therefore strategic points to place two cysteines (Figure 1; page 844 right column). Figure 3B shows the a-helical stabilization of a peptide fragment with (i, i+4) connecting crosslinker.
. With growing interest to create helical peptide inhibitors of therapeutically relevant intracellular PPIs (protein-protein interactions), novel sets of bis-electrophilic linkers have bene development with emphasis in improving not just the helical conformation of the peptide but also to enhance their cellular uptake and resistance toward proteolytic degradation (page 846, right column).
Figure 10 shows the bicyclization of a tri-cysteine phage displayed peptide with a TBMB linker:
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
While Fairlie et al. teaches crosslinking of peptides with cysteine/thiols with the same crosslinkers as instantly claimed and suggests that in recombinantly express peptides and proteins, cysteines can simply be engineered into the coding sequence, Fairlie et al. does not teach producing a conformationally constrained peptide in a cell. However, this deficiency is cured by Fasan et al.
Fasan et al. is directed to cyclic peptide inhibitors of hedgehog proteins. Claimed and taught are cyclic peptides which include cysteine residues (paragraph 00122; claims). The cyclic peptide can include a crosslinker wherein the cyclic peptide forms:
(paragraph 0024, 0026). Figure 18 shows a linear peptide in which two amino acid residues to be linked together are cysteine residues and the cyclization reaction is carried out using a bifunctional cysteine-reactive crosslinking agent (paragraph 0165). It is taught that while chemical synthesis is one method for preparing the inhibitors, selected cyclic peptides can be prepared also by recombinant methods. Upon expression of the precursor polypeptide in the cell (E. coli), the crosslinker reaches with a proximal cysteine residue resulting in the formation of side-chain-to-side-chain cyclic peptides (paragraph 00174; 00260). A specific crosslinker taught is M5-S9:
(paragraph 00288).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fairlie et al. and Fasan et al. and produce the conformationally constrained peptide in a cell. One skilled in the art would have been motivated produce the peptide in a cell as Fasan et al. teaches that constrained peptides can be produced either by chemical synthesis or via recombinant methods. In light of the teachings of Fasan et al. that either method can be utilized and Fairlie et al. teaches that peptides can be produced wherein the cysteines can simply be engineered into the coding sequence, there is a reasonable expectation of success in producing a conformationally constrained peptide in a cell.
Regarding claims 1-2, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to provide a cell containing the recombinant peptide as this is required for cyclization. Since both Fairlie et al. and Fasan et al. are concerned with forming conformationally constrained peptides, depending on the desired peptide which is to be utilized, one skilled in the art would utilize a nucleic acid which encodes the desired peptide sequence with the cell, contact the cell with the crosslinker and then culture the cells in order to produce the peptide which is then present to react with the crosslinker to form the conformationally constrained peptide in a cell.
Regarding claim 6, Fairlie et al. teaches in an a-helical peptide, residues located at the (i, i+4), (i, i+7) or (i, i+11) positions reside on the same face of the helix and are therefore strategic points to place two cysteines and exemplifies sequences with cysteines at these positions.
Regarding claim 7-8, the sequences shown with the crosslinking in Fairlie et al. (see Fig.3B, 4 and 10) only contain cysteines at the anchoring positions (aka the crosslinking cysteines).
Regarding claims 1, 10-12 and 24, Fairlie et al. teach the following crosslinkers:
wherein R1 is Br, n is 1 or 2, m is 1 or 0, A is C6 alkenylene/arylene, Y is a C1 alkylene and L is a covalent bond. The first structure reads on formula 2aa of claim 12. The first structure corresponds to the second structure in the first line; the second structure corresponds to the second structure in the second line; the third structure corresponds to the third structure in the second line of claims 24.
Regarding claim 18, Fasan et al. teaches E. coli
Regarding claim 20, as taught in Fasan et al., the peptide was produced by recombinant methods in E. Coli in the presence of the crosslinker. Purification and isolation of the peptide is taught (paragraph 0260).
Claims 3-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. in view of Fasan et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-12, 18, 20 and 24 above and in further view of Worrall (the FEBS Journal, 2010) and Brent et al. (EP1405911).
Applicant Claims
Regarding claims 3-4, these claims are merely interpreted as requiring assaying to determine if the conformationally constrained peptide is able to inhibit association between the first and second candidate binding partner. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims is that the conformationally constrained peptide includes both those which can inhibit and those which do not inhibit as neither claim requires a particular effect just that the ability to inhibit is determined. In light of this interpretation the recitation of first and second candidate binding partner is interpreted as being any known binding partners.
The instant application claims the recombinant peptide is derived from the FosW peptide having the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 modified to comprise at least two derivatizable amino acids located at anchoring positions in the FosW peptide.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Fairlie et al. and Fasan et al. are set forth above. Fairlie et al. teaches crosslinking of peptides with cysteine/thiols with the same crosslinkers as instantly claimed and suggests that in recombinantly express peptides and proteins, cysteines can simply be engineered into the coding sequence. Fairlie et al. teaches in an a-helical peptide, residues located at the (i, i+4), (i, i+7) or (i, i+11) positions reside on the same face of the helix and are therefore strategic points to place two cysteines and exemplifies sequences with cysteines at these positions. Fasan et al. teaches formation of the conformationally constrained peptide can be via recombinant methods in a cell.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
While Fairlie et al. suggests crosslinking between cysteine residences of peptide chains, Fairlie et al. does not expressly teach the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 which is modified to include two cysteines at anchoring positions or assaying the ability of the peptide to inhibition association between the first and second binding partner. However, these deficiencies are cured by Worrall et al. and Brent et al.
Worrall et al. is directed to the thermodynamic analysis of Jun-Fos coiled coil peptide antagonists. It is taught that the transcriptional regulator activator protein-1 (AP-1) generally consist of heterodimers of Jun and Fos families if proteins (page 663, introduction). AP-1 upregulation is involved in a number of diseases. Thus, peptides capable of specifically sequestering key components of AP-1 and prevent its function show great promise as the starting point for drugs to combat a number of diseases (page 664, left column). Developing rules that can assist in the discovery of new binding partners for coiled-coil-containing proteins therefore has great potential for influencing biology by elucidating stable and specific protein-protein interactions. Several peptides, based upon the coiled coil regions of AP-1 that are able to bind and prevent them from binding to DNA were derived (page 664, right column). Table 1 shows these peptide sequence wherein one specifically taught is FosW (table 1). As shown below SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant claims (Qy) has 100% identity to the FosW of Worrall et al.(Db).
Brent et al. is directed to an interaction trap system for detecting protein interaction. The invention features a method of determining whether a first protein is capable of physically interacting with a second protein. The method includes (a) providing a host cell which contains (i) a reporter gene operably linked to a DNA-binding-protein recognition site; (ii) a first fusion gene which expresses a first fusion protein, the first fusion protein comprising the first protein covalently bonded to a binding moiety which is capable of specifically binding to the DNA-binding-protein recognition site; and (iii) a second fusion gene which expresses a second fusion protein, the second fusion protein including the second protein covalently bonded to a gene activating moiety and being conformationally-constrained; and (b) measuring expression of the reporter gene as a measure of an interaction between the first and said second proteins (paragraph 0003). The second protein is a short peptide of at least 6 amino acids in length and less than or equal to 60 amino acids in length. Constraining by disulfide bonds between cysteine residues is taught (paragraph 0004). Taught is the formation of peptide libraries in E. coli. The library contained 2.9 x 109 members, of which more than 109 directs the synthesis of peptides. (paragraph 0088). To screen for interacting peptides, the library is used to transform the yeast train. Transformants are obtained and pooled (paragraph 0089). The strength of binding is judged according to the intensity of the blue color formed by a colony of the yeas that contains each different interactor (paragraph 0090). The system may also be used to identify agonists or antagonists, simply by adding to a known pair of interacting proteins, a candidate agonist or antagonist interactor and assaying for an increase or decrease (respectively) in reporter gene expression, as compared to a control reaction lacking the candidate compound or protein. From pools demonstrating a positive result, the particular interacting protein or agonist or antagonist is then identified by individually assaying the components of the pool (paragraph 0111).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Fairlie et al., Fasan et al. Worrall et al. and Brent et al. and utilize a peptide library of conformationally contained peptides to find peptides which antagonize the interaction between Jun and Fos in order find antagonists of AP-1 upregulation. Worrall et al. teaches that upregulation of AP-1 causes a variety of different diseases. Brent et al. teaches a system which can be used to detect protein interactions including identify agonist or antagonists of particular interacting proteins. Therefore, when desiring to find antagonists of AP-1, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to add first and second candidate binding partners in combination with candidate peptides and assaying whether the compounds bind and inhibit. Since Fairlie et al. and Brent et al. both teach the use of conformationally constrained to study protein-protein interactions there is a reasonable expectation of success. This renders obvious instant claims 3-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Fairlie et al., Fasan et al. Worrall et al. and Brent et al. and utilize a cysteine modified FosW peptide. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize a cysteine modified FosW peptide when studying Jun and Fos interactions and their ability to antagonize AP-1. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize FosW as it taught as peptide sequence which can antagonize AP-1. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to conformationally constrain the FosW peptide in order to improve not just the helical conformation of the peptide but also to enhance the cellular uptake and resistance toward proteolytic degradation as taught by Fairlie et al. Since Fairlie et al. teaches that recombinantly express peptides and proteins, cysteines can simply be engineered into the coding sequence. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize two cysteines as residues located at the (i, i+4), (i, i+7) or (i, i+11) positions reside on the same face of the helix and are therefore strategic points to place two cysteines was taught by Fairlie et al. Rendering obvious claim 15.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairlie et al. in view of Fasan et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-12, 18, 20 and 24 above and in further view of Timmerman et al. (ChemBioChem, 2005, cited on PTO Form 1449).
Applicant Claims
The instant application claims wherein the concentration of the cross-linker is between 1 µM and 1 mM, optionally between 10 µM and 100 µM, and/or wherein the cell is cultured in the presence of the cross-linker for a period of at least 20 minutes.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Fairlie et al. and Fasan et al. are set forth above.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Fairlie et al. does not expressly teach concentration or time for the crosslinking. However, this deficiency is cured by Timmerman et al.
Timmerman et al. is directed to rapid and quantitative cyclization of multiple peptide loops onto synthetic scaffolds for structural mimicry of protein surfaces. In aqueous solution reaction between dibromoxylenes T2 is fast and selective for cysteines. Taught is a 0.5 mM solution of the peptide and 1.05 equivalent of m-T2 gives the monocyclic product 2a in less than 15 min at RT (see table 1).
Scheme 1.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fairlie et al., Fasan et al. and Timmerman et al. and manipulate the concentration and time for reaction. As taught by Timmerman et al. in aqueous solutions the reaction is fast. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to monitor reaction times and determine the optimal reaction times to achieve the highest yield of the constrained peptide.
The amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results. The amount crosslinker is a parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize based on the concentration of the peptides present. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). NOTE: MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed May 21 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that (1) a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established. It is argued that a prima facie case of obviousness requires the examiner to cite to a combination of refences in which the cited reference teach or suggest all elements of the claims, there is a reason or motivation to modify and there is a reasonable expectation of success. It is argued that the Office Action acknowledges that Fairlie does not teach producing conformationally-constrained peptides in a cell. It is argued that the Office Action alleges that Fasan teaches the production of cyclic peptides by recombinant methods but Fasan’s only example of peptide cyclisation in cells involves incorporating a non-natural amino acid into the peptide rather than the addition of an exogenous crosslinker as required by claim 1. Therefore, the skilled person would not have been motivated by Fasan to use a cross-linker of formula 1 to cyclize peptide in cells. In fact, the skilled person would have expected the cross-linkers of formula 1 to be toxic.
Regarding Applicant’s first arguments, Fasan et al. clearly exemplifies crosslinking of a linear peptide in a cell. What is exemplified is the non-canonical amino acid O-2-bromoethyl-tyrosine which has the following structure:
. While this structure is different than the instantly claimed crosslinkers, the idea is still the same in that it is added to the cells and then crosslinks by reacting with a proximal cysteine residue. Since the reaction is the same (i.e. reaction of an SH with a Br), the examiner cannot agree that there isn’t motivation nor a reasonable expectation of success. Other crosslinking agents are taught (paragraph 00288) which fall within the instant scope claimed. Therefore, while Fasan et al. does not exemplify with the exact same crosslinker as claimed, the reference as a whole suggests that an alternative to chemical synthesis is the use of recombinant methods which can incorporate a crosslinker into a cell to form cyclic peptides. While this method would be limited to crosslinking to form cyclic peptides with SH groups of sufficient proximity to allow crosslinking, Fairlie et al. clearly suggest sequences which contain two proximal SH groups which can be used to react with crosslinking agent to form a cyclic peptide. Therefore, the examiner cannot agree that the cited prior art does not teach all claim amendments, doesn’t provide motivation to combine or provide a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant argues that (2) that the present application demonstrates that crosslinkers can be used in a method for introducing a thioether crosslink between two reactive thiol groups in the peptide, while the peptide remains in the cell. It is argued that the Applicants unexpectedly demonstrated that intracellular cross-linking can be achieved in cells without causing undue toxicity when using DBMB. These surprising and unexpected results are demonstrated in example 2 of the application, where E. coli cells were grown int the presence of DMBM and crosslinking of the peptide was confirmed.
Regarding Applicant’s second argument, while example 2 of the instant specification demonstrates that DMBM crosslink peptide in E.coli, the examiner cannot agree that this establishes an unexpected effect. Evidence, the invention works in the manner claimed does not in and of itself demonstrate an unexpected effect. Note: MPEP 716.02(a). Furthermore, even if example 2 did demonstrate an unexpected effect, the examiner cannot agree that such effect is commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Example 2 utilizes a single crosslinker, DBMB, in a single cell type, E. coli. Thus, if Applicant is of the position that this example somehow establishes an unexpected effect, which the examiner cannot agree to as nothing in the example compares the instant crosslinker to other crosslinkers nor does the example establish the expected effect, the results are not commensurate in scope with the claims. Note; MPEP 716.02(D).
Applicant argues that (3) filed with the response is experimental data (Appendix A) confirming that the claimed method can be worked using crosslinkers other than the exemplified DBMB and using both E. coli and yeast cells.
Regarding Applicant’s third argument, firstly, if Applicant wishes the examiner to consider the experimental evidence, it must be submitted in a declaration. The examiner directs applicant's attention to MPEP 716: The reason for requiring evidence in declaration or affidavit form is to obtain the assurances that any statements or representations made are correct, as provided by 35 U.S.C. 25 and 18 U.S.C. 1001." Therefore, the proper submission of the data presented in the Appendix of Applicant's Remarks should be provided in an affidavit or declaration form with the required statements. Secondly, additional reasons a declaration or affidavit is required is because the experimental data submitted seems to suggest many of the compounds are non-toxic. However, the state of the art, specifically Applicant’s own work, (published in Cell Chemical Biology, 2026, cited herein) expressly states that DMBP and DBA did produce intracellular peptide cyclization when introduced to already-growing cultures but at the tested concentrations they were found to be too toxic for library screening. Cultures failed to initiate growth with DBMP and DBA were present from the outset (page 413, left column, second complete paragraph). DBMP is 2,6-bisbromomethylpyridine and DBA is 1,3-dibromoacetone (page 411, right column, second complete paragraph) which have the following structures:
(see S1) both of which fall within the instant scope claimed as DBMP is expressly claimed and the definition of alkylene in the instant specification indicates it can be substituted.
Assuming the data in the Appendix is correct, again, it is unclear to the examiner how it establishes an unexpected effect. Clearly it establishes the crosslinkers work in the manner claimed. But this is not evidence of an unexpected effect. No comparison was made. If Applicants contend it is the lack of toxicity that is unexpected, how is this not an unappreciated property, as all the crosslinkers tested did not possess toxicity. Note: MPEP 2145: Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979); In re Baxter Travenol Labs., 952 F.2d 388, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991); see also In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1577-78 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (obviousness rejection affirmed where using claimed elements in the manner suggested by the prior art necessarily resulted in claim-recited effect). While not exemplifying the exact same crosslinker, Fasan et al. clearly teaches that the cyclization can occur with peptides in the cell and suggests that crosslinkers that can be used include those instantly claimed.
Applicant argues that (4) neither Worrall nor Brant teach all the limitations, in light of the claims depending form claim 1 and thus incorporate all those limitations. It is argued claim 13 depends from claim 1 and thus incorporates all the limitations thereof. Timmerman does not teach or suggest all the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding Applicant’s fourth argument, the arguments are not persuasive for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL VANHORN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636