Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119
(a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20181398.7, filed on 06/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20181386.2, filed on 06/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20181408.4, filed on 06/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203457.5, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203463.3, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203447.6, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203458.3, filed on 10/22/2020.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20203460.9, filed on 10/22/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–11, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (WO 2019/168368 A1, hereafter Ha). An English translation is provided within this office action.
Regarding Claims 1–9, 11, 13, 15, Ha teaches an organic light-emitting device comprising a cathode, an anode, a light-emitting layer, and an organic layer comprising a compound of Chemical Formula 1 and a compound of Chemical Formula 3 between the light-emitting layer and the anode [243]. This is exemplified by Example 52 wherein hole injection layer comprising Compound HI-4 (shown below) [508], which is a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3.
However, Compound HI-4 does not read on Applicants’ formula (II) because R1 and R2 are represented by a C1 perfluorinated alkoxy group instead of a C1 perfluorinated alkyl group.
Ha teaches Chemical Formula 3 wherein Compound HI-4 is represented by the fragments shown below [172]. For Compound HI-4, R34 is a haloalkoxy group (trifluoromethoxy) and a34 is 2. Ha recites that R34 may be a fluoro group, cyano group, trifluoromethoxy group, or a trifluoromethyl group [190]. As an example, Ha teaches Compound HI-5 (shown below) which has a trifluoromethyl group in the same position as the trifluoromethoxy group of Compound HI-4. Additionally, Ha teaches using the compounds taught by Ha results in organic light-emitting devices with excellent efficiency, driving voltage, and stability [509] – [510].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound HI-4 by changing the trifluoromethoxy groups to trifluoromethyl groups, because it would have been choosing between a fluoro group, a cyano group, a trifluoromethoxy group, or a trifluoromethyl group, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the hole injection compound in the hole injection layer of the organic light-emitting device of Ha and possessing the excellent efficiency, driving voltage, and stability taught by Ha. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by/devices comprising compounds of Chemical Formula 3 having the benefits taught by Ha in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per Claims 1 and 15, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ formula (I), formula (II), and formula (III) (shown below),
wherein:
For A1:
X1, X2, and X3 are each CH,
R1 and R2 are each a perfluorinated C1 alkyl group (trifluoromethyl),
R3 is CN,
For A2 and A3:
Ar is a C6 aryl (phenyl),
substituted with perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl),
R3 is CN
Per Claim 2, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ formula (IV) and formula (V) (shown below),
wherein:
For B1:
X1, X2, and X3 are each CH,
R1 and R2 are each a perfluorinated C1 alkyl group (trifluoromethyl),
For B3 and B5:
Ar is a C6 aryl (phenyl),
substituted with perfluorinated C1 alkyl (trifluoromethyl),
For B2, B4, and B6:
R3 is CN
Per Claims 3, 4, and 9, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as R1 and R2 are each a perfluorinated C1 alkyl group (trifluoromethyl).
Per Claim 5, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as R3 is CN.
Per Claim 6, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as A3 is identical to A1.
Per Claims 7 and 8, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as in formula (II) X1, X2, and X3 are each CH.
Per Claim 11, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as Modified Compound HI-4 is within the hole injection layer, which is between the anode and the light-emitting layer (photoactive layer).
Per Claim 13, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as an organic light-emitting device is an electroluminescent device.
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Compound HI-4 does not read on Applicants’ formula (IVa) to (IVd).
Ha teaches Chemical Formula 3 and the fragments shown below. Ha does not teach that the fragments must be positioned so that they are centrosymmetric. In fact, Ha teaches Compound HI-6 (shown below), wherein the CN and COOH groups are asymmetric.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Modify Compound HI-4 so that it is asymmetric like Compound HI-6, because it would have been choosing between a symmetric or asymmetric arrangement, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the hole injection compound in the hole injection layer of the organic light-emitting device device of Ha and possessing the benefits taught by Ha. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by/devices comprising compounds represented by Chemical Formula 3 having the benefits taught by Ha in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per Claim 10, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 and Further Modified Compound HI- 4 reads on Applicants’ formula (IVa) (shown below), wherein B1 to B6 are the same as described above.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (WO 2019/168368 A1) as applied to claims 1–11, 13, 15 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2003/0170491 A1).
Regarding Claims 12, Ha fails to teach an organic light-emitting device with at least two photoactive layers, as recited in claim 12.
Liao teaches the stacked organic light-emitting device of Fig. 5 (shown below), wherein two organic EL units (320.1 and 320.2) are stacked [0055] – [0059]. 233 represents a p-type doped organic layer which comprises a compound which carries holes [0059] – [0060]. Liao further teaches the stacked organic light-emitting device will have decreased driving voltage, decreased optical absorption, and a simplified fabrication process [0012] – [0014].
Modified Compound HI-4 inherently may carry holes since it is used as a hole injection material. Additionally, Ha teaches that the driving voltage of a device may be reduced by doping a compound of Chemical Formula 3 in an organic layer [255] – [256].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic light-emitting device taught by Ha as an EL unit in the stacked organic light-emitting device taught by Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to decrease the driving voltage, as taught by Liao.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Modified Compound HI-4 as the p-dopant in the stacked organic light-emitting device taught by Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the driving voltage, as taught by Ha.
Per Claim 12, the stacked organic light-emitting device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as it has two light-emitting layers (photoactive layers) wherein Modified Compound HI-4 is used as the p-dopant between the two EL units.
Regarding Claim 14, Ha fails to teach an organic light-emitting device being used in a display device.
Liao teaches that a stacked organic light-emitting device may be used advantageously in a display device with high luminance efficiency and lifetime [0016] and [0070].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the stacked organic light-emitting device, as described above, in a display device, based on the teachings of Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce a display device with high luminance efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Liao.
Per Claim 14, the display device, as described above, comprising Modified Compound HI-4 reads on Applicants’ limitation as it is a display device comprising a stacked organic light-emitting diode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wen et al. (CN 112624990 A, hereafter Wen). An English translation is provided within this office action. Wen recites compounds which read on Applicants’ independent claims 1 and 15, such as Compound M-4 (shown below). However, Wen does not predate Applicants’ priority date.
Du et al. (CN 109320437 A, hereafter Du). An English translation is provided within this office action. Du recites compounds which nearly read on Applicants’ independent claims 1 and 15, such as Compound 44.
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789